Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,933 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 10 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Nov 042013

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles


Every indicator on my dash was on and my speedometer didn't work. Brought it into [xxx] where the problem was not fixed. It was in the shop again 2 weeks later for the same issue and also to service the ABS system. Today my check engine light is on and the car is shifting hard and hesitating, clunking as it switches gears. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #30

Aug 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the instrument panel failed to illuminate. The contact also stated that the vehicle erroneously started. The vehicle was being diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Baldwin, MO, USA

problem #29

Nov 252013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V483000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the dealer was unable to service the 2014 model year vehicles until January 2014 because only one recall remedy repair was being performed per day. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dobbsferry, NY, USA

problem #28

Nov 282013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,300 miles


I was driving on the highway about 65 mph. The wipers came on and the radio stopped. This happened on three other occasions. Upon exiting the freeway and utilizing the brakes, the entire vehicle electronics flashed then the vehicle lost all power and stalled into blackness. I was able to safely stop the vehicle and restart.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #27

Oct 312013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Shortly after starting vehicle and driving at approx 10 mph, check engine light came on. 30 seconds later check engine light started flashing and misfire was felt, car began to shudder. I pulled over, turned off and restarted, again flashing check engine light and shuddering. Vehicle was towed to dealer, who also felt misfire on cold start next am and codes confirmed misfires in multiple cylinders. Dealer inspected engine but found no issues. Next day, car operated normally. Approximately 1-2 weeks later, on starting vehicle entire instrument cluster lit up, with check air bag warning and lights indicated ABS failure and ecs off. Car drove, but I subsequently realized speedometer did not work, it was very frightening to drive on highway without knowing my speed. After restarting check engine light remained on, but vehicle functioned normally. Was going to bring back to dealer, but check engine light went off after about 6 drives. These issues are very worrisome and I feel uncomfortable every time I start the ignition.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #26

Mar 292013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Continuously exhibiting persistent progressively worsening life-threatening transmission and electrical failures. Transmission sticks in low gear and will not upshift, transmission stalls, push gas pedal to the floor and nothing happens, almost hit numerous times, gears jerk, rpms rev up and speed increases when applying brakes, will not slow down then bounces to a stop, interior lights short out, doors do not lock, electronic chirping sound from engine even when off, touchscreen/radio/climate controls do not work, total of 45 different defects, continuous since day purchased, sent 2 written notices to Chrysler, has been 8 months and no one will help, increasingly fearful for safety. Total of 43 days in shop and 14 attempts to repair same serious safety defects and conditions.

- Luray, VA, USA

problem #25

Nov 042013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 64 miles


Purchased a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee on Oct 27, 2013 and discovered the forward collision system (fcw) is not working, the dealer attempted to fix but failed. They gave me another 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee on Nov 2, 2013, I realized it has the same exact defect, and again, the dealer tried to fix but failed to do so. Two brand new vehicles have the same exact problem, the vehicle VIN numbers: 1C4rjxxxxxx and 1C4rjfcxxxxx I spoke with manufacturer and they tried to convince me that "system available" means "system is on" which directly contradicts the manual provided by them. That in addition to the system not working at all. Spoke with other Jeep owners that have that function, they also indicated that they having trouble getting that to work and they having trouble getting support from Jeep. Updated 11/19/13

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #24

Oct 262013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 2,020 miles
The driver pulled the automobile into a driveway on a downhill slope. The driver shut the vehicle off using the push button start/stop. The driver returned to the vehicle 10 minutes later, with a passenger in the front seat. The driver started the vehicle (foot on brake as required) using push button start/stop. The driver engaged the transmission into reverse using the shifting lever (with foot still on brake as is required by the brake transmission shift interlock (BTSI) system). When engaged in reverse, the engine revved to a high level, and the car traveled in reverse up the hill (driveway), through the street, and into a ditch. Side and front airbags deployed. Driver believes they never took foot off the brake, and the braking was not sufficient to overcome torque of the engine/transmission. Vehicle damage includes air bag deployment, cabin roof liner detachment, three bent wheels, minor damage to muffler, minor body damage. Dealer checked electronics/instrument recordings and noted nothing unusual appearing, and had no knowledge of similar problems.

