Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 5 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #279

Jan 172009


  • 11,000 miles


I have experienced great amount of stress due to my 2009 Toyota Corolla. I experience the car shifting from right to left at high speeds (over 65 mph). I took it to Toyota of orange and they tested and legally they can only go 60mph or highway speed-limit. They kept denying any problems with the car, & came back to speak with the Toyota representative. I went in 3 times prior to this to see if they could find a problem, she said there's nothing wrong after special 'tests' were done. After that we took it in again and they performed an alignment which helped a little during regular speeds. But I still have the same problem, I recently took it in for the re-call, glad that was fixed, but at 70-80 mph if I shift into another line that is putting my life in great danger! I drive slower but I live in southern California so sometimes its unsafe to be driving at such speeds. I have also been experiencing paint problems with the vehicle, various scratches I don't know where they appear from, and my car is garaged mostly. There also a couple of chips in the paint, I took it in and they just washed and detailed the vehicle, which did help but there's scratches again, the paint seems to be defective. Another problem I'm experiencing with this vehicle is randomly maybe once or twice a month when started in the morning (parked in the garage which isn't cold at all) the whole car vibrates horrible, coming from the engine, as if its not held together well. It lasts for around a minute. I took it in to the dealership and they said since its not a constant problem they cant detect but if I leave it over night and if it happens they'll see, of-course it didn't happen they claimed they tested everything possible and there was no check engine lights etc. No signs when the steering goes crazy. Obviously this car is a defect the reason why I purchased a Toyota Corolla was because I have no problems with my 2005, and all the other cars I have owned, don't have steering or paint problems.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #278

Jun 302010


  • 10,000 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla, the car is hard to keep strait I have 10K miles on the car it been a problem from day one I here there are no fixes for this yet?

- St.George , UT, USA

problem #277

Apr 102008


  • 200 miles
Purchased 2009 Corolla in April 2008 - some major complaints are provided: (1) family does not feel safe in car - a lot of stress, pain and inconvenience to continue to have car serviced - dissatisfied with car's performance. (2) electronic power steering (eps) - car sways and cannot stay in straight line - noticeable on a daily basis - dealership tried to correct - still drifting - complained - dealership changed wheels/tires - swaying still exists - dealership said I just needed to "get use to the new eps" (3) loud cabin noise - car was advertised as being quiet - a lot of road noise (4) rattling noise - manifold pan bolt fell out - bolt was replaced (5) involuntary acceleration - accelerator pedal was replaced after "reinforcement fix" did not work. (6) owned 2003 and 2004 Corollas that did not have as many problems.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #276

Jun 152010


  • 26,000 miles


Vehicle 2009 Toyota Corolla twitching and grinding in the electric steering have had vehicle back to dealers several times they say they cannot find anything to fix don't I feel very unsafe in it only 26000 klix help' would you please forward this info. To highway safety traffic administration.

- Margaretsville Canada, 00, USA

problem #275

Sep 152009


  • 15,000 miles
Steering requires constant driver correction to go straight down the highway. Car pulls to the left or right, but won't track straight when driving on the highway. This occurs whenever the car is driven at highway speeds. When driving on windy days, it's more difficult to control because crosswinds add to the instability. Took car do dealer for repair but the dealer said steering couldn't be adjusted and that they wouldn't be able to correct the problem. This is dangerous because the car wants to wander out of lane, and the constant steering corrections become fatiguing on long trips. As an example, I drove it from home to Arizona and back on a vacation, and my wrists and forearms were sore for a week after the trip. I've made this exact trip in another vehicle and had no such problems. The other vehicle tracks straight and the Corolla does not. Because my dealer will not help me with this issue and the Corolla has depreciated significantly, I am pretty much stuck with a car that has a problem. I'm hoping NHTSA might be able to help. There are plenty of other drivers who are experiencing the same issue with the same car model. I would like to see Toyota make adjustments to the steering of these cars so that they exhibit the steering traits of a normal car, which tends to track straight, or even slightly to the right.

- Browntown, WI, USA

problem #274

Jun 012010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
From when new the car wanders and drifts when at highway speeds. Have tried to get dealers to fix with no success. Went to lemon law arbitration with Toyota but was declined. Dealer will only give about $7 -$8 thousand for trade, the car only has 7,600 miles on it. Three or four weeks ago was making a hard right turn when lost steering control and ran off the road and did some vehicle damage. Afraid to let my wife drive the car, have only put 500 miles on it since January 2010. Updated 12/09/10. Updated 12/17/10

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #273

Jun 012010


  • 29,000 miles


Problem with electronic steering system on 2009 Toyota Corolla when driving with high speed (60-80 mph). The car rocks from left and right and is hard to keep it going straight. Took the car to Toyota dealership and was told that they couldn't find anything wrong with it.

