Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2007 Saturn Aura (Page 1 of 4)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Saturn Aura was a mid-size car meant to replace the somewhat problematic L-Series. Unfortunately, the Aura brought its own problems: namely cheap brake parts that needed early replacement and a gear shifter that could say it’s in park while the transmission was still engaged.

Brake problems, including uneven wear and warped rotors that cause the car to wobble, are common complaints from 2007 owners. Did GM use metal for its rotors that can’t stand the heat? That’s what some say, and it’s hard to argue when reports show that rotors could start to warp as early as 500 miles off the dealer lot.

Meanwhile, a busted gear shifter cable lead to some unwanted rollaways. That’s because the shifter could say “Park” while the transmission was still in drive, reverse or neutral. A defect investigation into the issue was opened in 2011, eventually leading to a recall of 56,000 vehicles in 2014.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Aura electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Aura Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #79

Sep 202007

Aura

  • 150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. When the vehicle was started, the ESC and brake indicators illuminated. The contact also stated that the air bag indicator flashed on and off. The dealer diagnosed that the harness needed to be weathered. The contact did not remember the second part that the dealer replaced. The failures recurred every year since 2007, at the onset of winter. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 150.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #78

Sep 152016

Aura

  • 146,498 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system). After the repair, the anti-theft and traction control indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 146,498.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #77

Aug 252016

Aura

  • miles
Summary: General Motors has decided that a defect which relates to motor vehicle safety exists in 2004-2012 Malibu, 2004-2007 Malibu maxx, 2005-2010 Pontiac G6, 2007-2010 Saturn Aura vehicles. On these vehicles, over time an increased resistance can develop in the body control module (BCM) connection system and result in voltage fluctuations or intermittency in the brake apply sensor (bas) circuit that can cause service brake lamp malfunction. As a result, the service brake lamps may illuminate when the service brakes are not being applied, or may not illuminate when the service brakes are being applied. Additionally, cruise control may not engage. If cruise control is engaged, additional service brake pedal travel may be required to disengage it. Service brake pedal application may not be required to move the shift lever out of park, or additional service brake pedal travel may be required to move the shift lever out of park. Traction control, electronic stability control, and panic braking assist features, if equipped, may be disabled. Service ESC and/or traction control tell-tales may illuminate with this condition. Safety risk: These conditions may increase the risk of a crash. Remedy: Dealers are to attach the wiring harness to the BCM with a spacer, apply dielectric lubricant to both the BCM and harness connector and on the bas and harness connector, and relearn the brake pedal home position free of charge.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #76

Jul 242016

Aura

  • 142,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while stationary, the vehicle would not start when prompted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 142,000.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #75

Jun 302016

Aura 6-cyl

  • 77,054 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving approximately 45 mph and turning into a parking lot, the contact was informed by another motorist that the brake lights were illuminated for approximately three miles. However, when the vehicle was stopped and the brake pedal was depressed, the brake lights were not illuminated. The contact drove the vehicle to the dealer and they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was repaired per an unknown recall for the same failure in September of 2014. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 77,054. Updated 08/30/16 the consumer went to another dealer, where the problem was fixed. Updated 10/26/16.

- Hartland, MI, USA

problem #74

Mar 142016

Aura 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. Various warning lights illuminated prior to the failure. The contact mentioned that other drivers noticed and informed the contact that the rear of the vehicle was on fire. The contact pulled over to the side of the road and exited the vehicle. The contact mentioned that smoke was seen coming from the hood of the vehicle before it caught fire. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 08/30/16

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #73

May 162016

Aura

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact's VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 14V224000 (power train). The contact did not receive a recall notification. The contact stated that the vehicle was unable to start and the gear selector had to be placed in neutral to get the key to turn over to start the vehicle. The vehicle also rolled out of position when the gear selector was placed in park, which caused the contact to apply the emergency brake to prevent a failure. The contact pulled the vehicle into a residential driveway in reverse and parked the vehicle. The vehicle rolled backwards into the contact's porch. It was determined that a gear cable piece fractured without warning. The mechanic indicated that there were two recalls on the vehicle that needed to be addressed with a dealer. The vehicle was unable to be driven. The dealer stated that the vehicle needed to be towed for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not notified. Parts distribution disconnect. Parts distribution disconnect. The failure mileage was not available.

