Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2003 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2003 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2003 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

5.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,027 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Camry suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #19

Dec 162013

Camry

  • 108,968 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had a problem with wheel bearing front passenger. In February 2013 had a front end alignment and 4 new tires. Starting hearing a banging noise in rearend of car in November 2013. Mechanic said it was a bushing. I have an appointment in january2014 to have this replaced. On Monday December 16, 2013 I was driving on a two lane interstate and had no control of my car. I almost went into a pole and tried to swerve to avoid a passing pickup truck on my left. I felt like I was driving on ice. The car would go over a bump or try to make a corner and it would sway to the left. Drove 15 mph home and drove to my mechanic. He said the steering rods in the rear are just loose and fell out. My car is temporary welded to drive to the dealership in which I still have a note. I purchased the car March 31st 2011.

- Little Compton, RI, USA

problem #18

Jul 022012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
I have 2003 Toyota Camry le.. I got into multiple issues with the vehicle. First one is the sun roof/moon roof getting jammed and not closing properly resulting in water leak and as well as high cabin noise. Dealer told it will cost 2000 + to fix the sunroom/moon roof as this need to be replaced complete. Also while doing the 110000 service dealer said the front and rare suspension system needs to be replaced which will cost 2000 + usd. I am requesting Toyota to look into this and get this fixed for me.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #17

Apr 122010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Consumers 2003 Toyota Camry has brake problems, water leaks in the trunk and gas reservoir, doors do not close properly releasing air into the driver side door. Smoke would emit from the exhaust on cold starts. The engine valve stem seals were replaced due to loss of tension and oil was leaking into the cylinders. The strut supports were replaced due them being worn. The power steering rack was leaking, the engine mount was cracked and the battery was leaking. The consumer also stated there was a vibration coming from the brakes when they were applied. There was a hole in the dashboard. Updated 04/223/10.

- East Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #16

May 292009

Camry

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Toyota Camry V6 xle - skids or spins occasionally and especially in wet weather (not just icy or snow conditions). May 2009 my current 2003 Toyota Camry took a 360 degree turn (I lost control of the vehicle) in a 60 to 70 degree turn at 40 miles per hour. It was raining all day on that day. On that day the care hit the guard rail and caused front and rear bumper and side damages. Also in other situations the car skidded in wet condition when accelerating from a hard stop or taking a turn. This appears to be a common issue with most of the Toyota models. I had a 1994 Toyota corolla and a 1995 Toyota 4 runner. All the 3 vehicles had same spinning or skidding issue in wet condition on rain. Also, I learnt that one of our friends Toyota avalon spun recently in wet condition as well.

- Romansville, PA, USA

problem #15

Jul 102003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Since soon after I purchase my Toyota Camry new I have noticed that it pulls hard to the left. Fortunately I have yet to have a vehicle accident, though several times my car has drifted into the oncoming lane.

- Farmington, MN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Dec 072005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,822 miles
The contact stated the vehicle pulled to the left and to the right. However, more to the left. The tires have been maintained with proper air inflation. Road conditions or speed did not appear to impact the pulling. After the first incident the dealer aligned the front of the vehicle. This did not correct the pulling problem. The vehicle was returned to the dealer, and the rear of the vehicle was aligned. This, too, did not correct the problem. The vehicle has not been returned to the dealer for further inspection.

- Bellville, NJ, USA

problem #13

Sep 202004

Camry

  • 9,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Complaint received via E-mail this car pulls to the left and steering feels loose and car drifts. Dealership is not providing any assistance. Alignment and tire balancing did not help. This is a safety issue.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #12

Jul 062004

Camry

  • miles
2003 Toyota Camry problems with left pull. The vehicle pulled to the left while driving. The technician test drove the vehicle and indicated it was either an alignment problem or tires. The technician then realigned the vehicle but the alignment was outside of the manufactures specification. The consumer indicated that the pull is diminished, if not generally gone, but is concern about the parameters of the alignment. The consumer believes if the vehicle had to be aligned out of specification that the problem may be with the tires.

- Iverness, IL, USA

problem #11

Jun 222004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Camry le [xxx]. currently 7585 miles/17 months since purchase new. Gradually drifts right (began from buy date). Onset of drift is approximately 3 sec. After steady track established. Requires constant attention/correction. Vehicle is not safe to drive, other than for local short trips. Tires as cause have been eliminated. (six new tires have been mounted; rf, then lf, then all 4 tires). Toyota dealer check of alignment at 2049 miles--"..all in spec". Toyota dealer, after test drive at 7468 miles revealed vehicle did indeed drift exclusively right, and informed me: (1) vehicle drives like all 2003 Camry's (2) that he could make no alignment adjustment that would improve car's driving performance, (3) that the onset of right drift as early as 2 sec. After establishment of a straight track was Toyota-acceptable, (4) that drift exclusively right was Toyota-acceptable, (5) that problem often is "over-sensitive" driver, (6) that he would not consider exploring applicability of tsb ST002-04 as possible correction, and (7) that my options are to either accept the condition or go to arbitration. At regional level (Toyota customer experience center, torrence, ca) I was told that all such problems were handled exclusively at the dealer level, and that I should consider driving other 2003 Camry's (implied: I might thereby convince myself that my vehicle drove "normally"! a most interesting and revealing approach to a customer complaint!) I have recently contacted a second Toyota dealer that indicated that it is indeed possible to get a "field technical rep" to look at the problem (I am anxious to see how this plays out, but my frustration is obvious). Meanwhile, I have taken step of advising my lawyer in writing to carefully explore the possibility of this unsafe steering problem as a possible primary and/or contributory cause factor, should I ever be involved in a death or severe injury accident in this car. Updated 07/25/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 282004

