Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: If you're looking for a vehicle with one of the most complained about transmission on the road, look no further than the 2001-2003 Toyota RAV4.

In 2001 Toyota completely redesigned the popular SUV. While some enjoyed the new look, they did not enjoy the harsh shifting, jumping from gear-to-gear and eventual transmission failure that cost owners well over $3,000 to fix. The problem stems from a malfunctioning Electronic Control Module (ECM).

Consumer outrage coupled with pressure from different agencies led Toyota to extend the warranty nationwide back in 2010. The previous power train warranty only covered 5 years/60,000 miles, while the extended warranty now covers the transmission and ECM for 10 years/150,000 miles. Toyota also pledged to reimburse any owners who had previously paid for repairs, if they had "proper proof". Good luck collecting on that one.

9.3

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,287.00
Average Mileage:
97,209 miles
Total Complaints:
55 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. new main computer and transmission (37 reports)
  2. not sure (7 reports)
  3. replace ecm module (3 reports)
  4. special service campaign for ecm- (3 reports)
  5. took ecm out myself and sent it to be repaired (2 reports)
  6. contact an authorized Toyota dealer (1 reports)
2002 Toyota RAV4 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #55

Jun 172015

RAV4 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

If you can catch this problem at the 1st sign of transmission problems, you MAY be able to save your transmission. Park it immediately. There is a defect in the ECM Module or Brain that causes failure of the transmission. Purchasing a new ECM Module will not fix the problem. You need to send the ECM Module into a repair shop to have repaired and reprogrammed. You can Google the issue and find a shop close to you. The brain is in the dash and is easily removed. If I remember correctly the charge to repair including shipping was around $200.00. You must have the ECM repaired and reprogrammed or the problem will happen again. Unfortunately Toyota is not backing this defect or even acknowledging the ECM Module problem, let alone the cost of replacing the transmission. They lost a loyal customer in me. Such an easy fix that would save your transmission, such a costly thing to ignore. No more Toyotas for this girl.

- , Asheville, USA

problem #54

Dec 012015

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

The ECM in my 2002 Toyota RAV4 needed to be replaced. After doing some research, I discovered the service bulletin that was put out in 2010 that outlined the issues/problems with the ECM in this model/year vehicle. I read that my VIN was in the range so I contacted Toyota directly. After speaking with them they indicated that my VIN was not covered and that it did not apply to my vehicle because my check engine light did not come on first. I'm extremely disappointed with the information (or lack thereof) that was provided to me during my conversation with the Toyota representative, in addition to the fact that my vehicle is not covered.

Any other recommendations as to how to pursue reimbursement is appreciated.

- , Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #53

Sep 102015

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles

It came as surprise. One moment you drive it and use it, the next moment you are told that it will cost you $4900 to have it repaired. The vehicle is hardly worse that much and for a student it is impossible to afford it. I really would like Toyota to stand behind their product and take care of it.

- , Cotopaxi, CO, USA

problem #52

Jul 042013

RAV4 Sport 2.0L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My RAC4 started having issue with the transmission. I brought it to a Toyota dealer in Escanaba, Michigan and they told me I needed a transmission and a brain and the cost was over $4,000. I could not afford it at the time so I waited a short time before I could get a loan to repair.

After it was repaired, it started acting up again and I brought it back to the dealer in Escanaba and they told me it was the motor this time and I had done something. It wasn't the motor. When the transmission was installed, they broke the flywheel, bent the crankshaft and the transmission pump was welded to the transmission. The dealer repaired for free this time. Now, the transmission is leaking in two different areas.

I have had months without a vehicle and lots of expenses incurred. I am very disappointed in my Rav4 and the dealership in Escanaba.