- Hopkins, SC, USA

problem #72

Sep 012014

Aura

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Spring City, TN, USA

problem #71

Oct 122015

Aura

  • miles
For the past year when I turn on my vehicle & start driving the service airbag lights up & starts dinging. In October 2015 I was involved in a collision on interstate 60 & my airbags never deployed when impact accrued going approximately 55ml an hr & my front bumper had to be replaced & drivers side wheel locked up making car not driveable impact was on passenger front & side of car & my airbags never deployed & light continues to read service airbag I went to Chevrolet 1yr ago & told them they said my car had a recall only for the brake lights & that's all that fixed. The oil engine light comes on once & awhile even when my oil has been changed but not as of her as the service airbag light yet my car shows its not included in the airbag recall so I don't understand what's going on & no one els has answers either except to take it to dealership but when I did nothing was done it even looked at when comes to my airbag & again airbags never deployed when I was involved in a collision on interstate 60 in Oct 2015. Also my drivers side seat when ajusting the seat continues to go out & takes a day or two on continually playing with ajusters on side of seat to get it to work to push seat back or forward if I allow one of my kids to use car to run to store.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #70

Dec 262014

Aura

  • 92,171 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 92,171.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #69

Jun 022015

Aura

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the check engine warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and diagnosed that the crankshaft correlation needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #68

Jun 032014

Aura

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the brake lamps failed to illuminate when the brake pedal was depressed. In addition, the brakes lamps illuminated when the brake pedal was not depressed. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, service brakes, exterior lighting, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), but the remedy failed to repaired the vehicle. The contact mentioned that all the failures related to the recall recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Burton, MI, USA

problem #67

Oct 032015

Aura

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While at a busy intersection and attempting to make a right turn, the vehicle suddenly shut off. After restarting the engine, the traction control and the check engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000. The VIN was not available.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #66

Aug 142015

Aura

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. Upon attempting to change gears from park to drive and reverse, the gear shifter failed to function and would not shift back into park. The vehicle was not able to be driven and would not start due to the gears not shifting properly. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was also included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 14V224000 (power train). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Norht Chicago, IL, USA

problem #65

Apr 222015

Aura 6-cyl

  • 103,310 miles
While driving the brake lights come on automatically and have to keep pressing brakes to make them go off. Also the cruise control will not engage unless I'm at 70 mph or will not engage at all.

- Eatonton, GA, USA

problem #64

Mar 312015

Aura

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the cruise control failed to engage and all of the doors would not automatically unlock when the key was removed from the ignition switch. Also, the contact stated the vehicle jolted whenever the gears shifted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #63

Mar 042015

Aura

  • 113,000 miles
As I am driving all of a sudden the car cuts and reduced engine power comes on and traction service and then it won't go above 25 mph but starts at 5 mph and slowly goes up and shakes I have gone to GM dealer and other auto shops and they can't find the problem it's dangerous because it could lead to a re ending with my daughter in back and cause a crash. I have seen more people with this problem and they need to figure it out because someone could get hurt.

- Lino Lakes , MN, USA

problem #62

Mar 212015

Aura 4-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
Beginning around March 4 2015, car began to have issues with loss of power steering. Initially, it would sometimes have no power steering at start up. I would turn it off and then back on and eventually, this would result in power steering being restored. While driving, the steering wheel would pull independently. At stop lights, if I took my hands off the wheel, the steering wheel would twitch and shake and turn by itself. On sat. March 21, 2015 I lost power steering while driving. Took car to repair shop "performance automotive, (general's highway, crownsville, md; [xxx] proprietor). Mechanic said that the sensors inside the steering column were not operating properly. He said either the steering column or just the sensors need to be replaced. GM said this was not covered by any recall notice, although many other cars in the same class with the same problems were. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Crownsville, , MD, USA

problem #61

Jun 022014

Aura 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The passenger seat airbag light indicating that it is off comes on whenever the vehicle is started, regardless of occupancy in the passenger seat. Also, the 'air bag problem' indication, along with a warning 'beep' comes on at the same time, on the dash display unit. This can be removed by pressing the proper button on the steering wheel, allowing the odometer to be seen. To my knowledge, you have not asked for a recall, and I see no tsb's about this apparently widespread problem in 2007 Saturn Auras. Ours has heated seats, which, I understand will make the repair more difficult and expensive. This is another example of GM's inappropriate means of cutting costs in safety related areas, such as the ignition switch troubles incurred on the 2005 ion.

- Trufant, MI, USA

problem #60

Jan 282015

Aura

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), the brake warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Brookesville, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?