Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,011 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Prius lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 24 of 46)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #445

Mar 102010

Prius

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been driving a 2007 Toyota Prius since July 2007. The hid headlights switch off automatically while driving. Sometimes the left hid switches off but the right headlights stays on. The headlights turn off but the display from the inside says that headlights are turned on. The headlights come on if I turn the headlights off and turn them back on then both of them are working till they switch off again during driving. Almost got in a T-bone accident when the other driver did not see me. If I am driving using cruise-control, the car seem to speed up a bit just for a sec a or two when you initially apply brakes.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #444

Jan 012010

Prius

  • 45,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Prius has a safety related defect with the hid lights. These lights will go out sporadically while driving. Often times it takes less than 10 seconds for both lights to be off while driving at night. I have replaced both lights, twice with aftermarket bulbs and the problem remains. Toyota is charging $450 to replace the bulbs a third time, with no warranty if they fail. This same repair can be done online with identical bulbs for $50. Adding to the difficulty is that the bulb housing is largely inaccessible for a normal user. Many owners, based on hundreds of descriptions on the internet, have taken to removing the entire bumper just to replace the headlight bulb (which is what I have to do since my hands aren't tiny). This design flaw exacerbates the repair of a safety related defect. The hid lightbulbs in question are denso D4R's, which according to jd power should have an average lifespan of 90,000 miles for an average user. Most users are experiencing half of this value. Indicating the ECU or ballast is at fault despite the initial research done on this particular topic by NHTSA, my headlights do both fail within a short period of time of one another - constituting a legitimate safety concern. One will fail upon turning the car on within a few seconds, leaving the 2nd to either fail shortly after, or at any period of time after this point. This is with new bulbs that are at spec for the car according to the manual. I have no course of resolution for this matter, and Toyota is unwilling to help. I am concerned about my safety while driving this car, especially in the rain, or at night. I would hope that the NHTSA takes light failures as seriously as they do brake and accelerator failures, as they're also likely to lead to accidents.

- Newcastle, WA, USA

problem #443

Mar 102010

Prius

  • 77,090 miles
I've got a package 2 2007 Prius. One of the headlights keeps going out. I can't really tell when or how it goes out since I can't see it. I'll notice it when I see the reflection in the back of another car. If I turn the bright lights on and off it has no effect, but when I turn them all the way off and back on the light comes back. Sometimes on long trips it will stay on the whole time, sometimes it won't. sometimes on short trips it will go out, sometimes it won't. it is not an event I can make happen.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #442

Mar 042007

Prius

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driverside front headlight intermittently went out. Took my automobile to original dealer on March 9, 2010 and it was replaced. During my conversation with the service advisor, he indicated that the passenger side headlight might experience the same problem. He was correct. On March 10, 2007 the passenger side began having the same problem. This is the same problem described in NHTSA -PE09019. I am concerned for my safety and others who will be affected. In addition I have no assurance that this replacement will not be required over and over at a very high dollar cost. Please advise.

- Litchfield Park, AZ, USA

problem #441

Mar 012010

Prius

  • 58,000 miles
The headlamps on my 2007 Toyota Prius intermittently fail. They periodically flicker. The headlamps operate after being turned off for some time. No crash yet! dangerous situation!

- Edwardsburg, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #440

Mar 102010

Prius

  • 58,000 miles
1. wife is leary of driving our 2007 Toyota Prius because of problem brakes. We need a better description of what happens when we try to turn off the engine going 100 mph. 2. lights are poor. We cannot see very far ahead in this deer infested environment. I have better lights on my 1997 Hyundai 3. one or the other headlight flickers and goes out for no understandable reason. We turn the lights off and turn them on again and it works ok. This could be a safety hazard. What is being done to fix it. 4. seating. My first encounter with the Toyota complaint system cam about as I was trying to get the driver seat moved back because I have long legs. The dealer said they have no way of fixing this but that I should go to the after market. I asked if Toyota would accept an aftermarket solution. The dealer said that they will evaluate it after it is installed to tell us if it meets safety specifications no aftermarket supplier will try to fix this because they have not assurance that it will be accepted by Toyota. Yet Toyota gives no technical information about what is acceptable. I complained formally to the dealer and got nowhere. I then sent a formal complaint to national Toyota. They passed the complaint back to the dealer for response. For me this is a major flaw in the Toyota complaint handling system. They have a closed loop when it comes to complaints. 5. I like the car and it gets the mileage I expected. I am not sure I will ever get another Toyota if there are reasonable alternative that get good mileage.

