Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,253 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #18

Jan 082016

Camry

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Please help me. I purchased my car from Toyota superstore in hartford ct February 9,2005 new. The car shuts off while in drive.there are 3 light that comes on; check engine light, the battery and the gas light. This problem has been going on since the first Wednesday of 2013. Ti was an intermittent problem. Now it 21016 and it a frequent annoyance. They did not try to help me with any recall issues. My car has 5 recalled items on this vehicle but all of these were issues that I address out of my pocket. You issued those recall after my monies were spent to carry on diagnostics, and the changing of parts that had no bearing on the problem. While customer like myself spend and spend and spend.this car was $30,000 and because I had done a trade in unfairly good condition. I was able to to get it for $2000 less. I need your intervention in the matter. I am certain I am not the only one in America with this issue. It is appalling that Toyota make these defective vehicles and sell them with the hopes that at 100,00 miles you are going to have to get rid of the vehicle because it begins to break on you. No one in America is willing to drive a car like mine, but I cannot do any better. My family keeps saying I should get rid of the car because the money I am spending on it come buy a new one but I cannot afford car payment right now. My economics is not the best. When I purchased this vehicle I did so believing that this vehicle would last a considerably long time. My confidence was based on the reputation of a company that had integrity and wholesome family values. I am reliant on a car to get me from point a to B. I take my client to see houses and I need a good functioning car to conduct business. I need a good functioning car to make money. I need a well functioning car to take care of my safety on the roadway at nights. Please intervene in this matter.

- Bloomfield, CT, USA

problem #17

Sep 092015

Camry

  • 185,000 miles
Car suddenly accelerated as my wife camille pulled in driveway. Called wills Toyota of twin falls and was told floor mat in the way of accelerator objective impossible when looked at. Looked on line with issues lead to filling out complaint.

- Twin Falls Idaho, ID, USA

problem #16

Aug 172015

Camry

  • 45,000 miles
The car now has approximately 80,000 miles on it - for at least the last 35,000 miles, it's had a problem with either stalling or not restarting after the engine's turned off (often, several incidents will occur in rapid succession, after which the car will function properly for months). Stalling tends to occur when the car is decelerating and coming to a stop - if adequate speed can be maintained, the engine will sputter but won't shut down. In my opinion the stalling and failure to restart problems are connected and I've read of other Camry owners who've been confronted with this issue. Unfortunately, after an incident nothing registers on the car's computer, so mechanics really don't where to start in diagnosing the problem and formulating a possible fix. My car's been meticulously cared for and I've put a lot of money into trying to solve this problem, but nothing has worked so far - the car has been taken to a Toyota dealer and to an independent mechanic. I've contacted Toyota headquarters about the problem, but they're unwilling to address it, even though I've told them my online searches have revealed other owners with the same problem. I've also told Toyota that were I to explore trading-in the vehicle (with full disclosure), I have no doubt a dealer would accept it and pass it on to an unsuspecting buyer. I'm convinced there's a fairly widespread problem Toyota's unwilling to address.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #15

Jul 142015

Camry

  • 244,309 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

7/14/2015. Evap system. Check engine code P0446. Cannister clogged and vsv and purge valves leaking. Replaced charcoal canister. Mileage: 244309......updated 11/13/15 9/23/2014. Evap system. Check engine light code P0442. Faulty gas cap. Replaced cap. Mileage: 230,564. 12/14/2013. Evap system. Check engine light code P0420. Catalytic converter failed. Replaced catalytic converter. Mileage: 213,621. 7/30/2013. Steering rack leaking. Mileage: 203939. 10/4/2008. Failed Maryland emission inspection. Evap system. Fault codes: P0420 catalyst system efficiency below threshold (bank 1); P0440 evap control system malfunction; P0441 evap control system incorrect purge flow; P0446 evap control system vent control circuit malfunction. Mileage: 96796. Replaced catalyst converter. 10/6/2006. Failed Maryland emission inspection. P0440 evap control system malfunction; P0441 evap control system incorrect purge flow; P0446 evap control system vent control circuit malfunction. Replaced charcoal canister. Mileage: 64147.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #14

