Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There are just too many engine stalls or shuts down while driving reports to feel good about the Sorento. Especially when those things happen, on average, at just over 32,000 miles. Hopefully things will change.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,504 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Kia Sorento engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #68

Dec 182015

Sorento

  • 37,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stopped for a red light in a residential neighborhood. When traffic light turned green realized the car had stalled out. Was in " drive " and was not low on gas. Put flashers on and shut off car. Was able to restart car and drove home. Called Kia in smithtown where car was purchased and was told if I brought in car and it didn't stall while in their care the techs wouldn't be able to tell me why it happened.

- East Northport, NY, USA

problem #67

Dec 182015

Sorento

  • 37,800 miles
Stopped for a red light in a residential neighborhood. When traffic light turned green realized the car had stalled out. Was in " drive " and was not low on gas. Put flashers on and shut off car. Was able to restart car and drove home. Called Kia in smithtown where car was purchased and was told if I brought in car and it didn't stall while in their care the techs wouldn't be able to tell me why it happened.

- East Northport, NY, USA

problem #66

Sep 042015

Sorento

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Kia Sorento. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and was unable to be restarted. The vehicle was towed to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the engine needed to be replaced due to sludge build up. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure; however, the contact was informed by the manufacturer that the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #65

Jul 262015

Sorento

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 3 separate occasions over the past 2.5 years the engine has completely stopped while I was driving on the freeway. I have narrowed down how to reproduce the problem: 1) set cruise control 2) shift into neutral 3) turn off cruise control quickly after shifting into neutral the problem doesn't happen every time, but when it does: 1) the engine stops immediately 2) a bunch of dashboard lights come on: Check engine, oil pressure and others I can't remember 3) the power steering stops working (probably because the engine is off) this is very alarming! I generally work around the problem, but on 7/26 while traveling in Wyoming (80 mph speed limit on I-25), the engine quit while I was going 80 mph! luckily the brakes still worked and I was able to get the car the side and restart. I could have easily wrecked. To restart the engine, I: 1) shift into park 2) turn off ignition 3) turn on ignition I mailed Kia the above information two days ago and have not heard back. Updated 9/15/15.... updated 09/30/15

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #64

Jun 012015

Sorento

  • 60,800 miles
At 60,800 mile my Kia Sorentos engine blew. I took it to the service department believing it would be under warranty only to find out they voided my warranty stating I had excessive sludge in the engine. For more than a month prior to that incident we also had a airbag light illuminate and stay on. At the time of engine failure we thought that we could fix that issue as well only to find that my electrical warranty went out at 60,000 miles. I have been researching these items online only to find that there is multiple complaints of both engine failure and the airbag light illuminating which is said to be a control module. With the amount of complaints out there why is there no recall.

- Oak Hills, CA, USA

problem #63

Jan 162013

Sorento

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that the interior lights failed to turn off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the vehicle was operating as designed. The failure recurred and the dealer diagnosed that the software needed to be updated. Additionally, the vehicle failed to start without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The battery was replaced however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #62

Dec 222014

Sorento

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased 2013 Kia Sorento brand new on 6/11/12, car was shaky and idled roughly on & off during the first year, seems to have resolved itself. On 12/22/14 while driving 35 mph on secondary road engine began to make a ticking sound. Parked vehicle and had it towed the following day on 12/23/14 to Kia dealership, they called me that afternoon and told me it was the oil control valve and it was ordered and requested for overnight and car would be done on 12/24/14. I called dealer on 12/24/14 @ 11:03am and part wasn't in yet was told that I'd be called when part arrived. Received call from dealer at 2pm that part had arrived and been installed by tech but that engine was still making ticking noise, so not fixed. Was told that they would have to start over again on Friday 12/26/14 with request to Kia warranty service for approval for "engine tear down", which I will also have to authorized and agree to pay $400 for (waived if all repairs are covered by warranty). This vehicle only has 53000 miles on it and has been driven for 30 months, all regular maintenance schedules followed and there should no way be an internal engine problem on a properly built engine. Kia has some serious issues with the engine in this car and should have recalled the entire line of 2013 Sorento's and corrected the problem. I was told by the service department at the dealer that " we may be looking at a new engine". I hope not, even though I could have a almost 3 year old car with no mileage I don't want one, if the first engine has this serious problem what would the second engine have. I am going to do everything in my power to hold Kia responsible and make them cover under warranty.

