Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine Problems

2007 Saturn Ion (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,114 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Apr 112016

Ion

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While driving 30 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The failure occurred once. The vehicle was not able to restart. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the timing chain failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 170,000.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #29

Dec 052015

Ion

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the line that runs from the fuel tank to the engine leaked gasoline. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #28

Jan 202015

Ion

  • 78,000 miles
At first I had starting problems. I looked into the ignition, spark plugs, coils, plug wires. A G.M. dealer said I had a code that said #3 cylinder misfire. #3 cyl. Spark plug was the only plug that was not running to lean. At that point my transmission started shifting rough. With in about 1.5 months the engine started hard starting. I decided to change the fuel filter, bought one from auto zone, crawled under car and could not find a fuel filter. My G.M. dealer didn't know what I was talking about. So I explained it again. They came back with "it must be in the fuel tank. I have changed hundreds of fuel filters in my 50 years of being a mechanic. Every automobile I have changed the in tank fuel pump has had a screen to catch the large pieces that may get in your tank, but I have never seen a fuel filter in tank. Please let me know what you think.

- Rogue River,, OR, USA

problem #27

Jun 012014

Ion

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. In addition, multiple unknown warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #26

Mar 062015

Ion

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that when that the brake pedal was depressed to the floorboard and the vehicle failed to stop. In addition, the coolant warning light continuously illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- Montgomery , AL, USA

problem #25

Nov 142014

Ion

  • 57,800 miles
ON12/14/2014 I put gas in my car and the gas cap did not screw on like it usually did and did not click like it always did. I got in my car and started the engine and the check engine light came on. When I got home I looked in the owners manual. I called rancho motors and was told I should take the car to them. I took my car to them on 12/17/2014. I was given a ride home while they checked out my car. On 12/22/2014, I called and spoke with mike tarpley, the assistant service manager. He said my car had a stuck valve, the #2 cylinder needed repair and the thermostat needed to be replaced because it was stuck open. On 12/23/2014, I called again and was told my car would need a valve job. I called on 12/29, 12/30 and 12/31 and was told they were working on it. All this time I was told the cost of this repair was $2,000 and they would get me a senior discount. I was finally told on 1/5/2015, that my car was ready and they sent someone to come get me and take me to rancho motors. When I got there I was told the cost was $2,500, and with my discount it was $2,355. I do not understand why my Saturn with low mileage needed all of this work. I had not had any prior problems that would indicate this needed to be done. Why was it not just the gas cap?

- Adelanto, CA, USA

problem #24

Jan 022015

Ion 4-cyl

  • 114,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I started my car up and it sounded extremely rough and the check engine light came on. I took the car to a service center to get oil changed, coolant changed, fuel system cleaned and to get an overall check done. They were unsure of the issue and I took the car to the dealership where a diagnostic test was done and it read that there was an issue with the timing chain. After reading on here and online I see this is a common issue with this car.

- Wichita , KS, USA

problem #23

Nov 032014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased the vehicle in March 2014. On 7/17/2014 the ignition switch was replaced at asheville Chevrolet in asheville nc. I had not had any issues with the ignition at that time. On 11/3/14 the car stalled while I was driving. I took it the dealership on 11/5/14. The dealership kept the car for 11/5 and 11/6 and replaced the ignition coil and spark plugs and stated that is needed a map sensor repaired. They verbally informed me that they checked the ignition switch again and checked the fuel pump for leakage (which was another recall). I drove the car home on 11/6/14 and it stalled again within 20 minutes. I called the dealership back on 11/7/14 and was informed that technician that worked on it was not there and they would call me back on Monday (11/10). On 11/10 I talked with the dealership again and was informed that the technician that worked on the car was fired on 11/7 and I could bring it back in for them to check it. I took the car to another mechanic on 11/10 who could not do any work as the computer needed to be "flashed" as it had not been reset when work was done by the dealer which prevented them from identifying any issues that may exist. I brought it back in on 11/11 and informed them that the car is still stalling with the exact same issue that I brought it in on 11/5. the dealership could not confirm that anything was ever checked regarding the ignition switch replacement and stated that the already replaced the recalled ignition switch. They further refused to reset the computer and denied the need for any further work. The vehicle continues to stall when the car is driving and the dealer is well aware of this issue though they refuse to take any action.

