Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: As long as catastrophic engine failure at under 60,000 miles is the top owner complaint, it'll be pretty hard to recommend the 2012 Sorento.

3.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,807 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Kia Sorento engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #81

Nov 152016

Sorento

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on a city highway at approx 40mph, engine died, check engine light came on. Lost power steering etc. Coasted to side of road, car would not restart. Had to call towing company to get it to Kia main dealer. Engine had completely seized (spun main bearing). It has had regular maintenance using mobil 1 synthetic oil. Engine was at 111,000 miles and is being replaced under Kia 120K mile extended engine warranty.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #80

Nov 142016

Sorento

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Kia Sorento. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart on the first attempt; however, there was an abnormal sound from the hood. The contact mentioned that the vehicle would not accelerate higher than 50 mph. The check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that metal shavings were located in the oil, and there was catastrophic engine failure. The engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 107,000.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #79

Oct 122016

Sorento

  • 61,600 miles
Within the week before Wednesday, 10/12/16, both my wife and I heard a "clicking" noise from the engine compartment. We notified our local auto mechanic and they, too, heard the noise but we're not able to make any diagnosis. Then, on the date noted, after accelerating into traffic on a 4-lane hwy (hwy 101, South toward santa rosa, ca), at a speed of about 65 mph, there was a loud, alarming knocking noise in the engine. The engine did not die / quit, but we were able to brake and pull off immediately. It was obvious that we could not proceed safely, so we called a tow truck to take us back to lakeport. There our mechanic informed us of the need of an engine replacement.

- Lakeport, CA, USA

problem #78

Sep 252016

Sorento

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Kia Sorento. When the contact started the engine, thick white smoke emitted from the exhaust pipe. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was oil sludge around the engine and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000.

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #77

Oct 092016

Sorento

  • miles
10/09/2016 driving home from being evacuated because of hurricane matthew, with my daughter, son-in-law and grandbaby. While going down the hwy 65 miles per hour, we heard a loud noise, I felt a thump under my foot on the passenger side. We later learned it was the rod that went through the engine. Thank god my husband costed the car over to the side, it would not start. We called for help from a friend they picked us up. Towed the car to Kia dealership in myrtle beach. We have just learned they are not going to pay for a new motor. They have determined it was not their fault!! how is this possible"? with all these complaints. Why is there not a class action law suite"

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #76

Oct 032016

Sorento

  • 118,200 miles
On my way to work I hear a loud pop. Then after that I could hear a knocking noise every time I accelerated. I had the car towed to the dealership I bought the car at. I was told I had a rod knocking, if I could provide proof of oil changes every 7500 miles they would see if Kia would cover this. My oil is changed every 5000 but done at home not a dealership or lube place. I did not keep my receipts of oil and filter bought. Therefore I was out of luck. They could get a rebuilt motor for $6100 with a year warranty. But, they could not find a used motor. The general manager at the dealership was so rude to me on the phone and even used foul language. He said that I had never serviced my car which is nowhere near the truth.

- Naples, TX, USA

problem #75

Jul 092016

Sorento

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Son was driving vehicle on interstate. Started making a noise and then stopped. Had it towed. Dealership said it was the bearings on the underside of crankshaft. 114,000 miles so out of warranty. Had to replace engine at cost to me of over $7,000.

- Richlands, VA, USA

problem #74

Sep 022016

Sorento

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Kia Sorento. While driving 80 mph, the vehicle decelerated and stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that a rod went through the engine block. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 144,000.

- Desoto, GA, USA

problem #73

Sep 112016

Sorento

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Kia Sorento. While driving various speeds, an abnormal sound was heard coming from the bottom of the vehicle. The vehicle stalled without warning. The contact pulled over to the shoulder, but the vehicle failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was a hole in the engine block, the rods came apart, and there was no oil in the vehicle. The dealer stated that the engine block would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000.

- De Soto, GA, USA

problem #72

Aug 072014

Sorento

  • 44,516 miles
My car shut off while driving on the highway (doing about 70mph) back in the summer of 2013. Luckily, there was no traffic so I was able to coast over to the side of the highway to restart my car (push button start). They said it was the crankshaft sensor. On August 7, 2014 (44,516K), 8 oil changes using synthetic oil and Kia oil filters (2 generic), my engine was making a fluttering noise and then a knocking noise.end result, they said I neglected my car and needed a new engine. Kia motors outright refused to fix my car under the warranty. Even when proof of oil changes was done. I had no warning whatsoever. No smoke of any kind coming from the tailpipe, not sluggish, no warning lights, nothing. Kia motors never fixed my car. It sat dead in my driveway for over 15 months. I finally wrote a letter to the owner of the dealership back on June 3, 2015 and she contacted me in October and said that, "if anyone has pull with Kia, it's me, I own the dealership, and they won't even talk to me about your car." She ended up replacing my engine with a used one, got it all ready for inspection and put newer tires on it so that it would pass inspection and offered to pay for half the cost ($4200, I paid $2100). This is a very big problem. I am hearing of more and more people having the exact same issue I did. Even one person who stated all of their vehicles maintenance was done through the dealership and Kia motors still refused to fix their car under the warranty. Something needs to be done about this. Let's not wait until god forbid someone gets killed because of this issue.

