Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,292 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Sep 052007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,182 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Wednesday, September 5, 2007, at approximately 8:30pm both my husband and I got in our 2006 Jeep Liberty with only 9,188 miles to drive home. Upon turning on the vehicle we turned up the air conditioner and heard a grinding sound. Unsure of what the noise was, my husband turned down the air for a moment. As he turned the air back up the blower fan fell out of the dashboard and into the foot area of the passenger front seat where I was sitting. The blower fan was still turning as it made contact with my feet because it did not detach from the electrical wiring. The blower fan continued running until my husband shut off the vehicle. Due to the fact that I was wearing sandals when the blower fan fell out of the dashboard my toes were severely lacerated and suffered abrasions. These injuries required me to seek medical attention. Due to this injury I have had to miss work, as it is not possible for me to wear shoes, stand for any length of time, or sit without elevating my feet. This incident along with other multiple faulty window components, all of which are warranty items, cause us concern. Particularly since the blower fan was a recalled part and had recently been replaced. We no longer feel that this vehicle is safe to operate and have contacted Chrysler headquarters customer service call center for assistance and are awaiting an inspection.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #24

Jun 012007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for the electrical system (NHTSA campaign # 07V089000) in June of 2007. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they did not perform the recall repair. The dealer stated that the part was unavailable. As of August 8, 2007, the dealer has not repaired the vehicle. There had been no failure to date. The powertrain was unknown. The current mileage was 10,000. Updated 02-01-08 updated 02/01/08

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #23

Aug 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. On the third day after the vehicle was purchased, the vehicle began to vibrate while driving 40 mph. The vehicle was taken to two dealers and they stated that the vehicle was operating normally. However, the vibrations continue to occur. The contact received recall notice number 07V089000 (electrical system) on August 3, 2007. The dealer informed him that there is a three week waiting period and will call him to schedule an appointment. The dealer also stated that if the vehicle happens to overheat, the contact should stop, turn the vehicle off, and let it cool down. The current mileage was 8,000 and failure mileage was 200.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #22

Jul 062007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter from daimler Chrysler, about blower motor may overheat and cause an interior fire under certain operating conditions. I was go to the dealer (napleton Chrysler) for to do that, they told me they don't has that parts for to do the job, they will contact me for it, I 'm waiting the whole month and I don't recipe notice for it, since the problem should happen anytime, I want to present this complaint and pass to daimler Chrysler all the responsibility for the car and all the injures.

- Saint Cloud, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 162007

Liberty

  • 14,000 miles
2006 Jeep Liberty with motor blower recall problems customer wants reimbursement for repairs* the consumer stated he received a recall notice for his vehicle pertaining to the motor blower. The dealer stated the recall work had already been performed and there was nothing that they could do. The consumer stated that he contacted Chrysler who informed him to get the vehicle repaired and supply them with the invoice for reimbursement.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #20

Jul 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. On July 6, 2007, the contact received recall notice number 07V089000 (electrical system). He was informed by two local dealers that it would take two months before the vehicle could be repaired. The current mileage is 8,000 and the failure mileage was unknown.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #19

Jun 072007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice # 07V089000 (electrical system) on June 7, 2007. She spoke with the dealer who stated that they will not hold the part for her, however, she felt that they should. No failures have occurred at this time. The current mileage is 7,000 and the failure mileage was inapplicable.

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #18

Jun 072007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact had been attempting to schedule an appointment to have his vehicle serviced for NHTSA recall # 07V089000 (electrical system). The dealer and manufacturer stated that no parts were available. The contact was placed on a waiting list. The current and failure mileages were 10,000.

