Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Fuel System, Gasoline: Delivery: Fuel Pump Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,511 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments

problem #20

Feb 012013

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congressman toomey on behalf of constituent regarding her 2007 Saturn vehicle; she believe there was a safety recall, but has yet to be reimbursed; attn: Jessica kemmerer 1150 S. cedar crest blvd, suite 101 allentown pa. 18103. The consumer stated the fuel pump was replaced at a cost $ $578.38. The consumer was informed her vehicle identification number was not included in the recall.

- East Earl, PA, USA

problem #19

Sep 042012

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,411 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that she could smell gasoline fuel while in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was confirmed that the fuel pump failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The failure mileage was 34,411 and the current mileage was 39,100. Updated 1/17/13

- Des Moine, IA, USA

problem #18

Nov 012012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that fuel fumes started to emitt inside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent who diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 01/14/13 updated 1/16/2013

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #17

Oct 152012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed an overpowering odor of gasoline present inside and outside the vehicle. Took the vehicle to the dealer for diagnosis and was told the fuel module was leaking gasoline and was also advised that my vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was repaired by replacing fuel module with my out of pocket cost. The failure mileage was approximately 51,000. This manufacturing defect obviously has a great risk of fire or explosion.

- Union, KY, USA

problem #16

Aug 102012

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
My check engine light kept coming on, even the smaller check engine light, I had the throttle pedal replaced because it was throwing codes, then I began to smell gas fumes and really became concerned so I took it to jim butler Chevrolet in fenton, mo and they told me that my fuel pump was leaking and there was an issue with my valves, I went online to see if I there were any similar issues from other Saturn owners and I discovered that there was a recall on the fuel pump for the 2007 Saturn Ion, I called jim butlers and told them what I discovered and the person handling my vehicle issue told me that I can't believe everything I find online and that my VIN number was not one of the cars listed on the recall list, yet it was doing the exact same thing as described by other Saturn owners. I am very upset at the fact that my car had the same issues as the other Saturn's but I had to pay to have mine replaced, I paid $513 at a customer friendly repair shop who also found the recall on my car. The shop is holding my old fuel pump in case there was a need to inspect it. I found the recall on safercar.gov which is an official site. I got my report September 3, 2012 the NHTSA campaign id number is 09V419000. My check engine light is still coming on as I was told that I have issues with my valves, but I can't afford to have that seen too yet. It is really sad when I go to a place that is supposed to be certified in handling Saturn and yet when I notify them of a recall on the same issue as my car was having they dismiss me by telling me I shouldn't believe what I read on the internet. My car was a safety hazard while my fuel pump was leaking and that scared me a lot. There is no more gas fumes now that I had to pay to have my fuel pump replaced. I really hope that you take my complaint seriously because the way I was treated was completely ridiculous.

- O'fallon, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Oct 012012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that there was an overpowering odor of gasoline present inside and outside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the contact was advised that the fuel pump was fractured and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and advised him that his vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was repaired for the fuel pump. The failure mileage was approximately 103,000. The current mileage was approximately 104,000. The consumer stated almost immediately after he purchased the vehicle, he started having problem periodically when he applied the brake. The brakes would vibrate strongly and he would have to press the foot brake down all the way to get the vehicle to stop. There would be a brief delay in the brakes working. He took the vehicle to the dealer, but they were unable to find anything wrong. Later in June 2008, he took the vehicle to another dealer to assist with the problem. They were unable T find a problem as well. He continued to have problems periodically with the brakes. A year later, the power steering stopped working. The chimes and warning lights would come on, and the steering wheel would lock up. It was extremely difficult to make turns; especially parking. The consumer stated he had to manually steer the vehicle. The only solution was to turn off the vehicle, and the light would go out. The problem went on for several years, until the consumer received a letter from Saturn stating the warranty coverage had been extended due to problems with the electric power steering. The power steering was finally fixed. Updated 11/08/12 updated 11/26/12 updated 12/3/2012

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #14

Sep 202012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 47,857 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While parked, the contact noticed a strong gasoline fuel smell. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated there was a crack in fuel pump, which needed to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 47,857.... updated11/01/12

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #13

Sep 112012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 93,200 miles
I parked my car in my garage and closed the garage door, when I went to leave I noticed a strong smell of gas. My local GM dealership diagnosed it as cracks and pinholes in the fuel lines running from the fuel pump to fuel filter consistent with recall 09V419000, GM will not honor this recall even know my VIN is within the recall breaking points, because I do not reside in one of the selected states and they claim my issue is due to wear.

- Country Club, MO, USA

problem #12

Jul 132012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where the mechanic advised that the pump module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the contact's VIN was not included in the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000, (fuel system). The failure mileage was 88,000 and the current mileage was 95,000......updated 10/17/12. The consumer stated the fuel pump was squirting fuel adjacent to exhaust. Updated 10/17/2012

- New Market , MN, USA

problem #11

Aug 222012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the vehicle developed a crack in the fuel pump port. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who confirmed the failure and stated that the vehicle was unsafe to drive since the failure was considered a fire safety hazard. The dealer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 68,980...updated 09-21-12

- Monrovia, MD, USA

problem #10

Sep 152011

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to problem with fuel pump module and tubing top the consumer stated there was a strong odor of gas coming from her vehicle. It was discovered, the tubes inside the tank were worn and gas was sitting on top of the tank. The fuel pump module was replaced. The consumer was denied reimbursement, because she did not take the vehicle to a dealership.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #9

Aug 162011

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that he noticed an odor and a leak coming from the fuel tank. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they advised him that he needed to replace the fuel pump module which was fractured. The vehicle was repaired for the fuel pump module. The manufacturer was contacted and a claim was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 51,000. Updated 10/4/11 the consumer stated a recall was issued for the problem. However, it was limited to certain states. Updated 10/28/11

- Kewanee, IL, USA

problem #8

Jul 042010

Ion

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact noticed an overpowering gasoline fuel odor when first starting the vehicle. The dealer advised that the fuel pump would need replacing. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump) but was advised by the dealer that the vehicle would not qualify for recall repairs due to the vehicle mileage. The manufacturer offered to compensate the contact for fifty percent of the repair costs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 118,000 and the current mileage was 125,000.