- Brockton , MA, USA

problem #61

Oct 012013

Sorento

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and the check engine sensor illuminated intermittently. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician diagnosed that the computer software needed to be updated. The software was updated, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #60

Oct 092014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 20,960 miles
Engine simply stopped while driving resulting in loss of braking and steering control. All indicator lights on dashboard came on when the engine shut off. Coasted to a stop, put transmission in park and was able to restart the engine. Took the car to Kia dealer who said it needed a software update which was performed. The same problem of the engine shutting off happened the very next day. Taking the car back to the dealer today.

- Folsom, CA, USA

problem #59

Oct 162014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
2013 Kia Sorento LX loss of accelerator control. I had just exited a 55mph boulevard onto a 35mph residential street. As I accelerated to the posted speed there was a "pop?, the car lurched, and the engine light came on. The engine was still running but there was no response from pressing the accelerator pedal. I cut off the engine, waited a minute and restarted it. The engine, transmission and electrical all seemed to be fine but the accelerator was non-responsive. Surprisingly the engine idle speed was sufficient to push the car along on moderately hilly roads. I managed to get the car to the Kia dealer, where I purchased it, and left it with the service department. After I got home I did a google search for ?Kia Sorento acceleration" and found multiple reports of accelerator problems with 2012 through 2014 Kia Sorentos. www.Kia-forums.com/2011-2013-xm-Sorento-forum/76454-2012-Sorento-disconnected-accelerator.html www.carcomplaints.com/Kia/Sorento/2013/engine/died_while_driving.shtml after reviewing the various posts I believe that the computer software upgrade that the service departments are loading are not going to resolve the issue, otherwise Kia would not have been having this issue for several years. I believe the actual issue is a faulty part that has not been replaced or redesigned. If that is the case then I will have this issue again sometime in the future. The tech reported that they found 3 service codes. They cleared the codes, checked the computer software and "found old version". they reported that they updated the software and performed a throttle cleaning. They test drove the car twice and the engine light did not turn back on (no codes).

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #58

Sep 092014

Sorento

  • 9,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbags didn't deploy when I hit a person in the rear after severely damaged front end of my vehicle and parts being shoved into the motor and the motor received a crack in the block.

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #57

Oct 022013

Sorento

  • 11,804 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Kia Sorento. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle decelerated and went into idle mode. The vehicle resumed normal operation once it was turned off and restarted. The dealer cleaned the throttle body and updated the software; however, the failure recurred twice. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,804.

- Hamilton , NJ, USA

problem #56

Aug 082014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
On two occasions one month a part, while driving my 2013 Kia Sorento LX3 the engine light went on and the car was unable to shift RPM's and could not accelerate over 15/20 mph. The car went into "limp home" or safety mode when trying to accelerate and merge onto a 40mph and 50 mph highway. The car could not speed up to flow of traffic and was nearly rear ended by rush hour commuter bus with two small children in the back seat in Chicago, il. Kia service said car "fixed" twice. Concerned about repeat problems and potential fatal accidents as result of some malfunction.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #55

May 152014

Sorento

  • 30,000 miles
Car stalls at low speeds, refuses to go over 60 mpg and check engine light comes on. Lose power at speed (on freeway) and tachometer goes to zero. This has happened many times and is getting to become a safety concern. Have taken it into dealer who cannot find a problem with it, but I have two teenage daughters and I don't feel safe with them driving it. Twice while driving on freeway the vehicle had a braking response when the accelerator was pressed. My daughter once had to hussle over to the shoulder in heavy traffic to turn the car all the way off and back on to reset it. Many times it stalls while sitting at traffic lights.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #54

Aug 082014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 22,565 miles
While accelerating on an incline the engine lost power all together and the engine light came on. Kia needs to investigate immediately!

