Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The Camry Hybrid's first year is a mixed bag of brake actuators failing and power issues. The hybrid version even shares the same excessive oil consumption as its non-hybrid counterpart. And it hardly gets enough fuel efficiency gains to warrant the extra costs up-front or during repairs.

Toyota seemed to get their act together with later model years, so if you're looking for a used Camry Hybrid I suggest looking there.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
109,882 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 8 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #160

Apr 212014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


When I went to brake the car, the brakes would not stop and the car pushed forward without warning, and would not stop. I could not stop the car and I had to pump the brakes of the car in order to get the car to stop. When I drove it into the dealer, they quoted me $2500 to fix the problem, which I found ridiculous because I changed the car brakes at another Toyota dealership several months ago and this came without warning.

- Sunny Isles Beach, FL, USA

problem #159

Jan 242014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
While driving to a stop on a residential street, car was normal. As soon as the brake was applied, multiple warning lights on the dash lit up, including a message stating something about a vsc system problem. The brakes seemed to fail and the brake pedal required an extreme amount of pressure to bring the vehicle to a complete stop and narrowly avoid an accident with another vehicle which had right of way at the intersection. Had the brakes not been applied with sufficient force, I believe the car would have entered the intersection and caused an accident. This is unacceptable as my then 4 month old daughter was in the car with us. Please conduct a thorough and unbiased investigation into this matter. The dealership is asking $3300 to fix this issue, this totally negates any fuel savings the hybrid functionality has offered.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #158

Nov 082013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Please investigate the ABS system on the hybrid 2007 Camry. I almost killed myself about 2 months ago. I was going about 60mph when I hit on the brakes to slow down on a curve the brakes would not respond, it was like the brakes were really hard to step on, and to control the steering wheel. The lights to check the vsc system came on, check ABS, the emergency brake light. After a few seconds everything would go back to normal. I have done extensive research and there are so many complaints with the same problems on the 2007 Camry hybrid. Please do something about it so Toyota can recall and fix the problem before someone gets killed. After taking it to Toyota for the last 5 months without finding a problem, because the computer would not register anything and they couldn't duplicate the problem, now they are saying its the ABS system and it cost $4,000 to fix it. They are not doing anything to investigate the problem because they claim that not enough people have registered complaints. So I ask how many people have to die before we get any attention.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #157

Apr 182014

Camry Hybrid

  • miles


ABS actuators is failures on 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid 71K miles: ABS light is on, the E-brake light is on even when the E-brake is disengaged, and the car is saying to check the vsc system. The brakes are also noticeably weaker to the extent that I am afraid to drive my kids!!!!!

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #156

Jan 252014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 45,230 miles
I was driving on street that had several potholes in both lanes. Lanes were blocked by barrels because of the roadwork being done. There were too many potholes to Dodge and none seemed significantly bigger than the rest. Since I was unable to swerve, because of traffic going the other way in the lane beside me, I hit a series of potholes. After the last one, which seemed a little bigger than the others, I heard a beep and the display read, "check vsc, " which I know from the last time this happened means "vehicle stability control." The parking brake light seemed to come on at that time. I could not get the car to roll any but instead had to hit the accelerator to move at all. The brake was not as powerful, so I had to be sure to brake in plenty of time. The steering seemed more restricted also, and there was a high-pitched buzzing that continued all the time unless the car was off with all doors shut. I live close by, so I was able to get my car back home but did not think it was safe to drive it to the dealership. I had aaa tow it a few days later. They told me at the dealership that a part of the anti-lock brake system would have to be replaced. They later found that one of the lines involved in keeping the engine cool was leaking and the water pump had to be replaced.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #155

Apr 192014

Camry Hybrid

  • 103,000 miles
A week before the incident, heard a humming noise coming from the brake distributor area of the engine when the car was started. It continued at about 1-minute intervals while the car was in motion and also when parked and turned off. It would end within about 5 minutes of being turned off. It seemed as though the brakes were trying to engage or there was insufficient pressure to them. A day before the incident, when the brakes were engaged while driving, there would be a chirping noise as well. Then while driving on the highway, every brake-related warning light on the dashboard lit up and a message appeared saying, "maintenance required. Check vsc system." The brakes didn't fail, though, so I was able to make it home. This is not the first time I have had vsc system issues in this car. 3 years ago the very same thing happened, again on the highway, where the brake warning lights lit up on the dashboard and the vsc warning message came on as well. For about 3 weeks before that, the brakes were chirping when engaged and also when the car was shut off and parked, they would chirp for a long time as if they were trying to engage then too. It cost me $2100 to replace the module. Now it's happening again. I am not prepared to risk brake failure nor pay an exorbitant amount of money on the braking system for this car, again. Toyota needs to take responsibility for poor, shoddy design and fix this issue immediately!

