Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,772 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Camry suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Sep 122015

Camry

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. While making a left or right turn at unknown speeds, an abnormal clicking sound emitted from the vehicle without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the technician stated that the ball joint may needed to be replaced; however, the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V732000 (suspension). The failure mileage was 46,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #23

Aug 202013

Camry

  • 16,700 miles
I purchased a used 2011 Toyota Camry in 2013 from a Toyota dealership. Before the 30 day warranty was up, I had to return to have an alignment done. The next day I was back again because the car was not in alignment. I had the alignment repeated. I can't recall the total number of times I have had this done. After the dealer warranty ran out, I used at least 3 other auto repair chains to try to fix the problem. I went back to each one numerous times trying to get the problem solved. It was never corrected to my satisfaction. At some of the repair shops I also had 12 month warranty that I purchased with tires, brakes, and other services. They began to refuse to repeat the alignments, asking if I hit something or suggesting other expensive services that I didn't want or need, refusing to honor their warranty until I had these services done. I know they hated to have me come in so many times to have an alignment repeated. It was never corrected and this became very expensive-having unnecessary services that never helped the problem. As I am not the original vehicle owner, I never received any notification about the recall on the ball joints or any other notices about it. Never even heard of this or been informed by anyone concerning the problem. I cannot recall the problem being corrected ever. It only has 72,000mi on it and it does not feel like a safe or reliable vehicle any longer. The alignment problem is still there. I believe Toyota should at least make some attempt to assist me. It is still difficult to drive the car. Like fighting with it and having to constantly keep it in the correct lane and on the street.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #22

Jun 012011

Camry

  • miles
Purchased 2011 Toyota Camry le new and the dealership serviced the tire maint. For 24K miles and it was cupping tires out at 15K they replaced them and 15K later cupped again they said it was out of alignment but they did alignment so what then, tried to file lawsuit and was turned down after Toyota sent someone down to look at the car and said they found nothing wrong but since then every 15-20K miles new tires go on because they are cupped Toyota said nothing was wrong now the car has 150K miles and I'm on my 7th set of tires, have used anything from a 80K miles yokohama down to the cheapest set of sumitomo tires and it doesn't make very much difference as to the mileage you get from a set, there have been over a dozen 4 wheel alighnments done and they have been balanced hundreds of times nothing helps. The car came from the factory with Bridgestone turanza tires and they lasted 15K. On this set of tires that is on the car now I let the tire dealer take over the maint. And they roadforce balance and rotate every 5K miles and it hasn't helped any, the tires are cupped bad and they are at 20K miles now. I am changing all the struts and alignment again to see if this fixes the problem.

- Sylacauga, AL, USA

problem #21

Jul 012015

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. While driving 40 mph, a loud noise was coming from the tires. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that all four struts were leaking and the tires were damaged. As a result, both needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 62,400. MA 10/21/15 the consumer stated he is on his third set of tires. Updated 03/31/16.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #20

Aug 052014

Camry

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. While driving at 55 mph and attempting to decelerate, the vehicle started shaking violently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the vehicle needed an alignment, the tires needed to be balanced, and the rotors were warped and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 39,000.

- Hacienda Heights, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Jul 082015

Camry

  • 38,500 miles
I took my car in for an oil change and the 30K miles maintenance check up and even though the vehicle (Toyota Camry le 2011 ) is less than 5 years old and has about 38,500 miles, the front struts are leaking and need to be replaced as per my dealership mechanic. Could this be a defect, for I have read others complain about the same issue? I am the first owner of the car and bought it brand new with 7 miles from a Toyota dealer.

- Shaker Hts, OH, USA

problem #18

Jun 082011

Camry

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed my tires has uneven tread wear brought it to Toyota service center and I was told my wheel alignment is fine now I'm worried because I have a bumpy ride and its uncomfortable, I just wish they can do a remedy on it.

