Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #94

Dec 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to complete the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs to be performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced failure.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #93

Nov 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign id number: 14V391000 (electrical system). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Arenzville , IL, USA

problem #92

Nov 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Unionville , IN, USA

problem #91

Oct 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a sun visor warning recall in the mail on my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee in September (recall P36 / NHTSA 14V-391). The recall advised that I should contact the dealer after September 15 2014. I called fullerton Jeep in NJ on Friday October 3. I was told that they would order the part and call me within three weeks when it arrived. I called to follow-up 3 weeks later on Friday Oct 24. I was told the part was not in and they could not advise on when it would arrive. I was told they would call me when it arrived. It is now thurs Nov 13 and I have not heard from the dealer. It is incredibly concerning to receive a notification in the mail in September and 9 weeks later be unable to have it repaired. This seems unacceptable.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #90

May 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the parts needed for both recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs to be performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/22/15. Status updated 03/25/15.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #89

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Red Bank, NJ, USA

problem #88

Nov 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Vandalia, OH, USA

problem #87

Aug 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
I really need your help. In April of 2014 I bought a brand new Jeep Grand Cherokee summit edition for $60,000. I was thrilled to have finally owned my dream car since 1997! I started having issues with the car in August... and when I say issues, I don't mean the radio blitzing out. The car turned off in the middle of a 4 way intersection and wouldn't restart for 3-4 attempts!!!! terrified I took it to the dealership who said it registered some check engine light codes but they couldn't find why it did that. They turned the light off and had me pick the car up. After repeating the same thing, about 8-10 more times the car just shutting off and going back into the shop a second and third time they now said oh we figured out what the problem was and its fixed. I was thrilled for this to be over! a couple weeks later I was driving on the freeway going 65 mph with no cars around me or insight. All of the sudden the car dashboard said brake!!! and the car applied the ABS brakes and abruptly slowed the car down to 40 mph!!!! I was so scared at that point, to top it off the car again shut off and the check engine light back on. I took the car to the dealership for the 4th time where they now have put me in a rental for 40 days. This time I was told my car registered 57 codes but they were not able to fix or diagnose the problem. I expressed my concern when I was asked to pick the car up. I don't feel safe in that car and I have lost faith in that vehicle. I asked that they buy the car back since it legally falls under the lemon law and they refused. They left me no choice but to hire a lemon law attorney. I now have lost faith in Jeep/Chrysler for the way they are handling this. They would rather put myself and others in harms way than to do the right thing. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Campbell, CA, USA

problem #86

Jul 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,200 miles
At what point does someone step in and say enough is enough. In 1 1/2 years my vehicle has been in 12 times. Besides the 7 recalls, there has also been issues with the gas cover broke, leather seat issues, power steering, shocks, brake boot and rear camera. If that isn't bad enough, many times they issue a recall and don't even have the parts available. The lemon laws are so dealer and manufacture friendly that it is very difficult to qualify. Each time I go to the dealer it is 120 miles round trip. Someone needs to step in and reimburse the consumers for this expensive mistake that Jeep made in manufacturing these vehicles which has been passed on to the consumer who thought we were getting a reliable product.

- Lakota, ND, USA

problem #85

Oct 272014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I took my car in by appointment today at 7:30am today (10/27) to helfman river oaks Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, 4807 kirby drive, houston, tx. I took it in for recall P36, sun visor wiring. The recall letter says the repair can be done in 1.6 hours. However the service advisor tells me at 7:30am that the car will not be ready for 2 days. I ask to make an appointment for a later day, when the recall can be done within 1 day. He tells me the recall will require 2 days no matter when I bring it in, and I can't make an appointment to have the recall done in one day. This practice will simply encourage people to not do the recall service. This is a dangerous practice. What good is a recall letter, if the dealer will always require 2 days to do the recall service- even though the recall letter states it should take 1.6 hours, and the owner is willing to make an appointment in the future for the recall service. This is effectively discouraging owners from doing the safety recall.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #84

