Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 5 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #188

Jan 162007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact has a 2003 Jeep Liberty that is involved in the ball joint recall. The contact has called a dealership in her area and they stated that it can take 4-12 weeks in order for them to set up service. NHTSA campaign id number : 06V288000. Updated 2/22/2007 -there were no parts available to perform the recall.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #187

Jan 162006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
- the contact received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joints on a 2003 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact has been waiting for 2 months and is currently number 11 on the waiting list. The contact has not had any failures with the vehicle to date and currently has approximately 60,000 miles on the vehicle.

- Shallotte, NC, USA

problem #186

Jan 122007

Liberty

  • miles
I have two issues. The first being that I received the recall notice for the lower ball joints on my 2003 Jeep Liberty. I contacted the dealer on Nov. 16, 2006 and was asked for my name, number, and address. The man told me that the parts were not in stock and had to be ordered which may take 4-5 weeks. He said they would contact me as soon as the part came in. It has been two months and I have yet to be contacted. Recalls are supposed to be done in a timely manner. Is this "shortage" of parts really the problem or it my local dealer. My second issue is that of the floor shifter. The last two times I drove my Jeep, it refused to go into park or 1st gear. I tried pressing harder on the button on the underside of the shifter, turning my vehicle off, and giving it force. The first time I ended up driving to my local mechanic who couldn't get it into park at first either, after giving it some force it went in, however he seemed to ignore the fact that it was a problem with the vehicle and told me to "make sure I press the button in when trying to put it into park." It happened the following day when I was parking in front of my home. I struggled for 15 minutes, then drove around the block and tried again. I went into park although not smoothly. I will be contacting the dealer tomorrow. I was wondering if anyone else had this issue and would it be covered under any warranty. I have had nothing but negative experiences with dealers, therefore I am dreading having to take my Jeep and pay for a "defect". please if you have any information on these issues, let me know. Thank you for your time.

- Jeannette, PA, USA

problem #185

Oct 122006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 54,146 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joints. The contact stated that she called the dealer on October 13, 2006 and was told they would order the part. The contact called the dealer back 1/12/07 because she was told it would take approximately 3 months to get the part, she was told that the part had not been order. The dealer has told the contact once again they will call when the part arrives. The vehicle has an odometer reading of 54,146 miles. The contact stated that when the driver applies the brakes or when the steering is turned left or right there is a vibration.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #184

Jan 122007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
- the contact has a 2003 Jeep Liberty that is involved in the ball joint recall. The contact has called the dealership in her area and, they stated that it can take 4-12 weeks in order for them to set up service. NHTSA campaign id number : 06V288000.

- Clyde, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #183

Jan 112007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Daimler Chrysler is not sending the dealership sufficient number of parts to repair the recalls. I've been waiting over a month and call practically everyday to see if a shipment of the "lower ball joint" parts have come in. Meanwhile it's very unsettling to know that my steering can fail at any moment. Perhaps daimler Chrysler would rather hear from my surviving family and their attorneys should anything happen to me due to their failing to provide a replacement to an inexpensive part that could directly be the cause of an unfortunate accident.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #182

Oct 272006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,068 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact experienced ball joint failure at 5 mph in the 2003 Jeep Liberty. The vehicle was towed at a cost of $63.50. The vehicle was left at dealership awaiting parts for repairs under recall 06V288000. The vehicle has been at the dealer from 10/27/06 to 11/28/06. The contact rented a vehicle from 10/27 to 11/13 at a cost $424.81. Daimler Chrysler Jeep would only provide goodwill dollars to cover towing $63.50 and not the rental.

- Vida, OR, USA

problem #181

Jan 082007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
- the contact received recall 06V288000 concerning lower ball joints. The contact called the dealer twice and they told her that they only get three units in a week, and she will have to wait a few months to have her vehicle repaired. Updated 02/13/07.

- Dubuque, IA, USA

problem #180

Oct 132005

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,846 miles
- the contact received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joint on a 2003 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. She was put on a waiting list on 11/21/06, but the contact has not heard from the dealer. The contact stated that in October 2003, she began to have brake problems. The contact stated she was having difficulty putting the vehicle in reverse gear because she would hear grinding noises which, happened intermittently. The contact took the vehicle to dealer for repair on 10/13/05, and the failure was diagnosed as the left rear caliper freezing and causing the left rear brake pad to damage the rotor. Updated 1/30/2007 -

- Jenison, MI, USA

problem #179

Oct 252006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
- the contact stated that she received 06V288000 on October 25,2006 for her 2003 Jeep Liberty. The recall was for the lower ball joint. The contact stated that when driving the vehicle at 50 mph the vehicle vibrated and the steering became difficult. The dealership in her area stated that they were only receiving 3 ball joints per week.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #178

Oct 252006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received recall 06V288000 for 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact hasn't had any failures with the vehicle at this time. The contact called the dealer about five weeks ago and put his name on a waiting list, and he was told it would take at least another month. The contact traveled frequently, was concerned about the safety risk involved. Updated 02/09/07.

