Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,905 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jul 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while reversing 5 mph into a residential driveway, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into a garage. The contact then attempted to switch gears and the vehicle abnormally accelerated a second time. The vehicle was then stopped by her shifting the vehicle into neutral but the engine rpms were racing at abnormal levels. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they informed the contact that the failure was due to the driver side floor mat becoming stuck on the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted by mail and advised the contact that they were unable to diagnose and the failure could have been caused by the floor mats. The failure mileage was approximately 38,000. Updaetd 11/16/11 updated 02/06/12

- Charlestown, WV, USA

problem #22

Jul 202010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
I owned a Toyota Camry for 2 years and had 2 incidents when the accelerator stuck causing me to lose control of the car. After the 1st incident I returned the vehicle to the dealer and was told nothing was wrong with vehicle. Then the Toyota recalls began and I contacted Toyota and was told my vehicle was not part of the recall even though I was having the same problems. I requested my vehicle be checked and was told I would have to pay for all costs. After the 2nd incident I again returned the vehicle where I was told there was no mechanical or electronic problems it was an issue with pedal placement and floor mats. I sold the car back to the dealer at a considerable financial loss. I am very concerned this vehicle and others like it are back on the road. Updated IVOQ 08/24/10

- St Paul, MN, USA

problem #21

Jan 262010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer states vehicle has an intermittent accelerator problem the consumer stated while driving in the city, the vehicle suddenly accelerated with a loud roar and hit a curb damaging the front tire and hubcap. The consumer stated the vehicle was extremely difficult to control. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for an inspection, but they were unable to find any problems.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #20

Mar 232010

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer states repeated unexplained throttle acceleration. The consumer stated on several occasions, the vehicle accelerated at full throttle. Once the consumers wife was backing up and the vehicle almost crashed into a storefront. On another occasion, the vehicle accelerated at full throttle, but luckily, the consumer had his foot on the brake and was able to shut the vehicle off.

- Jackson, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 132005

Camry

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 25 mph up hill the accelerator pedal became stuck in the open throttle position. The vehicle did not accelerate; however, it seemed to decrease in power as if the vehicle was shifted into neutral gear. The contact touched the accelerator pedal with minimal pressure and the vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure and current mileages were 180,000.

- Torrence, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 022010

Camry

  • miles
Letter on behalf of re her experience with unintended acceleration in her 2005 Toyota Camry; repy attn: Atlanta office. The consumer stated she backed out of a parking space onto a one way street with two lanes. No cars were coming in the first lane. As she began backing up, the vehicle suddenly accelerated backwards. She crossed the first lane and hit a truck in the second lane. It stopped after hitting the truck.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #17

Jun 232006

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ltr fm (MA) re Toyota braking and sudden unintended acceleration, owner of a 2005 Toyota Camry le. As the consumer started to park, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. She tried to brake, but the vehicle lurched forward and crashed into a building. No one was injured, but there was extensive damage to the front of the store as well as the vehicle.

- Wakefield, MA, USA

problem #16

Mar 122010

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
2003 and 2005 Toyota Camry with unintended acceleration. While pulling out of a parking space, the 2003 Camry suddenly accelerated. Although the consumers husband applied the brake hard, the vehicle would not slow down. The vehicle crashed through a wooden barrier of the parking lot and then hit a fire hydrant, which stopped the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy and the consumer and her husband suffered injuries. The consumer no longer owns the 2003 which was totaled by the insurance company. The consumer purchased a 2005 Camry to replace the 2003. On two separate occasions, sudden acceleration was experienced with the 2005 Camry when the consumer slowly made a turn into a parking space. The consumer swiftly applied the brakes both times to avoid crashing into her house.

- Chevy Chase, MD, USA

problem #15

Jan 232010

Camry

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry purchased new. The driver entered the vehicle, turned on the ignition and proceeded to place the vehicle into reverse to leave a parking space. The vehicle then began to spin around repeatedly as it abnormally accelerated and she attempted to depress the brake pedal. The brakes would not respond. The driver noticed the accelerator pedal was stuck down into the floorboard. The vehicle crashed into several other parked vehicles and began to slow down after each crash. Eventually, the vehicle came to a stop on its own. The driver sustained minor bruising and seat-belt burns. A witness called the police to the scene and a report was filed. The manufacturer was contacted and because there were no recalls on the vehicle, they would not assist. The vehicle suffered sever body damage. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were under 65,000.

- Saint Francisville, LA, USA

problem #14

Mar 012010

(reported on)

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry with sudden acceleration issue. The consumer stated at the exit of a car wash, he put the vehicle in gear and it shot out of the building. The accelerator was not applied and it was not trapped under the mat. The consumer stated it only happened once.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #13

Mar 012010

(reported on)

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ltr fm (md) re his mother's concern w/her 2005 Toyota Camry, she experienced sudden acceleration while driving, reply to rockville, md ofc. The consumer wrote in on behalf of his mother. His mother previously owned a 2005 Toyota Camry, but traded it in for a new Camry. The consumer was concerned about the person who may own the vehicle that she had.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #12

Jun 102008

Camry

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving 50 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck twice. The failure occurred one time in the fall and again while driving 45 mph in the summer. When the contact tapped the brakes, the vehicle started to decrease in speed each time. The contact stated that the weather was not a factor and the driver was able to regain control of vehicle each time the failure occurred. The contact took the vehicle to a Toyota dealership who stated that the repairs would be made at the owners expense. The failure mileage was 28,000. The current mileage was approximately 35,000.