- Hedgesville, WV, USA

problem #439

Dec 032009

Prius

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since early December 2009, my 2007 Toyota Prius has had a safety problem with the hid headlights going out intermittently, usually only one side at a time, but several times both have gone out at the same time. I live just off a dark, winding road, and twice both of the lights went out at the same time, leaving me totally in the dark. I was able to flip then off and back on to narrowly avoid a potential fatal accident. I have been stopped by the ga highway patrol and given a warning due to the driver side headlight not working at dusk once. Had it been dark already, the officer would have ticketed me he said. This is a major safety issue that requires the NHTSA to investigate thoroughly with Prius owners. There are several blogs on the internet reporting this problem and complaining about the exorbitant cost that Toyota dealerships charge to "fix" the problem (from $800 to $1800), only to find that the problem is repeated within a year or two. The local Toyota dealership said that my "repair" would be about $1,100, but I declined because I feel that this is an inherent defect in the headlights themselves, the wiring harness, or the computer module (or possibly all of them) that may or may not be fixed by throwing money at it now. I beg you to investigate this issue and consider making Toyota issue a general recall due to the headlights issue. Someone is going to be killed one day, if it hasn't already happened. It probably already has. This car was purchased new, not driven hard or over bad roads, routine maintenance has been kept up, and it has less than 39,000 miles on it (about 37,000 at the time the problem began). I am in the process of contacting Toyota motors now to complain about this safety issue and defective parts to see what they will do to help me. Thank you for taking the time to investigate this serious issue and I hope that you will be able to make a difference to save lives because of it.

- Hoschton , GA, USA

problem #438

Mar 092010

Prius

  • miles
The passenger side headlight bulb on my wife's 2007 Prius goes out intermittently, after it's been turned on at dusk. Turning the lights off and then on again makes the light work for a short while until it goes out again. Not something we should be doing while driving down the road. The dealer told her to wait until the light goes completely out before bringing it in to be replaced. I tried to replace it for her but found it required quite a bit of skill and quite a bit of time. This has been an on-going problem, since christmas, 2009.

- Ft. Mill, SC, USA

problem #437

Mar 082010

Prius

  • 42,000 miles
I have a 2007 Prius. I have experienced intermittent problems with both head lights turning off. Sometimes they both go out at the same time. The first time I took it to the dealership they said they could not recreate the problem. I took it in yesterday and one bulb was replaced for $275. I understand I am not the only one who has had this problem. I am concerned about driving at night, because both lights have gone off at same time.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #436

Feb 202009

Prius

  • 35,000 miles
Early 2009 a friend told me after I got out of my wife's 2007 Prius that the left headlight was out. I thought it strange so I turned on the car & the head lights again - this time it worked. After that occasion I have had the light go out almost every time I drive at night, but it can be turned back on by turning the lights off/on.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #435

Nov 152008

Prius

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For over a year I have had intermittent hid headlight issues with one or both lights going out. I have brought my 2007 Toyota Prius to the dealer and to an independent mechanic. Diagnostic testing in both cases show no error codes. This problem occurs about 3-4 times a month and can be remedied by turning the headlights off and on again. I was told by the dealer that if the headlights are replaced at a cost of 300 each it might fix it. If not a hid computer at $1100 and a new headlight assembly may be necessary for another $1100. I find this unacceptable and strongly feel this is a safety issue that warrants recall by Toyota.

- Beaumont, CA, USA

problem #434

Mar 022010

Prius

  • 30,100 miles
The passenger side headlight of my 2007 Toyota Prius stopped working. I had my 30,000 mile inspection at my local Toyota dealer about 2 weeks ago, and they did not mention this problem. It is a continuous light failure. I have contacted my Toyota dealer to have it replaced, but they want to charge me >$500 for parts and labor.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #433

Mar 202009

Prius

  • 28,000 miles
This complaint involves a 2007 Toyota Prius on which the headlights went out suddenly. My wife and I both experienced single headlights and taillights going off intermittently in early 2009. Then one night when we were returning home all of the lights in the vehicle went out including the headlights. We were on a hilly road in the foothills of South Carolina and were fortunate not to have had an accident. We turned off the ignition, and when we turned it back on, the lights came back and we made it home. We took our Prius in to jim barkley Toyota in asheville, nc within a few days and reported the problem. They checked out the vehicle, found nothing wrong, and said that was all they could do. When we told them that we could have been killed and were still worried that the failure could happen again, they said that there were 1,000 miles of wire in the car and they couldn't check it all. We were not happy, but they offered no further help. Then, at one of our subsequent 5,000 mile service checks at jim barkley Toyota, we were told that they had replaced our headlamps at no charge to us. Several months after this we received a notice (not a service recall bulletin) that hid headlamp bulbs "may flicker or intermittently be inoperable." The notice didn't say that headlights going out in the dark could be dangerous, but it would seem obvious that this was true. I am writing this complaint because I believe that Toyota had known there was a problem with their headlights and simply stonewalled us when we first reported it. I am not seeking compensation or redress, but I want to report what seems to be arrogance and denial on the part of Toyota. We are fortunate that we were not injured or killed, and so is Toyota.

