Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Camry Hybrid's first year is a mixed bag of brake actuators failing and power issues. The hybrid version even shares the same excessive oil consumption as its non-hybrid counterpart. And it hardly gets enough fuel efficiency gains to warrant the extra costs up-front or during repairs.

Toyota seemed to get their act together with later model years, so if you're looking for a used Camry Hybrid I suggest looking there.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
109,729 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 5 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #225

Feb 272012

Camry Hybrid

  • 133,032 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticed strange sound coming from ABS actuator after vehicle shut down. Had it checked at Toyota dealer and it was determined that the actuator was not holding pressure. The actuator was replaced at a cost to me of $2147.96. Dealer contacted regional rep and subsequently determined that Toyota would not cover the out of warranty work. I have since learned that Toyota has issued an extended warranty on this item and will investigate getting a refund.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #224

Nov 212012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
The ABS brake accumulator was defective resulting in a warning light and loss of braking power. Brake pedal would slowly depress all the way to the floorboard with greatly reduced braking effort. It was intermittent at first then worsened. I came close to a rear end collision and had to go to the shoulder of the road to prevent striking another vehicle. Toyota would not assist in cost of repair. Prices for the accumulator part ranged from $1200 up to near $3000. This part has to be replaced by a Toyota shop due to computer programming requirements. I ended up shelling out about $1500 to have it replaced by a Toyota shop after I acquired an older version of the part from an online source. It is apparent they have reworked the part and superseded its original catalog number (part # 44050-30300 ABS actuator assy 2007 Camry hybrid) to evidently reflect a corrected part. I have heard of others having this problem also.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #223

Sep 282014

Camry Hybrid

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated while driving approximate 60 mph attempting to engage the brakes, the vehicle made a jerking motion as the brake light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the brake assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

problem #222

Sep 052013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 141,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake alert lights appeared on dash on night of 9/5/14 upon starting the vehicle. Read codes in owner's manual, and drove few blocks to home at slow speed (15 mph). On Saturday morning, 9/6/14, the incident occurred again when I was driving at about 25-30 miles per hour. Not only did the alert lights appear, but the brakes "bled" through to the floor, and it felt as if the car accelerated. Brakes worked only after pumping the brake pedal. I had the vehicle towed to service center. After diagnostics and driving for 90 miles over 4 days, the incident could not be replicated, nor did any codes appear on the computer. Vehicle was released after paying diagnostic fees. The incident occurred again on 10/2/14: Brake lights appeared on dash, the car felt it was accelerating, and the brakes failed temporarily. My foot bled through, I pumped the pedal before brakes began to work. The vehicle was towed to dealership. Again, diagnostics did not reveal codes nor was the incident able to be replicated. Dealership replaced the brake fluid reservoir according to Toyota corporate directions. Found info online that NHTSA cited 59 complaints of brake failure for 2007-08 Camry hybrids. Reported these incidents to Toyota corporate, who assigned a case no. Have not heard from corporate case mgr. Yet, but expect to by Monday, 10/06/14. Corporate said they do not offer a loaner vehicle while this is being addressed, but to ask dealership. Dealership said they could not provide a loaner vehicle.

- Manitou Springs, CO, USA

problem #221

May 212014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 80,982 miles
Vehicle serviced 3/10/10 under Toyota 90L recall campaign. Dealership stated all systems functional upon completion. On 5/21/14, in safe road conditions and parking lot speeds <10 mph, driver applied brakes to vehicle in order to pull into parking spot. During braking, vehicle did not slow or stop, but accelerated at a high rate of speed, striking a parking berm and three other vehicles. Police report made; driver not cited but was advised to contact Toyota re brake failure and acceleration. Toyota was contacted; inspection was made by Bosch engineering. Toyota contends the incident is not a result of any manufacturing defect. Toyota provided a technical report containing engineering data without layman's explanation or proof of its contention. Toyota was found by the doj to have misled consumers and the govt regarding severity and "resolution: Of this issue. On 8/21/14 and 8/22/14 driver was contacted by Toyota with a second and separate recall notice #E0U, affecting the vehicle's brake reservoirs, in which clogging and/or low fluid levels "could cause additional warning lamps[...]to illuminate and front brake assist could be temporarily lost." The warning lamp in question did illuminate during the 5/21 incident. Legal counsel for driver has advised an independent review of the Bosch report and inspection of the brake reservoir; however, the vehicle was totaled and sold at auction by the insurance company's salvage agent. I have initiated an independent review of the Bosch report at my own expense. In light of Toyota's misleading conduct regarding recall campaign 90L and the subsequent recall #E0U, driver contends that Toyota is at fault for the events of 5/21/14.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #220

