Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
59 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,576 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 8 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Dec 302009


  • 18,000 miles


2009 Toyota Corolla with idle control issues including slow to return to idle on occasion. Vehicle has had brake vacuum recall completed and just today the gas pedal repair. Problem still exists. I feel it is up in the fuel control systems and have told the dealer this each time starting back on 12/30/09. Toyota corporate has given me a case number but the person handling the case has never called and is never available. Cold engine always has high idle up until full operating temperature. It fluctuates frequently. Once full operating temperature is reached it then goes to a normal idle but then frequently stumbles and drops by 200 RPM. On a few times during each drive of 45 minutes or more it is noticeable that the rpms are slow to return to idle and vehicle keeps speed without touching the gas.

- New Holland, PA, USA

problem #19

Nov 012009


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While she put her foot on the accelerator pedal lightly the vehicle suddenly accelerated to 125mph and stopped when it crashed into private home wall. The vehicle was towed to the tow-yard. The insurance company total the vehicle. She will have an attorney inspect the vehicle. She contacted the manufacturer to advise that the she will have legal actions taken. She received injuries to the upper body. The current and the failure mileage was 10, 0000. The police report info was not available. She also stated that in March of 2008 she also experienced the sudden acceleration with the 1999 Toyota and this vehicle was also a total loss.

- Stamford , CT, USA

problem #18

Jan 202009


  • 40,000 miles
I was driving my 2009 Toyota Corolla. Once, prior to the event in question I had briefly noticed a lack of acceleration. I pressed on the accelerator and nothing happened. The car just quit moving forward. No noise or anything. But, in a few seconds, I tried again and it seemed normal so, I decided it was just my imagination. Then, in Jan /Feb I was coming home from the gym (thankfully not on the freeway) about 9pm on a city street traveling about 30 mph. I tried to accelerate slightly to the speed limit of 35mph and discovered (again, with no warning) that my car would not move forward. None of the systems worked steering etc. But at that speed I did manage to stop. I called 911 and the police stopped 3 lanes of traffic and pushed me to the side. I waited an hour for aaa and had the car towed to the Toyota dealer. It took them a whole day to decide it was an electronic problem and to "fix" it. I was scared to drive it, but I did for maybe another month before deciding that he constant fear of it happening again (maybe on the freeway) was not worth it. The dealer made me a "deal" on a trade for a 2010 Corolla. I drove this car until 2 weeks ago. I could not live with the anxiety of having another (in my mind) electronic failure. I am one who is convinced the Toyota problem is electronic and not related to mechanics. I now have a Ford. Thank you for your attention.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 222009


  • 24,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving 45 mph and attempting to slow down the accelerator pedal was stuck to the floor and caused a crash to occur. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership although the contact previously experienced the same failure. There were no injuries. The current and failure mileages were 24000.

- Freemont, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 222009


  • 40,000 miles
My vehicle was involved in an accident and I belive that the manufacturer was at fault. I had my vehicle inspected for brake problems numerous times by the dealer and it was always said nothing was wrong. Well on Sep. 22,2009 my mother was driving my car while I was passenger and she says it would not stop. Now that I see others are experiencing the same problems I want the manufacturer to be held responsible because I have been dealing with these problems for two years now and it finally seems like something is going to be done about it. It took my car and who knows how many others. I gave the dealership many opportunities to remedy the situation at my expence.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 222009


  • 40,000 miles
I own a 2009 Toyota Corolla that has been giving me problems since the day one. I have been in the dealership many times for my brake problems and they have been unable to resolve the issue. On Sep. 28, 2009 the vehicle was involved in an accident my mother was driving and she says it would not stop. Now that I am aware that others are experiencing this problem I am stepping forward to let everyone know that their not alone.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #14

Nov 042009


  • 12,000 miles


On 11/4/09 I was driving a 2009 Toyota Corolla. As I approached a red traffic light on mclendree church road, lawrenceville, ga., I took my right foot off the accelerator in order to brake. Instantly the car shot forward and even though I used both feet to brake, the car continued at a high rate of speed and out of control. I crossed a curb and struck on oncoming vehicle. On Jan. 5, 2010, in the gwinnett county ga. Recorder's court, I pled "nolo contendere" to the charge of "failure to maintain safe equipment".