- , Manistique, MI, USA

problem #51

Nov 012012

RAV4 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,000 miles

I bought this car in 2005, it had one previous owner. It's the best vehicle I have ever had and worth every penny. I have never had an issue with it in 7 years. That is, until one day while driving home in rush hour traffic it started jerking into gear and feeling like it was going to stall. This scared the living daylights out of me and I could not get home fast enough! I drove it to work the next day, and had no problems. I started researching this on the internet and came across this site. I decided to take it to the dealership on the following day. They kept it all day, and told me they could not find anything wrong with it (as in they could not duplicate the issue). This cost me $63.00. Literally seconds after I drive away from the dealership, I get caught in stop-and-go traffic, and it happens again, but this time much worse! First it would not go into gear. Then when I would start to accelerate from 0, it felt like the brake was being pushed in, so I rolled forward but stopped. The person behind me came very close to rear-ending me. On the rest of the drive home, it felt like it was not going into gear and at times, like it was just coasting without engaging at higher speeds. So, the next day I take it back to the dealership. The drive there was terrible, it was slamming into gear, feeling like it was going to stall out, shaking, or sometimes not going into gear and just coasting along. (They did pay for a rental car for 1.5 days, so that was nice). They are now in the process of replacing the ECM which will cost me $1,200. If that does not work, they said a new transmission costs $3,500.00. The trade-in value is $3,000. So I am waiting to hear if I still have a vehicle that runs, or if I need to purchase another vehicle which couldn't come at a worse time. It is unbelievable to me that Toyota would not take more responsibility for this issue. This is a dangerous problem, and could result in serious accidents. Yet, I am responsible to fix it. I love my Rav but after this I don't feel the same. It turned into a scary, unsafe vehicle literally overnight and even if the ECM seemingly fixes the issue, I still won't feel 100% safe. If the ECM doesn't fix the issue, I have to figure out what else I can do. Talk about going out with a bang....

Update from Dec 5, 2012: They replaced the ECM and is it running fine now. I called Toyota to see if I qualify for the program that reimburses customers within a certain mileage and time frame. Unfortunately, I do not. Toyota said that if enough people call in to complain about this issue, the ECM replacement will turn into a recall and everyone will get reimbursed. So if you have this problem, call 1-800-331-4331.

- , Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #50

Dec 272011

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 141,680 miles

The check engine light came on in August 2009 and diagnosed at an ISP. A new transmission was needed. The reman transmission was ordered through an authorized Toyota dealer in August and the work was done by an ISP. Total cost was $3,300, my expense. The reman transmission came with a 1 year, unlimited mileage warranty.

In December 2011, the vehicle was having issues with shifting from a dead stop. The vehicle was not accelerating. The vehicle was not driven from that incident until February 16, 2012 when it was brought to an authorized Toyota dealer for diagnosis. The vehicle now had 141,680 miles (15,000 miles from the transmission replacement).

The next day, I was told by the Service Adviser that the vehicle should have had the new ECM when the transmission was replaced in 2009. I explained that the reman transmission was purchased from their parts department and that the parts guy should have explained that with the transmission replacement, a new ECM would be needed. That was not communicated. He explained that my vehicle had a reman transmission with the old computer. I was told that the parts guy would not necessarily know what is needed unless there was a footnote and if the footnote was read!

The service adviser gave me an estimate of $5300 for another transmission and ECM.

In fact, that is the reason why the original transmission failed...due to a faulty ECM which Toyota full admits through TSBs.

I called Toyota customer service to explain the situation. They said the dealer would need to make a decision for assistance. The girl explained that Toyota placed a warranty extension on the vehilce for 10 years or 150K miles and it sure sounded like that was the original issue I had with the vehicle and it sure would have been reimbursable if within the 10 years or 150K miles.

She then offered to set up a call back from the Customer Relations Manager at the authorized dealer. I called the service advisor at the dealer, relayed what I was told and he said "no way, this is a decision for corporate. We do not have goodwill, goodwill is offered by Toyota, as we are only a franchise".

I waited over 10 days to hear back from anyone. In between, I was calling the customer service center asking for the status of my call back. It was finally 10 days after my original call, that someone called back. I missed his call.