Nov 042013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 105,496 miles
ABS light is on. So far the car stops fine but makes a strange sound when applying brakes and vehicle vibrates when coming to a stop. Antilock brakes do not seem to be working as the car does skid in wet conditions.

- Las Cruces , NM, USA

problem #219

Aug 272014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was very hot outside for 3 weeks straight. On the way to the grocery store check engine light came on with the following 2 readouts on speedometer display: "check vsc" and "check hybrid system". instantly the hybrid part of the vehicle stopped working. Brakes changed feel and throttle became very delayed. When I pulled into my driveway and put the transmission into park, the engine started to knock. When I put into drive or neutral the knocking stops. The engine knocked hard in park position as if there are loose pieces of metal crunching. Ever since then, the car's hybrid drive doesn't work and check engine light is on, ABS light, vsc light P/S light, a red triangle light, and an orange circle with an exclamation point in it. We parked the car and we are not driving it until its fixed. We have 2 toddlers and we aren't going to risk driving it.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #218

Aug 292014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
While driving, 4 light appeared: The master warning light, the brake light, the ABS light, and the yellow warning light, along with the message "check vsc system". after this happened, I pulled over and turned off the car. Now when pressing the brake pedal to start the car, I hear loud irregular clunking sounds, and the green light on the power button doesn't light up for 2 seconds, indicating the car cannot be immediately started. Car drives fine, but I'm afraid the brakes will become faulty at any time.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #217

Aug 082014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Car was making barking noise when stepping on the brake. Dealer replaced master cylinder, actuator, and brake fluid reservoir. Drove the vehicle for two weeks without problem or recurrence. 8/25/14 all the brake warning lights and the vsc system warning came on. No problems with brakes when driving to the dealer. Dealer said ABS computer needed to be replaced for $1500. My first repair was $780. I wanted to add my complaint about the braking system to those already submitted.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #216

Mar 012013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 96,671 miles
Started the vehicle, put it into reverse to back out of the driveway as I brake at the end of the driveway the dashboard lit up with warning lights- first just the brake warning light in orange but then the master warning light, electronically controlled brake system, ABS and slip indicator all illuminated and the check vsc system message appears. This problem has occurred multiple times - especially prevalent during cold weather. In my driveway the problem is frustrating but on the road it is downright dangerous. The brakes become very difficult to use. I've driven it to the mechanic multiple times but the warning lights disappear and the brakes start functioning properly. Luckily one time I arrived with all the warning lights still illuminated. According to the mechanic there are no problem codes recorded making it challenging to determine the source of the problem. He suspects it is the ABS brake actuator but cannot guarantee replacing it will solve the problem and the repair is almost $3,000.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #215

Aug 122014

Camry Hybrid

  • 151,220 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my car to the Toyota for the campaign they have or recall for the brake problem that these Camry hybrid have because mine says check vsc, and a lot of light are on but its actually the actuator but they only changed the brake reservoir everything was fine until I made it to the house all the lights came back on the guys from the dealer informed me the reservoir ain't going to fix the problem I bought the car used with 149600 miles only 3 months ago thinking that kind of miles ain't much when it comes to Toyota just got the vehicle and can't use it thanks

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #214

Aug 152014

Camry Hybrid

  • 64,725 miles
Upon starting the automobile, the vsc, ABS, brake and other warning lights came on. The break catches and/or must be pumped to come to a complete stop. In addition, the vehicle seems to hyper-accelerate when in idle, especially in reverse. A local dealer/service center says a computerized part must be replaced for $2100.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #213

Mar 122014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 160,001 miles
Master, brake, electronically controlled brake, anti-lock brake, and slip indicator warning lights came on as well as 'check vsc system light.