- Fletcher, NC, USA

problem #22

Jun 072012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 51,950 miles
On June 7, 2014, the vehicle would not stop running. I took it to a nearby care care center where they stopped it. The recall establishment (zimbrick Buick-Saturn) told them to have the vehicle towed to their establishment. They kept the vehicle until June 26th trying to replace the switch and start the vehicle. They charged the car care center "jump started" the vehicle in a wrongful manner and that caused a computer to fail. I have a sworn statement that it was not jump started. They eventually replaced the computer with a used Cadillac part and charged me $1288.41. The entire process was caused by a defective ignition switch and incompetence in repairing the vehicle. I don't believe I should be required to pay the amount requested and seek compensation.

- Madison`, WI, USA

problem #21

Sep 292014

Ion

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, an abnormal noise was emitting from the front of the vehicle as the vehicle started to make a jerking motion. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the timing chain needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was made aware of recall under NHTSA campaign number: 07V519000 (engine and engine cooling). However, the vehicle was not included. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #20

May 072014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Saturn Ion ignition switch has been replaced twice & my car still does the key sticks, doors won't unlock but now after dealer did work the air bags off and misfire #3 cylinder & shifter loose & shifter handle jiggles out of place. Timeline: May 7 2014 ordered ignition switch mark christopher Chevrolet May 18 key stuck ignition doors wouldn't unlock - finally able pull key out but car was still running without key towed to mcc car not safe to drive, May 19 4:35pm received call from service manager stating car is there & part still back ordered. From May 19 2014 until July 27 they had my car. But June 4th stopped by dealership after receiving a parking ticket on my plate #. the dealership told me my car was never towed to them.. following day they called said it was there. I kept calling for updates over next 2 months no one called me back that was because service writer quit & my paperwork car etc was lost again. My car is in worse condition now. I'm perplexed at situation that GM allows dealerships give customer car was allegedly repaired back in worse condition where is the moral compass I really feel unsafe & scared I may cause an accident & hurt some innocent person because of my car not being fixed properly. Mcc has acknowledged car isn't fixed right they backordered shifter because they say that's the new problem stemming from ignition switch recall.... it's been painful and tiring struggle plus my car is worth nothing now $7502 3 months ago kelly blue book.... now they won't even give me $3000 I'm almost ready to give up & just take the loss of money because they don't care about me, you or anyone on the road... having a congressional investigation did nothing but insight the dealerships to become rude & accuse customers of "wanting 10years cars fixed for free" quote from the service manager at mcc. Very condescending & disrespectful.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 262013

Ion

  • 93,000 miles
My Saturn had been idling roughly for about a week. I checked the oil it seemed low and I put more oil in. It seemed a little better. The check oil light has never come on in this car. After taking the car down and back to my parents it would not turn on. Two car dealers have told me it is the timing chain and that it needed a new engine with parts and labor $25,00 dollars. I bought the car in 2011 in October. I now have a car I have to keep making payments on to keep my credit rating safe but I can't drive. So far GMC and the dealers have been unhelpful with getting my car repaired. I can't afford 2500. Dollars. I went to the BBB and was told that my car aged out of the complaint system. I haven't had this car 5 years and it hasn't reached $100,00 miles and it is unusable with a repair that is more than it is currently worth.

