Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
36 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
24 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,826 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Mar 032010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph into a parking space. When he took his foot off of the accelerator pedal and placed it on the brakes the vehicle accelerated. The contact shifted the vehicle into park and the vehicle stopped accelerating. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The dealer stated that the VIN was not a part of NHTSA recall #10V017000 vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000 and the approximate current mileage was 42,000. Updated 4/26/10 updated 05/06/10.

- Mount Ephraim, NJ, USA

problem #23

Feb 222010


  • 104 miles
I was driving from santa maria to my job in lompoc California when my accelerator jumped and speeded up to 85mph I applied my brakes but nothing seems to work I lost control of my vehicle and I started spinning and right before the car was about to go off the freeway I managed to get control of the car back and come to a stop, I was terrified I thought I was going to die. It was upsetting to see how my accelerator just was out of control. I was so afraid after the accident that I took my car to the Toyota dealership where they checked it and the mechanics couldn't find any problems. I don't trust my car's accelerator anymore after that horrifying incident I think Toyota should do something to solve this huge life threatening problem I could have lost my life.

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #22

May 092009


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving at speeds of 30 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The contact applied the brakes although the vehicle did not decrease in speed. After pressing the brakes repeatedly the vehicle finally came to a halt. The manufacturer was contacted regarding the abnormal sudden acceleration but the manufacturer did not attempt to remedy the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were under 40,000.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #21

Dec 252007


  • 37,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The driver stated that 2 years ago in December 2008 she was involved in a crash. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The dealer stated that there were no related recalls. The contact was driving 70 mph when a vehicle changed lanes in front of her which forced her to apply extreme pressure to the brakes and her accelerator pedal at the same time. The contact was on the left side of the road and crashed into a concrete wall when the vehicle spun out of control. The rpms have also increased rapidly while the contact was at a stop sign and when she engaged the accelerator pedal the vehicle accelerated. The failure mileage was 37,000. The current mileage was 90,000.

- Gulf Shores, AL, USA

problem #20

Apr 262009


  • 49,553 miles
On 4/27/09, my 2005 Corolla was towed to carson Toyota. Because while driving on the freeway at 70mph I was unable to accelerate, vehicle went into idle mode. The Toyota dealer said it was a defective 02 sensor. On 2/25/2010 my Corolla was returned to carson Toyota again for the same problem, this time my wife experienced the problem while driving on the city streets. Toyota said they could not find the problem.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #19

Sep 122009


  • 67,500 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) complaint about an accident on September 12, 2009 I was driving on old hwy 75 between salix and sloan in Iowa at about 6-7 pm on September 12, 2009. My car was a Corolla 2005 ce [xxx] which has 4-cylinder and about 67,000 miles on it. As I was driving on old hwy 75, I experienced a sudden acceleration, the car lurched and pulled me to the ditch on the right hand side. I immediately loosen the acceleration pad but it didn┐T slow down but accelerated towards the right hand side. Then I was scared that it will roll over in the ditch and so I pulled it back to the left, but there was a van coming in the opposite direction (next lane) and thus we had a head-on collision. The two old ladies incurred leg injuries and they couldn┐T come out of the van. The two boys (about 4 years old) seemed fine and came out of the van. Later on the two old ladies needed to have surgeries and they filed a lawsuit against me. At that time, I felt that something's wrong with my Corolla but I couldn┐T have a chance to find it out because I need the insurance company to get me another car for commuting purposes. However, I feel that this accident was due to the Corolla that I was driving at the moment and thus it was not completely my fault. Corolla 2005 is not in the recall list, but I still want to file this report and I will seek legal advice in terms of liability. Please consider my complaint carefully because I almost died in the accident and give me a reply as soon as possible.

- Orange City, IA, USA

problem #18

Jan 012008

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. While driving, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and if there was no traffic she allowed the vehicle to continue accelerating until she was able to gain control of it. She also experienced sudden acceleration while driving into a driveway, but when she applied the brakes the vehicle stopped. She did not take the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage is 40,000. Updated 04/16/10. The consumer stated the vehicle surged on two other occasions. Updated 07/13/10.

- Superior , WI, USA

problem #17

Jan 052009


  • 70,000 miles
I too had unexpected trouble in 2009 with my 2005 Toyota Corolla ce. I was wearing unusually wide work work boots, and when I put the car into gear, I somehow managed to push the brake and gas pedals together. The harder I pushed, the more the engine raced, but the brakes were stronger. I was lucky, with a vehicle right in front of me in a parking lot. In Canada, it is normal to wear even bigger, wider snow boots in the winter. Has anyone every considered the distance between the pedals as a root cause for unexpected acceleration? unexpected acceleration [incident: 100223-000473], February 23, 2010, from Toyota.

- North Richland Hills, TX, USA

problem #16

Jun 152007


  • 2,800 miles
Malfunction with the accelerator pedal. It was sticking as I was on a highway doing 50 miles and hour. It increased to 70 miles an hour, at which time I applied brakes and they did not work I had to pull over to shoulder and was driving down shoulder where I put car into neutral and applied the brakes put car into park then car finally stopped.