Oct 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 7,931 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Attempted to have Jeep/Chrysler recall P14 (brake booster) and P36 (sunvisor wiring) completed. Fair oaks chantilly Jeep Chrysler inspected the vehicle but stated there was a nation-wide shortage of parts and the brake recall could not be completed for 2-3 months. After talking to the Chrysler customer assistance hotline, I was advised Chrysler does not have sufficient parts in stock to handle all of the brake booster recalls. When asked for additional details I was told the reason behind the parts shortage was "confidential." I was further advised to "drive slow" and "avoid using the car as much as possible." They confirmed the wait time for replacement parts to "address this important safety issues" was 2-3 months.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #83

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have received a safety recall notice regarding the sun visor wiring, #P36 NHTSA 14V-391. I contacted my dealer where I purchased the vehicle. As per the safety recall instructions listed beside "what you must do to ensure your safety", I called the dealer to schedule a service appointment and asked the dealer to hold or order the parts for my vehicle before my appointment. The dealer did not schedule an appointment and said that they didn't have the parts. I was informed that I would be put on a list and would be called when I'm next. I was told that Chrysler is only sending the dealer two replacement parts per week as it is a restricted part. I explained what the recall notice said they were to do and he said this is how Chrysler is doing this. I'm upset that I receive a safety recall about a possible electrical fire and Chrysler feels it isn't important enough to quickly repair it. I feel they should order the part and schedule my appointment just as stated in the recall notice. I would appreciate your investigating this and letting me know the outcome. Thank you so much for your assistance.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #82

Oct 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
In may I received the recall notice for the brake booster (P14 NHTSA 14V-154) and have called my local dealer several times since then to schedule the replacement. However, the dealer says they do not have the part and are expecting the part to arrive any day. In September, I received the sun visor wiring recall notice (P36 NHTSA 14V-391) and have called the local Jeep dealer regarding scheduling this replacement also. The dealer reports that they do not have the parts for this either and do not know when the parts will be available. This is an unreasonable amount of time to wait for the dealer to resolve the defects, and I feel my safety is at risk.

- Idaho Falls, ID, USA

problem #81

Jul 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
When getting out of the vehicle I lock the door from the inside, when walking away the car will unlock.

- Huron, OH, USA

problem #80

Aug 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,600 miles
I had driven approximately 520 miles enroute to my vacation home and was driving with the cruise control activated and seatbelts were in use by both myself and passenger. Suddenly and at the same time the seatbelt and airbag warning lights came on and within a few seconds the cruise control disengaged and the message "acc/fcw unavailable service required" popped up on the dashboard. For the duration of my vacation the vehicle was operational however I had no cruise control. Contacted two Jeep dealers in the area and they were too booked up to service my vehicle. Upon my return home I took it in to my Jeep dealer. Here is the exact quote from their service invoice as to what was discovered: "found many modules with loss of communications with the orc module (airbag module) with codes in them. Found orc to have an internal fault, replaced and set up orc module".

- Pleasant Hill, OH, USA

problem #79

Jun 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 24,650 miles
Recall P/14/NHTSA 14V-154 - brake booster, called immediately after receiving notification (06/05/2014). Told parts not available, only receiving about 5 per week. Placed on list. As of 09/11/2014, still on list as parts not available in sufficient quantities. Recall P36/NHTSA 14V-391 - sun visor wiring, same as other recall, parts not available. Why are recalls issued if there are no parts available? Jeep is putting owners at risk by not having parts available.

- Morris, CT, USA

problem #78

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
I have a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee srt. I was at a stop light in the turn left lane. Once the light changed green I pressed accelerator and while turning all power cut out on the vehicle. While in traffic I coasted to the side of the road. The vehicle restarted after I can to a full stop power appeared to come back on and I pushed the start button with foot on brake. Second event happened 9/10/14 again I was in the left hand turn lane (different street) and when light changed I pressed accelerator and while starting the turn all power instantly went out rendering the vehicle totally disabled in traffic. Once I got it into a safe spot I called and tried to have it jump started. This did not work at all. Total power failure no response and had to be towed to dealer. Very dangerous situations.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #77

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #76

May 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date as to when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #75

Sep 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pearland , TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?