I called 3 times and finally spoke to the "supervisor" who stated "the vehicle is no longer under warranty and there is nothing that we can do". I explained the entire situation, as I was relying on what the original person "heard". His name should have just been Polly, as he just repeated the same line, over and over and advised that this is "our final decision". Zero consideration and the company is taking the position that this is acceptable.

So, here I am with a 2002 vehicle with 141,000 miles and from 2009 to present, Toyota feels that it is okay for a customer to fling money out of the car window, to the tune of $8,600 to run the vehicle for 1.5 years when it was clearly due to a faulty component. I think this is a poor decision.

Incidentally, we had leased a Camry. We cannot wait until the lease is over because so will the "relationship" with Toyota.

- , Nanuet, NY, USA

problem #49

Sep 152009

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2 years later after replacing the transmission control module, I received a letter from Toyota to acknowledge there is a known problem with the Rav4 2002 transmission control module and offer a "Reimbursement". After I sent all the receipt, proof of repair, cashed check, Toyota Sale USA declined to pay back the expense... This definitely a scam from the auto salesman of TOYOTA. Since I'm too busy to fight over this, I gave up ... I'm pissed !! I do not think it is a wise move from Toyota sale office trying to save the legit cost by denying the reimbursement ... They definitely can count me out as a future Toyota buyer as well as any of my friends that I can share this unpleasant experience. Looking for buying cars from others except Toyota !!

- , Stafford, TX, USA

problem #48

Sep 262011

RAV4 Limited 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,500 miles

Hi, You would think Toyota has so much credibility that you'll never come across such a thing but it's all about making the profit ..Not about the happiness for the consumers after all I have paid arm and leg!. How could a great looking family car have such a major error? The engine light came on at first, I tried everything, could not go off. second thing transmission start delaying / skipping with a loud noise, you could be in a traffic next thing you know your car won't move for a second or two, I have to fully stop then start moving slowly. If Toyota knew this Why..? or they could have authorized recall or International one time fix because I bought mine from the UK, so it's not only North American made. I'm from Canada but live in Africa, I bought this thing as an investment, in Africa if you take care of your car after few years you can still sell in a good price. I don't know if that would happen for me! it gets so crazy you keep asking your self why ..? definitely it's not a cheap toy not to mention it's Toyota How? What a disappointment I don't think my self or anyone I know will ever buy and goods for Toyota unless other wise they take some sort of responsibility to acknowledge the issues.

- , Nairobi, Kenya, Kenya

problem #47

Jun 012011

RAV4 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,536 miles

Bought 2002 Rav 4 from retired couple, had 103000km in August 2010. Trans started actiing up 3 weeks ago at 127000 km. Engine light came on June 14/11, bucking light a bronco. Took it in to Laking Toyota in Sudbury & was told the ecm & tranny needed replacing, $5800.00 bucks. Researched on internet, common problem with 01 to 03 Ravs with auto trans, some much so that Toyota US has extended warranty to 10 yrs, 150000 miles but Toyota Canada has not followed suit, what a crock of sh*t. Every case is reviewed individualy in Canada. If you haven't baught a new Toyota lately or spent money there you are sh*t out of luck. My file was denied by Toyota Canada. I will be starting a class action law suit, so all 01-03 Canadian Rav4 owners let's join together, this is a dangerous problem & Toyota Canada knows it, see you on facebook.

- , Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

problem #46

Dec 032010

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

My 2002 Rav4 was bucking and hesitating. When on the highway at high speeds...no problems...in the stop and go of city traffic....it was awful. Nailed the gas pedal and would only go about 5 mph. After alot of googling and searching...found the same issues with other 2002 rav4 owners and took it to my local authorized toyota dealer. They TRIED to tell me it was not covered since I was at 84,000 miles (80,000 was the cut off)...but after I was adament about it, saying they had already checked the ECM and why didn't they take care of this THEN? I was told I WAS coverd since the recall had been extended to 100,000 miles. DON'T LET ANYONE TELL YOU IT'S YOUR TRANSMISSION AND DON'T PAY FOR IT!!!!!!!!!

