Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,737 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #229

Jun 032013


  • 150,000 miles


While backing up out of a driveway there is a loud clunk and the steer wheel shakes. While making turns at low speed and driving over pot holes the same loud clunk. The dealer said its a problem in the steering shaft that has 2 different parts. I asked the dealer about it being covered under warranty and they said no. I have read several other complaints on this same issue and a couple have been covered under warranty even thou the vehicle had over 100000 miles on it. I understand Toyota has made 2 replacement parts regarding this issue so they know there is a problem. I would like to see a national recall on this part and have Toyota cover the repairs before someone is injured or killed.

- La Verne, CA, USA

problem #228

Jun 072015


  • 128,910 miles
The car failed to start, the battery was extremely hot and had not water in it. Changed the battery, the car started properly; however, once set to drive it hesitated a bit, as if it were chocking for lack of gas but it had gas. Drove on and at about speed of 40 mph steering became hard to handle, ac and engine cut off. Restarted it drove back home... just made the last payment on the car, car was regularly serviced at the dealer.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #227

Nov 022009

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 29,884 miles
When pulling out from stop signs heard clicking noise when turning right or left. Car was repaired under warranty. Now in March 2015 noise is there again. There is a little over 80000 miles on vehicle. Bad enough it went bad idea what cost will be to repair should be recalled.

- Latrobe, PA, USA

problem #226

Aug 152014


  • 58,500 miles


As soon as I back up out of the garage, there is a clunking noise as I turn the steering wheel. It is more pronounced when I turn the wheel, more so turning to the right. I took it into have it checked out and had 2 employees drive it. They both agreed it was coming from the steering column, possibly a bracket. When I turn it almost feels like the wheel doesn't want to go any further, makes this loud clunking sound then lets go. This has been happening for the last few months and the tightness in the turn has worsened.

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #225

Dec 012014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Rav4 has developed a loud clunk and slight binding when the steering when turning at slow speeds. The diagnosis from Toyota appears to be a worn intermediate steering shaft. In my opinion, the steering shaft on this vehicle does not resemble those on other cars in that starts connected to the steering wheel and then runs vertically down through the dash area changing direction abruptly. Other vehicles have a generally straight steering shaft in line with the steering wheel axis and no abrupt changes in alignment. There appears to be significant discussions on Toyota related websites of similar Rav4 steering shaft problems. Is Toyota and the NHTSA aware of this problem and preparing an investigation or remedy.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #224

Sep 152014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that when the brakes were activated, there was an abnormal noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it diagnosed that the steering rack intermediate shaft and the water pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 37,000. Updated 3/18/15 updated 8/18/2015 updated 10/19/2015

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #223

Dec 052014


  • 77,300 miles


My 2007 Toyota Rav4 has a "clunking/popping" noise coming from what appears to be the steering linkage somewhere between the intermediate shaft and rack-and-pinion early 2014, a Toyota dealership in Indiana recommended servicing the intermediate shaft assembly via an issued Toyota service bulletin. The intermediate shaft was replaced in the spring of 2014 (cost=$1000, car mileage ~65K).I have since job relocated to New Jersey and the problem has resurfaced (car mileage ~75K).a dealership here told me that the rack-and-pinion assembly needs to be replace (est. Cost= $2000).general signs of rack-and-pinion failure as stated by the dealership and general research are not observed in my car (signs including "play/slop" in the steering wheel, loose steering, stiff steering, etc.).further research of this issue has show multiple hundreds-of-thousands of Rav4 owners inquiring about this issue either via Rav4/Toyota forums, or through the NHTSA and other third party auto safety agencies.the dealerships seem to be guessing at what the problem is, and they issue repair guidelines based only on service bulletins without fully investigating the issue.there is a serious safety concern with a "clunking/popping" noise with the steering assembly of these automobiles.owners of this (highly rated, abundantly sold) Rav4 model should be issued a recall by Toyota to have the rack-and-pinion and the intermediate shaft assembly fixed without consumer purchase.Toyota is aware of the problems, as they have issued multiple service bulletins, but have yet to deem the issue a safety concern leaving their loyal owners with repair cost in upwards of $3000 for cars that are well under 100,000 miles, but outside of Toyota's warranty period. Protecting the safety of drivers and their precious passengers, should be the number one concern of Toyota and the NHTSA.

