Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
33 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
31 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,930 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Camry seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Nov 092013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this car from team Toyota/auto nation Mar. 14, 2013. It had 38940 miles. On Nov. 9, 2013, I rear ended a car that had stop on the freeway. I attempt to stop, and my brakes did not work. I always had to brake down to get my car to stop, and thinking now my brakes did not work properly. My seatbelt never locked me in and my air bag did not deploy. I suffer a broken nose, 7 stitches and bruise my head hit the steering wheel.I was told by a mechanic that if a person take their car to a mechanic and pay cash for their damage you will never know its been wreck before. Go to my youtube, because I did not died or paralyzed, and my blog. [xxx]. no attorney will help me cause I did not died or paralyzed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)....updated 09-03-14 updated 09/10/2014

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #17

Nov 092013

Camry

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 42 mph and crashed into the rear of another vehicle due to a braking failure. The air bags failed to deploy and the seat belts failed to restrain the contact. Consequently, the contact sustained a fractured nose, bruising and lacerations to the face. The contact was transported from the scene via ambulance for treatment of injuries. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but no explanation was offered as to why the crash occurred. The failure mileage was 51,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #16

Aug 102013

Camry

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph and attempting to exit a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated, traveled over a side walk, crashed into a tree and finally crashed into a building. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained injuries to the neck and the front passenger sustained injuries to the stomach and ribs. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. An engineer was sent to inspect the air bag and acceleration failure of the vehicle but it was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #15

Dec 312012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During a short trip the SRS light came on. I don't recall exactly when the light appeared, while sitting still or when I first started to move forward after backing out of the driveway. Since the incident I have had the vehicle into Toyota 3 times. Every time I am told that there is nothing wrong with the car. The last time the dealer had it for a total of 25 days. The response is that while nothing is wrong with the car passengers should first sit in the car and buckle the seat belt before the key is inserted into the ignition. I have contact the Toyota experience center and while they first agreed that this is not normal they contacted the Toyota field technician and I was told that movement of a passenger in the seat can cause the (malfunction) SRS light to come on which disables the airbag system. I have asked why this has never occurred during the first 3-1/2 years of owning the car and don't get any answer. This is an unsafe condition as the SRS light can come on while on an extended trip and if there is an accident the airbags won't deploy.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #14

Mar 252013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I consider myself lucky. I lost control of my vehicle on my way home from work, was traveling the speed limit of 45 mph. Shot off the right side of the road and flew into a telephone pole and tree. The front end of my vehicle was destroyed but my air bags failed to deploy. Thank god for my seat belt. I truly don't understand with the type of impact and the speed I was traveling why the air bags did not deploy. I would love to have this investigated, but allstate totaled my car as they said at least $11,000 worth damages were done.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Dec 312012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
On my way to work on new years eve 2012 I lost control of my 2010 Toyota Camry and went of the road and hit a telephone pole at about 30 miles per hour. I was knocked unconcious and suffered immediately noticable injuries to my face, arms, chest and knees. The police said I was not wearing my seatbelt and none of the airbags deployed at all. I always wear my seatbelt, no matter what! on top of that, the dinger that goes off when there is no seatbelt on is very annoying and alone would cause me to put it on. There is no way I would listen to a dinger for a 45 min drive to work and not put my seatbelt on, and I was 10 minutes from work when it happened. The only explanation is that the seatbelt was clipped enough to turn off the dinger but not enough to lock because my injuries indicate that I did not have any bruising or marks from a seatbelt and my head had cracked the windshield, which would be impossible with a sealtbelt that worked and an airbag that deployed properly. This was the second accident where this car did not deploy the airbag. The first was a rearend that shoved my car into the car in front of me and no airbag deployed. After insurance looked at the car, it was determined it was a total loss from the damage to the front end.

- Perry, UT, USA

problem #12

Jul 012012

Camry

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, he crashed into a deer. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The police were contacted however, a report was not filed. The vehicle was later towed to an independent mechanic where it was deemed as destroyed. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were approximately 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #11

Jul 162011

Camry

  • miles
My sister owns a 2010 Toyota Camry xle, bought as a new car, not used. On Saturday, July 16, 2011, she was riding as a passenger in her car when it was struck by another vehicle on the passenger side. Even though she had to be cut out of the car, neither her side airbags or front air bags deployed. She was taken to the er at the hospital because she had suffered injuries and was in pain. It is possible that the 2010 Toyota Camry xle is a total loss, however, none of the airbags in the car deployed.

