Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,012 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Mar 132014


  • 14,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while accelerating from a complete stop, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle failed to respond deceleration attempts. The contact crashed into a nearby tree. Upon impact, the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the face and chest area. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #20

Mar 152014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 19,457 miles
I was at a stop light and as soon as the light turned green, I pressed on the accelerator but to no avail. The car did not move as usual, so I moved my foot off the accelerator. Once my foot was off the gas pedal, the car took a certain spring and unintended acceleration. I was taking by surprised and quickly acted to control the vehicle to safety. I will be reporting this incident to Toyota of North America and will wait for them to instruct me as to what to do. Safety is a great concern to me and my family and hope that Toyota does the right thing and makes sure to provide us an answer and repairs our vehicle.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 162012


  • miles
P/O response ltr to Toyota Corp. Re 2012 camrydate: December 26, 2013 -...furthermore, my brother and I have stressed to everyone we have spoken with since our first contact on dec16, 2013 with Toyota regarding these dangerous mechanical problems I.e., the unintended acceleration, steering pulling to the right as well as the offensive odor that occurs when the ac is turned one will assist us until January 6, 2014...we cannot imagine that CEO [xxx]... would find it acceptable to wait three (3) weeks - until January 6, 2014- to first begin an investigation while being left with a defective and damaged Toyota Camry. [xxx]. did not respond to our phone call either. We located Nov 16 2012 details and fwd to Toyota Corp: Nov 16, 2012- at approximately 11:15pm on the 405S, all traffic was stopped by the police North of the skirball. We were standing still for about 10 minutes. Suddenly, our car lunged forward due to unintended acceleration. As the car veered to the right, I managed, with great effort, to steer the car as we went into the lane to the right of us. After traveling more than 100 feet, I was finally able to get the car to come to a stop. Thankfully, we did not hit and were not hit by passing police and fire vehicles. We also smelled something burning in our car for a couple of minutes. On November 17, 2012, we went into Toyota service to report what had occurred the night before. We wanted Toyota to know what had happened because it was very frightening and we were concerned about our safety. We also wanted to know how many other people had experienced this problem and how Toyota had resolved this dangerous, safety problem. Toyota service checked and responded that there was no recall for this unintended acceleration in the 2012 Camry. Unfortunately, we accepted that this was an isolated incident experienced only by us. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 222013


  • 22,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph into a residential garage, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed through the garage door. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and sent an engineer to inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 22,000.

- Central Islip, NY, USA

problem #17

Mar 072012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 15 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while turning at approximately 10 mph, the vehicle decelerated before suddenly accelerating. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the defect could not be duplicated and no repairs were performed. The manufacturer was notified but no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 15.

- Georgtown, TX, USA

problem #16

Dec 052013


  • 8,532 miles
This complaint is similar to complaint #10545567. The Camry experiences spurious or intermittent acceleration hesitation and sometimes stalls when acceleration is needed. This is a potentially dangerous condition especially in when entering a highway or accelerating onto an interstate. Dealer has been notified several times about the situation, but because this is an intermittent condition, the dealer doesn't see it and claims cannot diagnose the condition.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #15

Sep 252013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles


I bought this vehicle on September 2012 just for my usual commute of 20 miles per day. The first few months just about 1000 miles on the odometer I started to experience stalling anytime I slow down on traffic or turning. I thought because it new vehicle but it keep on until my first oil change about 5000 miles when I complained to the dealership; there is no any code and I was referred back to the dealership that I bought; second oil change no problem found. Now it stalls almost any time that I am driving it, I did open a case (case #: 1309201533) with Toyota North America, and I got call from their regional representative today that because there is no code, Toyota cannot resolve the problem because there is no any code to diagnostic. I am afraid, this will cause an accident to me and my family because I have nine and seven years old who always sit at the back, and if the car was to stall us on highway, it will be a serious disaster for my family. Please, I will like Toyota to take the vehicle with a complete diagnostics or replace it completely as I am paying for it as at now. Thank you

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #14

May 012013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
I was pulling my car onto the carport from driveway, which is at same level, with foot on brake. The car accelerated independently with the car surging forward and the RPM increasing as I was crashing through the carport, fence, patio, two four-wheelers, the concrete patio stairs, propane bbq grill and a wheel barrel. I had my foot on the brake as hard as I could, and it did not stop and the motor continue to race; I thought the engine was going to explode. After all the debris which was in front of the car and under it, it couldn't go any further but the wheels where still spinning and the engine was still racing. If it had not been for my husband who seen it and heard it, he yelled at me " turn off the engine" I don" know what else the car would have destroyed. The car missed running over my husband and the house by a couple of feet.

- Alton, IL, USA

problem #13

Mar 252013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Yesterday I was pulling into my sisters driveway which is on a downslope incline and my car seemed to accelerate to the point that I has to stomp on the brakes very hard to stop the car. She has a carport in which her car was parked and I thought I was going to crash into the carport and her car. It was very frightening and it has never happened before. I have an appointment tomorrow to take the car to the Toyota dealership. It happened so fast and so unexpected I'm not sure what really happened, only what I felt like happened. I heard a scrubbing noise as I was pushing on the break pedal and I thought maybe pushing on the brake so hard had caused that. Thank-you for your attention on this matter.

