Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 10 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #167

Mar 062010

Corolla

  • 3,425 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2nd complaint different problem. 2010 Toyota Corolla purchased 9/10 made wide rt turn off exit ramp at steady35 mph off hwy. Onto another hwy. Then resumed 60 mph. Front of car wobbled noticeably. Got home ok. Have been driving car to work but not on hwy or at hwy speeds and if feels ok. Have appt at dealer to have this problem looked at along with stiff steering.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #166

Jun 122009

Corolla

  • 15 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) Toyota Corolla 2010 steering is dangerous above 40 mph, the car won't stay in it's lane and is almost impossible to keep the car straight down the road without constant counter steering. Interstate speeds requires nerves of steel and I do not recommend it to even the best driver. This car is dangerous and the local dealer says everything is fine. I refuse to drive this car over 65 mph, even on the interstate, very tiring and stressful to travel in this car (at speed). This car has handled like this since new..no corrective action (fix) from the dealer as of 3-8-2010 [xxx]

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #165

Jul 282009

Corolla

  • miles
There is a problem with the steering in my 2010 Toyota Corolla le. The car drifts side to side making it hard to keep it in a straight line. I complained immediately to the dealership. They said the steering is acting as designed. I continue to question it every time I have it serviced.

- Fitchburg, MA, USA

problem #164

Oct 192009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated he is having an ongoing problem with his steering. When driving his vehicle it will steer to the left or the right on it's own, it does not matter how fast he is going it does it at all speeds. The contact stated he noticed this the first day he drove the vehicle on the highway driving at 45 mph. He contacted the dealer and the dealer told him to drive the vehicle for a couple thousand miles and it would be ok. The failure and current mileage was 300. Updated 5/17/2010 * cn updated 05/20/10.

- Hayden, ID, USA

problem #163

Jul 082009

Corolla

  • 5,082 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated whenever he is driving at 60 mph the vehicle would veered to the left or right randomly and not stay straight in the lane. He has to be vigilant in driving to keep the vehicle straight on the highway. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they could not duplicate the failure. The dealer stated it must be a design flaw with the system. The failure mileage was 5082.

- Santee, SC, USA

problem #162

Mar 052010

Corolla

  • 2,990 miles
Toyota Corolla difficult steering at highway speeds. Steering "sticks" in position when correcting and requires constant re-correction. Car does not self center upon leaving curves. When correcting to the left, car will climb over crown into on-coming lane unless re-corrected. Difficult to keep the car going straight, requires constant attention and is fatiguing.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #161

Jul 072009

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2010 Corolla 4 dr le model, which I bought in July 2009. I continue to notice that the car "wanders" on the road while driving; generally it is really noticeable about 50 mph. When there are windy conditions (frequent in Kansas), I have to constantly correct my direction of travel since the wind exacerbates the wandering of the vehicle. I thought that it was due to the crown of the particular road, but it does it on all roads. My wife has driven the car and noticed the same thing. I have not lost control of the vehicle, but it concerns me that a car would not drive in a reasonable straight line. This is the very first car I've ever owned that did it; it is not the first Toyota I've ever owned, and have never ever had such a problem. I cannot give a specific date of incident, as it does it all the time, so I will indicate the delivery date of the vehicle to me.

- Shawnee, KS, USA

problem #160

Mar 062010

Corolla

  • 2,382 miles
In my 2010 Toyota Corolla xle with 2382 miles on it, I experienced brake failure and difficulty steering while descending down a slight grade. There was no braking action when I pushed the brake pedal as far as it could go. Simultaneously heard a loud scraping sound and detected an odor. Reported incident to the dealer immediately.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #159

