Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,570 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Feb 152010


  • 34,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph slight pressure was applied to the accelerator pedal which caused the speed rate to increase rapidly; and upon release of the accelerator pedal a rapid decrease occurred. There was prior recall repair performed on the vehicle before the failure. The NHTSA campaign id number was unknown. Additionally, a loud grinding noise came from the front end of the vehicle when the brake pedal was engaged. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and informed that there was no problem with the vehicle and to increase the sound of the radio louder while driving to avoid the grinding noise. The failure mileage was 34,000. The current mileage was 35,800.

- Bayshore, NY, USA

problem #39

Nov 272009


  • 36,388 miles
Driving North bound on I-90 in lane 2 from the right side, approaching near the North cumberland ave over pass at approximately 50 mph, when it appeared the auto in front was slowing down I applied the brakes and they did not engage or slow the vehicle down. With vehicle 1 rapidly gaining on the auto in front of it, I switched over to lane 1 quickly to avoid striking the vehicle from behind, when the brakes did not stop the vehicle, the speed continued to increase, when it appeared I was going to hit the wall to the right of the safety lane, I cut back into lane 1 and the car, now going at an uncontrollable higher rate of speed, made almost a complete left across all 3 lanes striking vehicle 2 in the 3rd lane on the right rear door, when spinning off of vehicle 2 the left rear of vehicle 1 struck the wall making the vehicle come to a complete stop.

- Harwood Heights, IL, USA

problem #38

Mar 042010


  • 26,600 miles
I have noticed that my brakes on my 2009 Toyota Corolla S have been not as responsive as I would assume or want them to be. This is especially noticeable when it is rainy or wet, or even damp outside. I began to notice that when it was wet my brakes sound like they are grinding when I stop and stopping distance is significantly elongated. Finally on one rainy day my brakes failed as I crashed into the person in front of me. In any usual circumstance I would have had enough time to completely stop, however my brakes completely depressed to the ground and felt that they hardly slowed my car, resulting in damage to my car and injury to myself. I have brought my Corolla into a Toyota dealership to have the breaks looked at and they said they were completely fine, however they were unable to reproduce the circumstance under which my brakes failed, therefore resulting in them saying there was no issue with the brakes. I have had all of the recalls done on my car and I still notice that the brakes are not functioning as they should.

- Brighton, MA, USA

problem #37

Mar 212010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 6,700 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at speeds of 45 mph in rainy weather conditions and depressing the brake pedal, the brakes would not engage. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer nevertheless; the failure could not be duplicated. The failure and current mileages were 6,700. Updated 08/03/10. The consumer stated she had two accidents on two separate occasions. Updated 08/09/10

- Triangle, VA, USA

problem #36

Feb 222010


  • 11,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while driving 35 mph and then applying the brakes the vehicle did not stop causing the vehicle to crash into another vehicle. The contact hit her head on the driver side window due to the air bags not deploying. The contact went to the emergency room. The vehicle was towed. The contact stated the faulty brakes are due to the recall repair for the accelerator pedal that was performed on her vehicle. The failure mileage was 11,500.

- Brighton, MA, USA

problem #35

Jan 222010


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
S10 appropriate handling re Toyota vehicle problems fwd copy of police report documenting an accident involving braking failure and believe Toyota dealerships are still selling defective vehicles. 2009 Toyota Corolla. The consumer stated the brakes failed which caused her to crash into two guardrails.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #34

Jan 072010


  • 38,000 miles


While applying the brakes (2009 Toyota Corolla le 38,000miles) on the snow or slick condition road the wheels would constantly stop/rotate as soon I would press on the brake pedal and prevented me from stopping until the car slid into a dry spot, curb, or snow bank. It seemed as if the brakes were over sensitive causing the brakes to immediately respond with the constant stop/rotate. For a couple of snow falls (09/10 season) I dealt with this by slowing down and using the brakes way before my intended stops. On 1/7/10 as I was coming over a slight decline I pressed on the brake in response to a van about 150 feet in front of me at a red light which caused the car rear end to whip around to the front across oncoming traffic land into a snow bank. At that point the car was stuck and had to be pulled out. Although the tires still had sufficient tread on them (no balding) I replaced all the tires. That stopped the over sensitive reaction with the brakes.