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #154

Feb 052013

Camry Hybrid

  • 110,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to properly respond to deceleration attempts. The contact indicated that the vehicle stability control, brakes failed, and ABS failed lights illuminated during the incident. The vehicle was taken to the dealer multiple times but the defect could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the ABS actuator was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #153

Apr 132014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 105,348 miles
On April 12, 2014, as the car was being driven at around 30-35 miles per hour, I was approaching a stop sign and began pressing down on the brakes to come to a stop. As I pressed on the brakes, they seemed not to work. I had to keep pushing down on the brakes with force to finally get try to get the car to stop, at which point the brake lights sensor, the ABS sensor, and the vsc sensors all lit up on the dashboard. As I was trying to get the car to stop, the car began swerving and I couldn't get immediate control of the car. The car felt as though it was sliding, the stability of the car was compromised. I honestly thought I was going to crash. On April 17th, 2014, in a separate incident, as I was pulling into a parking lot, I began to slow down, only to apply my brakes and they appeared to not work. Once again I had to really push down on the brakes for them to finally work. Again, all of the lights lit up on the dashboard (brakes, ABS, vsc). It was also difficult to control the car and again, I felt as though I was going to crash.

- San Dimas, CA, USA

problem #152

Apr 172014

Camry Hybrid

  • 86,000 miles
Brakes started acting funny and making strange noises. I took it in to get it looked at and was informed that it would cost $3000 to replace the ABS actuator and that if I didn't, the brakes could fail at any time.

- Alexander, NC, USA

problem #151

Nov 252013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 95,927 miles
When I was driving at approx. 45 miles and tried to apply brakes to stop, I realized that the brake pedal responded very slowly and almost failed to stop properly on November 25, 2013. I managed to bring the car to Toyota dealer services on that day. They could not find anything wrong. They recorded that C1202 stored in ECU, low brake fluid warning, ABS pump motor operation suspe topped off brake fluid. I started hearing a creaking noise in March 2014 when I stepped on the brake. I brought the car to the Toyota dealer services on April 2, 2014. Initially they could not find anything wrong, however, I insisted on testing it further. Eventually, they found that there was a problem with an actuator in the braking system. I had to replace the actuator in the braking system and was not covered by a warranty. I had to pay over $3300 including tax. After understanding how an actuator works in braking system, I believe that the incident on November 25, 2013 must be caused by an actuator issue. I urge Toyota to recall the actuator in braking system for the following reasons. First, even trained technicians at Toyota dealer could not find an issue easily. They finally found it after they failed twice in our case (it took nearly two days). Those technicians should be informed, so they can deal with customers like us quickly and properly. Second, a sign of actuator problem can be easily neglected. A creaking noise, which caused us to bring a car to the dealer was pretty subtle. Third a brake failure may lead fatal car accidents. I was very scared when the brake almost failed to work. This may be a lucky case since I did not have a car accident.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #150

Apr 052014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 68,565 miles


April 5, 2014┐┐ brake actuator malfunction. The visual of this problem occurred on three separate occasions while driving at varying speeds. On each occasion the emergency brake light came on and within a few minutes many of the warning/emergency lights (engine check, ABS, vcs, brake, etc.) on the dashboard came on. The brakes then became very spongy to the point I had to press very hard to get the Camry to stop. It could have been disastrous if I had had to stop to avoid a crash. After the first occurrence, I took the Camry to tejas Toyota to have it checked. The diagnostic information from the computer indicated nothing was wrong. I was instructed by the Toyota service manager to bring it in while it was happening, if possible, so they could see what was going on. On April 5th, the problem occurred again and we drove it directly to tejas. The problem was still occurring when they connected their computer to check the vehicles onboard computer. Their computer diagnosed the brake actuator assembly was faulty and needed to be replaced, and due to the faulty actuator, the brake pads on the both front and rear had to be replaced and the braking system flushed. The cost of the actuator with labor to install was over $3,500, total bill almost $4,200. Tejas personnel did a great job repairing the problem and getting the vehicle back to me. I called the Toyota main customer service number and spoke with one of their representatives, [xxx]. he created case # 1404141818 and I was instructed to fax (not email but fax) a copy of the invoice I received from tejas to him. Which I did. He spoke to the higher ups in Toyota and called me back today (4/16). Toyota management denied it was their responsibility to pay the repair costs because the vehicle was past the initial warranty period. I believe Toyota is responsible due to faulty design of their actuator. ┐parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).┐

- Porter, TX, USA

problem #149

Apr 162014

Camry Hybrid

  • 102,000 miles
My wife experienced a failure of the assisted braking system on our 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. This occurred while she was dropping off our children at school but fortunately occurred at low speed. The failure occurred without warning. The failure became apparent when multiple dashboard warning lights lit up and when the brakes failed to stop the vehicle adequately. After the vehicle had been parked a re-started, the problem resolved. We understand from information available from other drivers of this vehicle that the failure is likely to recur and so remains a serious safety concern.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #148

Apr 142014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Warning brake light came on ( the emergency brake one) while I was out driving. The emergency brake was not engaged. Tried to get the car home and at a light when I went to take off, the car started to move then suddenly stopped in the intersection, but the car was still running. I turned on my flashers, and restarted the car. The "check vsc system" warning came on and I drove the car slowly home. The brakes were very spongy, like there was hardly any braking power.

