If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2007 Saturn Ion steering NHTSA complaints: Steering:Electric Power Assist System

NHTSA — Steering: Electric Power Assist System Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.

3.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,681 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments

problem #11

Apr 082013

Ion

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated while driving at an unknown speed, the power steering failed and the power steering warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the steering wheel became very hard to maneuver. Also, the contact stated that the failure recurred intermittently over a period of a year. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who indicated that the power steering unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who did not offered any assistance since the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Springfield, PA, USA

problem #10

Oct 012012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that there was an overpowering odor of gasoline present inside and outside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the contact was advised that the fuel pump was fractured and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and advised him that his vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was repaired for the fuel pump. The failure mileage was approximately 103,000. The current mileage was approximately 104,000. The consumer stated almost immediately after he purchased the vehicle, he started having problem periodically when he applied the brake. The brakes would vibrate strongly and he would have to press the foot brake down all the way to get the vehicle to stop. There would be a brief delay in the brakes working. He took the vehicle to the dealer, but they were unable to find anything wrong. Later in June 2008, he took the vehicle to another dealer to assist with the problem. They were unable T find a problem as well. He continued to have problems periodically with the brakes. A year later, the power steering stopped working. The chimes and warning lights would come on, and the steering wheel would lock up. It was extremely difficult to make turns; especially parking. The consumer stated he had to manually steer the vehicle. The only solution was to turn off the vehicle, and the light would go out. The problem went on for several years, until the consumer received a letter from Saturn stating the warranty coverage had been extended due to problems with the electric power steering. The power steering was finally fixed. Updated 11/08/12 updated 11/26/12 updated 12/3/2012

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #9

Jun 012011

Ion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The electronic power steering motor intermittently fails on my 2007 Saturn Ion. After doing much research this seems to be happening to quite a few people, and there is no recall on it. An incident has not occurred at this time, but very likely can if my power steering goes while making a tight turn at high speeds.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #8

Oct 202010

(reported on)

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer expresses discontent with electric power steering issues the consumer stated she is afraid if the power steering fails, she may not be able to control the vehicle due to her age and strength.

- Nokomis, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 192009

Ion 4-cyl

  • 38,257 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn ion3. While driving approximately 50 mph the power steering failed. He stated that the power steering light illuminated on the dashboard. When the steering failed it became very difficult to turn. He had to drive onto the emergency lane with great effort. The next day he drove the vehicle to an authorized dealer. The dealer replaced the steering column module. The dealer stated that because the vehicle was salvaged he had to pay $656.62 for the repairs. The contact received a letter from the manufacturer stating the identical failure and was upset that the manufacturer did not pay for the repairs. The failure mileage was 38,257. The approximate current mileage was 71,000. Updated 12/23/10 updated 04/06/11

- Montgomery, TX, USA

problem #6

Feb 022010

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,889 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While driving 55 mph, the power steering light illuminated, the steering wheel was very hard to turn and it became very difficult to drive. A local mechanic stated that the power steering fluid was low. The dealer was contacted and stated that the power steering motor needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 42,889 and current mileage was 50,000. Updated 10/01/2010. The dealer replaced the electric steering motor. Updated 10/05/10

- Greenville, OH, USA

problem #5

May 112010

Ion 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 49,346 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While driving at approximate speeds of 10 mph, the power steering failed followed by the illumination of the power steering warning light. The contact was unable to turn the steering wheel but was able to drive the vehicle to her residence without incident. The dealer advised the power steering motor had failed and would need to be replaced however, the part needed to make the repair was on backorder. The manufacturer confirmed that the part was not yet available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 49,333 and the current mileage was 49,346. Updated 7/16/10 the consumer stated the exact part was recalled for another model. The dealer informed the consumer they were not sure when the part would be available. Updated 07/22/10.

- Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #4

Mar 152010

Ion

  • 50,000 miles
There is a recall on Chevrolet cobalt's and Pontiac G5's NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000 for electric power steering loss of power. That occurs any time and is becoming more frequent on my 2007 Saturn Ion it has the same power steering assist. Why is my car not listed when it is a GM product as well with the same component.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #3

Apr 112010

Ion

  • 62,000 miles
I was driving the car and got a pwr str warning on my console. I noticed that I had lost my power steering. I pulled over and turned the car off. When I restarted the car everything worked fine. I didn't have the issue again for 3 days, but now im having it 10-15 times a day. My fiance is the normal driver of this car and does not have the strength to steer and control the car when it looses the power steering. She has almost been in 3 wrecks in the last week resulting from this. There is a recall for the Chevy cobalt and Pontiac G5 that is tsb 10V073000. This is the same part and component that is on the Saturn Ion, but it wasn't included in the recall for some reason.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #2

Mar 092010

Ion 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Power steering shuts off at random times. It is electric power steering and a warning is displayed on the dash. If, I simply turn the car off and then back on the power steering works fine again. It can happen again after a few minutes, or not for a week. There does not seem to be any common condition that causes this, it is totally random. Updated IVOQ. 07/29/10

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #1

Dec 022007

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. In December of 2007, the electronic power steering began to fail intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer in January of 2008 and they initially could not identify the cause of the failure. After several attempts, they discovered that the electronic power steering failed. The first repair was not made until February 25, 2008. The failure recurred several times in March and again on April 14th. The dealer informed the contact to remove the aftermarket lights she installed on the vehicle. Once the lights were removed, the vehicle met the manufacturer's specifications. The vehicle was taken in for repair again and on April 23, 2008, the contact retrieved the vehicle. She was only able to drive five miles before the failure recurred. The failure mileage was 9,000 and current mileage is 13,000. Updated 05/20/08. Updated 05/20/08

- Canton, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?