Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,334 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Rogue drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #69

Aug 202012

Rogue

  • 75,421 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle decelerated and stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,421.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #68

May 172015

Rogue

  • 94,600 miles
After driving nearly 50 miles on the highway, I got off the exit and stopped at a stop sign. Once it was clear I tried to accelerate but due to some kind of power loss the vehicle would not move. The vehicle lost power and the RPM's dropped under 1000. After a few minutes the power returned to normal and I drove to my original destination. This is the third time this has personally happened to me in this vehicle and I would like to report it so it does not happen to anyone else.

- Pittston, PA, USA

problem #67

May 032015

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 171,000 miles
I was driving on I-5 from los angeles traveling about 65mph. I had been driving for about 55min when my vehicle RPM's started to increase and my mph's started to decrease. I tried to push the gas pedal down to accelerate but just the RPM's would rev up and car kept losing speed. I had to pull over various times and let the car sit while off for about 20-25 min before I could drive safely again. This only lasted for about an hour at the most before I would have the same problem again and have to pull over to let the car sit for a while. Also I checked all fluids when I pulled over and everything was at optimal level as required. The car was not over heating either.

- Newman, CA, USA

problem #66

Apr 172015

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Important: If you have a complaint about your transmission, acceleration problems or loss of power you need to also a complaint with the federal trade commission (ftc 877-382-4357) regarding your dealings with Nissan. I just spoke with the ftc and they told me that while they don't respond to individual complaints if they see patterns they do. The only way we will get Nissan to respond to us is by complaining about their business practices as well as their safety issues. These dealerships and corporate Consumer Affairs know that until enough of us complain to the right people and stop just paying for Nissan's known problems with the cvt and other issues, they will keep giving us the run around. I have to put my 2nd transmission in my 2008 Rogue in 12 months. Nissan tells me my last new transmission (April 2014) was out of the 12 month/12,000 mile warranty. Their business practices are horrible. These cars are unsafe and putting people in danger. Please make your voice known at the ftc as well as here. Tell others to do the same. We deserve better. Contact me at [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #65

Apr 072009

Rogue

  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle lost acceleration without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 155,000.

- Groove City, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #64

Apr 022015

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
I was driving down hunt highway going 45 miles per hour when I started to come up a hill and the car came to a near complete stop with no warning because the transmission binding up causing me to almost be rear ended and my tires to skid a little till I pushed on the brakes to try and warn people behind me and had to exit the roadway into a dirt farm field to avoid being hit by oncoming traffic.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #63

Apr 012013

Rogue

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problems with 2008 Nissan Rogue.....airbag light flashing on dash. Cannot reset. Needs new airbag control unit....$1200. Transmission making bizarre sounds and not engaging properly. A/C not working...compressor, evaporator and control module need to be replaced...$3000"?????"

- Point Harbor, NC, USA

problem #62

Feb 132015

Rogue

  • 130,000 miles
Driving over a rail road track the vehicle lost all power. The cable ass control to the transmission broke off. When we had notify Nissan of the part we needed, we were told that it would be a while before we could get this part that there were over 20 people ahead of us for this part. So I am writing to inform you of a safety issue. This could have created a very bad accident.

- Hinesburg , VT, USA

problem #61

Dec 112014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
I was traveling home from work and was on an incline trying to accelerate when the cvt transmission failed. The car started rolling backwards and I was just able to stop it before I was hit and caused a multi car pile up due to this failure. Luckily I wasn't traveling at a high rate of speed when this happened so no major incident occurred, this time, but it could happen.

- Sherman, TX, USA

problem #60

Nov 202014

Rogue

  • 117,363 miles
On 11/20/14 I was on highway 80 driving from roseville ca to palo alto ca. I was in the far left lane (4 total) in heavy traffic doing aprx 50 mph. With no warning I couldn't accelerate and the engine only revved when I pushed the gas pedal. I cut off several cars to get to the right side shoulder. After I called aaa a chp showed up to see if I was ok. I explained what happened and a tow truck would arrive in about 2 hour due to traffic. The officer said because of my location I needed to remain in my car until a tow truck arrived. He also said he would remain with me until help arrived. I was towed to a shop in fairfield ca (closest city). Paid $3,758 to have an independent shop install a new Nissan cvt transmission. Found out later Nissan had extended the power train warranty to 10 years or 120,000 miles. My car was well within the warranty requirements. I have spoken to 2 Nissan representatives and both told me because they didn't do the repair there was nothing they would do. I explained I was from Oregon and needed to be home by Saturday to work. The shop that did the work had me on the road the next day. They said because they installed a Nissan transmission it would be warranted by Nissan. I asked if I could send an email to someone higher up explaining my situation and was told there was no need. I asked if they were recording our conversations and was told yes. It is my understanding it's illegal to record a conversation without prior notice or approval. I have checked online and amazed how many people have had similar problems with Nissan. I don't know if anyone has been injured because of this but what is happening is very dangerous and Nissan has known about faulty cvt transmissions for quite some time.

- Tualatin, OR, USA

problem #59

Oct 072014

Rogue

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate as the check engine wrning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the cvt valve needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 122,000.