- , Stuart, FL, USA

problem #45

Jul 122010

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,040 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been a loyal Toyota owner with a 1995 Camry and a 2002 Rav4. On my way to work, driving the Rav4, it began jerking incessantly and I was unable to speed up when traffic permitted me to do so. Once I could speed up, the car showed a lot of resistance. I could not even make it to work and had the car towed to the mechanic. It was determined, that the transmission needed to be replaced/rebuilt and without any hesitation, I paid to resolve that

- , West Covina, CA, USA

problem #44

Jul 122010

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,040 miles

I have been a loyal Toyota owner with a 1995 Camry and a 2002 Rav4. On my way to work, driving the Rav4, it began jerking incessantly and I was unable to speed up when traffic permitted me to do so. Once I could speed up, the car showed a lot of resistance. I could not even make it to work and had the car towed to the mechanic. It was determined, that the transmission needed to be replaced/rebuilt and without any hesitation, I paid to resolve that issue. Not even an entire week later, after getting my Rav4 back, the same issues were back with a vengeance. I brought it back to the mechanic and now it was the ECM that was the issue. They reset it but it was determined by another mechanic (I believe in 2nd opinions) that the ECM needed to be replaced.

I am in the hole financially and need all the help I can get. It was from this site that I was made aware of the reimbursements Toyota was issuing. I called and spoke with a rep. for more than an hour. It sounded as though the help I needed was going to come through. It wasn't until the end of the conversation with the Toyota rep. in which I found out that my particular VIN was EXCLUDED from the reimbursement qualification without ANY explanation. (I felt like that sad little kid that was told there was no Santa Claus on Christmas morning.) I'm am trying to find a way to get this reimbursement since ALL my complaints and issues fall into this category. HELP!!!

- , West Covina, CA, USA

problem #43

Jun 232010

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles

July 16, 2010 Dear Sirs,

The Toyota Rav 4 '02 ECM issue just happened to me. Apparently this is do to lousy parts within the ECM computer that eventually fail to operate correctly after a certain time - usually around 60,000 to 100,000 mileage. (I have read the parts fail do to heat and wear and was a common problem among the ECMs included in the 2001-2003 Rav 4s with auto-transmission).

See Toyota Service Bulletin TSB TC002-06 Revised - March 3, 2006.

About three weeks ago my transmission/shifting between 1st and 2nd gears acted up. It wasn't a small, nagging issue that built up, it was pretty sudden. One week it was fine and then I had 2 small shifting incidents (shaking) in a 2 week period, and then the next week, after about 5-8 days of more local "stop and go" driving, my lower gear's shifting would not work properly - every shift from 1st to 2nd was delayed and harsh. My 2002 RAV4 has 98K on it. I may need to get a new transmission and/or ECM and I don't think Toyota will cover any of the costs of either. I have thought about trading it in so I wouldn't have to deal with these issues, but I do like my Rav 4.

I am hoping (after doing all the online research and making some official complaints to CR, BBB and other safety groups) that maybe Toyota will provide (or be forced to provide) payments or coverage in some way for this serious safety issue (essentially stalling in the middle of intersections, when needing acceleration from a stopped position.)

When speaking with Toyota service and performing their $100 computer diagnostics (before the 'check engine' light came on - the light has since come on and remains on- obviously I haven't driven it for a few weeks now) I was told that the transmission would most likely need to be replaced. I had only driven it for 3 weeks after first noticing the problem and really only 1 since the trouble was continuous and the engine light came on. I hope to fix the problem by either having the ECM rebuilt ($500) or purchasing a new one ($1000). Hopefully, l didn't drive it too much before the ECM ruined my transmission ($5000). Since the car is only worth about $6000 total anyway.

