Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Service Brakes, Hydraulic Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Saturn Aura was a mid-size car meant to replace the somewhat problematic L-Series. Unfortunately, the Aura brought its own problems: namely cheap brake parts that needed early replacement and a gear shifter that could say it’s in park while the transmission was still engaged.

Brake problems, including uneven wear and warped rotors that cause the car to wobble, are common complaints from 2007 owners. Did GM use metal for its rotors that can’t stand the heat? That’s what some say, and it’s hard to argue when reports show that rotors could start to warp as early as 500 miles off the dealer lot.

Meanwhile, a busted gear shifter cable lead to some unwanted rollaways. That’s because the shifter could say “Park” while the transmission was still in drive, reverse or neutral. A defect investigation into the issue was opened in 2011, eventually leading to a recall of 56,000 vehicles in 2014.

4.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,418 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Aura brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Aura Owner Comments

problem #16

Jun 302016

Aura 6-cyl

  • 77,054 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving approximately 45 mph and turning into a parking lot, the contact was informed by another motorist that the brake lights were illuminated for approximately three miles. However, when the vehicle was stopped and the brake pedal was depressed, the brake lights were not illuminated. The contact drove the vehicle to the dealer and they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was repaired per an unknown recall for the same failure in September of 2014. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 77,054. Updated 08/30/16 the consumer went to another dealer, where the problem was fixed. Updated 10/26/16.

- Hartland, MI, USA

problem #15

Sep 222014

Aura

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wewahitchka, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 132014

Aura 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2007 Saturn Aura. I'm currently experiencing the issue associated with NHTSA campaign number 14V252000 (recall # 13036). Additional to this issue, I'm complaining that this issue could be associated with draining my car battery. Since this issue I have replaced three (3) brand new batteries. I had my alternator checked twice and both test results diagnosis was passed. Which means that my alternator is good and didn't need to be replaced. Each time I have my battery replaced with a brand new battery the life span of the battery is about 3 weeks. After that the battery is dead. If I don't replace the battery and get a jump start the life span of the battery last about 7-10 days before I will need another jump start. Today, August 9, 2014 I again had my battery and alternator diagnosed and both passed the test. I was told by a certified GM mechanic that my issue could be related to electrical system that is draining (killing) my battery because there is nothing wrong with the battery and the alternator. Could this issue (14V252) be the reason my I'm experiencing my battery to died/drain because of my car is affected by electrical system and electronic stability control issues? the consumer stated the shifting cable was replaced twice and the transmission needed to be replaced. Updated 2/24/2015

- Union City, GA, USA

problem #13

May 122014

Aura

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"service airbags" light came on 5/12/14. Owner's manual lists this as potential hazard as airbags may fail to deploy or deploy without warning. Took vehicle two blocks from my home to service station station on 5/13/14, but station said they do not work on airbags. Took vehicle home and parked it. Sent E-mail to Saturn's customer service center on 5/14/14, and eventually spoke to a supervisor on 5/17/14. He said that in order for GM to do anything, I would have to take the vehicle to a dealership in fairfax, va. I explained that I do not believe that I should spend any more money on the vehicle as I feel that it is defective. The supervisor said that he would arrange for towing and GM would pay for it. He also stated that I would be reimbursed for repairs or compensated for the loss of the use of the vehicle and that he would work with me "every step of the way." On 5/20/14, I called for the supervisor and someone else returned my call. When I requested that GM provide me with a written document as to how they intended to resolve the issue, I was told that this would have to be discussed with the supervisor and then they would get back to me. They did not call me back all day Monday. I called and left a message on 5/21/14 and they have not responded to me in any way. The vehicle has been parked in my lot since 5/13/14 and I don't know what to do. I am afraid to drive the vehicle because of my own history with it and the recent spate of recalls for similar issues that have involved injury and death. (my vehicle is not currently under recall but does have similar issues to vehicles that are under recall). I don't know what to do. After promising to assist me, GM now will not return my calls.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #12

Oct 082008

Aura 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the brake position sensor would continue to fail, causing the cruise control and exterior brake light to become inoperative. The dealer repaired the failure numerous times, but the failure would recur. The manufacturer was contacted, but denied any assistance with repair to the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 62,000. Updated 05/16/12 updated 05/25/12

- Alivon, NY, USA

problem #11

Feb 052007

Aura 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
Only 2 months old, passenger air bag light, would read off when a normal size adult was in the seat. Also "on star" reported air bag inoperative. Always had brake problems with rear pads wearing out way before the front. Steering wheel lock does not lock, and I noted this after 2 years, as my wife is the major driver of the car. I was so sick of the dealer, I replaced the master cylinder, rotors, with brembo, and used quality pads. The government should have gotten after GM! there are many complaints!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #10

Nov 292011

Aura

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura xr. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated when the brake was not being applied and would not illuminate when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was never taken to a mechanic or dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 13,000.

- Hopkins, SC, USA

problem #9

Feb 092011

Aura

  • 65,000 miles
My brakes lights continue to come off and on for no reason. When my brakes are on and im not braking, if I step on the brake peddle my lights go off, often causing me to nearly get rear ended. I have also had the same problem with the lights turning off my cruise control at random. My last incident happened when the cruise control wouldn't turn off and I almost got sent through a toll gate at 75 mph when I was trying to pull over to pay my toll. If there would have been anyone else in line waiting to pay their tolls I would have surely been in a horrible accident. I have taken my car to three different mechanics on three different incidents and no one can seem to fix the problem. I believe this is a manufacturing flaw and all owners of this vehicle should be notified of the possible risk. Before someone gets seriously hurt, or worse yet killed!