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #13

May 202009


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact noticed a grinding noise most of the time when she depressed the brake pedal. She took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that they could not find anything wrong with it. The failure continued to occur and the dealer turned the rotors to remedy the problem; however, she continued hearing the grinding noise. In September 2009, she took the vehicle to the dealer who replaced the brake pads and rotors. She no longer noticed the noise; yet, the brake pedal extended to the floor with a sudden pulling and grabbing motion. The dealer told her that the ABS activated which caused that feeling. She also stated that the vehicle would suddenly accelerate on an intermittent basis. In December 2009, the driver crashed into a brick wall when the vehicle suddenly accelerated. There were no injuries. The dealer took pictures and told her that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. Furthermore, the gear shift broke and the dealer did not repair the vehicle for six months. She called the manufacturer and was unable to speak with a representative. The current mileage was approximately 17,000. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #12

Jan 122010


  • 14,100 miles
First - my 2009 Corolla feels like it doesn't grip the road. I live in Florida and it feels like I'm driving on ice when I go pass 40. It hydroplanes on dry roads. Second - in order for me to come to a complete stop I need to start pressing the break all the way down from like a mile back. Third - on one occasion, and thankfully this only happened once, my accelerator came up slowly. What I mean is that after I let go of the accelerator, rather than the pedal coming up instantly it came up very slow. In general I don't feel safe driving this car and it's a shame because it's the car I want.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 062009


  • 12,000 miles
Experienced sudden acceleration even after releasing the accelerator pedal. The speed could be controlled by breaking and normal driving resumed. I was not aware of the recall at that time and did not think could be a serious defect in the vehicle.

- Loudonville, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 102009


  • 12,200 miles


Accelerator depresses slowly forcing the use of extra brake pressure.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #9

Nov 302009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving, the vehicle began to rapidly increase its speed. Even after repeated brake application the vehicle would not stop. Consequently the consumers mother crashed into another vehicle. The driver was injured and the air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was being inspected by the insurance company. He did not contact the dealer or the manufacturer. The current and failure mileages were approximately 2,500. Updated 12/15/09 updated 01/19/10 ( son on behalf of his mother). Updated 01/20/10...updated 12/03/14 updated 5/11/15

- Stephens City, VA, USA

problem #8

Nov 142009


  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla, "S" automatic transmission. The problem was initially identified by me when my car would not catch while on a slope in drive. The transmission would roll back. The dealership said this was normal due to a loss of pressure, however it would do it even if I barley stopped on a gradual incline for a few seconds. This has caused me to roll back unless I had one foot on the brake and one foot on the gas while to keep me steady to start. This happened at from the time I purchased the car. Recently, I my engine has been running really rough and winding at a high pitch while driving. It now intermittently goes between gears and downshifts automatically into gears that are not appropriate for the speeds traveling. This causes a drastic down speed, and example is I will be on the freeway traveling speeds between 50-65 and it will downshift and reduce my speed to 40 mph or less, then I will try to accelerate and it will redline out, as if I am in neutral and I will have no control to regain speed until it automatically pushes itself back into gear, and then increases my speed at a rapid pace, without me putting my foot on the gas. At this point, I am required to place my foot on the brake to control my speeds. The dealership has taken my car back twice and claimed to have fixed it twice based on the reads, but I have had the same problem. The reads on the computer will say that it is an electrical malfunction... however they can not identify where the malfunction is coming from. Parts have not been replaced and no repairs have been made to fix this at this time. Toyota is not assisting with the recall and I am left with lots of shop hours. Thinking about registering for the lemon law about my car, I drive apx. 1000 miles week and my car is not saving, consistent, and is a safety issue since have no control while my car malfunctions. I can only react to what is happening. It also makes a loud clunking sound, and a high winding sound when redlining.