While I understand that I am out of warranty and I suppose it is too hopeful to think that Toyota would take care of this issue, I am quite disappointed with the service I received from Toyota. It may not have been too upsetting if I simply had to replace the ECM but I may have to purchase a transmission to replace the one that a poorly built computer ruined AND in addition, the local Toyota service technician STILL is not really sure what is wrong -- even though they SEE the shifting problem, HAVE the ECM to test and can VIEW the transmission. I have read that the Trans-axle solenoids are also a possibility.

I plan to go back to Toyota service and tell them the engine light is now on and might buy a new ECM part there from their parts group, but I have not decided (I hope I can get credit for the $100 diagnostics that told me essentially NOTHING that I didn't already learn from the web). Obviously, I don't have much confidence in Toyota service or their parts anymore.

Thanks for reading my BEEF,

Jon Wilkens

- , Lindenhurst, IL, USA

problem #42

Sep 012008

RAV4 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,500 miles

Car began sliding out of gear, or wouldn't go into gear while I was driving it. Started just one month out of warranty, and dealer refused to replace. Got lower quote from local transmission specialist - after they installed the new transmission, it still wasn't working. Then we discovered the ECU also had to be replaced. When I went back to dealer, he wouldn't replace it at no cost, charged me $500 to replace it. When I told him I had found numberous complaints online about the 2002 Rav4 transmission failing, he said he'd never heard of such a thing. When I asked if this had anything to do with the "notice" I received to bring the car in to "adjust" something on it earlier in the year, which I'd done, he said that didn't have anything to do with it. Toyota is lying. These cars need to be recalled, and those of us who put out the money need to be reimbursed!!

- , Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #41

May 302010

RAV4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

While driving home I felt my car trying to shift on its own. The problem happened once on that particular drive. The next day I was unable to drive a block from my house without my car constantly fighting to shift on its own. After taking it to a mechanic who specializes in transmission repair and having him run a diagnostic check we were told that nothing showed up and he would have to take the cover off to look inside. Once inside he discovered that the main computer was malfunctioning. He informed me that I would need to replace the computer ($1,135) and have it installed in order for him to tell me what OTHER repairs were needed on my transmission. He also advised me to contact my Toyota Dealer to ask if this was a recall situation, as he had just completed the same repair on another 02 Rav4 that same week!

I contacted my dealer and received the word "No, there is no recall on that. Yes, I and Toyota are aware that it is a continuous problem on that model. Is that it?" IS THAT IT! For me that was all I needed to hear to convince myself that that is it for me and Toyota! I have now been without my families only car for 3 weeks and the total repair cost thus far is $1,586.00 and the only words from Toyota are Is that it?

Update from Jun 22, 2010: I contacted Toyota, they admitted to being aware of the problem but it is not a recall at this time. I filed a safety complaint with NHTSA and was also informed by my mechanic that Toyota has known about this problem since 2006 but advised all dealers to not pass the info onto the consumer. At this time I did not have to have a new transmission but a few minor repairs for a total bill of $2,000. I was also told by my mechanic that a new transmission is a very real possibility in the near future. The total estimate on that fromt he Toyoata dealer----$4,000 plus labor!

- , Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #40

May 152010

RAV4 L 2.0L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Ok, so I am having the same problem....3 weeks ago I was out getting flowers and going to the store. I put my car in reverse and there was a big thunk. It drove fine to the next store and then when I went to drive home I had to rev the engine to about 3000 RPM to get it to even move and then it would come to a screeching halt and then with a big thunk and jerk it would shift into 2nd gear and then shimmy and shake and come to another screeching halt and then shift into 3rd gear and then it was fine. Took to our car care place and they ran diagnostics on it and recommended an excellent transmission specialist. The transmission specialist was great but they ran into several problems....