- Brevard, NC, USA

problem #432

Dec 202009

Prius

  • 48,000 miles
2007 Toyota Prius headlights turn off while driving on driver side, turn the knob off and on, lights come back on. Happens three times while driving at nite or early morning. 53,000 miles on car. Took to dealership said it is a common problem with Prius'....cost $500. Could not afford. Went online and see alot of complaints about this same problem.......recall Prius' from Toyota, this is another coverup. We are very lucky we haven't hit anything yet, but did almost drive off the highway and had to stop. We have not replaced due to the cost. Sites posted say other Prius owners replaced bulbs only to have them go back out on them. And this happened after we replaced our 12 volt battery with the dealership Dec 19th, next day, problem with headlights. Dealership said nothing to do with battery or lose wiring. Service manager said again it was a problem they are having with all Prius. Recall please !!!!!!

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #431

Jan 012009

Prius

  • 34,500 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). 2007 Toyota Prius..headlights randomly turn off while driving down the road. Sometimes it the right light, sometimes it the left light, but now both lights are going out. The last time this happened (yesterday) was when the brakes were applied stopping at a stoplight. Sometimes this happens 3 times in a half hour trip to and from work. I took this in to Toyota in mcminnville, Oregon and they said there was nothing wrong because they could not replicate it. This has been on going for over a year now! I have also read on the internet that this has been going on since about 2002. I think there is a problem with the circuit board or software running the lights. Toyota should investigate this before some one gets injured or killed if they haven't already. [xxx]

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #430

Oct 012009

Prius

  • 25,000 miles
Headlight(s) go off and people have stopped to tell us that one of lights must be burned out. Previously we had noticed others blinking their lights at us but we just thought it was because our lights were on, not that one or both weren't on. There is a period of time, usually 1 or two weeks, and it will happen again. We have found that if we turn off the car and turn it back on that the light(s) work..............but for how long? it's is very scary at night but so far we have been lucky and we very seldom drive at night.

- Magalia, CA, USA

problem #429

Feb 222010

Prius

  • 102,725 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Prius. When the car was less than a year old, the lights began to go off and on. Due to my mileage the dealership refused repair. Filed a formal complaint with Toyota 7/2009, again repair refused. By flipping the switch they would come back on and work sporadically. The flickering causes the bulbs to blow. As of today, both headlights stopped working at the same time, causing me to have to stop driving. Replacing the bulb does not fix the problem. Previous dealership in johnson city, tn acknowledge defect but only offered to pay $400 towards repair. Seems this issue won't be addressed until a death or accident occurs. Car is very unsafe at night without working lights!

- Elizabethton, TN, USA

problem #428

Feb 122010

Prius

  • 60,000 miles
While driving my 2007 Prius to sonoma for the weekend both of my headlights failed to work simultaneously!! this left me driving in complete darkness at 60mph and my 5 year old in the back seat! it was terrifying for that second in which I had no light source whatsoever. No streetlights, no headlights, not even any moonlight! this could have caused a serious crash as I was on unfamiliar roads and I had to turn my lights all the way off and then on again to get any source of light! I hope someone at this Agency is planning on doing something about this before someone gets killed! I know I'm not the only one with this problem out there!

- Westlake Village, CA, USA

problem #427

Dec 012009

Prius

  • 52,000 miles
I have a 2007 Prius. The last 3 months my headlights have intermittently flickered, and gone out. I rec'd a letter from Toyota stating that this was a common problem with 2006-2009 Prius'. replacing them will cost $300 +, I have researched this problem on this website, and the problem is consistent! if this is a Toyota defect, why are we paying for these bulbs? this is a safety issue!

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #426

Dec 132009

Prius

  • 59,685 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Prius sport edition. One evening on my way home I got pulled over for having a headlight out. That evening after going home, I got in my car to head back out and my wife followed me into the garage and noticed as I was pulling out that my headlights were both on. That is what alerted me to the problem which is that my headlights go off randomly. Sometimes it is the passenger side headlight, sometimes the driver's side. When one goes out I can usually get it to come back on by turning my lights off and then back on. The worst case of this is that one evening after leaving my in-laws house I had to turn on my bright lights because they don't have streetlights in their neighborhood. As soon as I turned on my brights, both lights went out completely. It was instantly dark and I had to slam on breaks. It took me a second to realize what was going on. I turned my lights off and back on and they worked long enough for me to get home. It is not unusual for one of my lights to go out on a daily basis. I began researching this and found numerous other complaints just like mine from other Prius owners (tinyurl.com/yecdlae) I took my car to the Toyota dealer and the guy there basically told me aside that I could get the bulb replaced but just between us that wasn't going to solve the problem. He said my best bet was to file a complaint and hope for a recall.

- Somerville, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?