- West Gardiner, ME, USA

problem #18

Jun 262014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
Hello, this vehicle is under recall and I have received notices since March 2014 about the recall. However, it doesn't seem that Saturn/GM is taking this recall seriously, as I have called them 3 times to see if I could get it fixed and so far they have said they can't fix it. When I called back in March, they said that they were waiting on a part and should have the parts by mid-April. I was fine with that, and was told to drive with just the key (no extra weight). They said I was put on a list, and they would call me when they had the parts. I was fine with this as I had never had any trouble with the engine losing power, but of course want to get it fixed if there are problems. That was now over 3 months ago, and I have not heard anything from Saturn/GM. Gms notice said to contact the NHTSA if I'm not satisfied with gms response to the recall, so that is what I'm doing. I initially contacted GM's customer assistance center back in March, and they told me to contact my local dealer, who is billion auto in Iowa city, Iowa (www.iowacitychevycadillac.com/). I'm assuming that I'm still on their list, and GM has not provided them with the parts, or they have so many vehicles to fix that I'm just too far down on the list to get it fixed in a reasonable time. I'm just writing this as a complaint against GM and how I don't feel that they are taking the recall seriously if we have to wait over 4 months to get our vehicles fixed. I have to continue to drive this vehicle daily, as it is my only vehicle. Also, I should mention that the vehicle is registered under my father's name, larry perrott, which is why the contact information is different than the vehicle registration information. I'm not sure what I'd hope the NHTSA can do, but I just thought it was worth getting this on the record that I'm unhappy with the way GM is handling the recall. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Iowa City, IA, USA

problem #17

Mar 032014

Ion

  • 137,000 miles
I received a recall notice for my 2007 Saturn Ion in March 2014. The recall notice is for the ignition switch, ignition lock cylinder and ignition key. I call my local GM dealership and was told that they were repairing cars as the parts came in and I was put on a list. They told me the parts should be about 2 weeks and I would receive a call. I called 2 weeks later and the dealership still hadn't received the parts to fix the recall and in April 2014 I received another recall notice from GM to have the repairs to my car. I then called the dealership again to check on the status of the parts and they still didn't have them. Weeks later I brought my car in to have some work done on my car and I asked about the recall and they told me it should be another couple weeks. I called back in 2 weeks and was told they still didn't have the parts. I called back in another 2 weeks and was told the protocall for the recall had changed and that they were ordering the parts based on the vehicle VIN and it was a car by car basis. So I ordered my parts this way around the end of April. It is now June I still haven't had my car fixed and just received a notice from GM that I haven't had the repairs to my car. I called the dealership again and they still don't have the parts. It has been 3 months since my first recall notice and still haven't had my car repaired. I am so upset at the way this whole situation has been handled and I find it unacceptable.

- Lake Villa, IL, USA

problem #16

Apr 112014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 76,669 miles
3/2014 recall letter 14063, 4/2014 2nd recall letter,4/11/2014 car to dealer,5/16/2014 ignition replaced, "repair other ignition" accelerator pedal, throttle body, fuel induction sensor, throttle body sensor, quoted $560, charged $634.29, GM promised price assistance "repair other ignition-have not honored their word. Picked up car 5/16/2014 on 5/20/2014 <100 miles encountered same issue. 5/22/2014 car returned -to dealer, key stuck in ignition, service mgr witnessed issue, claims - solenoid @gearshift to ignition not registering park, states"I have seen a lot of these recalls, GM is going to replace anything remotely connected to this recall but is "customer bill". soleniod quote $400 additional to $634.29. I am inclined to believe if it is "remotely connected" it should be included in this recall. I firmly believe GM has employed this "other than ignition" strategy to recoup their losses on the back end by employing this "customer bill" phrase. The dealer has not shown any of the parts that were replaced or any evidence to support their claim.I welcome the opportunity to share my experience in great detail with the NHTSA and any congressional committe that is designated to investigate this GM recall.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #15

Apr 032014

Ion

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that while he attempted to merge into traffic at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed the local mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 59,000.

- Plainville, CT, USA

problem #14

Jan 142014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regard to vehicle electrical problems. The consumer stated the vehicle would lose power and shut down. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The service informed the consumer, no chip was found and therefore, the vehicle could not be fixed without a chip notification. The consumer has since traded the vehicle.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 052014

Ion

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated while driving approximately 20 mph, the engine stalled.the contact restarted the engine and the vehicle operated normally. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Irving , TX, USA

problem #12

Oct 142013

Ion 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I have had trouble with this ignition for years, having to jiggle it to start the car, a key tip broke off from trying to turn it. I also was never contacted about fuel line recall that I had to have repaired and paid for. My engine has also lost power and the engine light has been on for years and they don't know why? I don't feel safe even driving this piece of junk to the dealer.

- Provincetown , MA, USA

problem #11

Mar 202014

Ion

  • miles
Engine reduced speed light and traction light came on and car cant accelerate past 20mph.

- Dwyer, MI, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?