Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2007 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2007 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2007 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,412 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Corolla electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Jan 292010

Corolla

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2007 Toyota Corolla about 3 years ago. I had a very bad experience on Jan. 29, 2010. (1) firstly, when I got off work, I could not start the engine. I tried 3 times, and engine was finally started and both the battery and engine check lights were on. I was very worried and decided to go to a dealership the next day. (2) the next morning, I drove to a Toyota dealership nearby. When I stopped at a red traffic light on my way to the dealership, my engine was shut off automatically!!! I was so nervous, quickly turned on my emergency light and tried to start the engine again. The engine was started and finally I arrived at Toyota dealership. The dealer checked my car and found the engine control module went bad. They replaced it with a new ECM. The problem went away for now. My car is only about 22,000 miles. I am very concerned about the quality of Toyota's electronics.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #12

Dec 172009

Corolla

  • 44,000 miles
December 17, 2009 the ECM unit failed in our 2007 Toyota Corolla. Engine cut off. This is a known problem. There was an angel on my daughter's shoulder as she was on a low traffic city street when this happened and she was able to pull over safely. If this had happened on the freeway it could've been deadly.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #11

Dec 082009

Corolla

  • 49,000 miles
Had been driving my car for 10 minutes when the lights started to flicker. I started to slow and then the car died. There wasn't any power and I was unable to steer the car. Fortunately, there was very light traffic at 0613 and no one hit my car. This has never happened before. My parents arrived within 15 minutes. My dad cleaned the battery terminals and the battery did spark. Car would not restart. A few people helped us push the car off the road. Towed to closest, reputable, mechanic. Main fusible link blown. Wiring w/O rating. Mechanic called Toyota and there wasn't any literature available to give mechanic the rating. Toyota refused to send wiring diagram. Mechanic found online and still no info on rating. Replaced with heaviest rating available. Problem fixed and unable to duplicate what caused problem. Most concerning is that mechanic cannot guarantee that this will not happen again. Car then to Toyota dealership. They were also unable to duplicate problem and cannot guarantee that it will not happen again. Toyota customer service was most unhelpful, implying that I had somehow caused the problem. Also, indicated that I should have gone to Toyota dealership first. Car no longer under warranty so I have no obligation to do go to them for service.

- Wellington, CO, USA

problem #10

Oct 112009

Corolla

  • 39,395 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Toyota Corolla totally died while I was driving in the middle of the street. I was told by the Toyota dealer the computer chip in the car was to be replaced. This is my new car and it is not supposed to do that. I am having ongoing problems with ever since I bought it.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 292009

Corolla

  • 15,000 miles
Re: 2007 Toyota Corolla ce, purchased in July 2007, approx. 15,000 miles. On 7/29/09, car stalled to a complete stop while driving. Luckily, I was not driving on the highway (I-95) as I normally do. Stalled on my block after I made turn into street. After a minute, was able to restart with minimal engine power to travel another 100 feet. Had to repeat this until I reached my driveway. Car was towed to dealership. They told me that this was a defect (wire for the computer dislodged or fell off and caused the problem). There was no indication that this was going to happen. No time to pull off to side of the road. Only "check engine" light appeared when trying to restart engine. This is a very dangerous situation and without some indication that this will happen, there could have been a serious accident resulting in injury or worse. Dealer replaced the part that day.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #8

Aug 262007

Corolla

  • miles
We purchased our 2007 Corolla le brand new. We realized that after parking and restarting the car and commencing to drive, a loud "click" was heard from the front of the car. We brought the car to the dealer and they said the clicking noise was normal and is mentioned in the manual. I informed them that our previous Corolla never had this problem and they said nothing needs to be done. If I wanted, a new computer would have to be installed but the waiting time was extensive. I refused this explanation and nothing was done. In addition, the car surges when the air con or defroster is on but again, the dealer "found nothing". recently, one of the belts was squeaking and had to be replaced. In addition, an oil change and build-up on the battery removed. The cost - over $320. I told the dealer of the extended warranty we purchased and they told me nothing was covered. We feel that the extended warranty was useless and the Corolla dealer just looking to make money. These incidents started in 2007 and continued to 2009.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #7