- Lehi, UT, USA

problem #272

Jun 042010


  • miles
I have a number of complaints regarding the power steering on my 2009 Toyota Corolla. To begin with the steering is extremely unresponsive. At low speeds the steering is extremely loose feeling. This has resulted in a couple of near accidents in parking lots where I was barely able to maneuver out of the way in time. At higher speeds the steering is stiff and difficult to steer. Whether or not your driving fast or slow the steering is sluggish and unresponsive. It is much like driving a car with normal power steering on a sandy beach. You simply do not have proper control. It seems like these problems are getting worse over time as well. I put very few miles on the car and take very good care of it as it is in almost mint condition. There is very little wear and tear on my Corolla at 6,500 miles. The extremely unresponsive steering on the 2009 Toyota Corolla makes defensive driving very difficult. It makes compensating for other drivers actions and mistakes by avoiding them very difficult and is a dangerous vehicle to drive as a result.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #271

May 072010


  • 5,000 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla S drifts all over rd at speeds above 50mph. Car is hard to control.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #270

Jun 012010


  • 22,000 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla. Driving North on highway 95 just South of elgin, Texas. Speed was between 55-65 mph. Steering wheel stiffened becoming inoperable, car veered right uncontrollably and flipped.

- Elgin, TX, USA

problem #269

May 012009


  • 8,500 miles


I have a 2009 Toyota Corolla that drifts on its own at highway speeds, with no change in steering. I drive 25,000 miles a year and this is a real problem, and I don't believe this is a tire or alignment issue! when I had the car in for the gas pedal recall I asked them about this issue and they stated until there is a recall issued they didn't have a fix. I couldn't believe that they didn't want to at least look at the problem while it was there. I love the car and I'm a big Toyota fan but they need to fix this!

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #268

May 132010


  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 50 mph, the steering malfunctioned; the vehicle veered to the left, spun around and crashed into a guardrail. There were warning lights prior to the failure. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The contact suffered whiplash. The current and failure mileages were approximately 18,000. Updated 07/19/10. Updated 07/23/10

- New Braunsels, TX, USA

problem #267

Mar 072010


  • 25,300 miles
Can't keep car from wandering all over road side to side.

- Benton, IL, USA

problem #266

May 152010


  • miles
My 2009 Corolla steering is terrible at highway speeds, it wanders all over my lane requiring constant steering wheel correction. The best way to describe it is it feels like a huge gust of wind is constantly blowing the car around at speeds above 40mph. I've had an independent shop check the alignment and they say its fine. Now that I've started investigating this problem it seems there are a lot of Corolla owners with this same problem. I have not contacted Toyota about the problem with my car but all of the other Corolla owners say they were told by Toyota that was just the way that car handles. Please make Toyota fix this problem on these cars.

- Ackerman, MS, USA

problem #265

Mar 242010


  • miles
I notice an issue with my power steering on my 2009 Toyota Corolla le. When I exceed 70 mph it feels like my car is caught in high winds and I notice the steering drift from side to side.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #264

Jun 142008


  • 2,000 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla steering drifts badly on the highway. The car has to be constantly corrected to maintain a straight line.

- Mountvillle, PA, USA

problem #263

May 032010


  • 5,000 miles
2009 Corolla Toyota steering wheel lock up.

- Seaside, CA, USA

problem #262

May 012010


  • 40,000 miles
I am following up on this complaint #10318215 regarding the steering problems with my Corolla leading to drifting and unsteadiness while driving at higher speeds. The symptoms on my 2009 Corolla with the steering column are getting worse. The drifts are getting more pronounced and at times feel more like a swerve. The frequency of the drifting has increased. Also, I am noticing the uneasiness at slower speeds. In short, I do not feel safe driving this car, and I experienced a scary incident of my car swerving out as a truck passed me. As much as possible, I try to avoid freeway driving, which is a big hassle, considering that I have a 56-mile roundtrip work commute. This commute is mostly all free way driving on route 8 & 77 and the turnpike. To compensate, I need to take the back roads, adding an extra fifteen minutes to my commute. The dealership has been in contact with Toyota corporate who are saying that there is no problem and that the case has been closed with NHTSA. What am to do when the dealership admits to not knowing how to fix the problem and the regional service rep for Toyota says there is on problem and that the case with the steering column is closed. Please help. What am I to do? I am driving an unsafe car. I am restricted as to the use of my car. There is no resolution in site from what I can see. Please feel free to contact me with any questions at [xxx] or [xxx]. I look forward to your reply. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #261

May 042010


  • 29,000 miles
2009 Toyota Corolla, 29,000 miles, the steering locked up, almost got in a horrible accident. I finally got the car pulled over. The battery was then dead. I had it towed in to the Toyota dealer wherei bought it. They said there is nothing wrong with it. This is a serious problem that needs immediate attention!

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #260

Apr 262010


  • 27,000 miles
Date: May 4, 2009-I just purchased a 2009 Toyota Corolla le and have had it for 7 days before having to return it to the dealer where it was purchased due to a wandering feeling in the steering and movement of the car while on the highway. This happened to me on 3 different occasions during the 7 days I had it very scary and unsafe! I thought maybe it was the road, a flat tire, or the wind blowing my car but after 3 separate and different conditions I know it is not just me it is the car and after researching the problem I see many other complaints as well!!!!

- Petersburg, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?