- Townsend, MA, USA

problem #71

May 062016

Sorento

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On May 6th, 2016 I was driving to work (back roads with a speed limit of 55 or less), just a few miles from my place of employment when I heard a ticking/clicking type of noise. Each time I pressed the gas the noise got louder and the vehicle got sluggish. I stopped at one traffic light and was able to go through with little problem other than the sound getting louder. As I stopped at another traffic light the car stalled, I was able to turn it over and again got through the light but the power was even more sluggish as I pressed the gas and the noise got even louder. The vehicle finally died and I was able to coast to the curb out of the way of traffic. The engine was ceased because a rod broke an drove itself into the oil pump resulting in the need to replace the engine. The first replacement engine did not work properly thus they had to find a second engine to replace the replacement. I was told because I was not the original owner the warrantee did not transfer with the vehicle, the replacement and all related expenses cost me over $8,000. As I have found so many complaints here for the same problem I think there should be a class action lawsuit brought against Kia motors. This is a major safety issue and should have a recall before someone dies.

- Winslow, ME, USA

problem #70

Aug 072016

Sorento

  • 162,000 miles
While driving 70mph on the highway the engine shut down no warning lights, no check engine lights, no warning what so ever. We had a near miss with the person behind us but were able to get to the side of the road without incident. The vehicle would not start. After waiting 15 minutes I was able to get the vehicle to start, it now has a loud clank coming from the engine and still no power. We were stranded unable to drive it. We had it towed to the dealership. The service department looked at it and found metal shavings in the motor, said he has had to fix many of these issues on this particular motor, gdi 2.4 L and that it is a manufacturing issue nothing we did. The cause was from metal shavings blocking oil passage to the rods and the rod bearings went out causing a catastrophic engine failure without warning.

- Peculiar, MO, USA

problem #69

Aug 022016

Sorento

  • 24,440 miles
The car would lose power while driving then accelerate to speed. This was followed by smoke from the tail pipe. I have returned to the yonkers Kia dealership on central Park Avenue in yonkers NY on August 5th, 2016 to look into a problem. A diagnostic was done and it was determined the engine was ruined do to slug build up. I was told that a replacement would coast about $10,000. Odd for me because my wife and I took the car in for regular oil changes and no indication of engine issues displayed on the dashboard. After speaking to a service representative he stated that I would have to support proof of maintenance on my car which would allow my repairs done under our warranty. I became extremely disillusioned after bringing the car into Kia due to an issue that can be tied to the manufacturer. We were denied service under the warranty which we are still under. Our car is fairly new with less than 25K miles. We carried out all of the steps thus far including taking care of our investment, proving our car has been taken care off including keeping meticulous annotations (kept in the log provided by Kia) and receipts to date. This is another example of big companies looking for loopholes and using tactics to swindle people of their hard earned paychecks. However, Kia does not want to honor us. Our paperwork/log/receipts are being taken apart with prejudice in order to not provide services and rectify this issue that is proven to be a defect. We are concluding that based on the poor handling of our case and many others like ours, Kia and its affiliates /dealers and corporate, are not about safety and customer satisfaction. All we ask is that Kia honors its warranty rather than finagle use on the fabricated notion that we are at fault rather than poor engineering.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #68

Jul 052016

Sorento

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Kia Sorento. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle randomly stalled without warning. The vehicle was unable to be driven due to the failure and was towed to the dealer. The dealer indicated that the engine fractured and fragments entered into other areas of the vehicle. The dealer replaced the engine assembly. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no solution. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 09/23/16

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #67

Jul 202016

Sorento

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Kia Sorento. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle made a knocking noise from the engine. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine rods were twisting and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Middletown, DE, USA

problem #66

Jul 142016

Sorento

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Kia Sorento. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted, but would not accelerate. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #65

Mar 092013

Sorento

  • 6,000 miles
The vehicle grossly lost power and came to a near stop which almost caused collision with vehicles traveling at speed limit behind me. While traveling normally at the posted 55 mph speed the vehicle slowed immediately to nearly moving. This happened multiple times which I reported to the Kia dealer each time. The dealer did not correctly diagnose the problem until after the third report.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #64

Jul 082016

Sorento

  • 77,000 miles
Driving 80mph on highway, heard pinging noise from engine, car slowed down and would not accelerate past 60mph. Car suddenly lost all power, power steering and brakes, resulting in a dangerous sudden stall event. Towed car to dealership, was told engine seized and needed a new engine.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #63

Jul 072016

Sorento

  • 59,000 miles
I was driving my son to school on a city street and stopped at a stop sign then tried to accelerate and all of the lights on the dash began flashing and the car just shut-off. I put my car in park and restarted it. This type of incident has happened twice before and the dealership just tells me to keep bringing it in. They can never find what the problem is.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #62

May 212016

Sorento

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Kia Sorento. While driving out of a parking lot at 5 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the engine failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 107,000. The VIN was not available.

- Marion, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?