- Round Hill, VA, USA

problem #212

Aug 032014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 107,707 miles
Going down a long hill, started to brake at about 70mph and the front of the car started to shake. As I continued to brake the shaking got worse. Very frightening; thought the car was going to shake apart.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #211

Dec 052012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • miles
Regularly when I drive this car I press the brakes and they do not engage or they engage on a delay. I have mentioned it to the Toyota service center several times. I first noticed the issues immediately after I purchased the car. I reported my concerns to Toyota who dismissed my complaint. Toyota always tells me nothing is wrong with the brakes. They also told me that it would cost my $140 to look into the problem.

- Fountain, CO, USA

problem #210

Feb 142014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 145,400 miles
While driving I attempted brake to slow entry into uphill driveway. All lights on driver panel lit up. Brakes did not respond to slow down or stop. With full force I depressed brake pedal. Since drive way was uphill, I coasted to stop just short of garage door before crashing. This was not the first time the brakes totally failed during last couple of months. I drove to dealership for second time to have beaks inspected. The car was also making loud noise whenever brakes applied. The service manager said the brake system was examined by several technicians. Again, they found nothing wrong with brakes and told me the car was safe to drive! despite several recent brake failures, two visits to Toyota dealership, the service manager said the loud noise when braking came from the "brake actuator, " which could be replaced for $2,900! quote from service invoice of March 18, 2014, follows: "tech 165630 performed diagnosis on brake noise from inside cab of vehicle. Test drove with customer to verify noise. Found that brake actuator is the cause of internal noise when at a stop while brake is applied. Suggest new brake actuator and brake flush and re-test for noise again." Service manager and technicians said, "it' safe to drive." I do not believe it is safe to drive. Since I am a visiting hospice nurse, that car is my office. I wonder when the brakes will fail again, and when the incessant loud noise will stop. I took the car to an independent foreign car repair shop. They said, "the actuator is the source of the noise and your braking problem. However, we can't get an actuator to replace Toyota's part because it is a "locked part" in the engine. Only Toyota dealers can obtain the part, and only a Toyota dealer can install the part." Will you help?

- Woodbridge, CA, USA

problem #209

Aug 012014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 72,454 miles
While driving, a notification was given "check vsc system". the ABS light as well as the red brake system are on as well. Brakes are not as responsive and it is difficult to stop. We will not be able to have the system checked till next week. A search on the internet says this is bad.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #208

Jun 202014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 144,560 miles
Brakes shuddered and seats vibrated strongly while driving on a highway known as the grapevine in California. Many cars around as speeds varied between 45 - 70 mph depending on congestion points. Applying brakes to slow down would feel as if they were shuddering and not stop. After finally finishing grapevine portion and driving back to lower flatter elevation, the brakes acted normally. No dash lights indicating any problem. Took car to Toyota dealership the morning after trip and describe scary ride. Diagnostics did not find problems. Road tests were normal. Since then, no further instance of brakes shuddering.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #207

Jul 202014

Camry Hybrid

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the brake pedal was applied and the brake system failed to engage. The stability control and the ABS warning lights illuminated while the failure occurred and remained illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart and function as normal. The vehicle was taken to a dealer which diagnosed a failure code on the brake actuator. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The current and failure mileage was 140,000.

- Garden Grove , CA, USA

problem #206

Jun 102014

Camry Hybrid

  • 38,000 miles
I have a problem with the ABS unit pulsing on my 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. The ABS unit makes a clunking noise while coming to a stop and will continue clunking as if it is engaging and disengaging while the brakes are depressed. This does not happen if I roll very slowly into the stop with light brake pressure. The ABS unit also cycles every few seconds before driving and after the car is powered off. Took the car to the dealer and they said it would be a $3,000 repair of an internal leak in the ABS unit. The technician said it would be safe to drive as is, without repair, and that he knew of no issues with the ABS unit on the 2007 Camry hybrid. But Toyota seems to know of an issue. Here is the address of Toyota's "warranty enhancement" program: www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/acms/cs/jaxrs/download/doc/ucm458140/inot-PE14001-59692.pdf.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?