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
Update to complaint 10047147 on 2003 Camry le- vehicle constantly drifts to the right. The tires were eliminated as a cause of the drifting. The dealer indicated that a right drift onset as soon as two seconds was considered acceptable by Toyota. The only other recourse the consumer has is to seek correction at the dealer level or arbitration.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #9

Aug 152003

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car pulls left and tracks poorly under most driving conditions. It is especially bad in crosswinds and on wet roadways. It was originally established by the dealership that low caster angle was to blame. The dealer was able to loosen and jiggle the engine cradle to get the caster on the minimum specification for caster, but this has done nothing to correct the poor handling. After 4 visits and much unnecessary delay, the dealership and Toyota now claim there is nothing wrong with the car. This defect represents a significant safety issue with lane driftage, and limits the use of the car. I am deeply disappointed with the dealership's and Toyota's position. I selected Toyota for their apparent good reputation for integrity and service, but my experience has shown otherwise. My interactions with Toyota through their agents has shown that their reputation appears to be largely based on their own public relations campaign--not on service and quality. I am now faced with the prospect of arbitration and lawsuit to force Toyota motor Corp to honor their warranty. I cannot in good conscience knowingly sell this vehicle to another unsuspecting buyer, so I must choose to either sue Toyota or repair the vehicle myself.

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #8

Apr 152003

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
Gas tank thump when starting from stop. Slight thump and heavy thump all depends how much fuel in tank. Suspension bolts tightened to factory specs. Parking brake out of adjustment coming up to high hard holding on hill and brake pedal to soft.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #7

Mar 302004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a 2003 Toyota Camry le in Jan.04 and test drove it and it pulled to the left and the salesperson said it was tire pressure so they adjusted it. We drove the car a long distance and the whole time it pulled to the left. I have just found out that Toyota has a tsb out on 2003-2004 Camry's with this problem. This is a safety concern and there should be a recall on these vehicles.

- Newport, KY, USA

problem #6

Aug 142002

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Camry le purchased August 2003. Car pulls/veers to left at speeds below 50-55 mph. When reaching speeds above this, the pull /veering to the left is very pronounced (especially interstate driving). Have taken the car to the dealership twice; the first visit they checked the tire pressure, tires, etc. And was told they couldn't find a problem and stated variations in the roads traveled may cause this. Second visit, routine items were checked again and was told technician couldn't find the problem. After taking him on a drive on the interstate, he "saw the problem" and the car was left at the dealership until the following afternoon. They adjusted alignment to specifications and said they rotated the upper spring insulators (?). the problem persists and once again contacted the dealership. (they have been very courteous throughout) was told they have basically done all they can or know of, but would contact Toyota for further ideas. This steering defect can be a significant safety risk and needs to be corrected.

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #5

May 222003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Camry purchased Jan 03: Complaint was--car has to be "herded" continually. Will not maintain straight line of travel. Feels like it is "on top of the bubble." Annoying. Dealer checked alignment and said "all within specifications--no problem found." It still does it! (checked 5/22/03) the vehicle drifted to the right about 3 seconds after the pressure was released from the steering wheel. The vehicle only drifted to the right not the left, therefore constant pressure on the left side of the steering wheel was always needed. The vehicle tires were replaced but that did not stop the problem. The consumer was told by the dealer that drift exclusively to the right was acceptable to Toyota.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 122003

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a Toyota Camry V6 SE model in July of 2003. Since purchase there is a steering pull/veer to the left requiring over correction to the right. I brought car into several dealerships 4 times, 1st time was told the problem was nonexistent; 2nd time, no problem, noticeable again; 3rd time tire rotation performed, but car still veers to the left. Two weeks ago, car was driven by factory representative who commented that the car was mechanically perfect. Service manager suggested checking tires but would not admit that there was a significant problem. I test drove a brand new SE V6 model directly from the dealers lot and found the same characteristic steering behavior, witnessed by the service manager. I have difficulty controlling this vehicle (between 20 & 40 mph) but have been told that this is the nature of the car and I can begin arbitration if I choose. I am extremely frustrated and have been greatly inconvenienced by the number of fruitless trips to the dealership. There is a serious problem with the steering that the dealership and apparently Toyota's specialists will not acknowledge is abnormal and in my opinion (as well of those I have read on the internet) is a driving hazard. I want this to be fixed, but basically have nowhere to turn. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 212003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2003 Toyota Camry, bought new, steers to the left. The service manager agreed that the car pulls to the left. After two visits to the dealer's service center, the car has not been fixed. The service manager claims that the alignment is within specifications and nothing can be done.

- Atlantic Beach, NY, USA

problem #2

Feb 152003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer stated that while driving, the vehicle pulled to the left at any speed. On a flat road, the vehicle pulled to the left slightly. On crowned roads in passing lanes, the vehicle pulled more dramatically to the left. On three different occasions the dealership attempted to remedy the problem, but suggested the vehicle was within the specifics. In attempts to fix the vehicle the tires were replaced.

- Montague, MA, USA

problem #1

Apr 082003

Camry

  • miles
While driving the front suspension would vibrate. The dealer was notified.

- Rahway, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?