Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,359 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Sep 152012


  • 166,000 miles


When I took my car for a test ride at dealer I noticed that the wheel shook and told the salesman it needed to be fixed if I purchased the car, he was certain it was just a tire balancing issue and it wouldn't cost much to fix. The next day I took the car to less schwab who could not figure out what could possible be wrong so we put new tires on, still shook, then had wheels balanced and aligned several times in first week of having car, then replaced motor mounts, then struts, still shook, then replaced brake pads, rotors, yup still shakes. I took it back to the dealer and they still swear it's just a balancing issue so they balanced the tires, car still shakes violently. I have now owned this car for 1 yr and tried everything possible, now I find out it may be the intermediate shaft. I do not feel safe in this car I have two small children and I'm afraid this issue may cause an accident.

- Jeerson, OR, USA

problem #41

May 312011


  • 137,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, he noticed a burning odor. Another driver noticed flames coming from under the hood on the passenger side and alerted the contact. The contact attempted to stop the vehicle, but the brakes would not respond after depressing the brake pedal continuously. The contact jumped out of the vehicle and the vehicle came to a stop when it crashed into the divider on the road. The contact sustained severe scrapes to her left foot, legs, and arms. The contact was then transported to the hospital for treatment. After being released, the contact suffered muscle spasms and was rushed back to the hospital for further treatment. The fire and police departments reported to the scene and reports were filed. The vehicle was towed to a junk yard where the insurance company inspected the vehicle and determined that the vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and sent an inspector to determine the cause of the fire. The manufacturer stated that the cause of the fire was undetermined, but the representative stated that there was corrosion found on the air conditioner hose. The manufacturer would not supply the customer with the investigation report. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 137,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #40

Dec 152010


  • 35,790 miles
3 cases: All at low speed (4-5mph) following 90-degree turn, application of brake causes car to accelerate, over space of C. 1 year, 2 collisions. Dealer "scanned system and performed health check." Reported "all systems functioning properly, gas and brake pedal are secure and in correct position."

- Ridgefield, CT, USA

problem #39

Nov 022010


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the brakes suddenly became stuck when she depressed the pedal to slow down; she was unable to move forward or backwards. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the front left caliper locked up; it was replaced at that time. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current and failure mileages were approximately 70,000.

- Washington, NC, USA

problem #38

May 172010


  • miles
I was trying to park my car at the green farmer market when instead of braking the car kept going. I pressed down on the brake but the car kept gliding hitting a pole and continuing to move towards the gas station. The car finally slammed into the concrete gas station sign and stopped. The air bag did not deploy.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #37

Dec 202006


  • 1,064 miles
2005 Toyota Camry with brake problems I have a 2005 Toyota Camry VIN[xxx]. December of 2006 I notice that I had trouble stopping the car on snow packed and icy roads when the brakes were applied there would be a grating sound which I assumed was the aba brake system I took the car to spradley motors on 12/26/2006 in cheyenne and was told that this was a normal condition. The next time I drove it under snowy conditions, I was approaching a stop sign going about 5mph. When I was two car lengths from the stop sign, I applied the brakes and got the same symptom as I described before. When the brakes were applied I got this grating noise and the car would not stop until I was half through the stop sign. Luckily there were no cars coming and there wasn¿T an accident. This time I wrote a letter to Toyota motor sales usa in torrance, ca about this problem. The case number was [xxx] and they had me go to ehrlich motors in greeley, co on 1/16/2007 to have the ABS brake system checked out. Their response was ¿vehicle operating as designed¿. this car is an unsafe car during stormy conditions and I quit driveing the 2005 Toyota during these times. My wife has a 1995 Toyota that we drive during bad weather and we have no trouble with it stopping safely. I know that there have been a lot of complaints about these Toyota problems, but as you can see by the date of my complaints, they were initiated long before the complaints coming in now, and I received no satisfaction from Toyota [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #36

Mar 122010

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles


2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer states he experienced a sudden loss of the brakes on a bumpy or uneven roadway.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #35

Mar 072010


  • 34,000 miles
While attempting to park in the parking space in front of a building, the vehicle (2005 Toyota Camry sl) accelerated on its own, jumping the curb, crashing into the railing and the building wall. Police impounded vehicle as it was unsafe. In the seconds prior to the crash, my foot was off the accelerator and I was in the process of braking because I was entering the parking space in the lot. Vehicle is now at a body shop awaiting to be fixed but not before this is reported to Toyota.

