Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,926 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 18 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #58

Jul 252008


  • 106,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer which was purchased in 2007. While driving 30mph, he noticed a burning wire odor, turned the vehicle off and discovered that a fire erupted under the passenger side glove compartment. The dealer stated that there were no recalls; however, there was a 10-inch amp that should have blown the fuse to prevent a fire from occurring. The failure mileage was 106,000 and the current mileage is 107,000. Updated 10/03/08 updated 10/07/08. 8jb

- Wataga, IL, USA

problem #57

Nov 012006


  • 59,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer which has a faulty speedometer. GM will not do anything about it. It is out of warranty, but I have been reading that this is a widespread occurrence. This is a safety issue.

- Florissant, CO, USA

problem #56

May 012006


  • 10,000 miles
Headlights dim intermittently, heat looses power at the same time, now getting flickering of interior lights. Wasn't able to fix it. Bumper warping. Getting 10 miles to the gallon! paint on buttons wearing on radio. Sun roof leaked profusely, had it fixed. Rear window defogger doesn't work. Head liner sagged.

- New London, CT, USA

problem #55

May 242008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 42,814 miles


I have a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer. Car is in fine condition but for some reason the car died. It restarted and ran ruff. Called the dealership and they had me tow it in. They ran "tests" and said my battery terminals were loose. I told them I did not agree. They said that they found nothing. Today June 2 rush our approaching an intersection car just died again. Car is not fine. Both times I was luck to be away from others but if not.....everything failed including my brake lights. If there was anyone near me than yes there would have been property damage, a crash and a report to the police.

- Parkland, FM, USA

problem #54

May 282008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
I have had my 2005 trail Blazer for 2 years, and have taken it in 3 times, and had the alternator replaced twice. I'll be taking it in again tomorrow, due the dimming/flashing lights, and whining noise. Same symptoms as before, alternator again I'm sure. I am hoping to sell it, and never buy Chevy again. Very irritating!

- Spanaway, WA, USA

problem #53

Apr 262008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 66,500 miles
Electrical problem with 2005 Chevy Trailblazer.

- Lookout Mtn, GA, USA

problem #52

Dec 102007

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,999 miles


2005 Chevy Trailblazer purchased with 19,000 miles on it in 2006. December 07 while driving home at night, lights began to flicker. Dealer said was necessary to reset computer to resolve the problem. After computer reset, check engine light turned on. Took it back to dealer (pulled code for air check valve), reset the light. Two days later, engine light came on again and was taken back to dealer where it pulled another code... after the third time, the dealer contacted GM and were told to reset the computer back to original setting and either the light would go off and the lights would flash or the light would stay on and the lights would stay normal. Needless to say, within three days, the lights flashed and the check engine light came on. I have contacted GM several times and was told that they would not warranty it once they do figure out the source of the problem and could not give an estimated date as to when that would be! I will never purchase another GM product again. I think a class-action lawsuit should be started!!

- Los Lunas, NM, USA

problem #51

Feb 282005

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Since purchasing the vehicle, the headlamps flicker or dim while driving, similar to a power surge. The dealer was initially unable to duplicate the failure. When the failure was able to be duplicated, the dealer was unable to make a repair. At the end of September of 2007, the steering column made a sparking sound and the dealer could not duplicate the failure once more. On September 20, 2007, the radio and all the components on the instrument panel failed intermittently. The vehicle had to be turned off and restarted for them to eventually operate again. In addition, the dome lights would remain illuminated. The driver's side door latches were replaced twice. The rear hatchback latch was replaced twice. When the key was removed from the ignition, the key buzzer would continue to sound. On January 25, 2008, the rear wiper motor was replaced and failed again on March 4, 2008. The current mileage was 36,182 and failure mileage was 70. Updated 4/2/08 the consumer stated the emblem on the rear tailgate loosing color, brake pads and rotors are worn. Updated 04/02/08

- Canton, NY, USA

problem #50

Mar 112008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer. Since purchasing this vehicle I have had several problems. I am the second owner. I bought it with 24,000 miles. The first thing was the engine light turning on for no apparent reason. Tests would show nothing. Then the whining started. This was fixed at the dealership. Next the flickering lights. It only seems to happen at night (or that is when I notice them). When the flickering started the lunging started. This is when I am coming to a stop or going slow my car seems to jump forward for no apparent reason. The dealership found nothing wrong with my car when they checked these problems out. Next when making U-turns my car would just die. Since it is an automatic I would have to then put it into park and restart my car. Again when I took it to the dealership, they found nothing. My speedometer has started to jump or fail to work altogether. And most recently the engine light turned on again and and my car was running as though it was going to die. Upon taking it to the dealership, they ran $500 worth of test to tell me that my car at 60,000 miles was firing incorrectly in the 1st cylinder. This is going to cost me $4,000.