- North Richland Hills, TX, USA

problem #147

Jan 182014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 224,000 miles
My wife was driving from work as she was approaching a stop light she hit the brakes to stop. To her surprise almost all the lights on the dashboard came on simultaneously. And there was no brakes so instead of hitting the car in front of her she went over the curve to avoid hitting the car. It cost us a rim and tire. I M just glad she or someone else wasn't injured. Since then my wife refuses to drive the car never again she told me and wished me good luck. I have drove the car myself and have experience the same issue where all the ABS and brake lights come on and there's total loss of brakes. I have taken the vehicle to the mechanic and told me is the ABS actuator pump that goes bad without notice. He told me its not the first time a customer has came in with this problem on the 2007 and 2008. I guess they change something on ABS pumps on the 2009 and newer vehicles that's why they don't have this problem. I just hope the NHTSA looks into this defect part before somebody gets hurt or kill. Its a serious problem especially when your dealing with vehicle brakes not functioning the way there suppose to that we all depend on. The reason why Toyota haven't done a voluntary recall is because of the cost of the ABS actuator it's expansive at around 2,500 to 3,000 they know they have a problem in there hands. But if they refuse to acknowledge this problem is going to cost them more if somebody gets seriously hurt or kill.

- East Chicago, IN, USA

problem #146

Apr 112014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 88,500 miles
Driving on the interstate at 65 miles per hour, I saw brake lights ahead, so I applied brakes. My vehicle failed to slow down at the normal rate and I noticed increased resistance on the brake pedal. I applied as much pressure as possible to the brake pedal and the vehicle eventually stopped to avoid a collision. I brought the car to Toyota and said problem is due to ABS accumulator. The vehicle never presented a computer code from problem. Problem was found by logging the ABS accumulator sensor and it was reporting consistently losing brake pressure. The price for the replacement part is $2626 for just the part. Two months prior to this incident, the dash lights came on with warning to "check vsc system". brought the car to the Toyota dealer and they said it was due to low rear brakes, replaced pads, rotors and reset the vsc system. The new part is also an updated version according to Toyota, which signifies that Toyota knows there is an issue with the original part.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #145

Apr 102013

Camry Hybrid

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hb. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle exhibited a sudden and intermittent loss in braking assist, delayed braking and an increase in brake pedal effort. All of the warning indicators on the instrument panel illuminated, including the check vsc warning light. On another occasion the contact was in traffic and when the brakes were applied, there was an abnormal increase in braking distance that caused the contact to crash into a preceding vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer multiples times but the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacture was made aware of the failure but declined to provide an alternative remedy. The contact was aware that the vehicle was under investigation for the same braking system type of failure (NHTSA action number: PE14001). The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Costa Mesa , CA, USA

problem #144

Apr 072014

Camry Hybrid

  • 148,000 miles
Driving on freeway at approximately 45 miles per hour during rush hour. Brake lights appeared ahead, so I applied brakes. My vehicle failed to stop or slow down and I noticed increased resistance on the brake pedal. I continued to apply pressure to the brake pedal and the vehicle eventually stopped. Luckily, there was a good distance between me and the car ahead of me, and I was eventually able to stop and avoid collision. I brought the car to the shop to be checked out. The shop called Toyota, and they knew right away exactly what part needed to be replaced. Price tag of $2600 for just the part. A week prior to this incident, dash lights came on with warning to "check vsc system". brought the car in for oil change and to check the warning light. No problem was detected, the warning light was reset. This light had come on again just prior to the brake failure.

- Wyoming, MN, USA

problem #143

Mar 052014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 97,256 miles
For the last couple of months have noticed the brake pedal "pulsing" on starting the car and sometimes on stopping at intersections. Then the brake warning light came on intermittently whilst driving but with no impact on the brakes and then whilst exiting the freeway all the brake warnings lights and check vsc system message was displayed with loss of assisted braking. Took it straight to the dealership but on braking to enter the inspection bay all warning lights went out. Toyota technician couldn't find an error code in the history and after driving 15 miles the warning lights didn't come back on. Technician did comment that they'd had other Camry hybrids with similar issues and said the ABS actuator needed replacing at a cost of $3,400! I was told that Toyota are using a different part on later model Camry hybrids which in itself seems an acknowledgement that the part is faulty.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #142

Apr 082014

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Upon starting the car, the check vsc alert appeared on the dash indicator screen. User manual instructed me to drive to nearest service center. This is not a safe procedure, as the braking system was near complete malfunction. Upon research online, it came to my attention that this is a common problem. The total cost of repair will near $2500. The service technician also informed me that there is a system update for this problem, indicating that Toyota is aware of the malfunction. Hopefully this complaint will assist in the issuing of a recall for the brake actuator or related vsc system that has been such a persistent issue. Thank you.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #141

Dec 242013

Camry Hybrid

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the brake was engaged and failed to respond. The contact mentioned that the brake warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be replicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 85,000.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?