Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,737 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #209

Aug 292011

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 104,299 miles


On August 29, 2011, 19 year-old subject was traveling straight across an intersection when subject was struck on driver side by a 2010 Hyundai elantra. Subject was struck by a motorist that according to police officer report, ran a red light. Subject was proceeding straight with green light while driving a white 2007 Toyota Rav4 with approximately 104,299 miles. Subject purchased Rav4 vehicle from Toyota in April of 2011. Subject purchased 2007 Rav4 on account of the airbag safety features (head, side, front, passenger side airbags) to protect subject from injury. On August 29, 2011, subject 2007 Rav4 sustained damage from rocker panel to roof and from front left bumper to doors. Structural, suspension, wheel, and steering components were also damaged as per the appraiser's damage estimate following the August 29, 2011 accident. No airbags deployed. A letter was sent to Toyota. Calls were made to Toyota to assess the damage and Toyota denied claims of any wrongdoing or defect. Subject was injured in accident. Toyota declined to inspect vehicle. Recent notices of recalls received along with Toyota sending emails to subject to try to purchase subject Rav4 lends credibility to subject assertion that airbags should have deployed and protected subject from injury during the August 29, 2011 incident. The airbag features failed subject and failed to protect subject from injury on August 29, 2011. 2007 Rav4 was declared a total loss by geico and Liberty mutual. This accident totaled a Rav4 and no airbags deployed. Given inadequate attention was given to subject and investigation of this matter by Toyota, subject seeks investigation and remedy for injuries sustained.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #208

Dec 302013


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to dealer where the steering wheel shaft was replaced but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer a second time where it was diagnosed that the electric steering column failed but the repairs were not performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Point Pleasant Beach, NJ, USA

problem #207

May 142014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 53,574 miles
Lost power steering without warning in heavy traffic. P/S light came on at the same time. Barely avoided collision with large truck. Started engine after 20 mins., P/S light out & steering normal. Took vehicle to dealer who found code C1524 (low voltage in power steering). In order to find root of problem I need to pay $200 for diagnostic, which I refused. This is not a wear/tear issue but either a defect or malfunction. Called Toyota, asked them to pay for diagnostic & Toyota refused since vehicle is out of warrenty. Guess Toyota could care less about customer safety even though there are numerous vehicles with same complaint!

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #206

Apr 212013


  • 50,000 miles


On March 21st the ABS, vsc, traction and brake warning lights came on while driving at 35 mph in dry weather condition. When the lights were on, the ABS system was triggered making difficult to brake to stop. Since then the warning lights have been on and off and so I've been having difficulties when slowing down at a higher speed rate 60 mph, slow speed 20 mph, and even stopping. On Tuesday, April 8 I brought the Rav4 to the dealer and they said that there is nothing wrong with the car and that the breaks were ok. Dealer said: It is just the a rear sensor that needs to be reset. So dealer technician reset the sensor the same day. On Wednesday, April 9, 2014 around 6:00 pm when turning left at a corner I heard a ticking noise then four warning lights appeared again and the breaks started to malfunction again. I'll bring the Rav4 to the dealer on April 12, 2014 and see what they have to say. The codes the dealer have initially were C0210 and C1223. My spouse and I don't want to drive the Rav4 without knowing that the sensor that the dealer talks about is either fixed or replaced. I don't want to be exposed nor expose my family to any possible accident due to the sensor/braking system failure.

- Quincy, MA, USA

problem #205

Sep 072013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 52,730 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota rav 4. the contact stated while driving she heard a loud noise in the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealership and the technician stated the intermediate steering column needed to be replaced. The contact paid for the repairs, at her expense. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The mileage at the time of the failure was 52,730 and the current mileage was 54,134. Updated 5/27/14 updated 08/04/14

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #204

Mar 032014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
No crash involved. No loss of vehicle control. During routine maintenance, was informed the rack assembly would have to be replaced to deal with a clunking noise that a technician had noticed. I checked and found that while parked and idling, pulling the wheel in either direction did produce the clunk. After additional estimates, settled on a specific repair venue at almost $1700. Also informed by one of the estimators that the steering column would soon need replaced. Not scheduled for repair at this time. I was informed by one of the estimators that most vehicles would not have required a whole rack replacement (or as much money) for a problem such as this, but rather the 2007 design was integrated rather then modular.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #203