- Wilsonville, OR, USA

problem #7

Jan 032009


  • 3,000 miles
Regarding the acceleration surge in Toyota. We do not believe it was the floor mats! we have a 2009 Corolla and last winter when it was 2 months old, the surge happened to my son when he was driving the vehicle. He had his foot totally off accelerator and nothing was caught under the accelerator. The Corolla does not even have the type of mats that are considered dangerous as in the Camry and other models. Thankfully, he had the knowledge put the brakes on hard, shove it in neutral and then applied the brakes once again and turn off vehicle. Please do not let Toyota just believe this is he result of floormats. I believe it is more computer and accelerator related. It has not occurred since. Please continue your investigation. Thank you.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #6

Oct 222009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,700 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving 50 mph the vehicle accelerated to 74 mph without any prior warnings. After a few minutes the vehicle began to decelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the technicians were unable to duplicate the failure. They then gave her a loaner, to continue vehicle inspection. The dealer has yet to identify the cause of the failure, and provide a remedy. The failure mileage was 1700. The current mileage was 1750. Updated 12/7/09 the consumer stated the second time the incident happened, she hit another vehicle and the bumper on her vehicle was damamged. Updated 12/08/09

- Cusseta, GA, USA

problem #5

Apr 172009


  • 2,590 miles
We were driving the freeway with the cruise control on. We went up a very small incline and the cruise adjusted. However the cruise would not readjust at the top of the incline and continued to gain speed. My husband tried to brake, to no avail, just increases in speed(act. Speed unknown).finally, a break in traffic, shifted to neutral and guided the car to an exit. Turned off car, turned back on and engine still racing, finally on next try went to normal. I have not used the cruise since. But hearing of other Toyota with sua, I'm wondering if this is the same even though Corollas are not mentioned. Without a break in traffic, I'm convinced there could have been serious consequences to this incident. Contacted Toyota and they checked the car with no conclusion to the cause of the event. The mat did not appear to be a cause of the event. We assumed that it was the cruise control because it was the first time we used it. The cruise had been engaged for at least 50 miles before the event. This was a terrifying event for my husband who is normally very calm and myself.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #4

Sep 212009


  • 5,900 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While attempting to proceed at a traffic light, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. He was unable to control the vehicle speed after engaging the brake pedal. He was forced to place the vehicle in neutral and shut the engine off. When he restarted the vehicle, he noticed that the rpms were rapidly increasing and that the accelerator pedal was stuck between the floor mat. He notified the manufacturer and was advised that his year, make and model vehicle was not a part of the existing recall. The floor mat was replaced. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 5,900 and the current mileage was 6,000. Updated 11/17/09

- Centreville , VA, USA

problem #3

Sep 012009


  • 5,000 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla I have a file number10284648 I filed a couple of weeks ago. My car ' gas pedal did not get stuck on the floor mat.Toyota is making up a cheat excuse for the real problem the gas pedal in my car comes from way up under the dash, high on the fire wall pedal arm comes down to above the floor mats. I think you need to do your own investigating, I'll let you check my car even.

- Artesia, CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 012009


  • 5,027 miles
I bought a Toyota Corolla March 2009, on about Sept. 1, 2009 I was driving around palos verdes I saw donald trupm's golf I pulled in and drove through the drop off area and ask the guy that was out there for a flyer and he gave me one and them I went to the stop sign to leave. I was pulling out and I saw a small truck coming so I jumped on the accelerator to get ahead of truck and when I let up on the accelerator the car didn't slow down.I then had to push on my brakes as hard as I could while pulling on the strewing whelelreally hard to help me push the brake pedal real hard.the car would not stop running fast it got stuck in passing gear mold and won't stop from really racing the engine.! was real lucky there was a place to pull of the road, so I pulled into a small parking area and put the car into park, I turned the key off and them I stared the car again and it was still racing the engine really really fast. So I turned the key off again and I didn't know what to do.I didn't want to drive down the hills in palos verdes because that was really scary and I think that if I wasn't use to being around car's with my X-husband a lot, like pulling car's with a rope to start them and then slamming on the brake when it started to keep from running into the car that was towing me..some other people could panic and have a really bad accident. So any way I had a friend with me and I opened the hood and ask her to get into the drivers sit to pump on the gas peddle I tried to see were the linkage was to see if I could do something to stop the motor from racing.I could not see where the linkage was and I didn't want take the cover of the motor because I haven't done that on newer car' igot back into the drivers seat and got my purse out to call the automobile club but before I did that I thought I would try starting the car one more time and it was O.K. I took the car to Toyota to check it they couldn't get to do the same thing and tried to blame it on the carpet.

- Artesia, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 152008


  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle continued to accelerate when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact must exert great force to the brake pedal in order for the vehicle to come to a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they could not duplicate or determine the cause of the failure. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 17,000 and current mileage was 17,556.

- Melrose, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?