Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
211,233 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota RAV4 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Oct 022013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles


The "air bag" light came on last month. I took my car to the Toyota dealer and he diagnosed a problem with the cable to the airbag, with a price tag of almost $600 to repair. The danger was that the air bags would likely not deploy in a crash. (my own local mechanic told me that the air bags would definitely not deploy). There are many other reports/complaints of this problem in Rav4S in the years of 2006-08. This is a safety issue and there should be a recall of these vehicles by Toyota in order to insure the safety of their customers. Toyota should provide for this service as it is very expensive and puts lives at stake. Toyota has agreed to assist me by paying half the repair fee, for which I'm grateful. However, I continue to believe this is a dangerous defect and should be repaired as a recall.

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #25

Oct 282013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 133,700 miles
The airbag warning light came on and stayed on last week. Took it to my local repair shop. Without even looking they guessed that it was the clockspring. After bringing it in and reading the comptuer codes, they confirmed that the clockspring needs to be replaced. Shop said they cannot buy an aftermakert part anymore and need to get an oem part from Toyota, which is expensive. Called Toyota dealer service center to just double check if there is any official recall for this problem. Apparently there is a similar recal on the Tundra but not the Rav4.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #24

Nov 022013


  • 54,495 miles
The airbag warning light in my 2006 rav 4 has activated. This car has never been in a crash. The repair is $500-$600 and can only be performed by a Toyota dealer--a monopoly. This is a safety issue and has been a problem with several of the Toyota vehicles manufactured during this time period. I am afraid to drive this car until I can afford the fix. On a teacher's salary, this has impeded my ability to get to my job safely. The car has low mileage and should not be defective or putting lives at risk. I beg you to review this issue in the interest of public safety.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #23

Aug 012013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 100,500 miles


The airbag warning light began staying on after engine start. After Toyota inspection this was due to a failed clock spring/spiral wire in the steering wheel that controls the airbag and other steering wheel electrical controls. Further online investigation showed this to be a common fault with Toyota vehicles especially Rav4's of 2006/7/8 vintage with in excess of 70,000 miles - this was also confirmed by my Toyota dealer. There is a strong probability the driver airbag would fail to deploy in an accident due to the wire shorting out. The diagnosis and fix at a Toyota dealer was quoted as $509 which will I am sure prevent many people from fixing this. No independent mechanics I asked would work on the airbag system - they all said it had to be fixed by Toyota who then can charge an excessive amount for the work.

- Newmarket, NH, USA

problem #22

Aug 012013


  • 90,000 miles
Airbag light illumination, failed clock spring (extremely typical with Toyota) - out of warranty of course!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

Jul 012013


  • 125,000 miles
My airbag light on my 2006 Toyota Rav4 is on due to manufacturing defect. Toyota recalled the 2007 and 2008 models for the same reason. There are hundreds if not thousands of complaint about this issue on the internet. I contacted premier Toyota in amherst Ohio about this matter and the service manager[xxx] told me it would be $300 to test it and $500 to fix it. This is a safety issue that should be addressed as a manufacturers defect. Any help you can give me in this matter would be appreciated. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #20

Jun 302013


  • 70,000 miles


While driving the vehicle the air bag light came on. After checking the owners manual we made an appointment with the local dealer. They explained the problem was in the clock in the air bag mechanism and needed replaced or the air bag would not deploy in a crash. The vehicle has been garage kept and well maintained. I think a Toyota recall should be in order since this is a safety issue and involves many Toyota rav-4 vehicles. The Toyota dealership wants 600 dollars to fix the problem. I really can't afford it but my wife depends on the vehicle, and to insure her safety, I'm going to have to find the money to get the work done. Help !! how about a recall "?"

- Smithville , WV, USA

problem #19

Jan 152013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
My 2006 Toyota Rav4 airbag dash light began remaining on constantly and was diagnosed by findlay Toyota in flagstaff, AZ on 3/20/13 with: "recommend replacing spiral cable due to open circuit in spiral cable... $583 to replace sensor." I called Toyota customer experience center at 1-800-331-4331 on 6/19/13 and spoke with [xxx], who confirmed that no recalls are available for this problem on the Rav4S, despite this issue being the exact same as found in Toyota Tacoma: March 08, 2012 customer faqs for Toyota Tacoma steering wheel spiral cable assembly recall 1. which models are involved in the recall" Toyota is recalling 495,000 certain 2005 to early 2009 model year Toyota Tacoma vehicles sold in the U.S. no other vehicles are involved in this recall. 2. what is the condition? due to the combination of the steering wheel spiral cable design and characteristics unique to the Tacoma chassis, friction between the spiral cable and the retainer in the steering wheel spiral cable assembly may occur in some vehicles. Friction over time may result in damage to certain circuits that provide connectivity to the driver?S air bag module. If connectivity is lost, the air bag warning lamp will remain illuminated, and the driver?S air bag may become deactivated, preventing deployment in the event of a crash. 3. are there any warnings that this condition has occurred" yes. The airbag warning light is designed to illuminate when the vehicle is started. It goes off after about 6 seconds, indicating the system is operating as designed. If the airbag warning light remains illuminated after this period, please contact your local Toyota dealer for diagnosis and appropriate repair. This exact condition exists in my 2006 Rav4, however, I cannot afford the $583 required for an authorized dealer to repair it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cottonwood, AZ, USA