Nov 282013


  • 28,950 miles


The steering mechanism makes a clunk when turned. The dealer says the intermediate steering shaft needs replaced. There are numerous accounts of this same defect on the internet. Toyota issued a bulletin in 2008 telling dealers to replace the shaft on cars still on warranty but will not replace ours because it is more than 3 years old. A mechanical failure at such low mileage such as this should be repaired by the company at their cost since it is not cause by use but by poor engineering or assembly.

- Blaine, WA, USA

problem #202

Mar 072014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
The intermediate shaft on the vehicle is not working properly. In some states the Toyota has changed them for no cost after the warranty has expired, but know the do not. There have been numerous amount of claims in regard to this issue on this model, but continues to be ignored. On Friday 03/08/2014 I took my vehicle to have it checked because of this, and what they told me was that it was my struts. Well after getting them changed it turns out it was the intermediate shaft and they want to charge me an additional $502 for this. This is an on going issue with numerous claims about the intermediate shaft and Toyota is not realizing the safety issue in which it places it customers.

- St Johns, FL, USA

problem #201

Feb 142014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 30,304 miles
Reference Toyota recall: Tis designation C2J found at: Https:// reference question Q1A and answer A1A: "....alignment will be set and the arms will be sealed with epoxy." Reference question qua and answer A1C: "if the rear wheel alignment shifts out of specification, rear suspension arms or other components may need to be replaced." Reference my phone conversation with Toyota @ 888-270-9371 on 11 February 2014 @ 0800 and their assigned case # 1402110228: My question to Toyota to the answer A1C above: Who pays for the required replacement of suspension arms or other components? their answer was: The owner. My complaint deals with fairness. Due to a Toyota design defect, rear control arms must be encased in epoxy thus rendering rear wheel alignments impossible. If an owner hits a pothole, and rear wheel(s) are knocked out of alignment, the control arm and/or associates components might need to be replace - at considerable expense to the owner. This could generate large profits to Toyota due to a remedy for one of their design defects. Without the (epoxy encapsulation), a mere rear wheel alignment might rectify the misalignment. A possible $50 versus $500 repair. Additionally, if the control arms must be replaced to align the back wheel(s), Toyota is the only entity that has the know how and parts to re-encapsulate the new control arm(s): More profits for Toyota. Owners need to be made aware of the consequences this remedy will have on their vehicle so they can decide if they want a vehicle in which the rear wheels cannot be aligned without considerable expense. My question to nhsta: Why should the owner pay for repairs to one of their remedies" is this fair"

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #200

Feb 202014


  • 90,000 miles
Received a recall notice for tie rod/suspension back in September 2013. Today I called local Toyota dealer and asked about the fix. They told me that there was no fix yet available....obviously very disappointed and worried about how long I have been driving with potentially dangerous part/defect that could cause loss of control and wreck. I think NHTSA should force the issue with Toyota now it has been too long!. local dealer advised me what sound, loud rattling in back of vehicle to listen for....really unbelievable the delay.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #199

Jan 312014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles


Drove a short distance and parked car. Started car 10 minutes later and had no power steering. Ps warning light on dash was now on. With a great deal of effort, the car could be driven about a mile back home. When reading thru the owners manual, it became evident there were different possible failure conditions, each represented by different warning light states. A flashing light that went off after a few seconds, a flashing light that stayed on, a flashing light that stays on in conjunction with all dash warning lights being on at the same time, and last but not least, the steady light and complete failure of assist system. I believe it was simply the luck of the draw that our failure occurred in a parked condition. I was raised on a farm driving monstrous old trucks with no power steering. They were tough steering, but this small SUV took an extreme amount of effort to turn. Failure in traffic or hazardous conditions could be catastrophic. I do not believe my 82 year old mother could safely control the car, if the failure unexpectedly occurred in many of the driving conditions she experiences in her daily driving. Lane changes, merging traffic, 90 degree turns, pulling out to pass, icy roads, and hydroplane conditions could all quickly become life threatening with this particular failure.

