Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2004 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2004 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2004 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
41,758 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Camry transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Feb 012012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 84,203 miles


While driving on freeway, all of a sudden when I tried to press accelerator pedal to accelerate, nothing happened, and vehicle started to slowly slow down. I pulled over to side of road, turned off vehicle and restarted. Vehicle accelerate fine after that. Check engine light on. The Toyota dealer checked and found throttle body failure and replaced it. Cost more than $1300.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #31

Jul 212011

Camry 6-cyl

  • 59,507 miles
Sudden unintended acceleration. Updated 09/23/11

- Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #30

Dec 172010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My 2004 Toyota Camry began leaking transmission fluid from the rear part of the transmission where the two halves of the housing are bolted together. Two mechanics, including one whose expertise is in transmission repair, inspected the transmission and said that the transmission's seal apparently failed. The vehicle has 45,000 miles on it, and stays indoors except for a 12-mile round-trip commute between my home and the local indoor public parking garage. Both estimates for repair were at least $1,500 because the design of the Camry does not allow easy access to the transmission, requiring the mechanic to drop the entire frame to access the transmission. The fluid leak is small, likely no more than a half milliliter every 10 days, so the repair has not been done. Both mechanics stated that it is very unusual for a vehicle like this to begin leaking from between the halves of the housing and, based on there being no other physical damage or wear to the area, it was their opinions that this is a manufacturer's defect. The transmission fluid color is still tinged with pink and diffuses well on blotter paper, and the mechanical function of the transmission appears fine.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #29

Oct 232010

Camry 6-cyl

  • 54,564 miles


Power train: Automatic transmission-I have owned this Toyota Camry for approximately five months. The transmission has a mind of its own. Occasionally it slips into the wrong gear. The worse problem I encountered was five weeks ago when I placed the vehicle into reverse and the vehicle wanted to go forward. I nearly hit the car parked in front of me. I am glad nobody was walking in front of the car when I placed the vehicle into the reverse gear. This car is dangerous and if I could I would return it back to the dealer. Suspension-when is raining the car is difficult to maneuver above 50mph. The rear of the car want to go right making the front of the car go left. The same thing happens when the car hits bumps on the road. Again, the car is unsafe and should be taken off the road.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #28

Aug 092010


  • 76,000 miles
On 8/0/10 vehicle in parking lot. Backed up vehicle. Put vehicle in drive. Vehicle engine revved up and crashed into two vehicles. Attempted to hit brake. Distance between brake and gas pedal is 3 1/2 inches. Vehicle involved was a Toyota. Engineer is inspecting vehicle on 8/27/10.

- West , IA, USA

problem #27

Apr 242004


  • 1,408 miles
Following are the descriptions of two similar complaints involving the same vehicle: 1. vehicle, 2004 Toyota Camry V-6, accelerated unexpectedly while being driven into a head-in parking space. Vehicle did not respond to braking, overshot parking space, hit and punched hole in building wall approximately 6 feet ahead of parking space. Over $1,000 dollars damage to car and unknown amount to building. 2. about two years later, vehicle accelerated while coasting slowly to stop at a stop light. Did not respond to braking, rear-ended stopped vehicle in front. Similar front end damage to the Toyota and some damage to forward vehicle.

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #26

May 042009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles


2004 Camry 4-cyl. Fails to accelerate (delay of about 1 second) when gas pedal is depressed, in this situation: You have either just rounded a corner at slow speed, or you have started to move from stop, gained speed to about 10mph, then engine revs up to around 3000 RPM, but does not deliver power to wheels. Danger of getting hit because your car does not move quickly enough through a traffic situation that you would normally progress through faster. You might also be prevented from averting a crash situation due to lack of acceleration. This problem is intermittent. It can occur 1-3 times in a day, or possibly not at all, but it has been occurring for at least 10,000 miles now. Toyota claims this is just the way the transmission works. But it can lead to injury due to crashing. Dealer claimed that for some years/lots of vehicles, there was a service performed to re-program an electronic control module. But he also said that the problem would tend to come back after the service was applied. This needs to be addressed before injuries occur.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #25

Jan 042009


  • 688,320 miles
My car is Toyota 2004 Camry show check engine light I didn't pass the air care emission test, so they say is a manufacture problem they say is a federal issue.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #24

Oct 012008


  • 101,000 miles
2002-2005 Toyota throttle body assembly failure. Fails at various mileage. No warning - just dies. Not a warranty item. One dealer admits that Toyota is aware and have redesigned part. has blog reports many instances, but not recall or campaigns. Repair is $1K-$1.5K. Owners feel this to be a recall item and that Toyota should be responsible. Please help. Corporate office is no help and will not report any web material - will only motor phone calls. Please help. If this part fails on highway could cause major accident or worse.

