Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,456 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Nov 042013

RAV4

  • 148,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car is consuming oil, consumes most engine oil in a 1,000 miles. Oil check reveals no oil without any warning oil light. The engine could fail while driving without notice. This is a known problem with 2007 Toyota rav 4S. There should be a recall. Brought it to the dealer and they did not disclose this known problem.

- Pownal, ME, USA

problem #32

Jan 202013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I have noticed multiple occasions since 01/20/13 that my Rav4 has been low on oil. I have had it checked, and have checked it myself, and have found it to be so low it doesn't even register on the dipstick, and only after driving less than 1000 miles. Each time this has happened I have had to add anywhere from 1-3 quarts of oil to get it to where it should be on the dipstick. There are no leaks under the vehicle, and there's no noticeable smoke coming from the exhaust. I have been advised by my mechanic that this is an ongoing problem with multiple years of Rav4 vehicles. I am scared to continue driving, with having to constantly check the oil, but I have no choice as I don't have a second vehicle. I feel Toyota has left me holding the bag for a defect they won't admit is their faulty equipment/engineering.

- Alexandria, PA, USA

problem #31

Nov 252013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 62,729 miles
My son was driving home from work when the car stopped performing properly. Shaking and no acceleration. He had to reduce speed and wave people past him on a 2-lane road. I took the car to the mechanic, the next day with the same difficulty. Drove with hazard lights on. My mechanic reported the car had less than 1 quart of oil, and the engine was blown. I felt that was not possible. Never any oil in driveway. Oil had been changed within last 4 months and 4000 miles. The car has less than 63000 miles and has been maintained. The check engine oil light never came on. It makes no sense. Cost for new engine is $7,000. I did some research. Google "Toyota oil consumption issue". numerous reports of the exact same issue. Toyota even has a service bulletin T-sb-0094-11 that describes this very issue for this very make and VIN. Only it isn't a recall, and unless you are a dealer service center you do not receive the bulletin. So unfortunately, the way Toyota is handling this, you learn about this issue only after the car gives out. This is outrageous. My 18 year old daughter used this vehicle to drive to school every day! with my 16 and 13 year old sons as passengers! it is plain luck that the car didn't give out while she was driving them all in rush hour morning traffic. This engine defect is all well documented. It seems like Toyota is ducking and dodging responsibility for a defect they acknowledged in their very own service bulletin" how is this possible" *updated 12/17/13

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #30

Jul 162013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Toyota Rav4 I bought it on 06/21/11 used with 51,251 miles in excellent shape in a holler dealer I purchased an extra insurance from Toyota dealer which promised free oil change, about 4 months ago I did a regular check I checked the oil to my surprise there was no oil I put 2 and a half quarts of oil in the vehicle I find it weird or rare this situation but I did nothing at the time so on 11/26/13 I checked it again no oil and what's amazing is the light never came on like the first time. I started researching the oil consumption to my shock I find that the Toyota Rav4 2006-2008 have a problem that was traced to the piston assembly and rings. I also found out a lot of complaints about the same situation with other owners with a Toyota Rav4 I believe this should be a problem Toyota should be responsible for and fix this issue I also ask for someone to investigate the Toyota dealer the type of oil they use to replace the oil since once I smelled the oil from the dipstick it smelled not normal like it should in conclusion I ask this issue to be handled with immediately.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #29

Aug 142013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
My wife noticed oil lite came on and went off in a split second. After that the car shut off car was checked no oil. Motor blew up. Called Toyota and refused to do anything. Had to put a jasper engine in. Cost out of pocket $4990 and $1000 to install new engine. I believe with all the other reveiws with the same problem and poor engine design Toyota needs to pay for the engine that customers had to pay out of pocket. I have my paper work for proof and mechanic also. If any info on this please email me asap [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Keedysville , MD, USA

problem #28

Jun 052013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
This model Toyota has a record of stuck oil rings causing excessive oil consumption which leads to failure of engine and catalytic converter. See New York times Oct 14,2011 and the hundreds of on line complaints about using one quart of oil every 1 K miles. In April of this year my dealer did a complete check with oil change, in June the oil was down one quart and in September I did another oil change with only two quarts of oil left in the pan when it takes 4-1/2 quarts. I took my rav 4 to the dealer(11-23-2013) I bought it from and without looking at it I was told the oil rings get stuck and I need an engine repair for $2,660 plus tax and most likely a new catalytic converter for $2,500. I had them check it out and I got a written document with the repair that is needed documented. This "needs" to be a recall item. If a car doing 70mph has an engine failure due to loss of oil then the person will loose steering and brake control leading to a serious accident and most likely death. Toyota did two recalls on my car in April, door switch needed a drop of oil and rear suspension needed to be re-torqued. Made a big deal out of what cost pennies to fix. Now a $2,660 engine repair and we need to go to small claims court of class action suit or plead to you to help us get this a recall item.