- Cypress, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 252015

Camry

  • 55,000 miles
I purchased my 2011 Camry sle used through the Toyota dealer in Jan. 2014, my vehicle I have owned for just over a year before I noticed this issue. I had brand new tires put on the car immediately after purchasing. Now, a year later, I feel a vibration in the steering wheel when driving at higher speeds of 55-70mph. I took my car in to have the tires checked where I purchased them and was informed that my front struts were leaking causing the vibration and my tires to wear uneven (high/low spots in all tires). I brought my car to Toyota (after having been there the week before for a service) and was told they were only leaking slightly and they were not required to replace them with the amount leaking. I was never informed of any leaking issues at my service and it was even noted that they were checked and fine. I replaced the front two tires again a bout a month ago thinking it might solve the problem but there is still a vibration and noise coming from the front end. I was informed by another mechanic that they typically get replaced at $70,000 but seems like there is an issue with them and that I should return to the dealer to have them replaced since they are under warranty.

- Saugerties, NY, USA

problem #16

Jan 052015

Camry

  • 19,000 miles
Even though the vehicle (Toyota Camry le 2011 ) is less than 5 years old and has only about 19,000 miles, the front struts are leaking and need to be replaced as per my independent mechanic. The mechanic said that the struts usually last for 70,000 miles and they might be defective. I am the first owner of the car and bought it from a Toyota dealer.

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #15

Nov 232014

Camry

  • 3,477 miles
Alloy wheels are prematurely corroding.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #14

Jun 232014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 79,397 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving in the right lane in a school zone, on a straight stretch. No other cars were near me. The steering wheel suddenly pulled to the right, causing the car to hit the curb. My first thought was, I had a flat tire, but I did not. Since it was not far, I decided to take my car to pohanka Toyota where I purchased it and have it serviced. The dealer replaced the right rear wheel hub, bearing and shock absorber....updated 10/22/14

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #13

Jul 012014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Purchased brand new tires in July...cost of $700 dollars...one month later the steering wheel would vibrate when I was at 40 mph...and slowing...paid to get front end alignment..cost of $145 dollars...next day the steering wheel still vibrated....took it back and told them to fix or give me money back....was told that the new front tire had a wave in it from the shocks going bad in the front end of the car. Shock replacement now is going to be $500 dollars....will never buy another car made in the usa..this Toyota was made in tenn...thank you...for your time

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #12

Jul 202014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
Even though the vehicle (Toyota Camry le 2011 ) is less than 3 years old and has only about 32,000 miles, the front struts are leaking and need to be replaced as per my independent mechanic. They also told me that the front sway bar links also need replacing.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #11

Nov 132012

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that whenever he would depress the brakes while driving downhill, the vehicle would shake. The vehicle was taken to a certified Toyota mechanic for inspection where they stated that the struts needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 39,663. Updated 11-04-13 the consumer stated that one of the struts was found to be leaking. Updated 11/06/2013

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #10

May 282013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My complaint is towards the Toyota motor company for failing to identify a problem they have had with leaking struts. After speaking with Toyota, I learned that Toyota engineers have deemed a slight leak ok and they will not cover it under warranty. I have owned several cars and had to replace leaking shocks and struts because it just gets worse and causes tire wear which in my opinion would lead to a safety issue. It is not my intent to bad mouth Toyota, however they have taken a carefree approach to this problem which concerns me. Thank you

- Dickinson, TX, USA

problem #9

Feb 132013

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while having routine service performed on the vehicle, he was informed by an independent mechanic that the front struts were leaking. The dealer was notified and advised that they could possibly assist with the repair costs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 56,000. Updated 04/30/13

- Waretown, NJ, USA

problem #8

Jun 072012

Camry

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while replacing the tires, the mechanic advised that the struts were leaking oil. The vehicle was not taken to dealer or a repair shop for inspection of the struts or any repairs. The dealer was made aware of the failure and stated that the struts were supposed to leak. The manufacturer provided the same information as well. The current mileage was 44,800. The failure mileage was 41,000.