- Raritan, NJ, USA

problem #222

May 012014


  • 50,000 miles
There are multiple knocks coming up the steering shaft at low speeds when turning the steering wheel.

- Bridgeport, CT, USA

problem #221

Sep 072014


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. While driving 65 mph, the battery warning indicator illuminated, the steering wheel seized, and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Montclair, CA, USA

problem #220

Aug 272014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 80,842 miles
I brought my vehicle to the dealer for the rear suspension recall and when I picked it up I was advised that the steering shaft needs to be replaced and there is a clunking sound when turning the wheel. The service advisor told me the shaft is cracked and could be dangerous. I never noticed any steering sounds but now that I'm specifically listening for it I do hear it. I believe that if this is a safety issue as the dealer stated then the vehicle should be recalled. Most owners will not know they have this problem since the sound is not that noticeable and I assume that if left uncorrected loss of steering will occur.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #219

Aug 232014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 68,900 miles


Very clunky and noisy steering resulting an a vague, unsafe sense of control over the vehicle. Took to the dealership and was repaired (replaced intermediate steering column). Subsequent research has shown that this is a common and well known design flaw.

- Gilroy, CA, USA

problem #218

May 152014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The steering column binds to one side or the other such that the vehicle never steers straight ahead. The situation causes the vehicle to always want to steer out of the intended lane causing driver fatigue at best and an unsafe condition when the vehicle is constantly heading out of its intended path toward other vehicles.

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #217

Aug 072009

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 10,554 miles
Steering intermediate shaft clunks and it is getting worse. Toyota has not recalled the common problem.

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #216

Jul 152014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
The electric power steering would not work. It has happened twice. The last time was July 28, 2014. We shut the car off, and restart it, and then it works ok. We are afraid that it might happen while we are driving it and we will have an accident. From online I have learned there have been a lot of occurrences of this. I'm surprised there hasn't been a recall, I think it is a real safety concern!

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #215

Jul 262014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota rav 4. the contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle lost power steering with the engine and vsc light illuminated on instrument panel. The vehicle regained power steering once the vehicle was turned off and restarted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but they could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 106,000.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #214

Jul 252014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 67,795 miles
When turning the steering wheel you can hear a clunk or a thud.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #213

Jul 032014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle and steering wheel would shake violently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the intermediate shaft was defective and had to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 81,000. Updated 10/7/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 3/11/15

- Manson, WA, USA

problem #212

Jul 062014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 109,989 miles
As daughter was entering freeway steering failed, rear-ended by 18 wheeler.

- Gardena, CA, USA

problem #211

Jul 052014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 74,627 miles
Noticed knocking/clunking noise from steering at low speed as described in T-sb-0318-08 steering intermediate shaft noiseŁ dated October 20, 2008. Took the car to a Toyota dealer to replace the steering intermediate shafts as detailed by the T-sb. Upon further inspection the technician reported that both the intermediate shaft and the steering rack have play in them and recommended that they both be replaced. The service advisor stated that this will become a safety issue if not repaired and can lead to loss of steering. The estimate for the repair was $2700 since the extended warranty has expired two month prior to taking the vehicle in. Given that there is a safety concern, I opted to have the recommended service done and paid $2731.77 for the repair. A quick internet search shows that this is a common issue with the Toyota rav for model years 2006 - 2008. Given that this is a safety issue and that some drivers might not associate the noise with a serious issue, Toyota motors should: 1.instate a recall to inspect all parts related to the steering mechanism in effected models. 2.replace all effected parts at no cost to the owner 3.reimburse diligent owners who noticed the issue, reported it to the dealers and paid to have the repair done. Best regards.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #210

Jun 122014


  • miles
Clunking sound in steering at low speed.

- St Augustine, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?