Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2007 Corolla. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2007 Corolla is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models have an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where now the NHTSA data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Toyota acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2007 Corolla, our data for the Corolla is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Corolla's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,412 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Corolla electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #73

Sep 102015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle randomly stalled without warning more than once and the service engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the remote starter installed by another dealer was repaired incorrectly. The dealer that installed the remote starter stated that they completed the repair correctly. The service engine light continued to randomly illuminate. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V384000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no repair solution. The contact was advised to take the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The VIN and failure mileage was not available.

- Quincy, MA, USA

problem #72

Apr 152016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Gentle persons: I would like to draw your attention to a safety issue associated with my vehicle (Toyota Corolla 2007, VIN: [xxx]) listed on NHTSA web site. NHTSA campaign id number: 10V384000 www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/recalls/recallresults.cfm?start=1&searchtype=drilldown&type=vehicle&year=2006&make=Toyota&model=Corolla&component_id=0&typenum=1&submit=retrieve+recalls&printversion=yes I have been experiencing similar sudden stop problem while driving, and would therefore, appreciate if you could take necessary anticipated measures to ensure the safety of this vehicle. I have to resubmit this complaint as I could not open your E-mail. Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #71

Apr 152016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Gentle persons I would like draw your attention to a safety issue associated with my vehicle (Toyota Corolla 2007, VIN: [xxx]) listed on NHTSA web site. www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/recalls/recallresults.cfm?start=1&searchtype=drilldown&type=vehicle&year=2006&make=Toyota&model=Corolla&component_id=0&typenum=1&submit=retrieve+recalls&printversion=yes I have been experiencing similar sudden stop problem while driving. NHTSA campaign id number: 10V384000 NHTSA action number: 2 investigations found component: Engine and engine cooling summary: Toyota is recalling certain model year 2005-2008 Corolla and Corolla matrix vehicles. The engine control module (ECM) for the subject models equipped with the 1zz-fe engine and two-wheel drive may have been improperly manufactured. There is a possibility that a crack may develop at certain solder points or on varistors on the circuit board. Consequence: There are a variety of warnings and consequences associated with the defect. The engine warning lamp could be illuminated, harsh shifting could result, the engine may not start, or the engine could shut off while the vehicle is being driven. An engine shutoff while the vehicle is being driven increases the risk of a crash. I have been experiencing sudden stops of my vehicle while driving that is likely related to the ECM. A case has been registered with Toyota national head quarter suggesting to call Toyota at 800-331-4331. I called and spoke with [xxx] (April 15, 2016 at 11:05 cst). She refused to provide any help although I provided her the case number. She handled the case very rudely and unprofessional, kept me on hold for several minutes and then gave me the same case number with no further action and ended the call. I am also notifying NHTSA about the this problem. Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #70

Apr 152016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been experiencing sudden stops of the vehicle while driving that is likely related to the ECM. A case has been registered with Toyota national head quarter suggesting to call Toyota at 800-331-4331. I called and spoke with [xxx]. she refused to provide any help although I provided her the case number R. she handled the case very rudely and unprofessional, kept me on hold for several minutes and then gave me the same case number with no further action and ended the call. Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #69

Dec 112015

Corolla

  • 78,000 miles
Started car in December 2015, two weeks before christmas. Dash lights did not come on automatically as they always did at night, nor did they come on after manually turning them on, but after 10 minutes of driving they came on. Next night again no lights, this time I hit a bump, dash lights flashed on then off again until next bump in road and came on and stayed on. Next night, no lights. Hit bumps in road but still no lights. My dash lights never came on again. I looked online and found that post after post after post of 2007 Toyota Corolla owners are experiencing same problem. That's when I found out I also had no tail lights! mechanic checked fuses and tail light relay, all fine. Checked for loose wires, no loose wires. Mechanic puzzled. Walnut creek Toyota dealer wants $350 just to look at it. After seeing all these posts with same problem, Toyota dealer should know what it is! I hope this will become a recall.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #68