Jan 102010

Corolla

  • 500 miles
2010 Corolla is unstable at speed over approximately 55 mph. The car wanders dangerously to left and right, being particularly vulnerable to any cross wind or turbulence from other vehicles. It is not possible to use any vehicle controls (such as turning on the defroster) while driving at highway speeds without having the car veer suddenly off course. The car feels as if it is missing a suspension component in the front end- there is a dangerous lack of stability at highway speeds. I even purchased new tires after only 2000 miles in an attempt to alleviate the problem, but it is the car and not the tires causing the problem. This car is unsafe at highway speeds.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #158

Jan 282010

Corolla

  • 468 miles
I have been taking my Corolla to the dealership almost every week since 01/28/2010 and every week I complained about how the car was drifting side to side and how on low windy days I have to fight the steering wheel to keep it in its lane at speeds above 65mph. And every time I take it over there they say "well the car is working to factory standards" and they will send me on my way. I have had my brakes bled and my car alignment done twice and the car only has 2000+ miles on it. So I took the car back to the dealership from where I bought it and they gave me this cust states vehicle is all over the road at highway speeds like the computer is driving the car on its own ~|~performed health check on all systems. No trouble codes stored. Test drove vehicle on 10 mile trip and ~|~vehicle performed as designed at this time. Please direct customer to Toyota at 1-800-331-4331 if they have any other questions. So I took the car back and called the # to them and they said since the tech could not find the problem then there is no problem. Bull. So on 03/01/2010 I took my car back in to the dealership to have someone go on a drive with me and I made sure it was a windy day so they can see how hard it is to keep the car centered in its lane. The mechanic that went with me said oh I see what you are talking about he even had a hard time keeping the car from wondering off. So he said well it could be the tires are not to the right pounds. I said nope I had the air done to factory standards of 35psi all around. So he said he will need the car for over a day and scheduled appt for me to come in I took it back on 03/03/2010 and haven't had my car back since then. They still have my car in the shop as I type. So there is definitely a problem with the car. I feel like I can hurt or even kill someone in the car because of it. I have had more problems with this car and its not even 60 days old yet. Plus I already had the recall done on it too.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #157

Dec 122009

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Toyota Corolla "S" purchased by my wife in July 2009, with automatic transmission. She drives the car only locally on Suburban streets, at speeds less than 45 mph, and has placed less than 3000 miles on the car in 7 months. Recently we took the car for a 'road trip' of about 175 miles each way, with me driving. This car does not "steer" properly on the highway, if "proper" means that it follows the drivers input and control movements. At low speeds it seems that the steering wheel moves easily like most cars with power steering, and the car follows the steering wheel movements fairly well. But at speeds over 50 mph the steering wheel seems to "lock" into a position and resists being moved to either side until excessive force is applied, several pounds of force I would say, then the steering wheel jumps to a new position and the car takes off to that side, requiring another hard pull on the steering wheel to try to go back toward center. I had to fight this car for three hours each way on the highway, and the slightest inattention was likely to result in the car heading for one edge or the other of the lane, since it seems to periodically just "drift" off path for no apparent reason-- no change in road slope or geometry, but the car would start moving toward one side of the other. (tire pressures were checked before the trip). Our family has owned 6 Toyota before this one, and none of them has ever had the lack of response and "wandering" problems of this car. We still own a 1992 Celica, which is a Corolla in a sporty body style, and it "tracks" beautifully to the drivers control, with over 200,000 miles on it. I think that if a car had a steering system with apparent looseness in it that would duplicate the side directions of this Corolla, while the steering wheel is not being moved from straight ahead, that car would not pass its annual safety test in this state. This car requires a constant struggle to keep it in its lane at highway speeds.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #156

Mar 052010

Corolla

  • 5,600 miles
I purchased this brand new 2010 Toyota Corolla for my daughter. While driving this car on the highway at speeds of 65 mph or higher, the vehicle wanders. It constantly feels like sudden gusts of wind are pushing the vehicle out of the driving lane. This is extremely unnerving. I am a captain with a major airline, and I took the car out to get a sense of what my daughter has explained to me. In 31 years of flying, I have never felt more insecure in a vehicle. I am afraid to relax. I understand the need for vigilance while driving on a highway. Driving this vehicle requires so much concentration that what should be a simple 4 hour drive from my daughter's college to her home is exhausting.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #155