- Leonia , NJ, USA

problem #17

Feb 162007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice # 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint) and has been on a waiting list since February of 2007. She received recall notice # 07V089000 (electrical system) in June of 2007. The dealer stated that there is no estimated time of when the part will become available. The contact has not experienced any failures at this time. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage is 32,000 and failure mileage was inapplicable.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #16

Jun 052007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received her first recall notice on June 5, 2007 and called the dealer to schedule an appointment. The dealer stated that they would call her when the parts arrived. They never called and the contact received a second recall notice a few days later. She called the dealer again and was told that they are only receiving two parts per week. The dealer stated that she was on the waiting list for the repair. The contact feels that she should not have to wait this long, if this is a potential safety issue. No failures have occurred at this time. The recall #'s were unknown. The current mileage is 33,000 and failure mileage was 28,000. The consumer stated she has yet to receive notification from the dealer that the part needed to perform the recall was in the office. The consumer provided a copy of the recall notice. Updated 07/24/07

- Carmel , NY, USA

problem #15

Mar 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 2006 Jeep Liberty renegade activates for no apparent reason, causing vehicle to lose power/choke out/stumble on acceleration. Problem occurred intermittently up to 3 or 4 times a week. Tended to happen often when going around corners in 1st or 2nd gear, and sometimes when just going straight. Sometimes the light will flash while the loss of power occured, but sometimes not.. when this occurred pavement was dry and there were no abrupt manuevers no reason for this system to activate. This was a serious safety issue that could cause an accident. Purchased vehicle new from dealer in November '06. Dealer acknowledged problem in March '07, claiming they were waiting for a software update from Chrysler. In June '07 I returned to the dealer and addressed the problem again, and I was told that there were no tsbs, no codes, and they could not duplicate the problem. They did not acknowledge"the problem this time. They acknowledged it in writing on my service receipt in March). Even on the way home from the dealer today it happened again when I exited an off ramp from the highway.

- East Islip, NY, USA

problem #14

Jun 252007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice # 07V089000 (electrical system). Two dealers stated that it will take 2-3 weeks to get an appointment. The manufacturer stated that they could not provide a rental. The current mileage is 6,581 and the failure mileage was unknown.

- Raleigh , NC, USA

problem #13

Jun 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,900 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. After receiving a safety recall on June 21, 2007, the contact called her dealer to schedule an appointment. She was told that the earliest she could bring her vehicle in for the repair is on August 20, 2007. She called daimler Chrysler on June 22, 2007 and they explained the difficulty they were experiencing in retrieving the parts for the repair. The contact is currently not experiencing the failure stated in safety recall # 07V089000 (electrical system). The current and failure mileages were 4,900.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #12

Jun 102007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact received recall notice # 07V089000 (electrical system). The dealer stated that they are only receiving two parts every ten days. Currently, no failures have occurred. The VIN, engine size, and failure mileage were unavailable. The current mileage is 25,000.

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

problem #11

Jun 162007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact received recall notice # 07V089000 (electrical system). He stated that he has notified the dealer and they do not have the parts to repair the recall. He has notified several other dealers and the waiting lists are extremely long. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer will explain why the parts are unavailable or the possible cause of failure. The current mileage is 30,000 and the failure mileage was unknown.

- Sewell, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jun 112007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact received recall notice # 07V089000 (electrical system). She is # 91 on the recall repair waiting list. The contact has not experienced any failures at this time. The purchase date and mileage information were unavailable.

- Hackensack, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jun 112007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact received recall notice # 07V089000 (electrical system). The dealer stated that they are only receiving two parts per week. The contact was put on a waiting list. Presently, no failures have occurred. The purchase date and failure mileage were unknown. The current mileage is 6,000.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #8

Jun 112007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice # 07V089000 (electrical system). The contact was added to a waiting list. Presently, no failures have occurred. The engine size was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 9,500.

- Long Valley, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 032007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. She stated that she received a recall notice (recall # 07V089000) on 06/03/07 for the electrical system. The dealer stated that they would add her name to the waiting list; however, they did not inform the contact how long she would have to wait. The dealer stated they are only receiving two parts per week. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 12,000.

- Naugatuck, CT, USA

problem #6

Jun 062007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice # 07V089000 (electrical system) on June 6, 2007. The dealer stated that it would take eight weeks to have the vehicle repaired because the manufacturer is only sending two parts per week. The manufacturer stated that nothing can be done. The contact felt that the wait time is too long. There have been no failures to date. The current mileage is 4,500 and the failure mileage was unknown. Updated 02-01-08.

- Worcester, MA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?