- Fridley, MN, USA

problem #15

Jun 302004

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact started the vehicle with the gear shift placed in the "drive" position and suddenly there was an aggressive acceleration. The driver applied excessive force to the brake pedal and the vehicle began to slow down. In addition, whenever in the "reverse" position the failure was more pronounced. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The contact experienced failure while in the reverse and rear ended a tree. There were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician was unable to repair the vehicle due to the manufacturers design. The failure mileage was 10. The consumer stated he placed the vehicle in drive and the vehicle suddenly lurched forward. The consumer stated when he started the vehicle and put it in reverse he backed into a tree shortly after he purchased. Updated 05/20/10.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #14

Mar 262009


  • miles


High acceleration of motor. Throttle is not running as it should. Continues to run between two to one & half rpms constantly. Took to dealer last year re problem was informed that it was because of carpet was under pedal. This was true as my carpet has fasteners which hold carpet in place. Having read and reviewed Toyota site, it confirmed that the problem is in the throttle. Dealer states not part of recall. Advise to contact Toyota. Unable to contact by phone. Am in process of writing to company.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #13

Apr 182008


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that her vehicle accelerated suddenly on an intermittent basis. The engine would rev up when the issue occurred. She stated that the issue seemed to surface when shifting (the vehicle has a manual transmission). She noted that the problem would occur and disappear on its own. She took the vehicle to the dealership and was told that they could find nothing wrong. She had not spoken with the manufacturer at the time of the complaint. The vehicle had not been repaired to-date. The current mileage was 85,894. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #12

Aug 012007


  • 25,000 miles
I have a 2005 Toyota Corolla. Sometime in mid-late 2007 I started the car up and after it started up the engine began racing while I was still in park. I hadn't depressed the gas pedal enough to warrant that level of engine racing. I shut the engine off and called up the Toyota dealer where I service the car to report it and ask what I should do. I was told that perhaps something was momentarily sticking in the throttle and to bring it in if it recurs. To my knowledge, the situation has not recurred, but I thought I should report it in light of the current sua problems with Toyota vehicles. The 2005 Corolla is not among the vehicles being recalled by Toyota. My vehicle had maybe 25,000 miles at the time of the incident.

- West Windsor, NJ, USA

problem #11

Sep 242008


  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,166 miles
I was parking my 05 Corolla in my private parking space, facing a sidewall of the apartment building in which I reside. The parking space also faces a narrow sidewalk and an equally narrow garden space alongside the building. I drove in slowly, when I was suddenly airborne and managed to turn the car to my right in order to avoid smashing into the building, the car moved along in the only space possible, leaving scrapes on the left side of the car and on the building, and on right, damaging the fronts of two parked cars. In order to avoid going into the public sidewalk or street, I managed to turn the car into a garden area to my right, doing some damage to plantings, and ending up back in the parking area, from which I was able to turn the car, this time safely, into the parking space. I note that Toyota does not list 05 Corollas as subject to their concern. I am offering witness to the dangerous dance my 05 performed. Updated 05/05/2010. Updated 05/06/10.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #10

Aug 202009


  • 9,525 miles
I hit brakes at a stop light & the car accelerated, hit the car in front me & pushed it through an intersection. The second time I didn't hit anything, but when I braked it again accelerated.

- Winchester, MA, USA

problem #9

Sep 152005


  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal would get stuck while driving 5 mph or greater; however, the pedal would release it self automatically. The contact stated that the failure has occurred since he purchased the vehicle. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer but they could not find any problems. The failure mileage was 39000.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #8

May 152009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,652 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Corolla. When the contact slightly depressed the accelerator pedal at 1 mph, the vehicle surged forward and crashed into another vehicle. There were no injuries. He is in the process of having the vehicle inspected to determine the cause of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 19,652. Updated 07/14/09 updated 07/15/09.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #7

Sep 032007

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,140 miles
I was exiting a restaurant waiting to turn right on a busy highway. While sitting there with the car in drive and my foot on the brake pedal, the engine suddenly started racing. The car sugred forward a couple of feet but I pressed harder on the brake pedal and stopped it again. I put the car in neutral and tapped the gas pedal a couple of times but the engine kept racing very fast. I finally put the car in park and turned the key off. After restarting the car, it seemed to be fine except the idle seemed to be a little bit faster than normal. I took the car to a Toyota dealer the next day but they were unable to duplicate the problem and said they could not find anything wrong. I was asked several times whether my foot could have been on the brake and gas pedals at the same time but I am absolutely sure this was not the case. Please reference ODI id numbers 10109072, 10173082, 10137143, 10125071, 10163070, 10200923, 10165337, 10166526 for similar complaints related to 2005 and 2006 Corollas. Updated 01-16-08.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #6

Jun 072005

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60 miles
: the contact stated while driving 25 mph on normal road conditions the vehicle maintained the same speed without depressing the accelerator pedal. The problem persisted at any speed there after. There were no warning lights illuminated prior the incident. The vehicle was taken to the dealership who observed no abnormalities after a diagnostic checkup and road test. The dealer also stated there was not a mechanism to slow downs the speed as there used to be in older models. The vehicle was taken to a different dealership for a second opinion who determined there was a valve stuck open in the fuel system and repair it. But the problem was persisted. The manufacturer was contacted who referred the contact to a dealership. The contact expressed concern because the only way to reduce the speed was by depressing hard on the brake pedal to prevent a collision. Updated 12/5/2006 -

- Laguna Hills, CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 192005

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,425 miles
This is an amendment to the complaint previously reported 10137143 - making a turn from a parking space, drove to opposite curb, foot on brake, shift to reverse, back up slowly to curb, with foot on brake, turned wheel slightly to left to go down street, shifted into drive, took foot off brake, car suddenly lurched forward toward curb at excessive speed in 3-4 seconds from a stopped position, front of car hit curb and cement bricks forming a square border around a tiny, thin tree, car stopped with foot on brake, front underside of car was damaged, bar bent, radiator dented, leaking, no A/C; previous week had noticed car was idling faster upon starting (like a winter idle, not a summer idle) but idle slowed by itself when driving; car was taken to collision repair, after insurance adjuster came, damaged parts replaced; extensive damage; one passenger in front seat, seat belt restraint caused chest soreness for a few hours.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?