Mar 052010

Corolla

  • 3 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla, purchased Jan 2010 wanders greatly at hwy speeds. Requiring constant corrections. Toyota denies problem.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #154

Jan 312010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,320 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated she is having so many issues with this vehicle and she is afraid to drive it. The contact stated she has took the vehicle back to the dealer because of the steering, she says they told her the steering was not centered and they said they fixed it but she says she is still having the same issue. While driving 45 mph or more she finds it hard to steer the vehicle. The vehicle always pulls to the left or pulls to the right on it's own. She stated that the dealer says she just needs to get use to driving the vehicle and to drive at a 5 and 7 position. The failure mileage was 1,320. The current mileage was 1,370. Updated 04/22/10. The consumer stated the vehicle over steers at highway speeds. Updated 05/05/10

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #153

Nov 042009

Corolla

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated his vehicle is having steering problems. He was driving 60mph when the vehicle became very hard to keep the vehicle on the road. The contact stated he took the vehicle to the dealer and they told him it was something with his steering. They adjusted his tire pressure and told him it should have been fine. The contact stated he is still having this issue. He also had a problem with the brakes, the contact stated that the vehicle is hard to stop at times. He is unsure if this is an acceleration problem, he feels as if it is his brakes. The failure mileage was 4,000 and the current mileage was 6,000.

- Portcraine, NY, USA

problem #152

Mar 052010

Corolla

  • 6,600 miles
On my 2010 Toyota Corolla, at highway speeds (65-70 mph), the vehicle will feel as though the steering is loose...like I'm going over a metal-grate bridge, where the car moves sideways on it's own. I drive approximately 100 highway miles a day, and this is a daily occurrence. I brought the vehicle to Toyota on 3/4/10, but they claim they do not feel the steering problem. I don't feel it was sufficiently tested, as they did not do any highway driving. They've dismissed my fears and will not be correcting the problem.

- Mount Bethel, PA, USA

problem #151

Oct 152009

Corolla

  • 100 miles
I find it very difficult to track the vehicle in a straight line on an open road in windy or uneven road conditions. There is very little or no feedback through the steering wheel. The vehicle demands your full attention under these conditions making it very tiring and in my opinion somewhat unsafe at speeds greater than 50mph. Seems to be ok or better at low speeds such as in residential or city environments. These concerns were reported to the dealer service department and in the new car feedback form I received from the manufacturer. I received no feedback from the manufacturer on that survey and the dealer service department stated the steering and wheel alignment were within tolerances. I did however get the following hints from two different sales representatives, over inflate the tires, look further up the road, put some weight in the trunk, none of which I employed. Ridiculous!!!

- Ocean Isle Beach, NC, USA

problem #150

Aug 152009

Corolla

  • 30 miles
Since delivery, my new 2010 Corolla has had a steering problem. It veers or wanders to the left or fight randomly and unexpectedly at highway speeds (65-75mph). Not the alignment. Very dangerous if there are other vehicles beside you. Is not due to the wind - occurs on windless days. Have owned 25 cars in 50 years, some Toyota; this is the worst - will not stay straight; both dangerous and fatiguing to drive. Must fully Focus and make constant corrections to track straight. Recall! unsafe!

- Santee, SC, USA

problem #149

Dec 012009

Corolla

  • 12 miles
At highway speeds, car steers as if reacting to gusting wind from either side. Steering very sensitive when attempting to correct. This has occurred since I purchased the vehicle new with 11 miles on it.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #148

Feb 012010

Corolla

  • 500 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Corolla that frequently has a strong gas smell and on 3 different occasions the steering has given me a sense of control loss similar to the sensation of hydroplaning.

- Gate City, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?