Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The Saturn Aura was a mid-size car meant to replace the somewhat problematic L-Series. Unfortunately, the Aura brought its own problems: namely cheap brake parts that needed early replacement and a gear shifter that could say it’s in park while the transmission was still engaged.

Brake problems, including uneven wear and warped rotors that cause the car to wobble, are common complaints from 2007 owners. Did GM use metal for its rotors that can’t stand the heat? That’s what some say, and it’s hard to argue when reports show that rotors could start to warp as early as 500 miles off the dealer lot.

Meanwhile, a busted gear shifter cable lead to some unwanted rollaways. That’s because the shifter could say “Park” while the transmission was still in drive, reverse or neutral. A defect investigation into the issue was opened in 2011, eventually leading to a recall of 56,000 vehicles in 2014.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,823 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Aura lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Aura Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Nov 032013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


The brake lights are on all the time while the car is running. If the brake pedal is tapped, the lights go off briefly, then come back on again. If the brakes are applied, the lights go off briefly, then come on as they should.

- Mint Hill, NC, USA

problem #26

Oct 232013


  • miles
My brake lights turn on while I'm driving and this is safety issue for me and my family driving in the car. The dealership will not help.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #25

Sep 242013


  • 86,000 miles
This is my 2nd complaint regarding the brake lights on my vehicle. 1st incident occurred in the evening when I noticed the brake lights were not working properly. They were doing the exact opposite of what they're supposed to do. When accelerating, the brake lights were lit up....when pressing on the brake pedal to notify those behind me that I would be slowing down and/or coming to a complete stop, the brake lights would not illuminate, therefore, potentially causing an accident.. 9/24/13- I contacted grossinger Chevrolet in palatine, il & scheduled to bring my car in that same morning for evaluation & possible repairs. I just purchased these vehicle mid-August 2013. A diagnostic test was done & repairs were made to the tune of close to $1,000! was told the issue was BCM related & the extended warranty company wasn't going to cover this, which is another issue I am addressing. Not 2 weeks goes by & it's happening again!! I immediately called grossinger, spoke to the same service manager that took care of me the last week of September - he knew I would be calling & said verbatim, "the mechanic that repaired (or I thought) your vehicle told me you would be returning for the same problem"... since then, there's been 3 other instances in which other drivers made me aware my brake lights weren't working properly - again, all instances above, the brake lights were doing just the opposite of what they're supposed to do, the most recent being today, 10/13/2013. Please reference my initiaticket # [xxx], "IVOQ" from 9/24/2013. Enough already - stand behind your words!! "keeping you safe" - "our engineers and investigators look into problems you report to help ensure you and others stay safe on our nation's roads and highways." There's nothing safe about malfunctioning brake lights! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Palatine , IL, USA

problem #24

Oct 022013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles


The brake lights come on when no one is stepping on the brakes and the high-mount stoplamp will work sometimes and not other times. This problem seems similar to the problem that prompted GM to recall the Pontiac G6 (the "sister" car to the Aura) in 2009. I don't know how long this problem has been occurring on our car, but we first noticed that the brake lights were on when no one was stepping on the pedal this morning. My wife normally drives the car and stated that she has experienced problems where the cruise control would not set (she has experienced this problem for several years already). It would make sense that if the brake lights are on, the control module would not allow the cruise to be set.

- Saint Cloud, WI, USA

problem #23

Sep 232013


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the brake lights illuminated despite the brake pedal not being depressed. When the pedal was depressed, the brake lights would stop illuminating. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 85,000.

- Palatine, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Jul 302013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 74,600 miles
First noticed cruise disengaged while driving and would not re-engage. Cruise corrected itself after trying it after several miles. Second, a few weeks later, cruise quit functioning again, this time I noticed the brake lights were on while not touching brake petal. When applying brake petal the brake lights go off, and then they will come on when the petal is released. Drove 60 miles this way in the dark. When I reached destination it was dawn light and car was running in park. The brake lights were off and running lights on. When I hit brake petal the brake lights would function as normal. I don't know if cruise was working since I was parked. Personal thought; could brake light issue only be related while the auto headlamps are functioning? my investigation led to many hundreds of complaints around the internet about all of the same problems happening at the same time on Saturn Aura, Chevy Malibu, and Pontiac G6. Ie brake lights operating in reverse of intended design, cruise control not working, and also transmission not shifting into or out of gear by the selector leaver. However, I am not noticing a shifter issue at this time. Huge safety hazard that the brake lights are functioning in reverse of normal design. However, all of the symptoms seem to be related and happening at the same time. I also found a technical bulletin no.: 08-05-22-009 with all of these related problems. Please finish investigation and move this to a recall!

- Burton, MI, USA

problem #21

Jul 012008


  • 3,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the brake lights would illuminate when the accelerator pedal was not being depressed and they failed to illuminate when the brake pedal was being depressed. In addition, the brake lights would illuminate sporadically and independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test however, they were unable to duplicate failure. The failure was not reported to the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 3,000. The current mileage was 40,000.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #20

Apr 092008

Aura 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that someone informed her that her brake lights were illuminated while her foot was not on the brake pedal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the brake switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 29,000. Updated 07-10-13 the consumer stated the brake lights would illuminate at any time while driving. The repair, still did not resolve the issue. Updated 07/18/13

- Painesville, OH, USA

problem #19

Apr 242013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I noticed this morning as I was driving to work (dark, 5 am, cst) that the brake light in the back window stays lit. It would go off for about three seconds when the brake pedal was pressed, but then it would come back on and stay lit until the pedal is pressed again. I've done a little research and noticed that this is widespread and common in this car.