- Kennewick, WA, USA

problem #27

Oct 262013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Rav4 has been consuming lots of engine oil lately and I have to get the oil refilled for couple of months this year before its service is due. On 10/18/13, the check engine oil warning light again started so I took it to get the oil refilled and the service guy told me to bring it back after a week so we can check the oil level again. So it took it back on 10/26/13 and was surprised to find that my Rav4 had burned I quart oil in just 8 days. I don't know what to do. I read similar reviews in edmunds website regarding this engine oil issue with Rav4 models. Is there any solution? my warranty has expired and I am the only owner of this vehicle.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 182013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 71,700 miles
I have just experienced sudden acceleration while pulling into a parking spot. I slammed on the brake and it didn't want to stop. I ended up bumping the car in front of me as I continued to brake. The engine was still surging and wouldn't go into reverse. I called mountain states Toyota here in denver and explained the problems to the service manager. He told me that he had never heard of such a thing. There are numerous complaints with the same issue on the internet. The service manager, of course, is telling me that if they cannot reproduce it and it is not showing error codes(which it isn't) there isn't anything they can do. I told him I wanted the acceleration system thoroughly inspected...which he wants to charge me for unless they do find an issue. By what I have seen on the internet, it is useless to take it in as Toyota is ignoring the issue, thinking they fixed it with the floor mats. I had the floor mats replaced on that recall well before this issue came up. I have also had many experiences with the engine surging and hesitating with the tach showing the surge. It is intermittent and cannot be reproduced, but it is getting worse over time. I now believe that this is related to the acceleration issue I described above. I am afraid to drive it now as it could happen on a busy street and really hurt someone and me.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #25

Aug 092013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Contacted Toyota about low engine oil and they said that the engine needed to be replaced. The service rep called it internal engine failure and seemed very familiar with the problem. They said that it was not part of a recall. I expected alot more than 100000 miles out of this car before a major repair like this.

- Georgetown, MA, USA

problem #24

Jul 302013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
Driving down a freeway when a loud clunking sound came from the engine, had to pull over and had the car towed. And as it ends up the Rav4, which had every single service on time and without problems, had somehow burned up all it's engine oil and caused thousands of dollars of damage to my engine. The service department at the Toyota dealer refuse to explain how this could happen to a perfectly healthy car and refuse to acknowledge this exact problem in hundreds of other 2007 Rav4's. in addition, they fail to take responsibility for this obvious fault of theirs and continue to put their "valued" customers in danger as this could have resulted in a serious accident. I am being told that the engine was left with only 1/2 quart of oil from the previous service which was 4 mos prior to this which caused the engine to be destroyed. I have no idea, and am being kept in the dark, about why the engine lost oil.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #23

Oct 202007

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph the fwd, engine and stability control warning indicators illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis and the oxygen sensor was replaced. On a separate occasion while driving in reverse the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated and the rpms increased. The gear lever was shifted into park and the engine was turned off. The vehicle was previously repaired under a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V113000 (vehicle speed control). The problem existed before the recall and persisted after the recall remedy repair was performed. The vehicle was repaired five times due to the unintended acceleration. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The failure mileage and VIN were unavailable.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #22

Aug 042013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
This car is burning (not leaking) oil. I got my oil changed (at 3000 mile interval) today and the mechanic says there was almost no oil left in the engine. My last oil change was 3 months ago and I noticed the same problem then.

- Blauvelt, NY, USA

problem #21

Jul 292011

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Excessive oil consumption. I have observed excessive oil consumption between oil changes the oil lamp glows showing there is more than normal oil consumption. Toyota dealers have run tests but have failed to identify problem or suggest a solution.

- Edison , NJ, USA

problem #20

May 012013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Excessive oil use uses 1 qt every 1500 miles Toyota is aware the problem - has released a technical service bulletin - but no warranty coverage I even ran a oil consumtion test with the Toyota dealer to prove it - but dealer claims this is exceptable.

- St Anthony, MN, USA

problem #19

Jul 022013

RAV4

  • 80,000 miles
Oil light came on. I stopped and checked the oil, and it was bone dry. It was down 3 quarts of oil. The car burns approximately a quart of oil per 1000 miles.

- Lakeville, MA, USA

problem #18

May 072013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The car sputters as though it will stall or break down. This occurs during acceleration. It is especially noticeable when driving up a hill, but it occurs randomly.

- Mattapan, MA, USA

problem #17

Jul 032013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
This vehicle is using almost 2 quarts of oil every 5000 miles. I have checked on the internet, and there is a rash of complaints on this Toyota Rav4 - 4 cylinder engine. It seems that most of them are using oil. Toyota should be doing something about this.

- Holden, ME, USA

problem #16

Jul 012013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
My 2007 Rav4 has 95,000 miles. My oil light has been going on and off when stopping. I took it to my mechanic 1200 miles before the indicated oil change and it was low on oil. He replaced the PCV valve. I am not hopeful after reading all of the comments on line.

- Norton, MA, USA

problem #15

Feb 092011

RAV4

  • miles
The vehicle drops power under light throttle under 60mph. Tach shows loss of RPM's and you can actually feel the vehicle responding to that loss. No check engine light being displayed.

- Springtown, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 062013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 49,889 miles
My 2007 Toyota Rav4 was being driven by my wife and she noticed indicator lights suddenly coming on the dashboard and the vehicle sputtering and starting to stall. Prior to the vehicle stalling, she noticed the power steering inoperable and she was having difficulty steering to bring the vehicle to the shoulder lane and to a stop. She called me and I called for emergency roadside assistance. The vehicle was restarted. At this time, as the engine ran, the power steering was still inoperable and the vehicle was undrivable. It was then towed home. My mechanic checked and found the battery to be undercharged due to a defective alternator not properly charging the battery. The battery and the alternator was replaced and the power steering and all other functions resumed back to normal. My safety concern is that the power steering unit should not have stopped functioning as long as the engine was in operation. If the braking system continued to operate normally as the engine ran, the power steering unit should also continue to operate so that the driver can stay in complete control of the vehicle. If my wife was traveling at a higher rate of speed and on a busy interstate freeway, the outcome could have been disastrous. Please look into getting Toyota to recall and correcting this safety issue on mine and other 2007 Rav4S. Thank you for your assistance. A reply would be greatly appreciated.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?