- Alvin, TX, USA

problem #23

Feb 212008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
Just had to completely rebuild the transmission in my Toyota Camry 04. This is ridiculous and I have heard from many others that this is a common occurrence since the 2002 Camry. Having to pay $3000 for a supposedly #1 car that I have not even had for four years is extremely disappointing. There should have been a recall if it is that common an occurrence! daniel J mulligan

- Forty Fort, PA, USA

problem #22

Oct 202006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles


: the contact stated the gear was in reverse while the driver got out of the vehicle. The consumer expressed concern that vehicles should not be able to move with no one in the vehicle and should not be able to move with a door open. Minor injuries were sustained. The consumer didn't realize the vehicle was in reverse when he exited. The left door hit the consumer and knocked him down to the ground. Then the door pinned him against the garage wall. The consumer sustained injuries. Updated 12/12/06.

- Chanhassen, MN, USA

problem #21

Apr 262004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
Severe hesitation when depressing throttle to full-throttle. Ex: when pulling into traffic or when attempting to over take a vehicle engine appears to remain at idle when gas pedal is fully depressed to the floor. No down shifting occurs along with no engine RPM increase. After 2-4 seconds engine then responds. If throttle is gradually depressed to full-throttle there is no symptoms, engine does respond properly. I believe it may be a problem in communication between the throttle position sensor and transmission tcm.

- Bayville, NJ, USA

problem #20

Mar 132006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Automatic transmission slips and vibrates when shifting between 1st and 2nd gears. Occurs intermittently. Dealer can't find problem. Dangerous when entering traffic.

- Lincoln, MA, USA

problem #19

Nov 122003

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27 miles
Since I purchased my 2004 Toyota Camry SE V6 new in November 2003, there has been a problem with acceleration after coming to a yield. Basically what occurs is I come to an intersection or a situation where I must yield and when I press the gas pedal the car hesitates for a few seconds. When I first purchased the car I thought this may be new car jitters and it would eventually straighten out. However, two years later the problem still exists. This can potentially be a dangerous situation for several reasons. If you make the decision to go and there is oncoming traffic but the car hesitates a wreck could possibly happen. So to keep this from happening, I will press the gas pedal more than necessary to over-compensate for the hesitation and then when the car does go it jets out into traffic faster than I anticipate. I voiced my concern to the local Toyota dealer in columbia, Missouri and their first response was "oh, that's just normal V6 hesitation." I expressed there was nothing normal about it and I wanted to talk to the manager. The manager called in the regional rep and we all went for a ride in one of the 2004 xle V6 so they could show me the problem exists in all the V6's. the regional rep agreed there was a problem but they didn't know exactly how to fix it. He did say that when the problem was resolved they would let me know. So far no phone call.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #18

Jul 062004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
Extreme hesitation when accelerating from stop or from low speed.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #17

Jul 022004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles
Intermittent problems with engine/transmission hesitation and shifts in speeds lower than 40 mph. Problems noticed from time car was purchase to current. Dealer has checked the car four times and duplicate the problem. The vehicle changes gears several times when driving at 25 mph. Originally the shifting problems lurched, jerked, as if someone was hitting from behind. Tsb 00505 was applied on July 28, 2005 by the dealer. It changed the shifting problem so that it isn't a jerk but sounds like a bump from the rear of the vehicle, also caused significant delay when vehicle is at a stop and then accelerated. Many instances made me uncomfortable about safety: Pulling out when there's a break in traffic, hesitation happens significantly long enough for there not to be a break anymore; coming to four way stop, when its my turn to go, hesitation creates confusion to other drivers. The problem is also distracting when driving in traffic because driver is trying to second guess the vehicle to alter the problem.

- Puyallup, WA, USA

problem #16

May 102005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
2004 Toyota Camry. On three occasions at a stop light the engine roared while the consumer's foot was on the brake. The vehicle actually lurched forward when this happened.the consumer had to press the brakes as hard as possible. The vehicle has been to the dealership to be inspected. They could not duplicate the problem. On one occasion he tried to put the vehicle in neutral and it went into reverse.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #15

Dec 302004


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While parking his 2004 Toyota Camry the vehicle accelerated suddenly and hit a parked car. When turning sharply to the right the vehicle felt as if it were going to flip, shifting gears were not smooth, the brake pedal felt soft and would go to the floor and there was an erratic effect when changing the radio stations.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #14

Jan 302004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
Severe hesitation on accelleration. The car reminds me of a 1970's Volkswagen I had that would stall when the gas pedal was depressed. It can be scary accelerating across an intercection with cars coming or pulling out into traffic because of the unpredictability.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #13

Sep 222004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,524 miles
When shifting from 1st to 2nd gear the transmission will hesitate for a second or two. At the same time the whole drive train will shudder. The hesitation will happen just as I pull into traffic from a side road. I have had the car at Toyota service three times, and all they have done is to cause the transmission to leak oil.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?