Toyota of Cincinnati was being a real PIA sending the wrong parts and not being helpful and being very rude. Then the Transmission shop wasn't aware of the ECM involvment - Toyota of Cincinnati claims they don't know anything about it :). So, the transmission place did some research on their own and found out the ECM problem and began to Deal with Kerry Toyota in Covington KY, who knew all about the problem and rushed the transmission place all the needed parts including the new ECM and were very helpful. So, I contacted Toyota to see if there was anything that could be done to help with reimbursement.....of course not, but I wanted to document the complaint. I have now loged a complain the Car Saftey and I am going to log another with the Ohio Attorney General. A few of you have mentioned that you have the internal documents from Toyota about the problem. I would appreciate it if you could email them to me - Thanks!

I have had 4 Toyotas, but I won't have a 5th.....

Update from Jul 28, 2010: I just recieved this email yesterday from the Center from Auto Saftey and I am exstatic. Be on the look out for your notification or contact your dealer for what to do.

"We just got Toyota to extend the warranty on the transmission & ECU to 10 years/150,000 miles so you should get reimbursed now. See

Under pressure from the California Air Resources Board, Toyota said on Tuesday that it was extending the warranty nationwide on automatic transmissions and electronic control modules on almost one quarter of a million 2001–3 RAV4s and offering to reimburse owners who had already paid for repairs. Toyota previously refused to help consumers whose vehicles were out of the normal power train warranty (six years or 60,000 miles) when their transmissions were damaged, apparently by a malfunctioning electronic control module. Toyota has already begun informing dealers of the new policy and will be sending owners a letter soon, said Brian Lyons, a Toyota spokesman.

Click here to view the entire article from the New York Times"
Good luck everyone!!!

- , Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #39

May 072010

RAV4 L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

TOYOTA TRAVESTY CALL YOUR NEWSPAPER & TELL THE STORY. DON"T LET THIS COMPANY OFF THE HOOK FOR BEING CROOKS!!!

When I lost my journalism job of 9 years in '08 and had to go back to school I had only one more payment on my 2002 Toyota RAV 4. I paid it and sighed with relief, at least I didn't have to worry about any car problems or payments while I tried to get back on my feet!

OR SO I THOUGHT until May 7, 2010. I drove to Chicago and missed a driveway by about 100 ft. I broke to a full stop, reversed and pressed the gas.. there was a delay while the engine revved and seemed to lose all its ability to move the car then a stutter and lurch and I heard a horrible clunk. Transmission, I said, oh no! WHY? The shifting went to crud and the transmission slipped and clunked. I parked it that same day and while I was away a friend took it to a dealer in Chicago.

They did a "diagnostic" and when she came to pick it up they said transmission is going, $200 for the diagnostic but we can't take a credit card "right now" so she brought it home to await my return and decision. .

I got back to town almost 2 weeks later drove it - clunking and slipping something awful- about 3 miles to same dealership to pay up. When I pulled up I asked a random mechanic and he said "Ohh I remember this car," I said "Is it true is the transmission going? Did I do anything wrong? Did I not do something I was supposed to do?" He assured me that I had not caused the problem that I had kept it nice and it just happens sometimes "when the mileage gets high "(105,000). I protested "But I thought Toyota's were supposed to last forever. That is WHY I bought this car. What is the deal?" Am I just incredibly unlucky? Are you sure I didn't do something wrong? He said "I've seen it before on a few of them." "You definitely didn't cause this. It just happened." I asked, "So what is it going to cost me to fix it? Do you recommend putting more money into it at this point? Or just giving up on it?" "It's going to cost about $4,500 at this point and no I wouldn't put the money in if I was in your shoes." "And the bill?" I said. "Oh we'll take care of that," he shrugged. Now that should have tipped me off!

I wanted to cry but instead I drove home 95 miles at 35 miles an hour and super gently and never once did the transmission slip on me during that drive. The next day it did it again. Now it's in my hometown transmission shop, they called and told me about this widespread and deceptive problem with the 2002 RAV4 computer and the fact that Toyota is hiding it and not repairing it. I'm disgusted,I'm telling everyone I know about this. Starting with the newspaper. They will be interested since it's already a hot story about the hybrids. Do the same!!!