problem #18

Oct 182012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Air bag warning light came on. Took it to dealer says clock spring assembly needs to be replaced before they can determine if that is the problem.

- Mt View, HI, USA

problem #17

Feb 072013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I'm pretty sure the airbag malfunction warning light of my 2006 Rav4 is not a matter of wear an tear. There are several complaints on 2006-2008 ravs4 with identical problem. You don't want to hear this, but is hardly difficult to find a way to get in contact with Toyota motors, it seemed that they do not want to hear from the Toyota owner?S problems. Moreover, I explained them the airbags warning light illuminates sporadically at approximately 72,000 miles at 45 miles/hour and now remains on with no apparent reason, I drove my car to the dealer trying to get my car repaired by Toyota, but they doesn't assume any responsibility due that the malfunction occurred after 3 year or 60,000 miles of warranty. I have noticed they have an air bags recall campaign for 2007 and newer ravs4, so it does seem suspicious at first glance because 2006 is not included even though many owners have experienced and filed complaints against Toyota due to the same problem. Realistically this is a safety matter, so 2006 Toyota Rav4 needs to be recalled.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #16

Mar 012013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 77,690 miles


Air bag warning light went on shortly after vehicle (2006 Toyota Rav4) was started on 3/1/13, before driving at approximately 77690 miles. Took to Toyota dealership service department at first available appointment (3/4/13). Told that air bag spiral cable needs to be replaced or air bag will not deploy in a crash. (no explanation given on what is wrong with the current.) part needs to be special ordered at a $280.22 cost with $99 service charge plus tax. Advised against taking to independent auto repair shop as it may not stop the warning light from going on. Vehicle is well maintained and has not been in any crashes or driven in a turbulent way.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #15

Oct 222012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 90,944 miles
Air bag warning light illuminated. Illuminated sporadically at first, now stays on all the time. Noticed it would come on at first while cornering, believe it to be related to the wiring in the steering column for the air bags. This is a common failure on this model. There should be a recall on this safety related problem.

- Levant, ME, USA

problem #14

Sep 022011

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
Airbag light came on and I took car to my dealer (for repair of another problem) on 9/22/11. I was informed that the spiral cable controlling the driver airbag was defective and that it would be about $500 or more to repair. I told then that I felt that it should be Toyota's problem to repair since it was definitely a safety hazard should I become involved in an accident. I have since found out that this is a common problem with Toyota's, especially rav 4's. this should really be a recall priority.

- Twin Lakes, CO, USA

problem #13

Dec 152012


  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic and was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure and current mileages were 103,000. The VIN was not available.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #12

Nov 122012


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 68,647.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 172012

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles
Air bag light came on. Mechanic says the clockspring in the steering column needs to be replaced at a cost of $600. Failure of the airbag clockspring in 2005-2009 Toyota Tacoma pickups is the subject of an existing recall (NHTSA campaign id number: 12V092000); believe this is related.

- American Fork, UT, USA

problem #10

Nov 152011

RAV4 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. While parked, the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel intermittently. After some time, the warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician advised that the wiring in the air bag assembly, which was located in the steering column, would have to be replaced. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V245000 (air bags) that could have been related the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact that the recall did not included the 2006 model vehicles, only the 2007-2008 models. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 11/14/12 updated 11/15/12

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #9

Oct 012012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 107,725 miles
The air bag sensor light came on while driving. I took my car into a Toyota dealership and the told me there was a problem with the air bag spiral cable and it would cost $486 to fix. They also said that my air bags are disabled because of this so would not go off in the event of a wreck. I have done research and this is a very common problem in 2006 Rav4 models. I would like to file a complaint against Toyota, I believe this is something we should not have to pay to fix as it is clearly a design flaw and affects our safety every time we drive the car. I personally will not be able to fix this, I can't afford it, and I do not think we should even be responsible to paying for this in the first place. Air bags should have a lifetime warranty.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 152012


  • miles
Air bag light stays on.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #7

Sep 032012


  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that the SRS warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 76,000.

- Yarmouth, ME, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?