- Auberry, CA, USA

problem #49

Jul 092007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,241 miles
I bought a 2005 Trailblazer used in June of 2007 with 34,000 miles. Since then I have had the rubber seal around the license plate fixed 3 times for the glue melting and running down the tailgate. The air conditioner when ran for extended trips doesn't blow like it should, the dealer supposedly fixed that twice. The whole light flickering thing is annoying and probably could be avoided with a stronger alternator. The check engine light came on for secondary air injection malfunction conveniently after the warranty has expired, its all due to a crappy check valve that is made with a metal that corrodes easily causing it to stick. I understand that problems happen but this vehicle only has 38,000 miles on it. General Motors knows about the problems they just don't want to go broke fixing their mistakes. Or just do some quality control on vehicles before they are massed produced.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #48

Feb 132008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,830 miles


The headlamps and dashboard lights dim and brighten as you drive. It is an intermittent problem. Chevy has said this is normal for the Trailblazer and not repairable. This is a safety issue.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #47

Feb 012008


  • miles
2005 Chevy Trailblazer headlights flashing after dark. Consumer stated that the headlights flash around dusk or after dark and interior lights dim. She states that people in traffic believe she is doing this on purpose and she is not. The consumer stated the headlights were on automatic and then they started to go dim. The lights on the dash were fading in and out as well.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #46

Mar 012006


  • miles
I bought a 2005 Trailblazer in 2006. There was alot of hissing from the speakers, which they replaced but it never fixed the problem. I already fixed the oxygen sensor and now I notice the lights go dim and bright and it seems to lose power. It only has 36,000 miles on it. Everytime I bring it in it doesn't happen so no one knows what it is. I have 2 small kids and it's cold in Wisconsin so if it ever dies in the middle of the country who knows what could happen.

- Hingham, WI, USA

problem #45

Feb 042008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2005 Trailblazer and the lights will dim and the battery gauge will drop down. I have taken this to the dealer and they can never seem to find anything wrong. I have read on the internet that GM has no answer for why this is happening. I have people that will pull over for me because they think that I am flashing my lights at them. This has been happening since I got the SUV 2 1/2 years ago.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #44

Jan 012008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Since the purchase of my 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer I have had problems with my lights(interior and exterior) flickering (I have noticed this problem at night). My dealership has tried many things on their own and suggestions from Chevrolet. The alternator was changed, lights switches replaced, computer reprogrammed. This problem is not being resolved by Chevrolet. This problem has some potential to cause serious problems if the events occur during night time driving.

- Canton, NY, USA

problem #43

Jan 022008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,400 miles
Voltage drops occasionally while vehicle is running. This causes my light to dim and engine light to come on. When this happens my vehicle runs funny. I haven't replaced anything yet. I'm still trying to get to a mechanic.

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #42

Jan 042008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
When driving at night only, the headlights and dashboard lights flicker and dim along with the voltage gauge dropping down. After 10 or so seconds, the voltage gauge resets to 14 and the lights brighten to normal. The flickering occurs at steady driving speeds as well as during slow-down.

- Ridgeland, MS, USA

problem #41

Dec 102007


  • miles
I own a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer and I have encountered numerous problems since purchasing this vehicle brand new from the dealer. I have had to have sensors replaced, fuel tank has had to be worked on, and now the main most costly is I am having to replace the transmission. This vehicle has approx. 84,000K miles on it and is only two years old. Please help to see if this should have been a factory recall. I have always had my vehicle serviced at the dealer where I purchased it at.

- Avery, TX, USA

problem #40

Apr 272005

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Purchased 2005 Trailblazer 3/8/05 @ bacon Chevrolet in palestine, tx. Problems: While driving headlight & interior dashboard lights flicker & shut off, engine loses power & surges lunging forward, battery gauge drops & pegs out, check engine light comes on, ding alarm, radio, electric locks, etc, w/ no key in ignition go off & on, no power cant start vehicle. Svc mgr/tech comments: Cant duplicate complaint, no codes showing, GM bulletin stating "normal" & working as designed, can not replace or work on anymore due to tech/GM motors stating "normal", or until problem can be duplicated or until they have a way to fix. Repairs:(total of 9 times in shop) 2 headlamp switches, 1 battery, 3 times wiring harness gone through, numerous PCM updates/reprograms, fuel pressure check, ipc reprogram, data recorder installed, replaced BCM body control module, workorders have been altered & work stated done that has not been done. I have all my workorders. Conclusion: Took to BBB of tyler, tx.cs#chv0592738, had arbitration hearing. BBB's decision was that their opinion was that the lights going off while driving was not a safety issue. Thought the BBB was suppose to be a consumer advocate! I found this website while doing a college research paper. How many other consumers have same problem, but do not know about this website. Will anything be done before someone is killed or is that what it will take!

- Crofton, KY, USA

problem #39

Nov 122007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While the vehicle is being driven or idling, the electrical system shuts down. The failure occurred at night when shutting off the headlights and the instrument panel; however, the engine does not shut off, only the electrical system. The failure has occurred on six occasions. Speed was not a factor. The dealer replaced one of the circuit panels, but the electrical system continues to fail. The contact stated that the dealer was giving them the run around after extending the electrical system warranty to 100,000 miles. She also stated that there has been electrical failure since the vehicle was purchased. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 50,000 and failure mileage was 5,000. The consumer stated the problem still exists. Updated 12/04/07

- Imperial, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?