Now I'm going to park it, file a complaint and call my local paper about it, I recommend you do the same. Give Toyota bad press in the media, call write email tweet don't let them slip out of the responsibility for doing this to us!

MAYBE WE'LL GET A RECALL IF WE KEEP THE HEAT ON AND PUSH THE ISSUE

WIth the RAV 4 I was completely satisfied to be getting what I paid for; reliability safety, endurance, comfort, hauling space, all weather confidence and style. I could have been on a commercial .I took care of my Toyota faithfully, my coworkers would laugh at me when I took it in EVERY 3,000 miles because they felt it would be fine every 5,000. It was the first car I ever drove that I was proud to own. I researched it inside and out; automotive journal reviews, consumer reviews, resale value, crash test safety, reliability, gas mileage, company standards. The only complaint I ever saw about it anywhere as I searched in 2004 was that the stereo system could be better. Owners and professionals raved about this car. I was so excited! I knew exactly what I wanted and I found it, used with just over 20,000 miles and in perfect condition. It had a sun roof, leather seats and tinted windows to boot all under $18,000. Can I tell you how many people complimented it and how many people I told to get one? At least one did. Now I feel terrible.

I have no way of paying $4,000 to replace the computer and transmission. I'm going to try to get Toyota to repair it free because it IS their fault. Wish me luck. I wish you luck too. I'll try to update you with what happenes.

- , South Bend, IN, USA

problem #38

Dec 062009

RAV4 L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

In December 2009 I came out to drive my car to work and it would not shift gears. The engine was running the e -brake was off but shifting was impossible. After experimenting with it for a while the battery seemed to suddenly die no radio no power locks no interior lights nothing so I went got a new battery and replaced it. It started again but still would not shift. I found the emergency shift release button and by holding it down I got it to shift for me, a hard shift but it got me reversed out of the driveway and the problem completely disappeared. . until May 2010 when the transmission tragedy unfolded.to be continued in complaint 2

- , South Bend, IN, USA

problem #37

May 202010

RAV4 L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles

Like everyone else. 129K carefree miles then classic ECU/ECM problem & subsequent transmission damage (sound last Dec. and cleared by dealer) . When serious shutter & mis-shifting occurring, taken to trusted garage mechanic who though it was transfer case then replaced transmission solenoid. No better so to dealer getting the "bad news". Transmission toast and it will cost $5-6000 for new tranny & labor. It's pretty obvious that Toyota is stone-walling this and we only want an equitable split on the cost as we have been loyal customers for years with this vehicle & our P/U. A TSB was issued on this problem in 2006 as "harsh shifting" but never reached the recall threshold. Market value of vehicle which is otherwise in great condition about $8500. Time to walk away as salvage and/or a donation?

- , Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #36

May 112010

RAV4 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles

I'm very disappointed that Toyota didn't send info on the problem with the ECM,Guess they don't appreciate their customers well enough to keep them informed so it doesn't cost them more.Had they told everyone about the problem which they knew about I myself could have just gotten out of it before it happened it is still running but i am trying to see about cost don't know at this time if the transmission has damage until I replace EMC.I special ordered my Rav4 waited 4 months to get it now I have the same issue as everyone else TOYOTA SHOULD STAND BEHIND THIS PROBLEM WE PAID GOOD MONEY FOR THESE CARS I EXPECT TO HAVE KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM IN A TIMELY MANNER EVEN WITH HAVING MY CAR PAID FOR I THINK WE SHOULD TAKE THIS TO THE NEWS AND ADD THIS TO ALL OF TOYOTA'S OTHER PROBLEM THAT THEY ARE HAVING WITH THE GAS PEDALS WHICH THEY WERE COVERING UP.PLEASE CONTACT ME IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO TURN ALL THIS OVER TO NEWS STATIONS.tammyr4398@embarqmail.com or 832-445-9386

- , Humble, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?