- Pinedale, WY, USA

problem #198

Jan 142014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to vehicle water pump failure. The #6 ignition coil was replaced, as it was shorting out and the steering wheel made an unusual noise, when it was turned.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #197

Oct 152013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 58,760 miles
In October I noticed a clunk in the steering column. This is most noticeable at slow speeds when turning left or right. After researching the internet, it seems to be a common problem with Toyota vehicles in the steering shaft. I recently had to have the steering shaft replaced on my 2008 Tacoma, VIN. No.: [xxx], with only 37000 miles, and reported this to Toyota customer rep., they said they would give me a $350 credit at a Toyota dealership for future work, however, the replacement was considerably higher. I fear now that my rav 4 is going the same route. I feel Toyota should be required to have a recall on this problem because it could be a safety issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Marcellus, NY, USA

problem #196

Nov 052013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles
When turning the steering wheel there is an audible click accompanied by feedback through the steering column. This is caused by defective hardware used in the assembly of the steering column. These weakened components, when completely compromised, may lead to a catastrophic loss of the ability to steer the vehicle. When asked, the Toyota dealership acknowledged this is a common problem but refused to repair it free of charge in the absence of a safety recall.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #195

Jun 172009

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Within approximately 2 years of the purchase of our new 2007 Toyota Rav4 we noticed a "clunking" sound and feel in the steering at slow speed. The problem was reported to the dealer, gettle Toyota of bradenton, Florida, and was repaired under warranty. They referred to the parts replaced as intermediate steering shaft/ steering shaft assy. (the service writer seemed to know exactly what the problem was). The same apparent problem appeared again in approximately June of 2013 and is worse now in January 2014. It has become quite annoying and now both my wife and I wonder if this will become a safety concern, I.e. leading to a steering failure. Our original decision to buy the Rav4 was primarily based on a very high safety rating after we were involved in a serious injury crash which destroyed our previous vehicle. We are becoming more and more disappointed with Toyota quality in general as our Rav4 approaches only 75,000 miles. I would request the recall of this vehicle for manufacturer-sponsored repairs to follow the already historical tsb of 2008 for this same problem in '06 and '07 Rav4S. Thank you for your attention.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #194

Mar 082013


  • miles
A R E call now on the clock spring stop acting stupid's.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #193

Jun 052013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
There is a loud clunking noise accompanied by a tug at the steering wheel when making turns either left or right. Most notable at slower speeds. This noise started this summer at around 32000 miles and is becoming progressively worse. I am concerned about the safety of the steering. Car currently has 36000 miles. From reading comments on line this appears to be a very common problem with the 2007 rav 4. is Toyota going to recall for this problem? they most certainly should!

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #192

Sep 182013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
There is a loud "thud" sound coming from my steering column when making turns (left or right). The sound has been noticeable for about a year, but has become far worse very quickly since September 2013. I can tell the steering wheel is hitting something inside the steering column (the sound plus a tug at the wheel when I turn the car). I am concerned this is a safety issue, and want to be sure there is nothing mechanically wrong with the steering column.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #191

Sep 122007


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated when turning the steering wheel in either direction, there was an abnormal clucking noise without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the intermediate shaft was faulty and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 47,851.

- Kendall Park , NJ, USA

problem #190

Oct 302013


  • 78,311 miles
Clunk noise from L\R steering and excess play in steering diagnosed again..and (cost me $ dealer).. as problem with steering shaft\intermediate steering shaft..was quoted $428 to correct..the same problem occurred in 2009 @ 27,477 miles at which dealer replaced steering shaft and intermediate shaft @ nocharge as was under warranty..under tsb 0318-08 and tsb327.. using part nos..45221 & 45260.. I believe Toyota has another problem with replacing defective parts with defective parts( or bad tsbs)..never had this kinda problem with any other Toyota or vehicle..this should be under a recall as I refused to pay again for a same issue.

- Southampton, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?