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #34

Feb 142009


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that for the past year the vehicle has experienced braking problems similar to the 2010 Toyota prius. The approximate failure mileage was 25 mph. The brakes failed whenever the vehicle was driven over a speed bump or uneven pavement. The failure mileage was 45000. The current mileage was 60000.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #33

Feb 082008


  • 30,000 miles
I have had over 20 braking incidents with my 2005 Toyota Camry. All between the speeds of 10 to 40 mph. Everytime I go to apply the brake, the car will accelerate, and feels like the brakes aren't catching or something. Especially when on a poorly paved road. I have now been involved in 2 separate rear-end collisions where I could not stop and ended ramming the vehicle in front of me. A third time I was able to swerve, and clipped a metal sign. I bought the car as a Toyota certified pre-owned with 29 K miles on it, in October 2006. I began encountering this braking problem after only having the car a week. The dealer said there was nothing wrong. So I bought all new brake pads even though the others were practically new. Didn't help. Had the brake lines bled again, and the rotors resurfaced. Didn't help. I feel there is something seriously wrong with these vehicles, and someone is going to get hurt. This braking problem has already cost me over 2,000 in repairs and property damage. Yet still I make my $450 a month payment, with no word from Toyota on what they are going to do to fix the problem.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #32

Jan 012010


  • 5,000 miles


Toyota Camry 2005 LX. Brake failure occurs when braking on slightly uneven surface while depressing brakes on a small bump or pothole. The brakes make a grinding noise and do not work for a few seconds. After the surface is even the brakes work fine. This is not simply the ABS. For safety reason I must use emergency 'hand brake' to prevent major accidents while on uneven surfaces. I have managed to avoid accidents by using the handbrake or braking way ahead of time when I see an uneven spot in front of me. Have accidents have been reported with this problem on other same model year cars" for me this occurs regularly while on uneven surfaces since I purchased the car. Has there been a recall by Toyota regarding the issue I described"

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #31

Dec 182009


  • 40,000 miles
I got a car accident in 12/18/2009. I rented a Nissan car when my Toyota Camry was in auto shop. When I was driving the Nissan I felt the brake system was so different between my car and the Nissan car. Then I talked with my friend who also has a Toyota Camry le 2005. He told me the same thing that I do everyday regarding how to push the brake pedal. As long as the speed is over 10 miles, when I push the brake pedal and try to stop my car, the car neither stops nor speeds down, the car rather speeds up (accelerates) first, then speeds down. The brake system makes me always stay away certain distance from the car in front of me and get alarmed by the drivers who were behind of me. The Nissan car stopped immediately when I pushed the brake pedal. I took my car to the dealer to try to tell them the brake problem, no body wanted to talk with me and they let me go.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #30

May 152007


  • 15,000 miles
About 3 years ago, I experienced a sudden acceleration in my 2005 Toyota Camry V6. It was an unusually rainy day in southern Arizona. As I exited a freeway off-ramp to come to a stop, it felt like the ABS system took over the braking. My foot was on the brake pedal, but the car braked, then accelerated rapidly, fishtailing a bit on the wet pavement. I pumped the brake pedal and was able to stop a few feet past the stop sign. Luckily, there were no other cars on the rural road where I exited--the front part of my car was past the stop sign and out in the road for perpendicular traffic. I was perplexed by the short burst of acceleration, but attributed it to the advanced braking system. I had never had that take control before. Maybe this info can help in your current investigation of the sudden acceleration in Toyota Camry. This was the only time I experienced the acceleration. The car has been in for routine maintenance. I asked my mechanic to check the brakes since the pedal seems to be "soft"--it goes down a bit before engaging the brakes. Mechanic finds no problems with brakes.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #29

Aug 292009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Toyota Camry. He stated that the brakes continued to lock while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer stated that they did not have any additional complaints similar to his. On a separate occasion, while driving at speeds of approximately 25 mph through a school zone, the vehicle abnormally accelerated to the right and crashed into a pole. The driver attempted to stop the vehicle by depressing the brakes, to no avail. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was filed on scene. The contact was transported to the hospital and suffered moderate injuries and bruises. The manufacturer investigated the vehicle further and could not find any technical errors in the vehicle. The cause of the crash was inconclusive. The failure mileage was 40,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 04/27/10. Updated 07/08/10.