- Palos Hills , IL, USA

problem #7

Oct 072010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 13 miles
Vibration @ various speeds: 10/7/10 (mge 16): Purchased (misconstrued vibration for road conditions). 10/8/10 (mge 49) all speeds, brought to dealer. Per dealer: Flat spots on tires due to car sitting to long. Solution: Over-inflate & instructed to drive. Also, disc were out of round. 10/11 (mge 89) discs serviced, vibration still present. Dealer denies presence. 11/15 (mge 975) dealer acknowledges vibration, tires replaced, vibration still present @ highway speeds. 2/19/11 (mge 5160) 5K maint., vibration still present, car pulling left when braking/accelerating. Service rep claims to have driven the car in addition to mechanic. Denied presence of vibration, exact quote "it drives like a Camry". 2/21/11: Car hit in rear driver tire, wheel assembly replaced, new rim, new bumper needed. No change in vibration, still present at highway speeds. 7/12 (mge 10127) 10K maint., vibration still present. Again dealer denies presence of vibration. 11/4 (mge 15355) 15K maint. Advised vibration still present. Again dealer denies presence of vibration. 3/22/12 (mge 19973) 20K maint., vibration still present, now severe pulse when braking. Pulse acknowledged, rotors resurfaced. Again dealer denies presence of initial vibration. 06/8 (mge 24949) vibration now felt at lower speeds ds 50+ w/ increases intensity with speeds & @ 19-25 mph. Per dealer unable to validate low speed, but noted slight pulse at highway speeds. Dealer called factory rep. 6/10: Dealer advised they went over car's hx with rep, no further action, tires too warn to evaluate. (lf uneven wear; other 3 ok). Instructed to buy tires for eval. 6/12 (mge 25087): Called Toyota; case # 1206120145. 6/13/12 Toyota rep advised do not warranty tires, factory rep can't assess w/defective equipment. But, call dealer to see if temp tires could be used for eval since complaint was noted upon taking ownership. Immediate options: Wait for dealer response, buy tires to see if the vibration is present or contact Bridgestone.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #6

May 042012

Camry

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Camry. While traveling 60 mph, the contact noticed that the ride comfort had began to decline, especially when driving over any type of road bump. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where all four struts were replaced due to a leakage. The current and failure mileages were 56,000.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 182010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 1,324 miles
1. defective car was delivered by Toyota & its dealer to me (customer). ----------- 2. car was not tested by Toyota/dealer on tires & vibration/shaking before delivery to customer. ----------- 3. when I complained to Toyota, then Toyota found the evidence that tires were defective. ----------- 4. because of defective tires fitted by Toyota & not tested properly by Toyota, damages happened on the overall life span of car - suspension & steering systems. ----------- 5. customer - driving safety was also put on huge risk, as untested car was delivered by Toyota. ----------- 6. when I complained to Toyota, then Toyota found the evidence that tires were defective. ----------- 7. by having that defect in tires, it is obvious that overall life span of car's suspension, struts & steering system has been reduced, because of running with this vibration & shaking. ----------- 8. with this existing defect in car (it was present before delivery & couldn't be fixed by Toyota service dealer for 6-months), customer's comfort & driving experience is totally ruined. Toyota is responsible for this damage to the customer's driving discomfort & the safety risk of customer's life (while driving the shaking & vibrating car). ----------- 9. now, as your supervisor offered "one year" of extended warranty on this car. It shows that Toyota know it very well that car is so much impacted & now has shorten the life span of car (because of these damaged tires & impacted parts in the car) so Toyota is only offering "one year" of extended service to cover up their mistakes / defects in their quality. ============== - car's shaking (vibrations at both - slow and higher speed), - impacts/damages the life span of steering, suspension and struts, - tires not in balance (wheel balancing was not done by Toyota). ==============

- Farmington, MI, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?