- St. Clairsville, OH, USA

problem #23

Sep 292013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
Main lcd screen that shows the speed of the vehicle goes black at random when I am driving and the only way to get it to come back on is to stop and turn off the vehicle and turn it back on. I was stopped by a police officer for speeding because I could not tell how fast I was going. I told him about the display and he was going to tow the vehicle because I did not have an operational speedometer. I have told Chrysler about this and apparently it is a known issue and they are working on it!! these vehicles' should all be taken to the dealers and parked and not driven until the defect has been corrected and customers should be given rental cars.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #22

May 242013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10 miles
I have been having multiple problems with the brakes in my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee purchased brand new in May. It has a total of 1,000 miles on it, but the problems started with only 10miles. The instrument cluster immediately lights up like a christmas tree and then the check engine light remains on. The rearview mirrors move into downward facing positions while in park and while driving. This alone is a major safety hazard. The ABS brakes intermittently work and finally failed. The ABS module failed. The backup camera works intermittently and the backup warning system also is intermittently working. My car has been at the dealership every month since I have purchased it and it has currently been there for the last 2 weeks awaiting an ABS repair.

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #21

Jul 222013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles


A couple of weeks after getting my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee home after patiently waiting 8 weeks from the time I ordered it to pick it up, I noticed that the radio channels all had a slight static in the back ground and every station was making a popping noise every few minutes. The radio does not sound good. After taking it in for the fourth time to try and repair this problem, I was told that Chrysler does not have a repair for this at this time. Along with the poor sound of the radio, a couple of times I have gone to start the vehicle and all of my pre set sirius stations were gone. This is very unacceptable to me to pay this much for a vehicle that has a major fault and Chrysler and the dealership have done nothing but make me pay for rental cars while they couldn't fix the problem or give me any hope of fixing it in the future. I was told by the last dealership that I took it to that the radio is as good as it is going to get.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #20

Oct 052013

Grand Cherokee

  • 499 miles
Started 2014 Jeep gc and centre evic screen failed to turn on. Contacted Chrysler 1-800 number and they had no record of known issues. Searched internet and apparently there are known issues. Went to Jeep dealer and they 'had no idea'... have only had vehicle 2 weeks ! have booked in vehicle with dealership. So much depends in having that radio/control unit functioning.

- Calgary, AA, USA

problem #19

Jul 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
I've owned my '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited for four months. It has now been at the dealership twice for the same issue. I turn on the Jeep and all of the emergency lights go on, including the ABS, emergency brake, traction control, airbag etc. The speedometer does not work and still allows me to drive. The initial cycle tells me to service the ABS and airbags. The rear parking sensor also does not function. I was told the ABS module was faulty the first time and they replaced it with a new one. Again, I am being told that the ABS module is faulty. I have a feeling Jeep has no clue what the real issue is. This is an extreme safety concern. I feel unsafe driving my family in this vehicle as I do not know if the safety controls are working properly.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #18

Sep 282013

Grand Cherokee

  • 72 miles
I just purchased a brand new vehicle on 9/27/13. On 9/28/13 my vehicle caught fire. I first noticed it when I arrived home, smoke was coming from the front of the truck. I opened the hood and noticed fire coming from the side of the engine.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 192013

Grand Cherokee

  • 6,500 miles
In Feb. 2013 I purchased a 2013 grand Jeep trail hawk edition, in span of 3 to 4 months the Jeep was in the service department 6 times trying to fix issues. Jeep was unable to completely fix the problems to my satisfaction, I was given incentive to trade in for a 2014 grand Jeep Cherokee limited edition, which was running great until this past Thursday. On Thursday I started my Jeep it barely would idle, I proceeded to get on the interstate which is when the vehicle started jumping up and down like I was going off road. It would suddenly change to neutral without me doing anything, it kept missing gears and barely running. I was barely able to get off the exit. When I got off the exit it would barely idle and again shifted to neutral without me doing anything. Eventually I safely made it off the exit and into a parking lot where I got it towed. The tow truck driver could barely pull it up on the trailer. When it was placed on the trailer it wouldn't stay in park, it kept trying to shift out of gear. There needs to be some type of investigation in the grand Jeep Cherokee models and how they are passing inspections through production line because obviously for a consumer to get two defective vehicles in 7 months is unacceptable and unbelievable.