- Baton Rouge , LA, USA

problem #11

Dec 252009

Camry

  • miles
Consumer states that 2005 Toyota Camry needs to be added the Toyota recall. The consumer stated he experienced sudden acceleration on 3 separate occasions. The first incident happened in 2008. As he approached an intersection within an enclosed parking lot building, he applied the brakes, but suddenly the vehicle shot forward at an incredible speed and crashed into 3 parked cars. There were no injuries, but the damage was severe. The other two incidents happened on christmas day 2009. The first was at a street intersection near the consumer's home where he narrowly missed a car. The second was when the vehicle drastically accelerated into his garage hitting a desk and putting a hole in the wall. The damage was minimized by the use of the parking gear. The consumer was advised to remove the mats, but he felt as though the problem was way beyond the mats. See also ODI 10332753

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #10

Dec 092009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
2005 Toyota Camry gas pedal sticks while on at a constant rate of high speed (freeway). While depressing the pedal it would rachet and stick before returning to a normal position. My wife and I have had our 05 Camry and this would occur at least twice a year. We believe that our 2005 Camry should be included in the recall by Toyota, which it is not, at this time.

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #9

Dec 062006

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While going forward into the garage at 1 mph on December 6, 2006, the vehicle lunged forward and crashed through a wall. The freezer, stove, kitchen cabinets, desk, table, and chairs were damaged. On a second occasion, the vehicle lunged forward, but no crash occurred. On June 15, 2007, the vehicle accelerated and crashed into the wall of a grocery store, causing extensive damage. The dealer had the vehicle after each failure and performed body work on the vehicle; however, the contact did not know what mechanical work was performed. When he asked for the paperwork. He was denied. The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 24,000. Updated 03-18-08 the consumer stated airbags never deployed in both crashes. Updated 03/18/08

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #8

Dec 122007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
He has been experiencing problem either with the transmission or the accelerator. When he start to accelerate sometimes, usually in low speed, 20% to 40% of the time, there is a few seconds the car does not respond, and suddenly he feel a jolt and the car jumps violently. He has to look back whenever it happens to see if someone has crash in to his car. If there is a car infront of him while in traffic, this could lead potential car accident of hitting the car infront of him. He also has to make sure he does not park too close to other cars or the wall. I have help him reported the issue to dealer 2 times many months ago and they said they can not fix the problem if they can't feel the problem. I have also told the headquarter I found numerous complaints on the same hesitation/acceleration problem my father experiencing and I noticed Toyota have been telling other people same response that dealer can not fix the problem if dealer can not feel the problem, and dealer have been telling people this is normal behavior for those who revisited many times. There are hundreds of complaints about this issue if you go search on google (using keyward Toyota camery transmission problem). One of the website is I found from google result for example was www.autobytel.com/content/research/forums/index.cfm/action/posts/fid/2852. it has 27 pages of such complaints. I have also notice such complaints does not apply to just 2005 year camery but against 2002 and 2007 camery as well. With so many cars they sold over 5 years and so many complaints on their transmission that can lead accidents and possibly already did, Toyota are making individuals feel as if they are the only one imagining things. A few people said certain stores allow them to do a computer chip "fix, " and the fix was not helpful. On top of transmission problem. He noticed paint peeling, rust paint under 15X magnifying glasses, a bubble on dash board.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 232006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,200 miles
: the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated uncontrollably while the driver's foot was planted on the brake pedal. The vehicle was in the process of being parked when the incident occurred. The vehicle hit a pole and stopped. The dealer was contacted on 06/26/06 and could not determine why this problem occurred.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #6

Jul 042005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,086 miles
Was sitting in my 2005 Toyota Camry xle in park idling when I placed it in drive it surged quickly forward and hit my brick garage wall

- Brookhaven, MS, USA

problem #5

May 052005

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108 miles
New vehicle driven 108 miles. The only problens notices was the radio would turn itself on when hitting a slight bump in the road. Cruise control light did not go off when brakes were engaged, but would disconnect cruise control. Was parking in a mall parking lot parrall to access road. Speed no more than 1 or 2 mph. Front wheel dropped into hole. The accelorator caused the car to lurch forward. Applied brakes but was unable to keep car from moving forward at a slow speed of 5 mph. Turned right, to avoid striking handicap parking sign, into the path of a pickup truck traveling on mall access road. Struck truck and continued forward toward pedestrians on sidewalk. Managed to avoid them and the engined stopped at that point. I applied the brake so hard I injured my right hamstring muscle and was unable to walk. Toyota seized vehicle for inspection and has not released or inspected it as of this date.

- Bridgeport, WV, USA

problem #4

Apr 252005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,300 miles
I have driven a Toyota Camry for 14 years and have never had an accident nor a traffic citation. In October 2004 we bought a new Toyota Camry. On April 25, 2005 I drove to a meeting at a private home on a 27 acre farm. I had two passengers in the car. When backing up very slowly to turn the car around I had a sudden unexpected speed surge. Brakes did not work. I glanced off one car damaging the back bumper and putting a crease in the side, then hit a pickup truck square on its bumper knocking off the licence plate. Since there were people, cars and buildings behind me, I managed to get it out of reverse but then it surged forward (no brakes) went about 150 ft and I had to turn off the key in an attempt to slow the car down. This was on a long gravel driveway and the car was out of control. It coasted about 90 ft, went through a wire fence, hit a fence post, a roof support, and hit a 800 lb baler which moved 5 ft into a large farm sprayer. Three people witnessed what happened and heard the car when it surged backward. The rear seat belt snapped open on impact. One of the passengers was injured, one had bruises.

- Portland, OR, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?