- Baton Rouge , LA, USA

problem #7

Aug 132010

Ion

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated she noticed an overpowering gasoline fuel odor. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where she was informed that the fuel pump module was fractured. The contact was able to locate a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000: Fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump) but was advised that her vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was left at the repair facility where she was awaiting repairs at her expense. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000 and the current mileage was approximately 41,000.

- Williston Park, NY, USA

problem #6

Aug 022010

Ion

  • 65,234 miles
I am the owner of a 2007 Saturn Ion redline with 65,000 miles. During the first week in August 2010 I noticed a strong smell of gasoline inside the passenger compartment. I walked around the outside of the vehicle and noticed that the smell was even stronger toward the rear of the vehicle. After searching the internet for a possible cause, I discovered my vehicle has a current recall for the fuel pump. "manufacturer: General Motors Corp. Mfr's report date: Oct 22, 2009 NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 N/a NHTSA action number: N/a component: Fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump" however, this recall only pertains to certain states, of which my vehicle was not purchased in and is not currently registered in. A leak in the fuel system is a major safety risk as it can result in fires or explosions during normal operating conditions or accidents. New Jersey as well as the rest of the nation need to be included in this recall notice due to the clear defect present in the vehicles manufacturing.

- Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jun 022010

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer request the replacement of a fuel tank the consumer stated she paid an out of pocket expense of $ $988.05 for the parts and labor to replace the fuel tank. She believed the leak from the fuel tank was a direct result of the service performed when she took the vehicle to the dealer for a safety recall. She stated she had not experienced any problems with the vehicle prior to the recall that she received in March 2010. On June 2, 2010 the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer for the recall repair. Immediately after the repair, she had difficulty starting the vehicle and there was a loud rumbling noise when the vehicle was driven. The consumer returned to the dealer and the fuel pump module was replaced for a second time and an exhaust shield was shifted. The consumer then took a trip. During that time, she smelled gasoline at times, but was unsure if it was coming from her vehicle. After parking the vehicle in a small garage, there was a strong gasoline smell within an hour. When the consumer had her oil changed, the technician noted the vehicle was leaking fuel at the hose to the tank area and recommended that she take the vehicle to the dealer immediately. The dealer informed the consumer there was a leak coming from the filler neck leading to the fuel tank, and the entire fuel tank needed to be replaced. The consumer believed the leak occurred on one of the occasions the fuel tank was dropped for the previous fuel pump replacements.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #4

Jul 012010

Ion 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I have a 2007 Saturn Ion which was purchased brand new in the state of Illinois. I started smelling a large amount of gas inside and outside of the vehicle about two weeks ago. Then it started leaking gas near the right back tire well. We took it to get looked at and the mechanic stated the fuel pump module was cracked and leaking gas 3 inches away from my muffler which is dangerous because if ignited in some way the car could catch fire. I looked up any known issues with this model of vehicle and I found a recall that was issued Oct 2009 for 2007 Saturn Ions in a lot of states but not Illinois. I am very concerned that this potentially hazard issue is happening to vehicles in Illinois also but no one is being notified of the danger. My family was at risk. If there would have been an accident or someone threw a cigarette at my car and the vehicle could of caught fire. I also park my car in an attached garage which also brought risk to my home. Please consider also adding Illinois and any other states that may be having the same problem that you have already issued the previous recall campaign 09V419000 for. Please contact me for any additional information. Thank you for your time and consideration.

- Mechanicsburg, IL, USA

problem #3

Jun 292010

Ion

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While driving 55 mph the contact smelled gasoline inside of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the contact had the fuel tank sealed around the fuel pump. Two weeks after the vehicle was repaired, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the fuel pump needed to be replaced and that his vehicle was not included in recall 09V419000 fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump. The vehicle was not repaired. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 50000.

- Portsmith, VA, USA

problem #2

Dec 222009

Ion

  • 43,519 miles
I want to report a problem with my 2007 Saturn Ion. I live in Virginia and my vehicle had a fuel system leak like the one described in your safety recall 09V419000. My vehicle was actually dripping fuel from the skid plate covering the fuel tank. GM was made aware of this problem back in December 2009, but because my vehicle was about 7000 miles out of the factory warranty Saturn/GM refused to help. I compared the original fuel pump and the new one purchased from GM and find that they have been redesigned indicating that GM knows that the oem fuel pump is defective. I was surprised that GM refused to help since this car had been to the dealer on 2 other occasions from March to May 2009 with fuel system problems. I also want to make you aware that during the time I was having this problem my daughter was constantly complaining of headaches. Ever since I had the fuel pump replaced she has not had any headaches after riding in the vehicle. I feel all 2006-2007 Saturn Ions and Chevrolet cobalts are safety hazards. I hope you can investigate and make GM issue a nationwide recall on these models and not just the states currently listed on your recall. I feel GM has suppressed this information and not made the public aware of this severe problem in order to minimize their expense to repair these vehicles.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #1

Nov 012009

Ion

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. He smelled an odor of gasoline outside of the vehicle. Also there was gasoline leakage from under the vehicle. His vehicle identification number was excluded from recall campaign id number: 09V419000. The failure and current mileages were under 59,000.

- Waianae, HI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?