Nov 242015

Corolla

  • 153,800 miles
I had my vehicle in idle and retracted my drivers side power windows down to pull my nephew into my lap to say goodbye to him. At this time about 5 minutes after starting my car the window panel, as well as below the door panel towards the speaker a heavy smell of burning plastic spread around the car and white smoke started billowing out through the slit the window glass retracts back into. At this time I shut the car off and waited until the toxic smoke had escaped. This issue with the master switch has been reported by Toyota for 2009 Corollas only. This could have posed a serious health risk had it gone unnoticed. After doing the diagnostic, it was found that it was in fact a faulty switch that probably "got wet". if a car is catching on fire after a simple Florida rain shower, that is not the consumer's fault. Faulty manufacturing is the case here. Waiting on Toyota corporate response or will seek prompt legal action.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #67

Oct 092015

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalled and does not start!

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #66

Aug 052015

Corolla

  • 82,900 miles
The ac is not working properly, maybe the condenser or fan or both

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #65

Feb 092015

Corolla

  • 100,000 miles
Looked up a recall on the emc of 2007 Toyota Corollas. My car was rear ended on 12/31/2014. Ever since, my car has been having electrical problems. My radiator fan is not working and had to be hot wired by a mechanic for it to stay on while running. My ac is not working, my shifter is stuck in park which is caused by a bad solenoid. I have had it inspected for over 8 hours by certified mechanics at midas, and they couldn't fix it. They said that every test they did was reading that nothing was wrong but my ac and radiator fan and solenoid are not working. My car stalls out occasionally, it wont start sometimes, and it is idling louder than before.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #64

Mar 102011

Corolla

  • 11,128 miles
Shortly after having the ssp, computer replaced under recall, the check engine light started to come on and go off intermittently. I brought it to the dealership to have it checked out and was told that the fault code #741 was a transmission code and they had top remove the pan to check it out for a cost of $350. We are the first owners of this car and being in the auto field for over 30 years I told them that the transmission felt no different than the day we got the car and suggested that the problem might be in the computer that was replaced but they insisted that they would have to remove the pan to investigate and wouldn't even consider the possibility that the computer might be the problem. I refused to be charged $350 to have them find what I already knew and then incur other charges for them to troubleshoot to find the true cause of the light. I have been having this problem ever since the computer was changed on 3/10/11 until now 5/13/15. The light will come on and stay for 2 or 3 days and then go off for about the same time. Has anyone else complained about check engine light problems after having the computer replaced under the recall ? there was never a check engine light until the computer was replaced and I have been ignoring the light now. If something shows up that is valid I won't pay attention because of this and possibly cause some damage to the vehicle.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #63

Jul 082014

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Experiencing air bag light on. Was told at dealer I needed the air bag spiral cable replaced inside steering column. There is currently a recall the the spiral cable on certain Toyota models. I question if the 2007 Toyota Corolla should be included in the recall as well.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #62

Oct 032013

Corolla

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted within a minute but the failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the (ECM) electronic control module but to no avail. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 110,000.

- St Paul, MN, USA

problem #61

Sep 042013

Corolla

  • 107,000 miles
Car was running then died in the middle of the street in traffic and would not start again. I was told that the throttle body fuse was blown and this caused the throttle body unit and the emc to overheat and burn out requiring replacement at a cost of over $2,000.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #60

Jun 192012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I was driving uphill on a one-way street in downtown when I saw and heard the sparks about 1 minute apart from each other on the front left side between the crack of the hood, the car lost power and turned off. I started it again, and it only moved about two feet and turned off. The car started to roll back, and the steering wheel locked making it impossible to steer. An unknown driver who was in front of us was merging to park to the right told us to get off because the car was on fire, next the smoke was visible. It began to smell like burned plastic, and then we saw the thick grey smoke coming through the crack of the hood. I pulled the hand emergency brake to stop the car from rolling back down any further. I opened the hood we all got out of the car. I went back inside the car to unhooked the harness off my dog. I was so scared that I couldn't release my dog, and my son's girlfriend helped me, and we got my dog out. My son, his girlfriend and I got the super-size large drink we just bought at mcdonald's and dumped on the fire with the help of the unknown man who got a bucket of some liquid possibly water from the hotel next to us, and the fire was out. I was so terrifying of how rapid my car caught on fire and how fast everything happening. My car was well maintained by Toyota regularly, and the mechanic told us that there is no known reason why the fire started. Toyota has replaced the defected computer twice, the transmission once, I had two electrical problems in the past, and I do not feel safe in a car with so many manufacturers defective parts. Unexplainable fire, is the response I got from the insurance and repair shop which does not make me feel safe to drive a car that could caught fire at any time.

