Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,671 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota RAV4 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Aug 152010


  • 2,300 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact was braking from 15 mph and attempting a left turn when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact was unable to control the vehicle and crashed into the median. The contact immediately shut off the engine and the vehicle was towed to his residence. The contact was injured as a result of the crash. A police report was available. The vehicle was neither repaired nor diagnosed for the failure. The failure and current mileage was 23,000.

- Okeechodee, FL, USA

problem #30

Sep 012010


  • 3,100 miles
On September 1 I was driving in a congested area approaching an intersection with stopped traffic. As I was applying my brakes I suddenly felt my 2010 Toyota Rav4 lurch forward - at first I thought I had been hit from behind, but a quick glance in my rearview mirror indicated the car behind me was still at a safe distance. I quickly turned off my radio to hear my engine roaring as I was continuing to apply the brakes. I then put the Rav4 in neutral while the engine continued to roar. Once in neutral, the Rav4 came to a stop. I then depressed the accelerator several times and the engine settled down. As I approached the intersection I was traveling at a slow rate of speed. When I applied the brakes the rav 4 was slowly coming to a stop until I felt the car lurch forward. Once I began applying the brakes I did not take my foot off the brake pedal, nor did I apply any pressure to the accelerator. In addition, my carpet mat was several inches away from the accelerator pedal at all times. In my mind, this is clearly an acceleration issue that easily could have resulted in an accident if I had not put the transmission into neutral. I also filed a complaint with Toyota. The Toyota case number is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #29

Jul 122010


  • 2,400 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. When the vehicle stopped the vehicle accelerated and lunged forward. He stated that the brakes were engaged harder for the vehicle to be stopped. The contacted stated that it was a struggle to get the vehicle to stop. He stated that the failure happened three times and it's always occurred after the vehicle stopped. The vehicle was taken to the dealer after the first failure occurred and the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 2,400. The current mileage was approximately 3,000. Updated 12/7/10

- Mount Rainer, MD, USA

problem #28

Aug 162010


  • 7,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated he was struck in the passenger side by another vehicle going 30 mph. The side curtain air bags deployed but not the frontal air bags. After the contact was struck, the vehicle began to abnormally accelerate. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle despite his attempts in abruptly applying the brakes. The vehicle drove over several curbs and proceeded to accelerate up a hill. The contact was able to steer the vehicle but could not bring the vehicle to a stop. The vehicle did not stop until all four tires were flat. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was available. The manufacturer advised they would send an engineer to further inspect the nature of the failure. The vehicle was towed to a salvage facility. The failure and current mileage was 7,000.

- Voorheesville, NY, USA

problem #27

Jul 192010


  • 6,450 miles
At approximately 5:00 pm on July 19th, 2010, our Toyota rav 4 (model year 2010 mileage 6450) experienced an incident of unintended acceleration. Driving home with 4 members of the family, we approached an intersection and the driver began to apply the brake. The roadway was crowded, so our speed was fortunately minimal (approximately 25 mph). While applying the brake, the engine suddenly began to rev at a high rate, the driver said the car was not responding well to the brake and we may not stop in time as we approached the intersection. Instinctively, I looked at the driver's foot to see if there was some problem with him hitting the gas pedal, but could clearly see both feet and only the brake being applied. The driver pumped the brake, lifting his foot from the brake and reapplying; we jolted forward he lifted his foot from the brake of the revving car and then reapplied the brake. The engine suddenly slowed and returned to a normal idle and we were able to stop without hitting anyone. We did not file a police report, but contacted the dealer the following morning and were instructed to bring the car in for inspection the following day. Not surprisingly, as they appear incapable of detecting the problem with their diagnostics, no problem was found and we were asked to reclaim the car a few days later. We told the dealership that we consider this leased car to be unsafe and do not want anything to do with the car and wished to return it as it is clearly defective. 4 members of my family witnessed the event and no one is getting in the car again. The Toyota dealership's customer service representative said they are only dealer, they are not the manufacturers and we had to address any concerns regarding a return to the manufacturer, in their opinion it checked out fine. The car had already been serviced by the dealer several months prior, to address the rav 4 recall for the unintended acceleration problem. Clearly in our case their fix did not fix the problem.

