Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,020 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Rogue drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Jun 102013


  • 81,000 miles


On 2 occasions in a week period of time after driving on the highway for about an hour I exited the highway via an exit ramp and stopped at the stop light. When the light turned green, my car would not accelerate even though the car was still in drive and the gas pedal was pressed down. Both times I scooted about 1mph over to the shoulder, placed the car in park then back in drive and it accelerated normally. I brought the car to the dealer, they are replacing the transmission control module at no cost, it is still covered under the Nissan extended warranty for the cvt. This issue frightened me and made me feel unsafe in the vehicle. I worry had I needed to stop on the highway and then accelerate and was unable to that I would have been hit. I feel Nissan should look further into the cvt issues and perhaps issue recalls as these types of issues make the car unsafe. In my instance the car felt as if it were stuck in park or neutral, it would not shift into drive. I have read online several other complaints concerning cvt issues.

- St Peters, MO, USA

problem #26

Jun 082013

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The cvt transmission in the 2008 Nissan Rogue is very dangerous. The car loses acceleration after traveling a distance (over 40 miles) and when it comes to a stop, it will not take off. Saturday, June 8, 2013 I drove from college station, tx to houston, tx (85 miles). When I came a stop sign after exiting the freeway, I stopped and then attempted a right turn into oncoming traffic. Once I depressed the gas, the car rolled into the intersection and stalled with traffic barreling toward me. Cars had to swerve to avoid hitting me. This car has always had acceleration and deceleration problems since I bought it and no warning lights ever come on. The first time the car broke down was on the first road trip I took in the car. In 2012 as I was driving to atlanta, Georgia and the car broke completely down in birmingham, Alabama. I had to get a loaner from the local dealership in birmingham to complete my trip. The cvt transmission is a very, very dangerous technology and it should be recalled and a class action suit should be initiated against Nissan. Nissan has extended the warranty from 60000 to 120000 in all cvt transmission vehicles. Why would they do this if they do not think there is a problem.

- College Station, Tx , TX, USA

problem #25

Mar 112013


  • 70,000 miles
I was turning from a residential street onto a main road, when I went to accelerate the car red lined, but did not accelerate. I was only able to go 5-10 miles an hour. I managed to pull over without getting hit and had to get the car towed to the dealership. The transmission was replaced and I was told this had happened numerous times with the cvt in the Rogue.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #24

May 252012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • miles


While me and my child were traveling uphill on a busy freeway, I noticed the car was decelerating. No matter how hard I pressed on the pedal to increase the speed, the car continued to slow down. Many cars behind us had to swerve from hitting us and honked for us to move out of their way. Unfortunately, it was beyond my control and the car would not move. A couple of guys had to move our vehicle out of harms way. It was very stressful and dangerous. I'm so glad we were not hit by another vehicle. I ended up replacing that transmission with a used low mileage transmission which worked for a while. It is going on a year and I've been told the cvt transmission is slipping again. I've already spent thousands on this part alone. Is there anything anyone can do about this faulty product. I can't afford to spend any more money on another faulty cvt transmission that will go bad again.

- Cedar Hill, TX, USA

problem #23

Jul 022012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Problem in July 2012- at a stop light, went to accelerate, and nothing, , kept pushing gas pedal, , took out of drive and put back in, finally went., kept doing this at unexpected times. No service light went on. Took to dealership, $600, later, they said it was my acceleration cable, and replaced it.. stated transmission had nothing to do with it.. still not running well, still makes whining noise - March 2013 started doing same thing with acceleration., almost got killed taking a left hand turn and no acceleration. Making high pitch noise @ 50-60 miles.took to dealership -said it was my transmission fluid, it was overfilled and bad color". $ 200 to change fluid, still not agreeing to change out transmission. I looked on line, a ton of complaints on same issues.. all resulting in the cvt- how do I get the dealership to fix problem"

- Arizona City, AZ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Mar 012010