- Imperial Beach, CA, USA

problem #59

Jul 012008

Corolla

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the power outlet was defective. When the power outlet was used, a burning odor would penetrate through the vents. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer replaced the power outlet fuse several times, but the failure was not corrected and the power outlet fuse continued to fail. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Plantesville , CT, USA

problem #58

Oct 092011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 39,671 miles
While exiting a parking lot onto a main road, the car stalled during acceleration. The driver attempted to restart the car, however, the car would not start. The starter continued to turn, but the engine would not turnover. After waiting approximately 10 minutes the car restarted, but then stalled again after approximately 30 seconds of running. The driver noticed the check engine light on the instrument panel was illuminated. Thinking it may be a fuel level problem, the driver went to the gas station and bought three gallons of gas and put it in the car. But the engine stalled again after running for a few seconds. The driver let the car sit in the parking lot over night and attempted to restart it in the morning, again, the car stalled after approximately one minute. After reading numerous entries pertaining to the Corolla's ECM, the driver had to get the car towed to the nearest dealership.

- Bossier City, LA, USA

problem #57

Jun 132011

Corolla

  • miles
On June 13th 2011 my wife was on a NY state highway driving home from work traveling at 65mph and the car engine shut off. My wife was very lucky as she rolled to the side of highway that she was not rear ended.my wife restarted car after 15 minutes, but car shut off 2 more times. My wife was able to pull into a car repair shop because the car would not restart. The next day repair shop said you need to get Toyota to a dealership. The repair shop said the main computer failed.the ECM, electronic control module. I had a diagnostic fee $40.50 from repair shop that Toyota refused to reimburse me. I had car towed and Toyota fixed the problem they said it was a recalled. However I did not receive a recall notice until after my Toyota was repaired.I wrote two letters asking for the $40.50 that I had to pay for something they caused. I did not request towing fees because I have aarp coverage. I explained in my letter to Toyota Corp. That a $40.50 charge is a small price to pay for my wife who could have been killed on the highway. You would think a company of this size would bend over backwards to make everything right in order 2 maintain customer loyalty.

- New Paltz, NY, USA

problem #56

Aug 092011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 19,800 miles
On August 7, 2011 when I got off of work I started my 2007 Toyota Corolla and I noticed that the engine light was on and it wasn't on when I drove to work earlier. On the way home I noticed the car started to sound funny then the battery light and oil light came on and suddenly the car started to loose power. I suddenly try to speed up to get into a parking light before the car shut off but it wont accelerate, I made it into the parking light and the car jus shut off while in drive. So I turn off the car and try to restart it but it wont start. So I had to leave the car in the parking light and catch a ride home. The next morning I went back to get the car it started but then it shut off, I got the battery checked and it was good. I got the car towed to the Toyota dealership and they told me that they have to replace the computer. I'm very upset because now I don't have no transportation and I have to work also I'm scared I fixed it and it go bad again and my car only have 19,800 miles on it.

- Virgin Islands, VI, USA

problem #55

May 142011

Corolla

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the check engine warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that an oxygen sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The remedy failed to repair the problem and the warning lamp illuminated again. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that there was an electrical problem in the wiring harness which would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 64,000.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #54

Dec 292010

Corolla

  • 130,000 miles
2007 Toyota Corolla suddenly stalled. After researching the problem it appears to be a bad ECM which appears to be a common problem for Toyota Corollas between the years 05 2005-2007. This is potentially a dangerous situation since the car just dies. Many forums have stated that they were fortunate that they were not rear ended. Since this is a known problem, Toyota should recall this item and avoid potential harm to the consumer.

- Glenville, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?