Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,947 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Aug 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • 37,000 miles


I had the keyless bob in my purse, walked up to the car and it unlocked. I opened the rear door and buckled my 3 year old in her carseat. I placed my purse (which contained the fob and my cell phone) on the passenger seat. I closed the rear door and went around to the drivers side and attempted to enter the vehicle. All the doors were locked. It was 95 degrees outside and 110 degrees in the car. I had to find a bystander to call 911. It took emergency responders over 20 minutes to remove her from the hot car. My child almost died because of the faulty locking system. A key fob should never be able to be locked inside a vehicle. I have been able to recreate exactly what happened, and the car will lock itself shut with the fob inside. Additionally, I have found two other Jeep Grand Cherokee that will react the same way. These cars are deadly!..updated 08/13/15

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #18

Mar 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,950 miles
Water leaking into the battery box and vehicle frame.

- Rineyville, KY, USA

problem #17

Jul 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I was driving down the road today and my turns signals got stuck on again! this isn't the first time this has happened and this is not the first complaint I have filed. I have had my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee back to the dealership service department four times for this same issue. I have been told all four times that they cannot duplicate the problem. I have two videos of my turn signals getting stuck on and my dash flashing and reading the incorrect speed but the service department continues to tell me that they cannot duplicate it. Well, today there was almost an accident because of it. My turn signals got stuck on and another car pulled out in front of me and I almost hit them, they obviously thought I was turning, which I was not but yet again my turn signals were stuck on. Fca is fully aware of this issue. I have called them numerous times but they have no solution for me. I feel completely unsafe in my Jeep Grand Cherokee and it is just an accident waiting to happen.

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #16

Feb 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles


Blind spot monitoring system is erratic and has been since day 1 of ownership. Works when it feels like it. Very dangerous.

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I see from your web site my car has 8 recalls. I have only received 2 recall notices from Fiat Chrysler. The airbag recall and visor wiring recall. It also took over 2 months to receive the recall service.

- Washington, DC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

May 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles
On two occasions within seven days, my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee ecodiesel (33,626 miles currently) stalled while driving at a high speed on the highway once at 45 mph and then at 60 mph. Both times it restarted after approx. 10-15 minutes. Both times I took it directly to the dealer. First time I was able to drive it in after the restart and the second time I had it towed after a harrowing time pulling over and almost being hit by the car behind me. I was very shaken and the state trooper told me to tow it for my own safety. The car when it stalled did so with absolutely no warning. After the car restarted it had a check engine light on. Both dealers told me that they could not determine any issues as the check engine light told them nothing and I should pick up my car. I picked it up the first time thinking it was a one off but this second time it has been in the dealer for almost a month and I have opened a case with Chrysler. I am afraid for my safety and my passengers safety. The dealer refuses to research the issue further and Chrysler has done nothing other than passing on the same message from the dealer to pick up my car. The dealer actually said if it happens again bring it back! my Chrysler case manager offered me three free oil changes for my inconvenience ! I have done a lot of research on this issue and see that there is a recall and open class action lawsuit for earlier models related to defective tipin. I am not sure if this is the issue or not but my car is not safe to drive and I don't know what to do other than trade it in at a huge financial loss.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #13

Jun 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles


I was driving to work on June 9,2015 and I used my turn signal to switch lanes and all of a sudden they would not turn off! the turn signals were flashing back and forth between left and right the entire way to work. I got to the parking lot and I turned my Jeep Grand Cherokee off and I went into work for my 16 hour shift thinkning they would go off by the time I was done working but I was wrong, they were still flashing when I started my Jeep again! they blinked for about half my 45 minute drive home and then they just turned off. The next day I took my Jeep to my local dealer and showed them the video I took while I was sitting in the parking lot of them flashing and told them I wanted it fixed because it is a safety hazard and I put my child in this vehicle everyday and having these kind of electrical problems were unsafe. Well they called today 6/18/15 and said they cannot duplicate the problem so they cannot fix it! even though I have a video as proof! I am afraid to pick up my Jeep. I feel it is unsafe for the road and unsafe to put my child in but they could really care less and said I have to pick it up. I am not looking forward to picking it up because it has become such a safety hazard but my local Jeep dealer will not fix it even though it is still under manufacturer warranty. Updated 8/21/15