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #18

Nov 172010


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph with the cruise control activated, the brake warning lights illuminated independently without the brake pedal being engaged. The cruise control also disengaged as the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic three times for the same defect. The body control module (BCM) was reprogrammed each time the vehicle was taken to the mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #17

Apr 022012


  • miles


Last year sometime in 2012 I started noticing my brake light staying on. I have taken it to the dealership and they have looked at the problem three times. The problem stay exists to this day. Still trying to get the issue resolved.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 012013


  • 108,756 miles
Brake light come on when ever stay until whenever did service bulletin 4 times in the last year works temporary I have been dealing with this for 2 1/2 years change everything did every thing by the book.

- Montague, MI, USA

problem #15

Oct 202009

Aura 6-cyl

  • 21,420 miles
Rear brake lights came on without pressing the brake pedal & stayed on. When the brake pedal is applied all the rear brake lights go out as long as pressure is applied. When brake pedal pressure is released the brake lights come back on. When this problem is happening the speed control, stability control and traction control also stop working. Dealer replaced module 2.560 part # 25861370. This same problem happen again at 48,300 miles on 9/7/12 and I had dealer repair again but this time the repair was not covered by warranty.

- Clarklake, MI, USA

problem #14

May 202009


  • 45,000 miles
The back brakes lights come on when not in use. This is more obvious when it is dark because you can see the brake light in the back window. And when you brake the light goes off. Very dangerous and I have taken the car to a mechanic and they have not been able to find the problem and the dealer won't cover it. This has been ongoing for several years. I have actually thought of selling the car because its so frustrating.

- Ferndale, WA, USA

problem #13

May 102012

Aura 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
I was driving on the interstate my cruise control disengaged and the brake lights came on. The brake lights stayed on and the cruise control would not work. When brakes were applied the brake lights went off and no rear tail lights. Where visible. Since it was way out of warranty I took it to a local mechanic it took a long time to figure it out. They put dialmetic (spelling) on wires going into a connection box. It was very scary to drive felt like you need to pump your brakes when stopped to let other drivers know that you were stopped.

- Charlotte, MI, USA

problem #12

Feb 222013


  • 37,000 miles
Over the past few weeks, the brake lights have been working sporadically. Sometimes they stay on, sometimes they do not come on, and sometimes they work opposite (when you press the brakes they go off and when your are not on the brakes they come on). This is an extreme safety hazard. It has gone to a dealer once already and I have already made a second appointment with them for the same issue. From the research I have done this is a common issue for at least 3 GM models. This is dangerous when the brake lights do not work. I drive on the pa turnpike every morning at speeds of 55-65 mph and if my brake lights do not work when I go to slow down, I am at risk of someone hitting me at a high rate of speed. Please look into this issue. It seems this is a common issue with the Saturn Aura, Pontiac G6, and Chevy Malibu.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #11

Jul 012007


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while at a complete stop, the brake lights failed to illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the brake switch would have to be replaced. After the repair, the failure continued. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #10

May 012012


  • 60,000 miles
While driving along w/cruise control on it suddenly shuts off, and my brake lights come on without applying my brakes, the brake lights stay on until I apply my brakes then with my foot on the brake the lights go off I take my foot off the brake & the brake lights go on & stay on until I apply the brakes again & the cruise will not work when the brake light are on & when I first start the car I have to push real hard on the brake pedal to get the car out of park. This has been happening almost everyday for months now. I've had mechanics check it out they replaced stop light switch & cleaned contacts & reset computer but nothing works, General Motors should have to correct this problem before somebody gets in a bad accident.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #9

Feb 092011


  • 65,000 miles
My brakes lights continue to come off and on for no reason. When my brakes are on and im not braking, if I step on the brake peddle my lights go off, often causing me to nearly get rear ended. I have also had the same problem with the lights turning off my cruise control at random. My last incident happened when the cruise control wouldn't turn off and I almost got sent through a toll gate at 75 mph when I was trying to pull over to pay my toll. If there would have been anyone else in line waiting to pay their tolls I would have surely been in a horrible accident. I have taken my car to three different mechanics on three different incidents and no one can seem to fix the problem. I believe this is a manufacturing flaw and all owners of this vehicle should be notified of the possible risk. Before someone gets seriously hurt, or worse yet killed!

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #8

Jun 012010

Aura 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Saturn Aura in May 2010 with 36,000 miles. I immediately noticed my cruise control would occasionally shut off by itself. About a month later, it did it again, but this time I noticed (it was at night) then when the cruise control shut off, the brake lights had come on by themselves. After starting to pay attention to this more, I realized the brake lights are coming on my themselves. They only shut off when you press on the brake pedal. Thus drivers behind me think I am riding my brakes and then when I in fact use the brake, the brake light shuts off. This is a serious safety issue. Dealerships and Saturn/GM customer service have been no help. I researched this online and found 24,300 results of Saturn Aura brake light problems. Dealership said they have no way to fix it, I have replaced fuses, sensors, pressure switches, nothing has worked. I have a 3 year old that I won't even let ride in my car for fear I will be rear ended with him should my brake lights decide not to work. There has been times that they won't even work at all. This is an everyday problem. Everyday my brake lights come on while driving down the road and only go off when I actually use the brake. Someone is going to get seriously hurt in an accident, and if it is someone in my vehicle, GM is the first place I'm going to for answers. I have owned GM vehicles for 15 years and after the horrible customer service I received (after I filed a BBB complaint) I will never buy GM again.

- Grant, MI, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?