- Mars , PA, USA

problem #58

Oct 202014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
On the date listed above the transmission failed. My wife and I were in four lanes of eastbound traffic on I40 in burlington nc. We lost momentum in heavy traffic and were lucky to get off the highway. This car was purchased in March 2008. It had a known issue where grinding noises were coming from the transmission. Nissan finally released a fix and my car was updated on 11/30/2009. I believe the cvt was defective or damaged because of a slow response by Nissan. The car was 20 months old before the company repaired the vehicle so that the grinding noise wasn't present. I asked Nissan for data on failures and - of course - they said that was not available. This issue should be looked into because the catastrophic loss of a transmission could lead to a deadly accident.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #57

Sep 082014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
Was returning from trip North Carolina back home to Tennessee once about hour away felt car just start slowing down car wouldn't accelerate when pushing on gas. Was able to get to right hand lane and get off interstate just before car went to a crawl. Car was making whining noise while trying to move car from highway. Car came to stop and unable to move again. Had car towed back to my house sent to shop to find out that transmission had malfunctioned. Doing research on transmission found out the Nissan rouge is using cvt transmission and that Nissan extended the warranty to 120K or 10 years. My research also found out that other Nissan owners of Rogue and muranos were having issues with cvt transmission. When I found out that about the warranty I called Nissan consumer care to inquire about this. I was told my model and make qualified under warranty and that mileage didn't matter. Nissan decided not to assist me with repair and replacement of transmission. I tried to tell Nissan about letter that stated they would decrease cost even above 120K. They refused to do so. I had no warning sensors that there was problem with transmission. This could have been a bad accident if the transmission had of went out during heavy traffic. It appears reading about other owners experiences with cvt transmissions that Nissan doesn't want to own up to having a faulty transmission. Even speaking with mechanics from outside and with Nissan that this transmission is faulty and many have issues and complainants about it.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #56

Sep 192014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 127,985 miles
Cvt transmission went out had a loud howling noise the rpms shot up and down a few times big vibration then nothing.

- Lapine, OR, USA

problem #55

Sep 132014

Rogue

  • 129,000 miles
No acceleration when gas pedal depressed. Coasted to curb. Dangerous situation. Cvt transmission failed. No prior warning.

- Cazenovia, NY, USA

problem #54

Aug 032012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
While traveling on highway car lost power and would not accelerate past 35mph. Upon exit from highway, would not go past 20 mph. Took car to dealer and was told it needed a transmission oil change. This weekend it occurred again. My son was driving it and it became too dangerous to attempt crossing an intersection. Returned to dealer and they said it needed another transmission fluid change. There is no indicator light, no error code to tell you the transmission needs service. The manual is vague with regards to change intervals. Luckily my son is an adult who knew how to handle the situation. An inexperienced, elderly or even distracted driver could have been severely injured. My son was glad he was not rear ended when he did not proceed into the intersection.

- Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #53

May 032014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
May 2014: On a trip to AZ, vehicle suddenly began to decelerate and could not be driven more than 3000 rpms. Suddenly and drastically slowing down without using brakes and with no brake light warning to following vehicles could have caused a serious rear-end accident. Problem occurred without warning more 20 times. Took Rogue to economy Nissan to repair problem. They replaced dip stick and drained off some transmission fluid and stated this would correct what they said was a transmission fluid overheating problem. July 2014: On another cross country trip problem re-occurred. Went to dave solon Nissan in pueblo colo. They advised not to continue driving Rogue until a transmission cooler kit was installed. This part was on perpetual back order. In reality we were informed that at that time there was no fix for this problem. Because of our schedule, we traded the Rogue in for a used Nissan pathfinder. We later found out that dave solon Nissan got tired of waiting for the part and took Rogue to a car action. It is unclear whether they informed the public of problem or just sold the vehicle with a serious safety problem that could not be corrected. To date there appears to be no fix to this problem. We believe this should be a recall issue given the high potential for serious rear-end accidents.

- Pagosa Springs, CO, USA

problem #52

Jul 162014

Rogue

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle's speed suddenly decreased. The contact drove onto the emergency lane, shut off and restarted the vehicle, and continued driving; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000...updated 09-09-14

- Baytown , TX, USA

problem #51

Jul 212011

Rogue

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated while driving from a complete stop there was a brief delay in acceleration. The failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer four times. The transmission was replaced twice. Additionally, on a separate occasion the transmission control module was reprogrammed. The failure persisted after the repair was performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #50

Jan 062014

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
While driving 2008 Nissan Rogue on I-17 interstate toward flagstaff, AZ at posted speed limit of 75 mph, the vehicle experienced rapid loss of speed and power in which pressing down on accelerator had no effect on vehicle. Semi-truck nearly rear ended our vehicle. Driver of semi-truck made sudden lane change to avoid collision. Pulled over to the side of the road and shut vehicle off. Inspected vehicle for any obvious signs of source of malfunction. Restarted vehicle after 20 minutes and resumed travel with no additional problems on this trip. This malfunction has repeated on several occasions since, with more regularity to date. Seems to occur most often when driving to a higher elevation after an hour or more of continuous operation. When malfunction occurs, engine will not exceed 2500-3000 rpms even with gas pedal fully depressed. Since original malfunction, I have also experienced lack of acceleration or hesitation from a complete stop when entering into traffic resulting in potential unsafe condition when entering traffic. Malfunction is intermittent, but extremely more frequent. I have since read many similar complaints on the internet from other owners of same year, make and model vehicle. I feel there should be a recall on this vehicle for this problem.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?