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #12

May 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
After backing the car out of the garage I was going to get out to go back into the house.. I put the car (I thought) in park, my foot was still on the brake. I started to remove my foot from the brake and the car slightly started forward I realized the car wasn't in park but drive and when I went to depress the brakes further to change gears and stop the forward motion the car suddenly revved the engine, squealed its tires while pealing out and accelerating at a high rate of speed back into the garage smashing into a brick wall and my dining room. The damage to the car is over $15,000 and damage to the house is approx. $9000. I know my foot was on the brake!` my face hit the steering wheel cutting my lip. The airbag did not deploy. I have two years left on the lease and I am terrified to drive it. In all of my years of driving I have never had an accident and I have always parked in a garage without incident. I have driven everything from Yukon to Navigator and never have I had an issue like this. I see from all the posts that I am not alone. This issue needs to be addressed before people are killed.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #11

Mar 142014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10 miles
When accelerating, the engine always hesitates for several seconds, then surges forward. This condition creates a safety issue during passing, merging into oncoming traffic, evasive maneuvers, etc. This problem has existed since new, and has not improved. Bergey Chrysler, Jeep service dept. Has informed me that the hesitation while accelerating "operates as designed", and cannot be repaired.

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #10

Jan 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • 14,800 miles
There is a loud bumping noise coming from the under carriage at start-up

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #9

May 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles


I have received three first notice recalls and one second notice recall on my vehicle since May 2014. Brake booster, sun visor warning, and occupant restraint control module. Not one dealership in my area has had the parts to fix these problems for over six months now. I cannot get a call back from the dealership with explanations and I cannot get satisfaction through contacting corporate. If there is a problem that is serious enough to issue a recall, I would hope that the problems would be fixed in a timely manner. I drive this vehicle everyday.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #8

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Wally armour Jeep dealer in alliance, Ohio states they have no parts to fix several re-calls on my vehicle. Not only have I called for the repairs several times but get more re-calls that they have no parts for a fix. Do I keep driving and hope for no incident" do I stop driving my vehicle? then what do I do for transportation" you are the "experts"! please advise!!!!!

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #7

Nov 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I can't get the part from Chrysler for my brake booster recall. It has been ordered for 6 months I need this part since I drive up North

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #6

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
This Jeep was sold to me and my brother as a new vehicle. It was purchased at fowler Dodge in Oklahoma city, ok. My brother took the truck to another dealer today and was told that the vehicle has been involved in a bad accident and has been repaired. All of the federal stickers have been removed, we feel that this is a safety as well as fraudulent sale. I have called the dealer and have not recieved a response. Fowler Dodge 888-829-0253 owner/general manager [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #5

Oct 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 16,300 miles
When I go to press the brakes and come to a stop, my vehicle jerks when it slows down as if its almost stuck in a gear while it downshifts which causes the vehicle to move forward while trying to slow down which can cause an accident.

- Millville, NJ, USA

problem #4

Sep 252013

Grand Cherokee

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that when depressing the accelerator pedal, there was a strong odor from the vehicle. The contact stated that he placed two carbon monoxide detectors in the vehicle and they both registered at the highest level of 173 parts per million. The contact received medical attention for carbon monoxide exposure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on numerous occasions where the failure was unable to be rectified. On one occasion, a technician drove the vehicle and stated that the failure occurred due to the way the contact drove the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100 and the current mileage 11,000.

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #3

Sep 192013

Grand Cherokee

  • 6,500 miles
In Feb. 2013 I purchased a 2013 grand Jeep trail hawk edition, in span of 3 to 4 months the Jeep was in the service department 6 times trying to fix issues. Jeep was unable to completely fix the problems to my satisfaction, I was given incentive to trade in for a 2014 grand Jeep Cherokee limited edition, which was running great until this past Thursday. On Thursday I started my Jeep it barely would idle, I proceeded to get on the interstate which is when the vehicle started jumping up and down like I was going off road. It would suddenly change to neutral without me doing anything, it kept missing gears and barely running. I was barely able to get off the exit. When I got off the exit it would barely idle and again shifted to neutral without me doing anything. Eventually I safely made it off the exit and into a parking lot where I got it towed. The tow truck driver could barely pull it up on the trailer. When it was placed on the trailer it wouldn't stay in park, it kept trying to shift out of gear. There needs to be some type of investigation in the grand Jeep Cherokee models and how they are passing inspections through production line because obviously for a consumer to get two defective vehicles in 7 months is unacceptable and unbelievable.

- Fletcher , NC, USA

problem #2

Aug 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,850 miles
Shifter service

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #1

Mar 202013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 100 miles
When operating the vehicle at 52 mph and 1,200 RPM a high pitch grinding noise of a metal-to-metal type appears on the front driver side. Reported to the dealer and to Chrysler with no resolution. On-line forums confirm this problem occurs with many other vehicles of the same make and year. This is a recording of the problem:

- Cumming, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?