- Richmond, MO, USA

problem #33

Feb 252010


  • 2,684 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While the vehicle was traveling at a speed of 40 mph the contact applied the brakes and noticed a loud noise coming from the bottom of the vehicle. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. Prior to the recent failure, the vehicle was taken to the dealership where NHTSA campaign id number 10V023000 (vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal) was performed on the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 2684.

- Pinellas Park, FL, USA

problem #32

Aug 162009


  • 11,205 miles
I started up my 2009 Toyota Corolla, then with my foot on the brake, I put the cars gear into reverse. The car started backing up, accelerating uncontrollably. The brake would not stop the car. I never touched the accelerator from the time I started the car. The car stopped when it ran into another parked vehicle. I took the car to the Toyota dealership in bradford, pa. The service manager told me that there was nothing wrong with the car. He said that I stepped on the brake too hard and that disables the anti-lock brakes. They refused to look at the car. There were no floormats in my vehicle. The Toyota dealership will not look at my car because they say that it is not covered by the recall because its VIN number begins with a J, which means it was manufactured in Japan. I am scared to drive it because I have already had the acceleration problem once and crashed.

- Olean, NY, USA

problem #31

Mar 032010


  • 16,200 miles
Month: February and March 2010 weather: Dry roads speed: Less than 35mph on two occurrences, I tried to brake to stop my car. The brakes made a very loud grinding noise, and the car did not slow down. I released the brake and then pressed it all the way to the floor, at which point the car stopped. I called the dealership and they seemed very unconcerned about it. I am scared to drive my car.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #30

Feb 252010


  • 13,500 miles


I purchased a 2009 Toyota Corolla in January 2009. I thought the brakes were a little sluggish and expressed that to the salesman. He said they were fine so I thought I just needed to get used to them. I had no other problem in 2009. In January of 2010, on two occasions, I experienced episodes in which the brakes failed. The problem was that they would hold and then slip several times before the car came to a stop. On at least one of these occasions, I thought I heard the engine racing while the brakes were being applied. After I heard about the Corolla recall, I took my car into the dealership where I had purchased it and was told that my car was not subject to the recall. I did not understand this but asked them to keep the car until they could find and fix the cause of the malfunction because I considered the car to be a death trap. This was in February 2010 and I reported to them exactly what I have now reported to you. After about two weeks they called and told me my car was "all set." When I picked up the car, they gave me an invoice which said they had taken it for a couple of test drives, checked the codes, and found no evidence of the acceleration problem despite the fact that I had told them it was a brake problem. On 2/25/10, I applied the brakes as I approached a red light and the brakes did not respond. I do not know whether the car accelerated but I do know that it did not slow down. Consequently, I rear-ended the vehicle in front of me and my vehicle was badly damaged.

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #29

Jan 182010


  • 41,000 miles
Complete brake failure (14 months worth) and acceleration over 85-95 mph (with complete brake failure). I was injured at the time of the acceleration incident and the brakes failed completely. It occurred on January 18th, 2010. The car accelerated to 85-95 mph, and the pedal stuck. I had complete brake failure. I did not know what to do, and called my work. They told me to stick the car into neutral, and they connected me to 911. I was injured as my chest hit the steering wheel several times. I am resubmitting this complaint on the 2009 Corolla I owned as it looks like the brake failure issue I filed with your Agency was never investigated. I looked up the ODI number today, and nothing was reported on it for followup.