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #53

Aug 072013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
I was going down the highway at 55 mph and it just cuts off, the engine stops. It has down this several times on the highway just cuts off. Wont go, and engine light comes on. I pull off the road and let it sit for awhile and then start the car and it does fine for awhile. Until the next time it does it again, I have had it to the Kia dealer three times. The first time I had it towed there, it is still under warranty. They cant seem to figure it out. I have received a letter from Kia telling me that other Kia owners are having this problem and I should take it in to have it checked. I have done so but still not fixed. I got rear ended because the engine just stopped, this is very dangerous problem!!!

- Portland, IN, USA

problem #52

Jun 202014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 13,500 miles
We bought the vehicle new from Kia dealer with 8000 mile in March 2013 and we did all the maintenance as prescribed. V6 3.6L 4X4 after 14 months while driving approximately at 20 - 25 mph, the vehicle suddenly would not accelerate. After turning the vehicle off and restarting the engine the vehicle operated as normal. This happened 2 times in 4 days in same circumstances. The mil came on Friday 20 June and stay on until Saturday 21 June. It happened again on Sunday 22 June at almost the same speed. We take it at one close shop and they read the codes P2110; P2106; P0638 which are power train related and throttle actuator control range /performance. They didnt erase the codes. I dont know the reason but on Monday 23 June the mil went off again. The car is functioning normal now but I dont know what to do I wonder if the codes are stored in the ECM. This seem to be verry dangerous it can happen anywhere and anytime and I wonder why Kia didn't make a recall cause I see a lot a complaints as mine. I will take it to the dealer and keep you informed, I hope they will fix it under waranty. Anyway this will be my last Kia!!!

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #51

Oct 012013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
We have owned our Kia for 9 months, it has been in the shop at least 4 times and now its in the shop again. The vehicle will come to a complete stop when going full speed, we were going 45mph for the last incident and the Kia came to a complete stop out of no where and the engine shut was still on but idle high and would not go anywhere until you turned the Kia off, waited for 15-20mins for it to "reprogram" and then it had enough power to move slowly out of the road. After getting it home my husband called the dealership the first time and they had no idea what was wrong so they sent us to another dealership who said they couldn't find anything wrong at the time but if it happens again to bring it back, well 9 months later we are still having issues and are not able to drive it without fear that it will just randomly shut down in the roadway. The one time it did it we were on the interstate, as a parent my kids can not ride in a vehicle that keeps doing this and Kia will not fix the issue.

- Strasburg, VA, USA

problem #50

May 292014

Sorento

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle became resistant to acceleration. The contact indicated that after turning the vehicle off and restarting the engine, the vehicle operated normally. The failure was recurring and on one occasion, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000.

- Finleyville, PA, USA

problem #49

Apr 012013

Sorento

  • 5,094 miles
I have a 2013 Kia Sorento V-6. approx. 6 mths into owning the vehicle, while accelerating to turn right after stopping at a stop sign, the engine died and car lost all power. The car was stuck at a 45 degree angle 1/2 way into the lane of traffic. I was lucky that no-one was coming or I would have been T-boned. The car dash was completely dark with no lights whatsoever, no brakes and no steering (since both are power). I had no idea what happened and had a lot of trouble getting the car into neutral to attempt re-start. After several attempts, it finally did re-start. Took it to Kia who was unable to duplicate the problem. Second time (11 mths), I was accelerating from stopping at a stop light - engine died and car lost all power, no steering or brakes - no dash lights. Cars had to go around me and I was praying I didn't get rear-ended. Again, car started after several attempts. Third time (12 mths), was at the bottom of a freeway off-ramp. Attempted to go after light turned green and engine died - again lost all power - no dash lights, steering or brakes - cars had to go around me. Fourth time (17 mths) stalled in parking lot when I stopped at intersection to turn left - same symptoms. This car is dangerous! Kia needs to recall and correct this problem before a serious accident occurs and someone dies. I'm afraid every time I drive it. Huge safety issue! NHTSA, please do something.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?