- Steelwater, ME, USA

problem #177

Jan 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact received recall 06V288000 in October 2006 for the replacement of the lower ball joints. The contact stated she was number 17 on the waiting list. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, and thet found out that the lower ball joint on the right hand side was corroded. The contacted stated she was concerned for her safety when driving the vehicle. There has been no failures to date. The consumer stated the recall repairs haave been resolved. Updated 01/29/07.

- Keene, NH, USA

problem #176

Oct 252006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact received recall 06V288000 on 10/25/06, for 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stook the vehicle to dayton Jeep, and was told that they didn't have parts available to make the repairs. The dealer did not give her an appointment at that time. The contactried on numerous occasions to get an appointment, and the dealership still refused to setup T an appointment. Also, the contact was having steering problems during all types of weather, especially under rainy conditions.

- Kendall Park, NJ, USA

problem #175

Oct 312006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
- the contact stated received recall 06V288000 concerning the lower ball joints. The contact called the dealer on 10/31/06, and he was put on a waiting list. The contact called the dealer back a on 11/7/06, and was told the dealer was about three weeks away from getting the part. The contact called the dealer back on 1/8/07, and was told he was approximately four weeks away from getting the part. The contact believed that this was unacceptable amount of time to wait for the replacement part. There has been no failures to date.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #174

Dec 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
- the contact stated that she received recall 06V288000 in november2006. She contacted the dealer, and was told it would take approximately 6 weeks for the lower ball joint part to come in, and to call back in 6 weeks. The vehicle has approximately 42,000 miles. The contact called back the first week of December, and was told she was 137th on the waiting list, and that they were only getting three parts in per week. The contact maintained that the dealer did not put her name on the waiting list when she called in November. The contact having problems with the vehicle, but she did not know what the problems were because she did not drive the vehicle.

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #173

Jan 052007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received a safety recall F23--lower ball joints from daimler Chrysler; however, when I tried to schedule an appointment with a dealer they stated they did not have the parts available and would take up to 2 months to receive the parts. Also each dealership were limited to how many replacement parts they would receive from daimler Chrysler due to demand of these parts. If daimler Chrysler is concerned enough to send out a safety recall, would they not also make parts available to dealerships to ensure their consumers' safety?

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #172

Jan 042007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was informed after a very close call and backing up of traffic, due to ball joint on my 2003 Jeep Liberty breaking, this caused me to abruptly stop with no way to park off the road and caused sever damage to my pass. Side rim on my tire, I would like to be compensated for my for my time as I had to call a tow trucking dept. To tow my car and have the ball joints replaced, I was left shaking up by this and had it been a day earlier, my daughter and her baby could have been killed as they traveled at night on interstate 79 to pittsburgh, this was very frightening to me as well as my daughter for what could have happened, I was never notified of a recall. I drove my Jeep after the replaced ball joint and was very hesitating to travel far for what could have happened to myself and family, this inconvenienced not only myself but those involved whom I had to rely on for transportation.

- Angola, NY, USA

problem #171

Dec 272006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
- the contact has a 2003 Jeep Liberty with an odometer reading of 58000 miles when the ball joints failed. The contact received the recall notice 06V288000, and had the vehicle was taken to the dealership, andthey repaired the Jeep on 12-12-06. On 12-27-06 the contact was driving about 30 mph under fair conditions when something snapped off and she lost control of the vehicle and hit a tree on the passengers side. The contact said that the air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries, and the a police report was taken.

- West Monroe, NY, USA

problem #170

Jan 042007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
- the contact received recall 06V28800 regarding lower ball joints. The contact called a dealership in her area, and they stated that it could take up to 7 months in order for them to set up service. Since November 1, 2006 the dealership received 10 replacement parts. Updated 01/31/07.

- Clementon, NJ, USA

problem #169

Jan 042007

Liberty

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice on my 2003 Jeep Liberty two weeks ago and called the local dealership immediately to set up a service appt for repair. I was told they did not have the part in stock and would have to order them and they should be in by the end of that week. I followed up on this the following week (12/27/06) and was told the parts were still not in. I called the dealership again today and was told that it would be another 1 to 1 1/2 weeks. I feel they are not repairing my vehicle in a reasonable time. I rely on my vehicle and asked for a loaner, but they told me no. Any assistance in getting the recall repairs expedited would be greatly appreciated.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?