- Enosburg Falls, VT, USA

problem #28

Feb 082010


  • 25,000 miles
My car is a 2009 Toyota Corolla which is on the recall list. I had gone to them two day before the actual recall, because each time I would encounter a down slope or go down a hill, my car would sound like it was idling up and grinding as if it wanted to take off. It had been service a week before this happened; however, the sound of my brakes scared me so I took it back in twice. They still insisted nothing was wrong with it. Then, I took it back the next day after the recall, and I was treated very rudely by the service people as well as the service manager. Nothing has been done since then. I drive it daily with a prayer, because I was told that if my VIN number begin with a "J" it is not on the recall list. However, I am very afraid or paranoid about driving it daily and especially on rainy days. When it rains my brakes squeak and sound as if they or letting out air or a balloon being rubbed against your hand. I have called several times and received no response. I have never had any problems with universal Toyota until now. I was a faithful customer who has had six Toyota cars that I thoroughly enjoyed, but this situation has cause me to consider other options. I am unsure of the actual date, but it was definitely the day after the recall.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #27

Feb 252010


  • miles
I've had two recalls done on my 209 Corolla. The accelerator and the brakes. I've noticed that my gas pedal makes this whistle every time I accelerate. Shortly, after the brake recall I've noticed a difference in my brakes. The brake was mushy, I had to press harder on the brake just to come to a complete stop, and when step on the brakes, its not smooth and my car would pull forward. I went back to Toyota services to recheck my brakes only 4-6 days after I had the brake recall done. They said, they could not find anything wrong with my brakes. Its been 5 days since the last visit and I just recently reared ended someone. Luckily it was just a fender bender but I was lucky enough that it was nothing serious. The lady who I had reared ended had a 8-11 month child with her. I knew my brakes felt different, I knew there was something wrong but Toyota failed to see that. I am really upset with Toyota. I could of lost my life along with the lady and her infant.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 262009


  • 4,000 miles
My concern is with the brake recall on Toyota Corollas that was started on August 26th, 2009. First, the recall only applies to 19 states....what about those of us that drive across state lines" or if the car is sold to someone from another state? then it is ok if the brakes fail" we have been waiting since August to hear from them regarding this issue. Second, I no longer believe much (if anything) that Toyota tells us. Therefore, I want you to 1) demand that they recall all Toyota Corollas with the brake problem, and 2) perform your own investigation to be certain that the problem is as they describe it. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #25

Dec 212009


  • miles
When starting to operate the vehicle for the first time of the day, and it is cold out, when backing out of the driveway and applying the brakes, the rear brakes make very loud clunking noises like something is broken inside the brake assemblies on both rear wheels. I feel as if the brakes are failing, and this could possibly lead to something worse in the future.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #24

Jan 222010


  • 11,595 miles
When braking to come to a stop, if there is any type of imperfection in the roadway, such as a small pothole, when hitting the pothole and braking at the same time, it causes the front end to get loose and the vehicle to swerve sometimes severely.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #23

Jan 052010


  • 33,000 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla S brakes were failing to stop sound as if brakes were metal to metal. Loud grinding nose and uneven contact with brake disc. Two accidents were barely avoided because vehicle inability to stop in a reasonable distance. Excessive pressure was put on to the pedal to finally bring vehicle to a stop. Car was taken to the dealership and a determination was made that the vehicle had over 60%of pad wear left. We immediately took it to an outside mechanic which determined that the rotor had become uneven warped and cupped in several places and the pads deteriorating and were defective. We had both replaced at an expense of over $500.

- Valencia , CA, USA

problem #22

Dec 092008


  • 15,979 miles
- the contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact started the ignition. Suddenly, the anti-lock brake system and brake warning light indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The traction control system warning indicator began to blink. The warning indicators remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was able to continue operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician cleaned ice and snow from the speed sensor connection. In addition, the electrical wires exhibited corrosion which were cleaned. The front brakes were replaced on three separate occasions as a result of premature wear. The failure mileage was 15,979.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #21

Feb 152009


  • 31,100 miles
The description I am sending in may or may not be connected to the Toyota recalls for brakes or gas pedal sticking. My experience is that everytime I step on the brake pedal I feel something move under my feet. Sometimes it feels like something is rolling under the carpet. My floor mats are snapped into place so I know that they are not moving. I plan on taking my car to a Toyota dealer on Thursday Feb. 18, 2010. This feeling has been there since I bought the car back in August of 2009. My car is a 2009 Toyota Corolla le. They say because it was made in Japan I do not have anything to worry about. We will see.

- Plymouth, ME, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?