Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 5 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Feb 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had recall notice for installing a trailer hitch. Took to midway Jeep in kearney ne. On February 3 2014 and they told me that they had to order a hitch. As of today May 5,2014, I still don't have a hitch installed.

- Odessa , NE, USA

problem #90

May 062013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 56,870 miles
Vehicle overflows when being filled. On 6 may vehicle was taken to dealer for correction. Dealer replace evap nvld and canister ($446). Problem not solved. Taken back to dealer, still not repaired. Called Chrysler(1-800-853-1403) and was informed no problems reported. Checked on internet and individuals are having same problem. Sounds like a problem that should be fixed due to a fire hazard and not have customer pay.

- Pequot Lakes, MN, USA

problem #89

Jun 262013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair because the necessary part was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/7/14 the consumer had been waiting a year for a trailor hitch to be installed on the vehicle. Updated 07/11/2014

- Panama City , FL, USA

problem #88

May 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure), however the remedy part has been unavailable for some time now. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer has been notified of the problem on multiple occasions without any response.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #87

Apr 182014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Dealer unable to handle recall.

- White Plains, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #86

Apr 162014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and was informed by the dealer and manufacturer that the part was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 06/17/14

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #85

Jan 022014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and the parts needed was currently unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/31/14

- Fairbanks, AK, USA

problem #84

Jan 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
My original intent was to file a complaint about a gas overflow issue, but after seeing all the other Liberty complaints, I have included other issues I have: 1. for at least two years, when pumping gas, the gas has continued to flow even after the automatic flow has shut off. I now stand at the pump and when I think it is getting full, I start pumping by hand to avoid the overflow. After checking on the internet, this is an issue other Liberty owners experience. I did receive the initial recall notice for 13V-252, but nothing since to say the part is in. Since the gas overflow is experienced by many owners, is this part of the recall" 2. check engine light is always on. It has been re-set many times; is ok for a day or two and then re-appears. Per owner's manual, this is not an issue unless the light is flashing, which it is not, but why does this continue to occur" 3. both back electric windows have fallen down without warning. Both are now secured in place with tape, as it would be too expensive to repair. 4. the back left door will not open from the inside.

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

problem #83

Dec 312013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
This started aprox 3 years ago. When filling the gas tank to full, the pump would kick off and then gas would always spit back and overflow on to the ground (scary) to avoid this, I stopped filling the tank to full and only to 3/4 full and the problem stopped. But now, I can't add fuel without gas shooting back all over the place even when the tank has low fuel. The only way fuel can be added without getting drenched in gas, is to find a pump that you can feather the on/off handle to run slow enough so it's barely adding fuel, then it will not back up. It takes at least 20 minutes at the pump to add 10 gallons of gas. Unfortunately I gave this vehicle to my 20 year old daughter and she is scared to add fuel so I have to do it. Also, I've had to replace the clock spring and the "gas cap" light never shuts off. I took it to the dealer for clock spring issues and the part was not available so she drove it for months with the warning lights on and the part is still not available but the lights have now shut off.... the gas cap warning could not be fixed by the dealer so that stays on all the time. But this fueling problem is a serious issue.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #82

Dec 012010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 80,200 miles
Fuel system nozzle allows fuel to be expelled after pump auto shutoff engages causing fuel to spill on vehicle and onto pavement.

- Grass Valley , CA, USA

problem #81

Jan 112012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 36,855 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First - my vehicle is under recall and has been for 6 months and Jeep does not have parts available - under rear end crash a fire can happen from gas tank - Jeep supposed to put a hitch on vehicle however does not have the parts. They cannot give me a date of when those parts might be available. Secondly, my gas tank spills over whenever it is filled at gas station.....I was told there was a valve problem that would mean a gas tank replacement at my own cost. This is what I was told in 1-11-2012.

- Burlington, KY, USA

problem #80

Mar 172014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received a safety recall in December of 2013. Contacted local dealer and was told part was not available. I believe areasonable amount of time has passed(almost 3 months).I contacted local dealer again today and they say Chrysler has not released part at this time. How long does it take ? recall notice states that Chrysler intends to inspect my vehicle and install an oem trailer hitch where appropriate.

- Clinton, SC, USA

problem #79

Mar 172014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Contacted the Chrysler dealer in hendersonville, nc, egolf motors 888 810 1729 and Chrysler Corp 800 853 1403...no one can provide correction info date. Both told me they do not know when parts will be available and/or correction made, the recall notice was received in mid-September 2013 and no progress yet. Spoke with a NHTSA rep, [xxx], who was helpful, kind, thrifty, etc and hopefully your report to Chrysler has them quaking in their boots and a repair will be scheduled and completed by the end of the day. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #78

Mar 132014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
There is a safety recall N46 / NHTSA 13V-252 which we were notified about. Said that Chrysler was going to fix the problem. But this recall was effective back in June 2013, and we just called them and they have made no attempt to send out, make or obtain any of the parts needed to fix this safety recall!! can you move them along?

- Placentia, CA, USA

problem #77

Mar 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Fuel spews out of the fuel filler opening after the gas pump shuts off causing fuel to spill on to the vehicle body (both painted and plastic areas), on the ground, and on the person filling the Jeep. This condition has existed for a year before filling this complaint. Apparently this is a wide spread issue across all Jeep lines. The only fix available is complete replacement of the fuel tank (estimated $1700) at the owners expense. Model 2007 and up Jeep Liberty's have a recall for this issue, but not my 2006 per my local dealer.

- Ardmore, TN, USA

problem #76

Mar 062014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she attempted to have her vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should be a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #75

Mar 102012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
When I put gas in my Jeep it burps gas out. This has been happening since I bought the Jeep in 2012. I've looked online and this has been happening to other people with other Jeep owners. I called Chrysler and they told be that it was not a recall on my Jeep model.

- Maple Valley, WA, USA

problem #74

Jun 252008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
This incident started in 2008 and at the time thought it was a failure of the gas pump at the gas station but now the problem is more common and happens weekly, recently splashing gasoline into my eyes which required fluid eye rinse and medical attention. Every time I fill up the tank on my 2006 Jeep Liberty, the gas begins to overflow and splashes back, out of the fuel inlet opening. This in turn sprays fuel out at a force, and then onto the ground. Recently this happened and sprayed fuel into my eyes, on onto my clothes. Not only is this a safety issue, but also a major fire hazard. It is my understanding after talking with the dealer that this is a known problem with Jeep Liberty's in that the fuel tank's inlet check valve is faulty which in turn fails to automatically shut off the gas station fuel pump in time. This is my formal complaint that I was injured due to a known, faulty part/component of the Jeep Liberty.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #73

Jan 062014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the contact was not able to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the needed part was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 03/07/14 updated 03/13/14

- Franklin , OH, USA

problem #72

Nov 062013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Have not been able to fill up my gas tank completely since this past fall. I purchased this vehicle August 2013 from an authorized Chrysler/Jeep dealership. Please note that this is not user error at the gas pump. I have owned at least a few different cars and understand how to use a gas pump. I've filled the Jeep Liberty at least a dozen different gas stations and it does it every time and the gas sensor at the pump will not shut off. I have had no choice but to have westbury Jeep service center on January 15,2013 to look at the vehicle since the gas overflow is a potential hazard.

- Wyandanch, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?