- Owens Crossroads, AL, USA

problem #10

Nov 272010

Camry

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While driving 35 mph, a vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle but the air bags did not deploy. The contact was injured. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer had been notified. The failure mileage was approximately 16,000.

- Shafter, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 142010

Camry

  • miles
>1. I rented a 2010 Toyota Camry from hertz. The vehicle was fitted with side curtain and front airbags. 2. on September 14th 2010 I was driving southbound down a highway in Alabama at a speed of 55 mph. A Ford F-150 driven by someone under the influence decided to cross the highway from my left. The F-150 struck my rental vehicle in the drivers side door. The F-150 then pushed the Camry to the right off the road into a deep drainage ditch alongside the highway. The Camry went front first into the ditch wall smashing in the front of the car. 3. the vehicle I am told was found to be "totaled". their was a crease from the initial impact from the front drivers wheel well extending back to the passengers door. The front bumper/lights were also destroyed. The car was towed and taken back into possession by hertz rental company. 4. my concern is that the airbags did not deploy. 5. this accident has resulted in suffering from multiple medical issues. I have not been able to return to work as of this date 19 October 2010.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #8

Sep 132010

Camry

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While traveling 65 mph, the vehicle was struck in the front end by a nearby vehicle. However, the air bags did not deploy. The contact suffered back and neck injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle had not been inspected to determine why the air bags did not deploy. The current and failure mileages were approximately 18,000.

- West Sacremento, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 122010

Camry

  • 8,590 miles
My 2010 Toyota Camry was hit by another car running a stop sign. The point of impact was between the front passenger headlight and front passenger wheel. Control was lost and the car spun around. None of the airbags deployed. Car was not drivable and had to be towed. Incident was reported to the bridgewater, NJ police and the other driver cited. Photos available upon request.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #6

Jun 272010

Camry

  • 93,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry xle was in a serious accident this past week. My son was driving and the rear abruptly went to the right and he lost control and skidded across a road into a soft shoulder/embankment causing significant damage to the front of the vehicle, the car then flipped/rolled over landing on it's roof. There ended up being substantial damage to most of the vehicle. Upon inspection of the vehicle by us on the following day we did notice that the right rear tire had blown out, I assume this caused the abrupt veering to the right described above. My son had his seat belt on and luckily had only minor injuries. My concern/question is why the air bags did not go off. This includes the ones built into the front pillars and those on the side designed to protect the occupants head and arm, etc. Btw: This vehicle was recalled for the defective gas pedal/floor mats and was scheduled to have the recall/repair completed on 7/29/10. Photo's were taken by him of the damage.

- Winchendon, MA, USA

problem #5

Apr 172010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry hybrid. While driving approximately 20-25 mph, the contact stated when she turned the air conditioner on, she had no control of the temperature. When she attempted to change the temperature, nothing occurred. The vehicle was taken to two different dealerships but the dealers were unable to duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 200. The current mileage was 1,090. Updated 07/19/10. The consumer stated the air bag and check engine light illuminated while driving. 09/30/10

- Palos Verdef Estates, CA, USA

problem #4

May 172010

Camry

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While driving at 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly pulled to the right and crashed into a traffic light. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries but a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership and was awaiting inspection by the insurance company and the dealer. The contact believed the power steering to be the cause of the failure but the dealer refused to check it. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 11,000.

- Foxboro, MA, USA

problem #3

May 092010

Camry

  • miles
Auto accident,30 mph, vs 30 mph, my car 2010camry, side curtain air bag didn't deploy, and I have neck problems now, the other car tbone me, their air bags deployed, not mine, on my 2010 Camry, and I'm suffering from neck and head injuries.

- Roswell, NM, USA

problem #2

Mar 132010

Camry

  • 1,715 miles
Stopped at intersection. Placed foot on gas pedal and was attempting to turn right. Car surged with a rapid acceleration through intersection across a raised grass covered curbed median, striking a pole and sprinkler system. Car continued across other side of street into a yard striking a planter. I was unable to complete the turn as the car accelerated. Car came to stop in neighbor's yard after striking planter. Damage to car estimated at $2000. Reported incident to police. Police and firetruck arrived on scene. Airbags did not deploy but my shoulder was injured.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #1

Jul 262009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 286 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 5 mph into a parking space the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing the vehicle to crash into a building. The contact was not injured. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 286. Updated 02/17/10. The air bags did not deploy. Updated 02/19/10.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?