2009 Lexus ES 350 seat belts / air bags NHTSA complaints: Air Bags

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2009 Lexus ES 350 (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,690 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Lexus ES 350 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Lexus ES 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Lexus ES 350 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

May 232016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" I received recall notification in May 2016. Now 8 months passed, no further action. Remedy is not done. We can't use front seat so that my car only can ship 4 seats. When can you fix it? I am shopping for next car for my family - luxury SUV. This bad experience on recall makes me decide to stay away from Lexus in the future.

- Saratoga, CA, USA

problem #39

Jan 142017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #38

May 232016

ES 350

  • 20,000 miles
Lexus sent a recall notice on May 23, 2016, advising us not to use the passenger side seat due to the potential danger from exploding shrapnel from the takata airbag. It is now January 17, 2017, a full 8 months of not being able to use the vehicle as designed, with absolutely no information provided, no repairs and no target date for a fix, we are effectively unable to use of the vehicle. Requests for a loaner vehicle at several dealers has been denied, with advice to contact the manufacturer, who then advised us to call dealers. This is unconscionable behavior and is potentially worse than the volkswagon debacle. The value of the vehicle has essentially disappeared and it cannot be used for business or personal family use. Toyota must be held liable and either compensate owners, provide a loaner vehicle for the duration or pay for rental vehicles, plus a substantial fine for the extremely excessive delay.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #37

Jan 092017

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) was received in May. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #36

Aug 032016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall, we received the letter from Lexus about the recall four months ago, and do not see any more action taken by Lexus to remedy the airbag problem, want to know the status of when the problem should be fixed.

- San Marino, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

May 132016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hilton Head, SC, USA

problem #34

May 012016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - since the recall notice advises not to operate the vehicle with an occupant in the front passenger seat I have not used the passenger seat since I received the notice of recall. I don't understand why it is taking so long to get a fix. My Lexus dealer told me it would probably be okay to use the passenger seat since it was unlikely that I would have a head on collision that would cause the bag to go off. Unbelievable!! we've ended up with four fifths of a car since I have to ride in the back seat whenever we use the car.

- N Ft Myers, FL, USA

problem #33

Sep 012016

ES 350

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Panerama City, CA, USA

problem #32

Dec 022016

ES 350 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/05/17 the consumer stated it has been five months. Updated 01/12/17.

- Sun City West, AZ, USA

problem #31

May 232016

ES 350

  • 88,000 miles
Takata recall Lexus does not feel the urgency of developing a response to this deadly situation their response seems to be that it is takata's problem what can be done to make my car safe to carry a passenger?

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #30

Jul 262016

ES 350

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I received a letter for airbag replacement from Lexus division, Toyota motor sales, usa Inc. This July. But so far I did not get any further notice of it. Please let me know when the remedy will become available. Best regards,

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #29

May 022016

ES 350

  • miles
A1 incoming email: Letter from consumer re 2009 Lexus 350es air bag recall safety deactivation. The consumer received an air bag recall in May 2016. The consumer stated it was unacceptable, to wait so long for a remedy.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #28

May 012016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V34000 (air bags) was received in may of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Boyenton Beach, FL, USA

problem #27

May 012016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V34000 (air bags) was received in may of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Boyenton Beach, FL, USA

problem #26

May 232016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Spring, TN, USA

problem #25

May 212016

ES 350

  • 43,000 miles
Recall notice sent out on May 21, 2016 stated that we "should not drive with anyone in the front passenger seat" until the fix for the recall is complete. It is now November 11, 2016 and there are no fix statements nor any hint when our vehicle (located in houston, tx) will be scheduled for a repair. Driving with the restriction of not using the front passenger seat is extremely inconvenient as we use the car for clients. Lexus dealers state that they have no idea when the repairs can be made and Lexus corporate simply said to contact a dealer for a loaner car, which they refuse to do when contacted. While we recognize that this is a dangerous situation, the excessive time required to come up with a fix is unacceptable to the american public and unconscionable behavior by the manufacturer.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #24

May 232016

ES 350

  • 66,455 miles
Takata recall

- Dadeville, AL, USA

problem #23

May 242016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #22

May 022016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #21

May 232016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. After receiving the recall, I parked our Lexus. If there is a chance of metal fragments striking the passenger, then there is also a chance the fragments could strike rear seat occupants. The recall started 5/23/16. Five months later there is no resolution. This high $ car is worthless to us. Lexus should offer to buy back the vehicles.

- Laurel, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?