- Randolph, NJ, USA

problem #28

Apr 142009


  • 48,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I own a 2005 Toyota Camry SE. While driving approximately 25mph on a rainy day my vehicle accelerated. I had to apply the brakes several times before they worked. My failure mileage was 48,000 and the current mileage was 57, 897. [xxx]

- Lanham, MD, USA

problem #27

Aug 012006


  • 5,000 miles
Numerous occasions of unexplained acceleration and were reported to Toyota who reported could not find a problem. Numerous occasions of braking problems and were reported to Toyota who reported could not find a problem. Numerous occasions of steering problems and were reported to Toyota who reported could not find a problem. Numerous occasions of transmission problems and were reported to Toyota who reported could not find a problem. Vehicle was returned to Toyota under ca lemon law in 2006 or 2007.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #26

Oct 112008


  • miles
Changing lanes, car accelerated, unable to control vehicle. Crashed into front end of waiting car and into stop sign.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #25

Jun 072007


  • 26,196 miles
2005 Toyota Camry xle--beginning in March 2007 my Camry began to accelerate from a stopped position. My Camry would take off at high speeds from a complete stop and applying the gas pedal. This occurred several times. I took my car to my dealer bill page Toyota in falls church, va. The first time the acceleration occurred was after 2 years and in March 2007. I was on constitution avenue, right lane in DC--which either turns right or goes straight. Constitution avenue is 3 or 4 lanes each East and westbound--I was heading eastbound. When the light turned green, the car in front of me turned right, thank goodness because as I took my foot off the brake and unto the gas, my car shot forward so fast my brakes wouldn't stop my car. Upon slamming on the brakes which were shuddering so badly, I thought my car was never going to stop and hit the next car (rush hour). I stopped short of hitting that car. I was so scared. My service manager said couldn't reproduce and that there was nothing wrong with my brakes or car. He told me that the shuttering is normal when I slam on my brakes--a safety feature to stop the car. Computer said nothing wrong. Had the acceleration problem at least 3 more times. I was at a parking meter, 1st space. Got into my car, turned on the key, released my emergency brake, and took my foot off the brake and unto the gas. I wanted to make a right turn. There were 2 people on the sidewalk, and thankfully they did not walk in front of my car--I would have run over them. My car took off so fast from a stopped position that I had a hard time stopping my car. I immediately took my 2005 Camry to the dealer. Again service manager told me computer says there is nothing wrong with my car--think computer/software glitch. Last week Toyota Corp said won't fix B/C not on recall and only intermittent, which is the problem. Told me I own the car, it's out of warranty won't pay to fix. Help! when driving it's like russian roulette!

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #24

Mar 052007


  • 10,000 miles
Cold start. Below freezing outdoor temperature. Brakes needed several pumps in order to stop the car totally. Problem disappeared as car warmed up. Brought to dealer. Replaced brake booster at owner's expense.

- Lenox, MA, USA

problem #23

Dec 122008


  • 21,000 miles
Brake failure when braking on slightly uneven surface. 2005 Toyota Camry le - current 50K miles while depressing brakes on a small bump or pothole, it brakes make a grinding noise and do not work for a few seconds. After the surface is even the brakes work fine. This is not simply ABS as occurs with slight brake pressure and on very minor bumps on the road. For safety, must use emergency 'hand brake' to prevent major accidents while on uneven surfaces. One incident, brake failure occurred while trying to stop at red light and a small bump on road near stop line caused car to not stop and jump the curb on street. Thankfully no permanent damage or bodily injury. Since I have managed to avoid accidents with handbrake or braking way ahead of time when I see an uneven spot in front of me.. however, accidents have been reported with this problem on other same model year cars. This occurs regularly while on uneven surfaces starting near purchase date. Have taken to dealer several times and reported as 'normal'. suspect current brake recall needs to be expanded by Toyota.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?