Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,995 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Jan 072015

Camry

  • 118 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on highway car ride is jerky. At any left exit the car shuts off on exit ramp on left turn. Steering tightens and lock-up. The car shuts done while still in drive mode. The engine goes quite and dies.the gas pedal stop producing power. The car shuts off completely with key in ignition and still in drive. Also going down hill the car becomes immobile and stall. On other occasions car stall at lights on local roads shortly after making left turns and stop light. I took the vehicle into Toyota superstore weston St hartford ct. On three occasions. They kept it for a day, two days, a week and there is still no solution.. nothing has been done to stop the condition. I took it to local mechanics, auto zone. They see the car act up but there are no codes and no system error activity summary. Dealership offer no solution. Always there are 3 light that comes on. Check engine light, check battery light and check fuel light. Triple a toll this cat on 3 occasions. On one occasion during the snow it had check traction light came on. Please someone help me. I took my car in to the dealership always to get the necessary oil change because I have lifetime oil and lube. They are the ones servicing the car so if any parts go wrong they are the ones changing them.. they want me to buy a new car. I told them I cannot afford one. I wonder if they are sabotaging my car. In hopes that I will purchase a new one. Please help me! I learned that the car stops and starts up again after you shut it down take the key out of the ignition for a while so this is how I am surviving. This is very scary! help!

- Bloomfield, CT, USA

problem #31

May 092013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Vehicle shake at 55 mph.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #30

Dec 012014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
As many others have realized with their Camry, mine too has a problem with the rack and pinion. It is leaking fluid from the rack and pinion boots, as well as the steering pump. I am now faced with a $1600 repair bill. Design errors occur, as an engineer I understand this. But the problem is Toyota will not stand behind their products and admit to the error. This is my first Toyota. I had heard how reliable they were. I am not so sure now. I am currently shopping for a new car, and I have scratched Toyota off of my list. I can not give business to a company that treats clients this way.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #29

May 082012

Camry

  • 122,124 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Each time you turn the steering wheel there is a "whining' in the steering column. It happens everytime you move the steering wheel. I was told there is a plastic piece in the steering wheel that may cause the problem they are not for sure and it would cost me over $200 if that is the problem for a "cheap" piece of plastic that Toyota is well aware of using it. I guess I will have to wait until something happens drastically!

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #28

Jan 042013

Camry

  • 112,000 miles
Steering has been getting tight. Thought it was power steering pump. Mechanic says entire steering column need replacement. Why no recall?

- Maynard, MA, USA

problem #27

Jun 012013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 88,800 miles
Over a period of time steering became difficult and turning was a problem. Steering like a mad truck with jerking movements when turning and pulling back. Took to Toyota dealer and they said it was the entire steering column. Why has Toyota not had recall? at same time they said brakes gone. Just had them fixed at local gas station a year ago but did not take rotor down. Grand total $2700

- Roslindale, MA, USA

problem #26

Nov 132009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On November 13, 2009, I applied my brakes to turn in and park my car (my foot still pressing the brake). When my car unexpectedly accelerates about 15 feet and smacks into a building. A $10,000 claim was made against my insurance company. I informed the local Toyota dealership where I purchased the car since the responding officer urged me to get my vehicle checked out. Almost instantly after I began explaining the details of the incident over the phone, they informed me that the gas pedal wasn't the issue and that my car was not included in the recall. I feel like I have been passed over because my car wasn't brand new, even though it was one of the same year models that received an electronic throttle. I received a post card notifying me of a class action lawsuit against Toyota, however it does not pertain to property damage and I'm not sure which avenue to take.

- Sunny Hills, FL, USA

problem #25

Jan 212013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 42,500 miles
I was backing out of a parking space. When I put car in drive and started turning wheel to the right, car wouldn't turn and braking did not stop car. It seemed as if accelerator was stuck. Car finally stopped when it hit parked car. Something similar happened about a year ago.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #24

Dec 072011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 168,450 miles
I purchased a 2002 Toyota Camry 3 years ago at 115,000 miles. I now have 205,000 as of the date of this letter. Last spring, the power steering failed in cold weather and there was a sqeaking noise behind or around my steering wheel so I replaced the pump. It warmed up, so I couldn't test the result. This winter, the problem is much worse and unsafe, so it wasn't that. After nearly hitting a car because I could hardly come out of my turn, I took it to the Toyota dealership on 1/17/12. They kept it overnight to experience the problem. They said they would start by replacing the steering column U-joint for $510, but would not guarantee it. I asked 5 other mechanics who said that it can't be that if it only occurs in cold weather, so I told them not to do anything. I'm bringing it back to my town to have others look at it and fix it. Most of them feel it is the rack, or, just goo'd up power steering fluid, which they will start with, at a cost of only $50 to drain and refill. I have had rack quotes of $880. This car has always been well maintained and I plan to keep it for 500,000 miles.

- Fremont, NE, USA

problem #23

Nov 282011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 159,000 miles
Steering became hard and steering wheel would not return to a straight position. This resulted in a near pedestrian accident.