- Fletcher , NC, USA

problem #16

Aug 142013

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,100 miles
I started my car and the entire instrument cluster would not display on the screen. I could put the car in gear and drive it, but there was no speedometer etc. I turned the car off and on, but the problem persisted for about an hour, when the display suddenly began to work.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #15

Sep 062013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
The vehicle has been giving me trouble with lots of necessities like air conditioning shutting off and fronts light turn off on their own. On Friday, September 6th 2013, I was driving to the dealership to get things fixed but while I was on my way there driving, the steering wheel just locked and the vehicle wont respond and it was running, it switched to neutro then park on its own and steering wheel locked and brakes are heavy! miraculously and thanks god, I was not injured and the vehicle not damaged! I was in big shock and stress! I have never experienced something like that, it nearly could have been killed me or hit something or somebody or causing damage! I went to the dealership and spoke to one of the service center manager and explained what happened, they tested the vehicle and it the manager told me, this vehicle has lots of issues need to be fixed! I told them, this vehicle nearly got me killed or injured or some damage could have been happened! they gave me a cheap rental car and refer me to talk directly to the company produced the vehicle! I called on Friday and they gave me a case number and told me your case will be assigned to a manager whom will contact you! I have trying since then to get a hold of anybody to help! but seems nobody seems to be taking this seriously! and I would just wonder, what if you are in the vehicle with kids or somebody of your family members or friends! would you guys take it seriously if something bad could have been happened to me or others!" I am really scared to drive this vehicle ! its a very serious matter, I just think about it and say: What if something bad happen to me or a damage has been done to others!" I am very stressed and depressed about it, and most importantly scared to drive this vehicle or trusting that car dealership! I can't drive this vehicle after this experience and I need help!

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 052013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 2,400 miles
Similar to NHTSA ids#: 10533622 and 10533524. Occurrence: 5 times to date frequency: Randomly speed: Less than or equal to 50 mph each time adaptive cruise control: Always off, never on vehicle mileage: ~ 3,200 the car randomly applies the brakes even though there are no objects in the road (front, rear or sides) and no pending accident. Out of the five times, two of those times so hard that the anti-lock brakes activated. This is very dangerous and can cause an accident. To date no accidents, because no cars have been around when this happens. I have a family and am afraid to continue to drive or let them drive this vehicle. It has been to the dealer once for this issue and will now go in a second time because the issue was not resolved. The ntsb should really look into this issue with Chrysler and either issue a recall or at a minimum issue a tsb.

- Cliffside Park, NJ, USA

problem #13

Sep 122013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Upon starting my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland, all of the warning lights came on and remained on. This included, but was not limited to: Airbags, electronic stability control, ABS brake system, check engine light, and others. The messages in the dashboard information screen indicated various failures and the need to service immediately. The rear backup camera also became non functioning. After shutting down the vehicle, waiting several minutes and then restarting, the problems continued. Out of safety concerns, I called the nearest Jeep dealer and was advised they "had never heard of this" and if I wanted service that I would have to leave the vehicle there since they do not make appointments. The lights went out upon restarting again, however I am very tentative about driving it, as I do not know if these important safety systems and/or warnings have failed. This is potentially extremely dangerous and totally inexcusable in a $47,000 vehicle which is less than 6 months old. The navigation system and radio have not worked properly since I purchased the Jeep. Upon calling Jeep, and providing my VIN #, I was advised that it needed a "radio enhancement". looking online, there are many complaints of this electrical safety issue, and yet two local dealers have never heard of it ? there also doesn't appear to be any apparent "fix" at this time. Hopefully the NHTSA can look into this potentially dangerous problem.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 312013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 7,774 miles
First instance: At vehicle startup, electronic gauge cluster immediately posted "service immediately" warnings for ABS, air bags, 4X4 suspension, parksense, among others. Speedometer was not operational. Unsure if blind spot monitoring was operational. Check engine light remained on. Turning off ignition, opening doors, and waiting several minutes did not clear the issue. After waiting overnight, everything was operable. At first service visit, dealer reconfigured PCM per Chrysler and returned vehicle. Second instance: Approximately two weeks later, the above issue recurred. We could not make it to the dealer and had to drive the vehicle in this condition. A few days later, the issue recurred once more. This time, we were able to drive it to dealer. While service was closed, we asked someone to verify the condition and download codes. We contacted Jeep customer care and was assigned a case manager. At service visit, the dealer stated they were unaware of this ever happening, and I told them I had seen several cases on Jeep internet forums of an ABS module being replaced. After speaking with Jeep, dealer installed new ABS module. Also, we were given a rental Chrysler 300C for one day during this visit, and it failed to start the morning we had it due to an apparent electrical issue and had to be towed from our garage. Just two weeks after the Jeep had the ABS module replaced, we have yet to see recurrence. However, when I asked Chrysler case manager if all systems displayed as needing service during this issue were truly mechanically working or not, she said they "probably" were. When I questioned that response, she stated the best thing to do would be to pull over and have vehicle towed if it happened again. She would not confirm that other vehicles had a similar issue or if the ABS module fix was successful in those cases.

- Greer, SC, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?