- Bay Village, OH, USA

problem #26

Jun 202010


  • 230 miles
After having had two events of sudden acceleration in an 2007 Toyota Rav4, the dealer, metro Toyota, talked us unto trading in the 2007, for a brand new 2010 Rav4, after assuring us that there were no similar complaints with the 2010 model. We drove this car for about 230 miles, when on June 20,2010, a mile after exiting the freeway, with my wife in the passenger seat, I was coming up to a red light, going down a slight slope, on the road, when the car engine surged. I put the gear in neutral, drove the car paraller and near somebody'E driveway, put the car in park, and was preparing to go knock on the door of the homeowner to ask him/her to come and witness the, rpms, when the car surging stopped. I carefully drove the car home. I did not call the dealer that evening. The next day, I was going to a nearby grocery, preparing to get into a left turning lane, approaching a red light, again going down a slight incline on the road, my foot on the brake, when I felt the engine rev up strongly. I pressed hard on the brake, put the gear in neutral, lifted up the hand brake, and a got out of the car for a while hoping to spot a police car or have someone else come and witness this terrible event. Seeing no one willing to stop, I got back in the car, again pressed my foot on the brake, but the rpms remained above 5000. After waiting one more minute, the speed of the engine came down to normal, I picked up the required items at the grocery store, and returned to my home nearby. I called the dealer, they sent a man who took the car to service. The car was there for over three weeks. Their answer was that the car checked ok, they attempted no repair. I refused to again drive this car on the road. I ended up buying a similar car of another make. This and the previous incident in the 2007 rav 4 has cost us over 13,000 dollars.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #25

Jul 192010


  • 12,000 miles


Incident = car 2010 Toyota Rav4 unintended acceleration happened 3 times. First time it happened before I brought car to service station for recall repair.second time it was after recall. Third time happened just on July 18 2010 about 9 pm. I was standing at traffic light when RPM went up and car start moving forward. I put it in neutral and had to turn off the ignition because RPM still were very high. Please advise what should I do. My wife and kids driving my car sometimes and I know for sure that they would get in an accident if that problem happens with them. Damage resulting = moral distress for me. My wife experienced that all 3 times, very depressed and scared to even be in the car, never mind driving it. Car was serviced in millennium Toyota for acceleration recall. I need an advice where can I check this car because it looks like Toyota is unable to identify the source of the problem. I also would like to get data related to incident from the car computer by second party before Toyota would do the service because when I brought my car for recall I was told that they had to flash the computer. My understanding of flashing computer is that memory was flashed and old information is not recoverable. Please advise.

- Cedarhurst, NY, USA

problem #24

Jun 272010


  • 9,752 miles
On Sunday, June 27 2010, we were traveling down a crowded canyon in our 2010 Toyota Rav4. (we previously brought the vehicle in to our local dealership pursuant to the safety recall.) my husband was driving while I was seated beside our toddler in the back seat. All of a sudden it sounded like somebody floored the accelerator. My husband became alarmed as he noticed the rpms immediately ramped up. We lurched forward. My husband's foot was not even on the accelerator. Fortunately, since my husband was about to brake, we were able to narrowly avoid a collision with the vehicle ahead of us. We contacted our local dealership to inspect the new Toyota. They couldn't identify the cause of the incident, but they did indicate that it may have been a floor mat problem. We explained that the accelerator did not seem stuck and that we were traveling at an extremely slow rate of speed and then unintentionally accelerated. We continued to be concerned and so we contacted Toyota. They explained that the device installed pursuant to the safety recall was intended to assist the accelerator in returning to an idle position. However, as we explained, the accelerator was in an idle position when this incident occurred. We continue to be scared to death to drive our new Toyota Rav4. This matter has recently been referred to arbitration.

- North Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #23

Jun 032010


  • 452 miles
Contact owns a 2010 Toyota rav 4. the contact stated while driving at 35 mph downhill, there was an unusual increase in engine rpms and the vehicle suddenly accelerated up to speeds of 45 mph without warrant. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and advised the vehicle was operating as designed. The contact believed the failure to be a severe safety problem. The failure mileage was 452 and the current was unknown.

- Danville, NH, USA

problem #22

May 232010

RAV4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 315 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota rav 4. while driving at speeds of 40 mph and applying the brakes, the brakes would not engage and there was an unusual increase in engine rpms. The vehicle then abnormally accelerated without warrant and the contact placed the vehicle into neutral in order to stop the acceleration. The dealer advised having the vehicle diagnosed to locate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 315 and the current mileage was 335. Updated 7/20/10 updated 07/23/10

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #21

May 192010


  • 17,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated while braking from unknown speeds, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and there was an unusual increase in engine rpms. The vehicle continued to accelerate while the contact was applying extreme force to the brakes. He then shifted the vehicle into neutral and then into park. The vehicle slowly began to decrease in speed. The dealer advised bringing the vehicle in for diagnostic testing and further inspection. The failure and current mileages were 17,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #20

Jan 062010


  • 23,550 miles
At stop sign looking to my left because I was going to make a right turn. As I put my foot on pedal to make the right turn it took off. The seat belt press hard around my neck and I had use both foot trying stop the car. My neck was soar and my knee was paining. I stay at the gas station about 30 mintues I was shake up.the engine light came on after 30 minutes I gas up start finish my trip.the Rav4 engine was revelry often. When I return the Rav4 to budget rental I let attendant know that the Rav4 it's took off, revely and engine light it's was on and it was running rough. When I return Rav4 to budget rental the engine light was on and it run rough I told the attendant. When I spoke to attendant about Rav4 he say okay he have Rav4 check out. I do not know what correct was make I drop Rav4 off at budget rental car and pay my billed I left. I do not have VIN number on the rental agreement but, I do have plate number on rental agreement.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #19

May 082010


  • 5,000 miles
When I drive my Toyota 2010 Rav4 over a significant bump or pothole, the car lunges forward/accelerates. It doesn't last long, but I certainly have not had this happen with my previous cars (VW passat wagon, Ford Grand Cherokee, etc.).