- Rockville Centre, NY, USA

problem #22

Aug 212011

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,389 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 20 mph when the steering wheel seized. The contact was unable to maneuver the vehicle and crashed into a pole. The vehicle was towed to a local body shop where the manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was destroyed and the contact was injured. The failure and current mileages were 77,398. Updated 10/27/11 updated 12/06/2011

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #21

Mar 252011

Camry

  • 110,000 miles
Steering wheel became difficult to turn and did not return to center when released. Check power steering fluid it was ok. No power steering leaks. Took car to have problem evaluated. Mechanic said that steering shaft universal joints were worn and rusted and binding up. Only solution was to replace entire steering column. He has seen this problem before. If allowed to go too long steering could lock up completely or shaft could shear causing loss of control. Repair will cost $900 since entire shaft must be replaced and part is only available from Toyota. I have never had this kind of problem with a vehicle and was shocked to know the design of the steering shaft left it exposed to road spray and subsequent corrosion damage. This is a serious safety issue and gave no warning as to the impending failure. Steering wheel became very difficult to turn even with the power steering assist.

- Sault Sainte Marie, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 142011

Camry

  • 70,000 miles
I own a 2002 Toyota Camry 70,000 mi and while driving one day the steering froze and I was unable to turn the wheel. Since that day the steering has become extremely stiff and hard to steer. After checking the power steering fluid levels and found it to be normal I have made an appt with the dealership to have it looked at. After reading these complaints I feel it is an issue with the part itself and a safety issue that Toyota should replace.

- Springfield, VT, USA

problem #19

Feb 142011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 174,720 miles
The steering failed, too hard to turn the wheel. The repair shop replaced the steering shaft with U- joints. They said it is common in 2002 Camry.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #18

Sep 082010

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2002 Toyota Camry. I have had to replace intermediate steering shaft in the steering column. The Toyota service manager told me this was a common problem and happened a lot in this model. After doing some research I found that this happens too often to the 2002 Camry. The steering column is a two piece rod that could to catastrophic steering loss. I contacted Toyota complaint department and they told me was that they had issued a service call that only included greasing the shaft.

- Slaton, TX, USA

problem #17

Feb 272007

Camry

  • 88,375 miles
I think my 2002 Toyota Camry has the same steering problem as the recent steering recall for the Toyota avalons. On 2/27/09 I had to get $970 of repairs including a "reman gear assy and cone returm". when I brought the car in for repairs the Toyota dealer was stumped as to the problem, but it sounds a lot like the recent avalon problem, could the Camry have the same defective parts?

- Haddon Heights, NJ, USA

problem #16

Jan 012002

Camry

  • 140,000 miles
I purchased a 2002 Toyota Camry le, carfax one owner, steering lose hard to turn took to shop that's been in operation since 1972 told I had acracked steering column the same as the Toyota trucks and SUV mid 2000 models. The shop said it would be $750 dollars should take to Toyota as they have seen this problem before in Toyota cars and trucks. Called Toyota they said car was to old even though other wise car in perfect mechanical condition. I'm sure I am not the only consumer out their with this problem. There is no excuse for cracks in any vehicle's steering column since this is one of the most component on any vehicle, the big 3 never had this problem, even though they had scores of others. Every one knows this is unacceptable, faulty steering cracks on a -1 used car because of a design flaw, not usage.

- Normandy , MO, USA

problem #15

Jan 012009

Camry

  • 60,000 miles
I own a 2002 Toyota Camry. I reported to tansky Toyota (columbus Ohio) that I have a steering wheel issue. Tansky Toyota technicians mentioned that they have heard this problem before from other Toyota owners. He mentioned that since this is not a safety issue, Toyota is not considering this as a recall. I read a report today that Toyota corolla is having similar issue. I wanted to bring it to your attention that as a Toyota Camry owner, I have a similar issue and I would appreciate if you could investigate this and ensure that this is not a safety issue and ensure that we are driving a safe vehicle.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #14

May 152005

Camry

  • 58,000 miles
Problem with anti-lock brakes. I have had two occurrence. One while driving through my resident parking lot at a speed of 10 miles per hour, I applied the brakes. I heard a grinding sound of the brakes. My hands was blasted off the steering wheel and I felt a hard thump in the seat which eject me toward the ceiling of my car. I lost control of the car. I ended up facing the rear of the car near driver door. The second incident occurred while driving to work in the snow. I was driving 20 mile per hour and applied the brakes. The same thing happened as mention before. Hands blasted off steering wheel, hard thump in seat, and ejection out of the driver set. Had Toyota to repair brakes at cost of nearly $450. I never got an explanation of why my hands were blasted off the steering wheel or the hard thump in the seat which lead to me being ejected out of the seat. The parking lot was smooth surface, so I did not hit a bump.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #13

Jan 102003

Camry

  • 8,351 miles
Constant squeaking from my steering wheel. Repaired twice at Toyota dealer but still squeaks. Brought car to my repair shop an it still squeaks. First incident an second took place under warranty. Usually squeaks in cold weather.

- Western Springs, IL, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?