Aug 272012

Camry

  • 122,000 miles
Car was parked on flat road, then started. Brake pedal was pressed and car was put into drive. When brake pedal was released, car was propelled in reverse. After double and triple checking that car was actually in forward gear (via indicator on dash). The car continued to go backwards. After shifting the car into park, (shutting engine off) and retrying identical sequence of events, car behaved normally, moving in forward direction. Fortunately, car had been parked parallel to curb with no cars around it, and the problem was fealized before the accelerator was pressed, so no accident, injury or damage occurred. In any other scenario, damage or injury may have resulted.

- Nashua, NH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Aug 012008

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
For the last 2 years of its life, the Camry had a stalling problem. It would ride ok for a few weeks and then for several days it would stall out frequently. On the highway, the car would sometimes hesitate. Stalling occurred mostly when stopping at a stop sign or red light after coming off a highway. The car would start again, and then stall repeatedly at every red light or other event that involved slowing down or stopping. After enduring the stalling problem for many months, on 6/19/09 we took the car to our mechanic. They said the stalling might be caused by a sticking valve or the idle control motor, but they could not fix it. We brought the car to the mechanic again 8/20/09 and they replaced the throttle body assembly, which seemed to help. By spring 2010 the problem was back. We brought the car to the mechanic 5/21/10 and this time they cleaned out egr assembly and checked all vacuum lines. Car still stalled so 6/26/10 we took it to Toyota dealer. Dealer was unable to reproduce the stalling problem and said that next time it happened, we should bring it directly to their service center. On 7/20/10, our son was driving the Camry. As before, when he was driving at a higher, steadier speed, the car was ok. When he slowed down to park in a parking garage, the stalling problem recurred. Trying to get the car to restart, he stepped on the gas and the engine engaged. The car lurched forward and slammed into a wall inside the parking garage. It was totaled. We believe there was a fundamental manufacturing flaw in our Camry that resulted in the repeated stalling. We note other Toyota products being recalled for stalling problems, as well as recalls for unintended acceleration. We contacted Toyota but they took no responsibility. They said there was nothing they could do without examining the vehicle directly, but by that time the car had been sent to a salvage yard.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #12

May 202011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2002 Toyota Camry back in March of this year from a private auto seller. On May 20th while sitting at a stop sign in neutral, my RPM gage all of a sudden surged. I pressed on the gas pedal twice to see if it was stuck since I'd heard news reports that this was reportedly the issue according to Toyota when other incidents were reported, but I thought they were with the newer models. Nonetheless, when I released the pedal, the gage continued surging. Thank goodness I was in neutral when the acceleration started because there were children in the area who were waiting to catch their school bus. I decided to turn off my vehicle and sat for about ten seconds, started it back up and it was still surging for approximately another three seconds, then finally stopped and went back to normal. At that point, I turned back around and parked the car at my home. Fortunately, I have another vehicle I was able to drive. That following Tuesday I stopped at a Toyota dealership in Kansas City, Kansas and explained to the service parts worker what happened. His explanation was it's the floor mat getting stuck causing the acceleration and that I need to provide my VIN number for them to look it up. First of all, this was not a floor mat issue. If that was the case then when I pressed the gas pedal, it should've come unstuck. It's obvious that the dealership wanted to go the route that's going to be the least expensive instead of actually looking into the problem. Upon doing some research online, I came across a technical bulletin memo from August 2002 that addressed the acceleration issue stating that it was an electronics glitch. I E-mailed Toyota's customer service dept. And the only resolution they offered was.....nothing. Apparently the warranty has expired for this particular issue so now I have to pay for any repairs done. Due to the dangerous nature of these incidents, repairs should be automatic and not at the cost of the consumer!

- Belton, MO, USA

problem #11

Mar 252011

Camry

  • 99,000 miles
Traveling on an interstate highway I accelerated to 60 or 65 mph. The steering wheel began vibrating badly and the car started to shake. On slowing down the shaking lessened but continued and the steering wheel stopped vibrating. On bringing the car to the shop they determined that the engine mounts had failed. On replacing the mounts one of them had split into two pieces.