  • 55,000 miles
The car would lose acceleration when driving and also when starting to go from being stopped. First time it happened was driving around 60 mph on highway and the gas pedal was fully to the floor and the car would not increase in speed. The car lost speed and decreased down to 45 mph. When getting off the highway at the end of the exit the car would not move when pressing on the gas. 5 seconds later the car thrusted into the middle of the road as power kicked back in. After several phone calls to Nissan and trips to the dealership they replaced the transmission at around 60,000 miles. Care was good for about 8 months but started having same issue. Have had the car to the dealership 10 - 12 times with same issue and to this day it has not been fixed. They usually state they can not replicate the issue. Test drove the car with their top mechanic and got the acceleration issue to happen. They mechanic said Nissan is well aware of the issue and he drained fluids saying the level was to high. 6 months later same issues again. Trip after trip to the dealership they say they can't replicate the issue and send us on our way. Last time 3 other customers were at the dealership with same issue. There needs to be a recall.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #21

Dec 032012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that the gear shifter became stuck in park. When the failure first occurred, the gear shifter was found to be abnormally loose and the contact could shake the shifter back and forth and dislodged. The dealer and the contact were informed that the gear shifter and the shift lock solenoid needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 73,000 and the current mileage was 74,000. Updated 06/18/13 the contact stated the dealer provided the contact with a small screwdiriver to put in the slot to push down and release the shifter. When the vehicle was in park it would take extra time to dislodge. Updated 06/24/2013

- Lake View, AL, USA

problem #20

Oct 222012


  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, she heard an abnormal whining noise. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the transmission would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified and offered to cover one month of her vehicle payments. In addition, the contact stated that she could hear a popping noise in the steering wheel and the air pressure warning light would illuminate randomly. The failure and current mileage was 69,000.

- Rosharon, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 182012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that while driving 72 mph as she attempted to accelerate, the vehicle became unresponsive and would not gain any speed. The failure recurred a few hours later. The vehicle was taken to a transmission mechanic who advised that there were no failures found within the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 76,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 11/13/12 updated 11/27/2012

- Walcott, IA, USA

problem #18

Aug 172011


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the transmission failed and the vehicle began to decelerate independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who filed a report and did not offer any further assistance. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #17

Jul 132012


  • 33,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the brakes failed without any warning light illumination. The contact had to pull the emergency brake to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the transmission, fuel gauge, and master cylinder all needed to be repaired. The contact was also informed of an electrical failure with the air bags. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified, but offered no assistance. The failure and current mileages were 33,000.

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 242010

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 55,788 miles
This involves a Nissan Rogue S 2008 we purchased new from the dealer. At approximately 55,000 miles while on a trip to destin, fl our cvt transmission began to malfunction on the highway. It caused car to lose speed, no longer pull, idle erratically, and not be able to get up to speeds over 55 miles an hour. It would also not pull off from stops but rather just coast out into the middle of an intersection, leaving the driver without control of the vehicle to get out of the way of oncoming traffic. We were instructed by the Nissan dealership to limp the car back to atlanta so they could replace the cvt transmission and stated they knew it was a known problem with those particular cvt's. once we got the car back, Nissan explained that they had installed a newer model of cvt in our car and that it would not happen again. Now, June 23, 2012, our car is back at the dealer with the same issue. The car now has 102,00 miles. This time we are on our way to chattanooga, Tennessee when the cvt begins to act up. Symptoms included loss of power, loss of speed and idle leaving us unable to switch lanes and get off highway due to lack of pull and power. The cars idle or RPM begins to jump erratically and redlining causing the car to lunge forward uncontrollably and then lose power back and forth. Now imagine this all while your wife and three daughters (ages 9, 4, and 9 months) are in the back seat. Virtually having no control over the car while other vehicles speed by at 70 mph trying to avoid smashing you to pieces. This time there is no limping it back to the dealership. Barely able to make it off the highway, the cvt is severely damaged and inoperable. Cvt fluid is draining rapidly out of several different locations. As well, the entire body of the car is coated in trans fluid and smoke billowing out of the hood due to the fluid coating the engine too.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #15

Jun 112012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Several times in the past few months, Rogue will not accelerate when trying to go from stopped position. No power to go uphill or pull into traffic. This does not happen all the time, only occasionally, but is happening more often. Yesterday, car did this while traveling at speed of 55+ mph. This was the first time it slowed while already at high speed. My daughter drives this vehicel and we are parking it for now as there have been several incidences where she has almost been hit by oncoming cars.

- Ennis, TX, USA

problem #14

May 012012


  • 84,000 miles
We were completely stopped at a stop sign waiting to pull out into traffic. There were cars coming but at a safe enough distance so we accelerated, got into the roadway and the car wouldn't move. We had the gas pedal all the way to the floor and the car wouldn't move. Since then we have had multiple incidents of this where the transmission freezes and we are stuck in oncoming traffic. It's only a matter of time before someone hits us. Since I have read of multiple problems exactly like this with this vehicle. Why hadn't there been a recall.