Sep 042009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 20 to 30 mph on normal road conditions, the vehicle stalled without warning. The driver was able to restart the vehicle; however, the gear shifted into "drive" and then it unexpectedly moved in reverse. The "engine" and "battery" warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The engine was turned off and after several attempts the vehicle failed to restart. The contact was able to coast the vehicle to a nearby parking lot. The following day, the battery was replaced. The vehicle was driven for one mile and the identical failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and the technician stated that the failure was contributed to the electrical computer system. The vehicle was repaired; although, the contact continued to have concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure and current mileages were 66,000. The consumer was informed he would receive documents in the mail regarding his complaint he filed in September 2009. Updated 03/22/10

- North Potomac, MD, USA

problem #6

Aug 182009

Corolla

  • 42,000 miles
Total engine failure while driving, all dash warning lights came on and then total failure of all power. Car towed to dunning Toyota, ann arbor mi. Dealer replaced electric engine control computer...covered under warranty.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #5

May 142007

Corolla

  • 30,000 miles
I would like to make a formal complaint about my 2007 Toyota Corolla. I purchased my car in January 2007. I'm having problems with my vehicle. The is a vibration I feel coming from the steering wheel. My car stopped on the li expressway due to 2 sensors that no longer worked. There is a shaking in my tires & every time I turn my car on there is a loud noise coming from the engine.

- Westbury, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 142007

Corolla

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the computer in the vehicle failed and had to be replaced. The computer is related to the gears and power windows. Whenever the gears are being shifted, the vehicle would shake severely. The contact had to get new brakes and rotors installed four times since the vehicle was purchased. In addition, the vehicle received numerous alignments because the steering wheel would shake when the brakes were applied. Two sensors also caused the engine to stop running. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer for repair numerous times, but the failures still persist. All of the failures began five months after the vehicle was purchased. The failure mileage was 4,000 and current mileage was 60,000.

- Manchester, CT, USA

problem #3

Jun 102009

Corolla

  • 28,358 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband's 2007 Toyota Corolla came to a complete and sudden stop while he was driving. Fortunately, he was able to get to the side of the road without an accident and aaa towed him to a Toyota dealer/service dept. The asst. Service manager had the main computer replaced at no charge on the warranty. He told us that they have seen the main computer suddenly fail only on Toyota Corolla's 2003 - 2007. This is serious and I am very shaken -- it could have happened in an intersection or on the freeway. His attitude implied that it was not uncommon.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #2

Jan 052009

Corolla

  • 30,447 miles
While operating this vehicle at approx 35mph, there was a sudden and complete loss of power. Engine continued to run smoothly but absolutely no acceleration or power. This caused the vehicle to slow to a stop at a very dangerous and busy intersection. I returned home at idle speed and placed the car in the garage. Check engine light was on. Days later I restarted the car and everything appeared ok and recovered. Check engine light eventually went out. Then it occurred again while making a right hand turn at another intersection. Very dangerous, very scary. The car was garaged and later towed to the dealership. The dealership conceded that the problem was the computer or ECM. There is a tsb concerning this and they are aware of this problem with Toyota Corollas. Fortunately, I still had 6K miles left on my warranty so this repair and the tow was covered by Toyota. I was told that had this been an out of warranty the repair would have been $1300 for an 18month old car! I believe this is a safety issue and Toyota should notify every owner of this vehicle for this possible problem. I also believe this defect should be repaired regardless of warranty limitations.

- Willow Spring, NC, USA

problem #1

Jun 132008

Corolla

  • 19,500 miles
While driving on the highway, the rpms dropped and there was a total loss of power. I had to coast to the side of the highway, the engine light came on. The car had approx. 19,500 miles on it. I had the car towed to the dealer and they replaced the computer module and the fuel pump. Four days later the car died again while driving and I had to have it towed a second time and the dealer replaced the fuel pump and gasket. The car has 26,000 miles on it now and has not repeated this incident. Needless to say, my perception of quality is negative.

- Mentor, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?