Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #228

Mar 202007

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Jeep Liberty customer is looking for reimbursement for repairs because customer never received recall notice* the consumer stated the ball joint separated and subsequently caused the vehicle to drop down on to the tire/wheel assembly to the point where complete control of the steering was lost. The manufacturer denied reimbursement, because the consumer did not have the work done at a Chrysler dealership.

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #227

Mar 212007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact has been waiting to have the lower ball joints repaired. The NHTSA campaign id number is 06V288000. Since November, the dealer in her area stated that they don't know how soon they'll receive the parts. The current and failure mileage were 55,000.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #226

Jan 272007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
-the contact stated that his daughter was in a crash with her 2003 Jeep Liberty on 01/27/07. The airbags did deploy. He stated that early that morning, on a clear day she crashed the vehicle resulting in her death. The contact stated that from the pictures of the crash, the wheels of the driver side looked unusual. The vehicle was on recall, but he was not sure if the recall had been repaired prior to the crash. The contact was waiting for the investigation to be completed. He felt that the crash was due to a failure in the lower ball joints. He also stated that the his daughter constantly complained that the tires and brakes were functioning incorrectly. The contact stated that his daughter constantly took the vehicle to the dealership complained about these problems, but the dealership would not do any repairs without the contact paying for the repairs.

- Mt Orab, OH, USA

problem #225

Dec 152006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received recall notice 06V288000 on the 2004 Jeep Liberty with 69000 current mileage on 12/5/2006. The vehicle had been repaired on the previous recall, and the contact was not having any current problems. Her complaint was that Chrysler should be making more parts available due to the seriousness of the recall.

- Tauppage, NY, USA

problem #224

Mar 142007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
We have a 2003 Jeep Liberty that has been recalled due to problems with the ball joints. The dealership is informing her that they do not have the parts in stock. The dealership informed the contact that the parts are in back order. It has been 3 months since the client has heard from the dealership. Also got hit with an extensive repair bill on the brake system due to corrosion - vehicle has only 32,000 miles on it.

- South River, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #223

Dec 182006

Liberty 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 59,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The vehicle was taken to the dealership on January 2, 2007 due to receiving a recall notice for the lower ball joints. The dealership stated that the parts would be available in about 4-8 weeks. She was advised on March 14,2007 that therewas a waiting list to have vehicle repaired, and it would be another 5-10 weeks. The current mileage on the vehicle was 59,000. There had been no failures to date.

- Columbia, TN, USA

problem #222

Dec 062006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall for lower ball joints on my 2003 Jeep Liberty. My dealership can't seem to get them. I have ordered them twice since December when I received the recall notice. Apparently they are on a national back order. When can I expect to get these replaced. I have a lot of clunking in the front. Especially when it is wet outside.

- Crystal, MN, USA

problem #221

Dec 272006

Liberty

  • miles
In October 2006, I received a safety recall notice for a 2003 Jeep Liberty, safety recall F23-lower ball joints. I called brunswick Chrysler on 2060 route 130, monmouth junction, NJ 08852 for an appointment on November 2, 2006, and was advised to call back in 3 weeks because the parts were in restriction. I called back on November 21, 2006, and was advised to call back in another 3 weeks because the parts were in restriction. In mid December, I called back and the parts were available and I scheduled an appointment for December 27, 2006. I left my car at brunswick Chrysler for 6 hours before they informed me that they ran out of parts and to call back in 3 weeks to make an appointment. In January 2007, I called a different dealership, global auto mall in North plainfield, NJ. I am still on the waiting list. Global auto says they only receive 2-3 parts from the manufacturer a week. I feel Chrysler is not remedying this defect within a reasonable time.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #220

Dec 152006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I am the owner of a 2003 Jeep Liberty that is subject to ball joint recall (notification code F23. I have called georgetown Jeep of westport, ct on two occasions since 12/06 after receiving notice of recall. They have refused to give me an appointment to repair the problem. I understand that this is a safety issue that affects control of the vehicle. I am sending a copy of this complaint to the ct attorney general.