- Tewksbury, MA, USA

problem #10

Apr 172009

Camry

  • miles
Last year, I was at a shell gas station at lunchtime to vacuum out my car. Right behind the vacuum was a gas pump. After parking my car and removing the carpets, I went to put change in the vac..the side of the vac I was on was broken. So I got back in my car to move to the other side of the vacuum. I started my car, put my foot on the brake to put the car in reverse, and my car had a power surge and started going on its own. My car backed into the gas pump that was behind the vaccuum. My car was a 2002 Toyota Camry, and it just surged and took off on its own. Here is a link to what was reported on the news: www.wcpo.com/content/news/neighborhoods/deerfield_township/story/fire-at-gas-station-destroys-2-cars/M2yynuvwq0in6lql1nauda.cspx thanks. Shalini

- Liberty Township, OH, USA

problem #9

Jul 282008

Camry

  • 0 miles
Claimant was pulling into her parking spot on the third floor of a parking garage in menands, NY when she experienced unanticipated acceleration of her 2002 Toyota Camry. The police report states that no skid marks were present, indicating that she did not pull into the spot fast. At the end of the parking spot there were marks indicating that the tires were spinning. The spin marks continued up onto the concrete curbing and also onto the guard rail. Due to the unanticipated acceleration claimants vehicle drove over the guardrail and concrete barrier of the third floor parking garage, flipping over, and landing upside down on the ground level.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #8

Jan 012009

Camry

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Toyota Camry, sudden acceleration.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #7

Feb 072010

Camry

  • 90,000 miles
I pulled into a parking lot for the salvation army in san rafael, ca and was attempting to park my 2002 Toyota Camry in a parking slot. All of a sudden the car lurched forward with the engine revving at high speed right after I applied the brakes. My car plowed into a Toyota truck and pushed it through the parking lot for two rows before my car came to a stop. A witness stated that she heard the motor revving and the brakes squealing at the same time my car was pushing the truck across the lot. This has never happened previously and we are the original owners.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 142008

Camry

  • 26,000 miles
Vehicle accelerated on its own, applied brakes and wouldn't stop. Hit vehicle in front of Camry, and that vehicle hit the car in front of it. No airbags went off.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #5

Mar 292005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While backing out of a parking space and turning the wheel counterclockwise, I attempted to brake but the car flew out of control, crashed into a concrete wall and a parked vehicle.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #4

Nov 072002

Camry

  • miles
Consumer received false recall notice. When the consumer called the 1-800 number it was a phone bank offering warranty extensions.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #3

Jul 152003

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
I experienced a tremendous frustration -- while driving in downtown Washington, DC, my car lost its power steering. When I opened the hood, I saw that the reservoir for power steering fluid was indeed full. Not wanting to be stranded 40 miles from home, I drove to the dealer from which I purchased the vehicle. I was advised that it could be several days before my car was evaluated and/or repaired. About 2 days after purchasing the vehicle, I returned it for 2 complaints: (1) the driver seat jars forward and back upon stopping and accelerating, approximately 80-90% of the time; (2) stopping/slowing the vehicle at speeds greater than 40mph (such as when slowing for an exit) causes the vehicle to shake and pull to one side. I was advised, by the services manager that the seat moving "happens in this kind of car", and that the alignment of the car was "ok" and that "pulling and shaking happens in this kind of car". and, I've tolerated it. Now, I'm wondering if the shut down of the steering also 'happens in this kind of car'. if so, I don't want "this kind of car" and perhaps my needs would best be served by some other 'kind of car'

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #2

Oct 012001

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles
Forward surge of the vehicle while stopped with foot on the brake. There have been many incidents of the same.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #1

Jan 012002

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
My 2002 Toyota Camry has braking system that does not operate properly. Find every time I go to stop braking system does not stop and perform properly. Find car does not perform properly in rain and snow and skids out in this type of weather. Note have contacted dealership along with manufacturer to notify them of my complaint with no avail.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?