Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,504 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Toyota Camry seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #19

Sep 152016

Camry

  • 98,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car steering went out-started going to the left-I could not turn it back-car crossed the left lane-hit the ditch embankment-turned down the ditch-hit a culprit-car flew into the air-almost hit a tree trunk-flew through tree branches-came down and hit the next culprit, -this happened as I was driving down a county road about 2:00 in the afternoon.

- Cunningham, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 162016

Camry

  • 56,000 miles
Air bags did not deployed after accident

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 012016

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes in regards to airbag leaks water into engine. The consumer sent in the air bag notice recall.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #16

Dec 152015

Camry

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that after the driver came to a complete stop and made a left turn into the driveway, a passing vehicle crashed into the drivers side door at approximately 60 mph. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained unknown injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was pushed into the driveway and was not taken to the dealer. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Bowdoinham, ME, USA

problem #15

Oct 052015

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise progressing from the front area of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 04/07/16

- Garnerville, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Sep 252015

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,900 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while stopped at a traffic light, the vehicle was struck on the front driver side by another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact and the driver of the other vehicle sustained injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot and was not examined by a dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 24,500. Updated 11/20/15 updated 1/14/2016

- Springdale, OH, USA

problem #13

Feb 262015

Camry

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the after the vehicle was serviced under a voluntary recall for speed control, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into the shelves in his garage and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Monteue, MI, USA

problem #12

Oct 272014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 23,350 miles
My nephew was driving my car (2013 Camry) on I-85 northbound in auburn Alabama. He said he was going 60 or 65 mph. The air bags deployed without any type of impact. There was a recall on my air bags and it was repaired July 10, 2014 by Toyota. The air bags stilled deployed on Oct. 27, 2014, all air bags deployed except for the passage bag. My nephew was the only person in the car. My case number with Toyota is #[xxx]. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #11

Oct 192014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 10,288 miles
I was involved in a head on collision on 10/19/14. The adverse driver turned left in front of me and hit the front of my 2013 Toyota Camry, pushing the car up over the curb. The steering wheel airbag deployed as did the airbag from under the dash. The deployment of the lower airbag caused a large hematoma on my right shin, and an open laceration/burn and hematoma on my left shin which became infected. The wounds are documented in the ambulance report, hospital report and report from my treating physician who prescribed medications to reduce the infection. The car was subsequently assessed a total loss and sold to my insurance company. I retain photographs of the damaged vehicle.

- Rohnert Park, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 042013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 8,909 miles
, I have permanent ear damage as a result of the deployment of air bags in a 2012 Toyota Camry I was driving. I was in an accident and was the reason for the air bag deployment. I injured my ears on August 4, 2013 as the result of the deployment of the air bags in the 2013 Camry and my hearing has not improved. I will have to live with a 20% hearing loss for the rest of my life. I also understand the Camry was not the fault of my accident but I feel the air bags are a contributing factor for my hearing loss. On August 4, 2013 at 5:15 pm, I was one of three cars involved in a car accident on highway 10 and cr 663 in Oklahoma. I was visiting from Michigan with my widowed sister, she lives in wyandotte, Oklahoma and we were returning to her home after buying a dairy queen. A car traveling at 65 miles per hour in a white Kia came across the center line and slammed into me between the driver's side front wheel and door than she continued on to hit a pickup truck that was behind me head on. The pickup truck was hit with such a force that it over turned, pinning the driver inside.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #9

Mar 272014

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a safety recall notice and when I contacted the dealer to make an appointment, they told me that the best they could do is schedule it on May 24 (today is March 27). Two months seems like much too long a wait for something that could effect the airbag. The dealer was boch Toyota in norwood, MA.

- Westwood, MA, USA

problem #8

Dec 182013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the steering wheel became rough when driving or when attempting a turn in either direction. There was also an abnormal noise from the steering wheel with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the tires needed to be inflated to the correct pressure. The contact also stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The contact was at as top sign when another vehicle crashed into the front driver"S side of the contact"S vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained neck, back and head injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 13V44200 (air bags, electrical system, equipment) however, the vehicle was not included in the air bag recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 3000. Updated 05/12/14 MA the consumer stated another vehicle struck the driver side front left wheel and dragged his vehicle sideways toward a telephone pole. He applied the brake, but the vehicle did not stop. He hit the window during impact and was knocked unconscious. Updated 05/14/14

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #7

Jan 032014

Camry

  • 7,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Camry. The contact was sitting in his parked vehicle when a snow plow pushed another vehicle into the contact's. the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained bruising to the right side of his rib area, left knee, right elbow and shoulder. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for inspection but no diagnosis was determined for the air bag failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 7,500.

- Orrington, ME, USA

problem #6

Dec 232013

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Camry. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V442000 (air bags, electrical system, equipment) and the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer informed the contact that the remedy part will not be available until February 13, 2014. The manufacturer had not been made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Loyall, KY, USA

problem #5

Dec 182013

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V442000 (air bags, electrical system, equipment) but was informed that the parts were on a national backorder. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in October of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before December 2013. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 8,000.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #4

Sep 162013

Camry

  • 2,500 miles
On the way home from West Virginia university Sunday evening around 1:10 am driving near RT119 uniontown, pa we spun in rail while making a turn towards exit going 55 mph, we hit a guardrail spun and flipped over 4 times 75 feet over an embankment not one airbag deployed causing more injury to my daughter in the back seat, we all hit our heads and got contusions, concussions and abrasions while wearing our seat belts the back seat belt either burned or was cut I have 33 pics from insurance adjustor, with the extreme impact I cant believe no air bag opened, causing more injury to my daughter in the back seat. It was a miracle we survived.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 202013

Camry

  • 1,356 miles
I experienced an sudden unintended acceleration condition on my 2013 Camry SE on 08/20/2013. The car hit a big tree and was not repairable, total-ed. Thanks to the air-bags, I only had a couple of bruises here and there.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #2

Jul 262013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 3,750 miles
I T-boned a car at 50mph, got rear-ended and spun around 3 times and hit the guardrail and then preceded to bounce off that. No brakes applied, no time to apply. Not one, out of 10 airbags deployed. Not a one! the car is totaled, all sides have damage. Even the police thought there was something wrong with the airbags. This is not right. I bought it for safety and it failed me. Big time.

- Corbett, OR, USA

problem #1

May 112013

Camry

  • 220 miles
I was T-boned at an intersection where the other driver was at fault, he hit me on the drivers side clipping about 4-5 inched of the drivers door & caved in the rear quarter panel & rear tire. The driver side window curtain deployed but it hardly had any air in it, seems like it leaked out with some smoky substance & the drivers side seat seam opened up but the airbag did no deploy & the rear seat on the side of direct impact also opened up at the seam but the airbag didn't deploy either. Luckily no one was in the back seat & I was only bruised up on my neck, chest & shoulder by the seat belt which did work. I took pictures of the seats.

- Bonham, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?