- Chapel Hill, TN, USA

problem #13

May 232011


  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Rogue. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall when the attempting to accelerate. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The test results determined that the transmission was faulty. The dealer replaced the transmission. A year later, the failure begin to recur. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealer again. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #12

Apr 302012

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 41,700 miles
Stopped at a stop sign. Pushed the accelerator but the car would not accelerate. Continued down the road and could not go above 40 mph on the highway. Stopped the car at the side of the road, turned off the car. Thought maybe just a hiccup and would return to normal. Started it up and began to drive and still was unable to accelerate above 40 mph on the highway. Called the shop and let them know I was on my way. On the way to the shop the car ran fine, going normal speed. The dealer was unable to find any record in the computer of the problem and so far has been unable to diagnose the problem.

- Pinon Hills, CA, USA

problem #11

Feb 292012


  • 69,000 miles
Vehicle has been popping in and out of gear, lurching, stopping for the last two days. Today in lurched forward, launching us down an icy hill, after doing 5 or 6 360 degree spins, we stopped at the bottom of the hill. Only by sheer luck, did we not hit anything. This seems like a very dangerous problem that others have had. Is Nissan doing anything about it?

- Carnelian Bay, CA, USA

problem #10

Dec 292011

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 120,600 miles
Was at a stop light. Pushed on accelerator to go forward but car would not accelerate. It would only idle forward. A trouble light came on at that instant saying to check engine. Had car towed to a dealership. Dealership said the car suffered a total transmission failure and would have to be replaced. The car was equipped with a cvt transmission. Cost to repair estimate by dealership at $4,500. Nissan extended warranty on transmission to 120,000 miles due to issues with cvt, but since the mileage on the car was 600 miles over that, they would not cover the cost of repair. Took the car to an independent transmission repair shop. Car was returned to us. On drive home the car once again died. Transmission shop had car taken to another dealership for diagnosis as the issue did not seem to be related to the transmission. Dealership says car now has engine failure and will have to be replaced. Cost estimated to be over $8,000 for new engine or over $5,000 for a used motor.

- Dickinson, TX, USA

problem #9

Dec 092011

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
On Dec 12, 2011 at 0500 am my 2009 2008 Nissan Rogue had a keyless entry rollaway. The car was turned off and rolled away causing car and property damage (damage to the car door) after turning off my engine I left the car, leaving the car door open and the car rolled away. I believe that this is a major design flaw of keyless entry cars and that it is the responsibility of both the ntsb and Nissan to personally notify people of this major design flaw and to provide corrective action to avoid repeated accidents. Some sort of "fix" such as an automatic lock should prevent the vehicle from leaving rolling away when the car engine is turned off. In reviewing the info available from ntsb I noted that this is a design flaw that has been noted in similar cases involving rollaway accidents and that both industry has not taken corrective action.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #8

May 282009

Rogue 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a new 2008 Nissan rouge in March of 2008. My first road trip was in may of 2009. While driving on the highway I lost power (very dangerous). I took the overdrive off, put petal to floor, pulled over to side of the road nothing helped. I went to dealership for a noise I heard also on trip, motor mounts were loose but noise did not change. Ay that time I let them know about loss of power. Thinking it was just a fluke because around town I didn't have trouble with power. Went on another road trip and it did the same thing. Specialist supposedly flew in told me it was because the transmission fluid was a tiny bit to high. I told them I bought it off the showroom floor, after blinking of eyes they still claimed that was the reason. This year next road trip and it did the same thing at 4 different times...very scary!!! it seems to be getting worse. My son took it to airport to pck friends up, it happened a hour and a half from home. Then recurred in 5 lanes of city interstate traffic. He was so close to getting hit by the grace of god he didn't. I took it to the city 2 weeks ago and it did the same to me. It is so scary to be going along at 65 mph in 5 lanes of bumper traffic and loose power. Now I am making payments on a car that I could not even trust to drive my kid back to college this year. I have been to the dealership and I have been on the phone with headquarters of Nissan for over a month now and I am not getting no where. Looking on this website it looks like there are lots of issues with this many accidents or deaths need to happen before they stand behind there product. Would love any feed back on who I need to speak to next! thank you

- Moab, UT, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?