- Wilton, CT, USA

problem #219

Mar 082007

Liberty 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving at 10 mph and making a turn there was a grinding sound. The contact was informed by the dealer that they were in the 20% range on the waiting list. The grinding sound occurred for a couple of months. The contact was aware of the safety risk involved due to recall# 06V288000. The current mileage was 30,251.

- Grand Junction , CO, USA

problem #218

Mar 062006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received a recall notice on lower ball joint rec on the 2003 Jeep Liberty with 36158 current mileage. The vehicle was repaired, but the dealer discovered that the right knuckle that held the ball joint was worn. The dealer would not replace the knuckle because it was not a part of the recall. The contact complained that the recall did not cover the entire problem. * the problem was determined to be the lowert ball joint. Updated 04/12/07.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #217

Mar 032007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Daimler Chrysler has not fixed the safety recall F23 - lower ball joints problem on our 2003 Jeep Liberty vehicle. The dealer they referred us to never contacted us to let us know the parts had arrived and that we could bring the vehicle in for repair. The dealer has now moved or gone out of business. We are worried that the SUV will malfunction and crash without the repairs.

- West Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #216

Mar 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact was concerned that she received more than one recall for the same failure. The first safety recall was 03V460000, and the second one was 06V288000.

- Gunnison, CO, USA

problem #215

Dec 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the dealer in her area stated that she could not bring in her 2003 Jeep Liberty with 56000 current mileage in to repair the ball joint recall during the first week of March. She would have to bring in the vehicle the second week in March. The contact stated that two weeks was too long to wait to have a recall honored. There had been no failure to date.

- Lerado, TX, USA

problem #214

Dec 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the dealer in her area stated that she could not bring in her 2003 Jeep libertywith (56000 current mileage to repair the ball joint recall during the first week of March. She would have to bring in the vehicle the second week in March. The contact stated that two weekswas too long to wait to have a recall honored. There had been no failure to date.

- Lerado, TN, USA

problem #213

Feb 232007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,250 miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty sport. The contact stated that the problem was with daimler Chrysler and the length of time that it was taking them to make the safety repairs on the lower ball joints. The contact stated that they have been waiting since November. She asked for a rental car while waiting for the repairs to be made, and was denied, and did not believe that was fair. The contact heard noises coming from the lower ball joints. The weather conditions were poor, it was wet. Have been wet. The current mileage was 67250. There had been no failures to date.

- Bedford, IN, USA

problem #212

Nov 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received NHTSA recall 06V288000 concerning the lower ball joint. The contact has called the dealership in her area, and they stated that they didn't have any parts available. She has been trying to get the recall repair performed since November of 2006 there have been no failures to date. The current mileage was 40000.

- Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #211

Oct 012006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contct received recall 06V288000 concerning lower ball. The contact called the dealership in her area, and they stated that it could take 4 months in order for them to set up the recall service. There have been no failures to date. Updated 03/30/07.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #210

Feb 132007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2003 Jeep Liberty that has been recalled for the lower ball joints. The recall was issued in September 2006. The recall states of the importance of replacing the ball joints. But the problem is that the dealers can't get the parts to fix the problem. I have been on a "waiting list" for several weeks now, and still am about the 40th person down the list to have this service performed. The recall states that a crash could occur without warning. I realize not all vehicles may be affected, but how do we know if our vehicle is safe" I could understand a few days or a couple of weeks to order a part, but the longer it takes, the safety of my vehicle puts my life in jeopardy, as well as others on the road. I don't understand why this is taking so long on such an important matter. It could take months for my dealer to fix my vehicle, and I am sure there is a long list after my name. It seems like the safety of myself, and other Jeep consumers is not being taken seriously. So why do they send out recalls if they can't get the problem fixed"

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #209

Sep 072006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact stated received recall 06V288000 on 09/2006 for a 2003 Jeep Liberty recall on lower ball joints. The contact stated that as of today she still hadn't received the repairs on the vehicle. The vehicle was having steering problems, and was making a loud noise under the hood. She had contacted the dealership on numerous occasions, and they stated that the part was still not in. The dealership had informed her that there was a long waiting list, and since she hadn't purchase the vehicle from that particular dealership, she may have to wait a little longer. The current mileage was 50000. There has been no failure to date.

- Cliffside Park, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?