- New York, NY, USA

problem #18

Apr 122010


  • miles
Check engine light indicated. The car was taken to the dealer, where the dealer mentioned, "evidence of rodent/small animal has chewed wiring harness at connector completely through." The car will need wiring harness.

- Damascus , MD, USA

problem #17

Apr 122010

(reported on)


  • miles
2010 Toyota rav-4. consumer states unintended acceleration. The consumer stated he has experienced sudden acceleration twice.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #16

Feb 082010


  • 700 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle accelerated. She stated that her foot barely touched the accelerator pedal when the vehicle lunged forward. The failure was not diagnosed by the dealer. The contact was not sure if the failure occurred before or after the NHTSA campaign id number 10V017000, vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal recall repair was performed. The contact is concerned about the risk involved while driving the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 700 and the current mileage was 1000.

- Falsom, CA, USA

problem #15

Mar 312010


  • 3,200 miles
Problem: Accelerator stuck in 2010 Toyota Rav4 on 3/31/10, while at low speed and slowing for a stop light, my accelerator stuck, impairing my ability to stop. I pressed firmly on the brake, then engine continued to race. While continuing to press the brake, I put the car in neutral, then into park. The car stopped. I am surprised I did not rear end the vehicle in front of me. I drove carefully to the rochester Toyota dealership, just minutes away. I spoke with the service manager. This vehicle is one involved in the current Toyota recall. I had the accelerator repair made on March 5, 2010. I had not experienced any accelerator problem before today. I explained to the manager my concern that the true problem with uncontrolled acceleration has not been identified, thus my problem occurred despite the prior replacement of my pedal. I phone the Toyota 800 number an made a report. Neither the Toyota service manager nor the person at the 800 number could assure me that these incidents are being documented or evaluated individually or as a group. I find this very unsettling, and I'm concerned for my safety and the safety of others in and around Toyota vehicles.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #14

Mar 112010


  • 3,000 miles
On 1/28/10 as I slowed for a traffic light the Rav4 started to highly rev up.( my foot was on the brake not on the accelerator) yet it sounded as if it was going to speed up for no reason. It didn't actually accelerated. I was able to throw the gear into park and it stopped. That same day I brought it to the dealer and they said they fixed it as per the recall. On 3/11/10 I was talking with someone who was outside the vehicle. I was at a full stop with my foot on the brake but still in drive. The same high revving again happened. I again threw the gear into park and the revving stopped. I brought the vehicle back to the dealer. They inspected the vehicle and they had a Toyota field tech inspect the vehicle. They found nothing wrong with the pedal. I have witnesses to both events. There is some problem if it isn't the pedal, it is something else. Vehicles don't rev by themselves. I refuse to drive the vehicle and I have notified Toyota. Please advise and help me I like the vehicle otherwise.

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #13

Mar 182010


  • miles
I was leaving my home in my 2010 Toyota Rav4. I put the car in reverse and it instantly began to accelerate at a very high speed. I immediately pressed down on the brakes as hard as I could. However nothing occurred the car continued to reverse rapidly. I shifted into neutral but it was a small space and by then I was near the stone fixture which the vehicle hit. The fixture which was solid stone was in the ground, it was uprooted by the vehicle. In order for an object like this to be uprooted a great deal of speed would need to be involved. My driveway is on an incline and I never press on the gas pedal while reversing as the vehicle will reverse on its own due to the inclination.

- North Haledon, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jan 182010


  • 500 miles
My Rav4 was part of the recall. One, I bought my car on 1/18/10. I heard Toyota filed their claim on 1/21/10. The recall was announced on 1/26/10. I waited until beginning of March for recall letter as instructed by Toyota and I never received the recall letter. I contacted the dealership and was told that Toyota doesn't send out recall letters and that I should come in for recall. Last Saturday the pedal was fixed but there is a brake lag, meaning the car will not stop in time, you really have to put a lot of pressure to stop the vehicle. As per dealer, they don't see anything wrong with the car and when I asked them can they tell me if the car is safe to drive they told me that Toyota can not make those guarantees. I don't feel safe driving this car and want to return it since as per Toyota if the car was purchased/leased within 5 days of recall/production stoppage they will take it back. I contacted the dealership and they told me that I should contact Toyota directly which I did and nobody is answering the phone-its always busy. On their website, it does indicate that they will work on case by case basis for take backs but nobody from Toyota is willing to help. How do I proceed" can anybody help me"

- Dumont, NJ, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?