Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,731 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Camry wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #18

Sep 212012

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Camry equipped with primewell PS830 tires, size: 205/65/15 (N/a). The contact stated that while driving 75 mph, the rear driver's side tire blew, causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The contact crashed into a cement pillar and was thrown to the other side of the bridge before crashing into a second cement pillar. The contact sustained a concussion and whiplash. The passenger sustained chest injuries. The vehicle was not inspected and was destroyed. The failure mileage was not available. The VIN was not available.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #17

Sep 142011

Camry

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Camry equipped with Michelin harmony 205/65/R15 tires. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the rear driver's side tire blew out. A spare tire was installed as a replacement. Approximately one month later, the same failure occurred on the rear passenger side tire. The vehicle was not taken to have the failures diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage on the tires was approximately 10,000. The vehicle failure mileage was 115,000.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #16

Jul 162008

Camry

  • miles
Drove car on interstate & when reached approx. 60 mph, felt vibration & a shuddering; prepared to pull over but before I could do so, the right front tire exploded, as I literally watched my right front end come apart before my eyes; could hardly control steering but managed to pull off road to safety. After I had stopped, I got out & saw the whole tread of the tire in the road, along with parts of my car all over the place. I could have been killed! I called my husband who put spare tire on & I slowly drove it home & car died repeatedly during the drive we used battery cables to jumpstart, over & over again until we got it home & parked it. The next day the car would not start at all. I had the car towed (out of pocket) to local dealers service dept. (B'ham, al). Service man had to replace entire engine harness due to the harness being ripped out through the right front head light/pass front fender (about 3 feet ripped off). Service manager said he had never seen anything like this & that I should report it & try to have tire company pay for damages, etc. Engine harness destroyed, estimated cost $1890.50 to repair (not including body work which is estimated to be anywhere from another $1,500 to $2,000 in damages). The fender, front headlight and bumper will have to be replaced completely. I've made some arrangements to go ahead & get vehicle running, paying the costs of $1890.50 to get the car running again; again out of my own pocket. I can supply your office with a copy of the service manager's estimate & analogy of what happened to cause damages. I don't have the money to get vehicle completely restored & feel all damages should be reimbursed due to the faulty tire. Needless to say, I'm lucky to be alive since I could hardly control the car when it happened. Thank god the other drivers on the road saw me or it could have caused a multiple car accident, as many cars were traveling all lanes. I was in the middle lane & had to cross over the right lane to exit.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #15

Jul 202007

Camry 4-cyl

  • 49,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased a used (about 43,000 miles) 2001 Toyota Camry le ) at the end of June 2006. Every thing works fine since we purchased it. The previous owner is a friend of mine, who always did regular maintenance and oil changes in Toyota dealer and left all maintenance records to me. After we got the car, we had changed brand new tires, new brakes, replaced driver side auto window motor, and also done oil changes regularly. On June 11, 2007, I took my Camry to mechanic to do oil and brake changes. No problem was reported. The total mileage on that car was less than 49,600 miles at that time. On Friday, July 20, 2007, at 11:00 am, my wife drove kids from home to local library for about 7 minutes. After parking in the library parking lot, walking into library, a few minutes later, the librarian announced and asked the owner of Camry with the specific plate number to go to front lobby. However, the librarian did not state the reason. My wife thought she parked well without any violation, so she did not pay too much attention to the first announcement. After librarian's second announcement, my wife felt that the plate number sounded familiar, so she went to front lobby to check out what's happening. When my wife got out to the parking lot, she saw police car and fire truck, and her car was burned out. All of the parts inside the engine cover were all melted. The fire also damaged the right front panel of the car parked next to my Camry. I asked my mechanic to tow my car to his repair shop and checked my car. He told me that this car is not repairable and is totaled. I had contacted Toyota corporate office customer experience center regarding my Camry engine fire since July 23, 2007. The case manager - sandra told me that she would send my case to Toyota's claim department and someone will contact me to investigate my car. However, it had been two weeks since my first contact with Toyota, I had not received phone call from Toyota claim department.