- Church Hill, TN, USA

problem #12

Feb 092013


  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated independently. The vehicle came to a stop after the contact depressed the brake pedal. The failure recurred three different times. The second time the failure occurred, the driver crashed into a light post. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #11

Feb 122013

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds and attempting to accelerate, the vehicle would decelerate instead and without warning. The contact stated that he would have to pump the accelerator pedal a few times before the vehicle would respond. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the contact was advised that they were unable to replicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000. The current mileage was approximately 3,500. The VIN was unavailable....updated 04-03-13

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #10

Oct 282012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 5,700 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry SE. The contact stated that driving at various speeds and rapidly accelerating, the vehicle stalled. The contact also stated that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated the vehicle was down shifting and hesitating but there was no failure. The manufacturer was notified who informed the dealer that there was a problem with the vehicle. The failure mileage was 5,700. Mah the consumer found at low speed it became necessary to accelerate rapidly, due to the fact, when the accelerator pedal was depressed down rapidly there would be absolutely no response as if the engine cut off. If the consumer released the pedal and depressed it again at a progressively slower rate, the engine would respond accordingly. The dealer stated it was normal. The dealer explained the hesitation was due to the vehicle trying to down shift. The consumer believed the fuel injection sensor lacked the capacity to adequately receive or transmit a signal to the fuel injectors under rapid acceleration. There was no engine response, until the consumer literally released and depressed the gas pedal again. Updated 03/12/13 the consumer stated the traction control system was the cause of the problem. The traction system controlled braking force and engine output to the drive wheel when the sensor detected a wheel spin during acceleration or cornering. Updated 03/19/13 the consumer stated another dealer confirmed his problem and the cause. The dealer stated the traction control system was cutting power to the engine. Even with turning and acceleration, the traction system would cut power to the engine. The dealer informed the consumer there was nothing they could do to address the issue. Updated 04/03/13

- Sauquoit , NY, USA

problem #9

May 012012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 800 miles
On acceleration the gas cuts out, lasting around 3 to 10 seconds. I cannot duplicate this condition, it just happens sporadically. It is very dangerous because the car behind me has no indication that I am in limbo and could easily rear-end me. This usually occurs when I am turning at a low speed, but has happened when driving straight.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #8

Dec 192012

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,800 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while stopped with a foot on the brake pedal, the rpms increased and the vehicle independently accelerated. The contact continued to depress the brake pedal but the vehicle would not respond. The contact crashed into the rear of the vehicle in front of her. The failure occurred two different times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing and body repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated an engineer would come out and inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 7,800. Updated 02-13-13 updated 02/14/13

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #7

Dec 312012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
I have a Toyota Camry SE 2012 (4-cyl) which I bought on 08/29/2012. On 12/31/2012 (the road was clear and dry, it was a cloudy day, no rain, snow, ice on the road) while starting to accelerate from a stop light, turning into a lane, after I stopped pressing the gas pedal, the car kept getting faster and faster (the gas pedal didn't get stuck and my foot wasn't on it), when I started to turn into a lane, the driver's side wheel locked up and to avoid a crash I had to turn the wheel to the other side, I ended up doing a diagonal skid into the other lane, I was able to get the car to stop and straighten it out and keep going. Since the driver's side wheel locked up the car jerked me pretty hard and my neck and arm started to hurt since then and I am scheduled to take physical therapy. I took it to the dealer I bought it from for service (from 1/2/2013 - 1/10/2013) and after I picked it up I've been having the RPM sticking at 1.3 all the time so now it's worse than when I had it last. The car doesn't feel safe to drive and I don't want to put my life or other people's lives at risk. After calling Toyota and explaining all of this they told me to go to the dealer and the dealer says that Toyota is the one that can do whatever they want, the dealer's only resolution is to accept the car as a trade in and roll over the residual value into a loan for another car, but it isn't my fault so I shouldn't have to pay more in payments for a car and I shouldn't have to be paying for a car that's not safe for me or my family to drive. Before the incident on 12/31/2012 I had taken it in to the dealer for the same reason, but I thought it was that the tires weren't gripping on dry asphalt, the dealer topped off the air and said it was fine, but the car kept doing the same thing and I didn't realize it was accelerating on it's own until what happened on 12/31/2012.

- Monona, WI, USA

problem #6

Jan 082013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 12,391 miles
Driving daughters to school in 2012 Camry V6 stopped at a yield and the Camry accelerated beyond 1500 RPM and I had to press extremely hard on the brakes to keep the Camry stopped. Camry lunged forward at least two feet.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #5

Sep 012012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 800 miles
In September 2012 I experienced a flattening out of the acceleration. Turning at a very low speed the car did not accelerate (this still occurs off and on). It is quite dangerous because there is no warning to the car behind me that I am no longer moving forward. It is like a stalling out which last around 5 seconds or so. Very unnerving but only seems to happen when I am going slow and turning the wheel.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #4

Nov 242012


  • 1,354 miles
I was driving at 60 mph on highway but suddenly the engine revved all the way to 7000 RPM and the car jerked violently. I put my foot off the accelerator but the engine still stays at 5000 RPM and doesn't go back down to normal. Had to pull over to the shoulder with emergency light on. Tried to get back on the highway but at 35 to 40 mph, the engine made loud revving noise and the RPM jumped to 7000 again. Had to pull over again and call for a tow truck.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #3

Jul 252012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 6,100 miles
Entering a driveway at 2mph the car accelerated to approximately 30mph and struck a brick wall. The air bags deployed causing injury and the car was totaled.

- Englewood, NJ, USA

problem #2

Feb 022012


  • 1,300 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 50 mph when the vehicle increased rpms unexpectedly and the contact lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,300 and the current mileage was 1,306.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?