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #8

Sep 302009

Aura 6-cyl

  • miles
The brake light comes on while I'm driving. The brake pedal position and the BCM has been replaced. This was only a temporary solution. Within a month the issue with the brake lights began to happen again.this is a dangerous and costly issue. I've almost been rearended multiple times. For safety reasons I've taken my vehicle to several different mechanics and GMC service mechanics without resolution. This is a serious problem. I have done research and apparently I am not the only one with the same issue. A recall should be done to resolve this problem.

- Ayden, NC, USA

problem #7

May 232010

Aura

  • 35,000 miles
I bought this 2007 Saturn Aura on 05/23/2010. The same day I started noticing my cruise control wasn't working properly. Sometime it would work, other times it wouldn't. then I realized when I drove the car home that night that the brake lights were on and this was causing the cruise to not work. The brake lights will come on at random times without pressing on the brake pedal. You have to press the brake pedal to shut them off. Opposite of what should be happening. So when my brake lights are on(came on by themselves) and I actually need to stop, the brake lights go off when I use the brake. A major safety issue in my opinion. We replaced two pressure switches in the brake pedal thinking that was the problem. Still not fixed. We also replaced a few other parts associated with the brake pedal and it still wasn't corrected. So, I contacted the dealership who told me they had no idea how to fix it and would need to go thru my wiring one by one and inspect everything and warned me it was limitless how much a repair like that could cost. So, I called Saturn customer service. I talked to a woman named judy who was no help. She gave me a list of repairs to be done and said I had to go thru that list first and pay for all the repairs out of pocket and if it didn't work then she was at a loss too. I told her I have done alot of research about this online and have found hundreds of complaints for this very issue on numerous web site's. she said the company is unaware of the problem. (which I doubt). I have a 3 year old son who rides in the backseat of this car and it is a disaster waiting to happen. There have been multiple times I have been slowing down to turn into a store or an intersection and people have come flying up behind me because my brake lights are not working almost rear ending me. When the lights go off, its 8 seconds before they come back on.

- Grant, MI, USA

problem #6

Oct 152007

Aura

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving approximately 55-60 mph with the cruise engaged the brake lights came on and the brakes engaged independently. He stated that if he applied pressure to the brake pedal that the brake lights would shut off for 2 to 3 seconds and would come back on independently. When the failure occurred the cruise control was not visible. The vehicle was taken to the dealer four times and the dealer could not duplicate the failure. He also stated that there was a noise coming from the passenger side front brakes. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer seven times for the failure. The dealer replaced the front brake pads and rotors twice. The rear brake pads and rotors were also replaced. In December of 2009 a GMC field engineer inspected the vehicle and replaced the front brakes. The contact was unable to provide a VIN. The failure mileage was 200 and the approximate current mileage was 52,000

- Chino Valley, AZ, USA

problem #5

Apr 182007

Aura

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph; proceeding to a stop. There was a grinding noise coming from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The rotors were turned, however the failure continued to occur without warning. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were 54,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #4

Oct 312009

Aura

  • 42,000 miles
Saturn 2007 Aura rear brakes fail due to manufacture part defect. Our leased Saturn rear brakes began grinding 3 weeks ago. We had the Saturn dealership look at it. They said the brake pads were shot and have dug into the rotors. The front brakes show little ware. Saturn said that it is very unusual for the rear brakes to fail before the front, however GM investigated and offered no explanation for the failure. GM closed the case (71-776581112) stating they determined their was no defect. I have never had a vehicle that the rear brakes wore this fast and failed this quick.

- Liberty Twp, OH, USA

problem #3

Sep 012009

Aura

  • 26,427 miles
I purchased my car new off the lot while out of state. I have had several issues with this vehicle. I am unsatisfied with Saturn that they are not willing to look into these issues and fix, repair or replace the parts to fix the problems. Unless continuously my expense. The brake lights are lit while driving down the road, and when you place your foot on the pedal and apply pressure, the lights will go off, thus removing your foot from petal, 8 seconds, the lights for my brakes are back on. Mind you when you apply the brake, the lights go off, so explain this to the officers that stop me, and give me a ticket for repair because I don't have brake lights when stopping!! not to mention the times of being almost rear ended because of this issue! getting it fixed and it continues to reoccur is getting old. Does someone really have to be killed to fix this problem" the braking system in general with the rotors and pads has been a consistent repair replace factor. I have replaced brake pads, had rotors turned, had them replaced, etc minimum of every 10,000 miles due to the rotors being warped, causing severe shaking in the front end. Service garage at Saturn dealer just says this is a continued problem with the Aura vehicles, but nothing is getting resolved. Again, does someone really have to be killed to get these real issues settled" these are issues with the brakes, not with something minor. Again, issues with the air bag service light coming on, and the garage not finding a repeating error, occurs yet occasionally. Fix by turning car off and restarting. Inflate tire signal repeatedly occurs, yet to find actual cause for this issue. These are the real concerns I have with this vehicle, minor issues are the doors filling with water, pealing of interior on black areas of door molding, handles. Failure of increase of immediate speed when wanting extra power to pass or coming in on ramp to highway traffic and does not kick down immediately.

- Montague, MI, USA

problem #2

Mar 152008

Aura

  • 29,000 miles
Brakes needed replacing before 30,000 miles.

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #1

Nov 052008

Aura

  • 30,000 miles
2007 Auras brakes all 4 rotors and pads have been replaced twice with warping grooves cut into rotors and rust problems, only 30000 miles on car. Service mgr. Says manufacturer is aware of problem but wont fix it.mgr.said it will happen over and over until Auras brakes are redesigned its also a problem on the 08 model. I think brakes are of the highest importance in safety and a manufacturer should make sure to correct on going problems, god forbid these brakes fail from poor design.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?