- Setauket, NY, USA

problem #14

Jun 012007

Camry

  • miles
The local dealer, the good guys admitted that the legend el dorado tire was defective ever since they moved the manufacturing to china. However, you will see denial from the email below from treadway Corp. Mr. Edmonston, I don't know what you talking about, and the information does not line up with any of our codes. The legend line your refer to has not had a problem with the line or that size. I will try to contact goodguys to see what their memory is regarding your situation ! "steve edmonston" 06/23/2007 02:44 pm to: cc: Subject: Defective tires your legend # 0220814 tires are defective. I had to replace three of the four I bought from the good guys tire with less than 20,000 miles on them. Then I again replaced all four of them as the tread separation and car wobble continued. Size P205/65R15. I purchased them under pressure from the good guys as good tires for less money. I have now spent over twice the amount and went to Michelin tires out of frustration with the tires and the good guys. I called your corporate office early on and was told there was no problem with the tires, yet three other tire center have confirmed they were defective.

- Madera, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Dec 022004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2001 Toyota Camry that I bought new.at present the car has just 20,000 miles on the odometer. The car came equipped with general hp 400 A/S tires. At present the tires have approximately 3/16 tread depth.my complaints are: 1. while driving on a wet blacktop road at about 30 mph, I gently applied the brakes for a changing traffic signal.at that time the tires lost traction and the car slid into the intersection. This occurred Dec. 2004. 2.while starting from a stop sign on a slight upgrade, the tires lost traction and spun. This occurred Jul 2005. I am to the point where I feel the car is unsafe to drive in the rain or even on wet pavement. Do you have any similar complaints with these tires ?

- Chuckey, TN, USA

problem #12

Aug 152003

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tires skided on wet road and when checked I was told I would have to replace one or more of the tires. I rotate my tires every 5,000 miles and have had them balanced at least one time. These are the original tires shipped with the vehicle. I can't believe they would fail in less than 30,000 miles.

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #11

Jun 282003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 18,000 miles
Clutch failure on 2001 Toyota Camry ce. Toyota would not cover the repairs, the consumer was informed by Toyota that the vehicle was being used a race car which caused the clutch to fail and the tires to wear out.

- Roseville, MN, USA

problem #10

Dec 282003

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
Premature tire faillure. I recently had to replace my tires on a 2001 Toyota camary. The car has 47000 miles on it. The tire dealer indicated that he had experienced thsi problem on several occasions. Other customers had similar complaints involving several brands of tires. He indicated that there was premature outer edge wear indicating a possible specification problem.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jul 052003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
My 2001 Toyota Camry le skidded and went out of control in wet weather. The tire had only about 20,000 miles in it at that time. We have E Bridgestone potenza tires in that car.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #8

Mar 262003

(reported on)

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle fishtailed on a gentle snow covered curve. The dealer later discovered that the vehicle loss rear tire grip which caused the vehicle to fish tail.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #7

Dec 242002

Camry

  • 1,300 miles
The tires experienced premature wear.

- South Burlington, VT, USA

problem #6

Mar 042003

(reported on)

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Tire experienced premature wear. Scc

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 122003

Camry

  • 38,759 miles
The rear tire blew out, when the rear tire was to be changed, it was discovered the spare tire was not compatible for the vehicle.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 282002

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
This vehicle has a tendency to sway or oversteer when going around corners. This vehicle is equipped with general hp 400 A/S tires, dot number acur 3hu 5200 dx 67614 33712. The manual calls for pressure of 29 psi front and rear. The sway is very pronounced at this low pressure. A suggestion from the Toyota garage and tire dealer was to increase the tire pressure to 34 psi. With the tires inflated to 34 psi it is now very unstable when driving in gusty winds. Consumer feels this is either a tire problem or something dealing with the suspension.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #3

Jul 172002

Camry

  • miles
Tires totally came apart where sidewall and tread meet while driving at highway speed. These tires seemed defective when new and were reported to manufacturer and examined by dealer. Both said they were ok, but obviously they were wrong! car sustained damage to passenger door, but fortunately no one was injured.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #2

Jul 312001

Camry

  • miles
Consumer stated she had problems keeping air in tires, until finally one day while driving there was a slight thumping noise, vehicle was taken into dealership to have the tires checked and the tire pressure was low, the tires were then rotated and balanced, consumer was informed that the tires were very worn and needed to be replaced. (Continental tires)

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #1

Jul 312001

Camry

  • miles
Consumer stated she had problems keeping air in tires, until finally one day while driving there was a slight thumping noise, vehicle was taken into dealership to have the tires checked and the tire pressure was low, the tires were then rotated and balanced, consumer was informed that the tires were very worn and needed to be replaced. (Continental tires)

- Huntsville, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?