Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 is the worst year for PT Cruiser engine complaints. Having an engine light on is annoying, but it's the complaints about the engine shutting-off while driving that really have us concerned.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,015 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Aug 102011

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 with less than 60,000 miles on it started hard time cranking, jerking, skipping and losing power down to about 25 mph. Replaced plugs, wires, battery and crank sensor nothing seemed to fix it. I went online to see if this was a regular problem with the PT CRUISER and on several websites found it was a continual problem here is the result of one of the searches: I ran into that problem with a customer's PT CRUISER the same year as yours. What I found by accident during diagnosis was the connectors terminals that plug into the front control module lose terminal tension causing intermittent electrical concerns. The way I found it was by wiggling the wiring harnesses that go up underneath the module which caused the problem to show up. I had to dissemble the connectors and re tension the terminals. The terminals are kind of dinky on those and it wouldn't take many plugging and un-plugging of the connectors to cause the terminal to lose tension. No fix is listed on the Chrysler website or anywhere yet there a numerous complaints. I bought this car for my 16yr old (now 17) never had a problem with it until now. When going down the interstate it went from 65 to 25 and she was scared senseless. This could have been a tragic accident. Now the car does it we push the plugs back in runs fine then when the car is ran for any length of time it does it again. Push the plugs back in runs fine so I do know if it is this part I hope for a fix before someone gets really hurt from the loss of power so abruptly. Websites I referred to: Carjunkie.com, ask.com, Chrysler.com, google.com sear for 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER.

- Bessemer City, NC, USA

problem #23

Jul 152009

PT Cruiser

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. While driving at various speeds, the reading of all the instrument panel gauges began to fluctuate and the vehicle lost power. The failure recurred intermittently and with time, progressed and became constant. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostics. The mechanic performed a software update but to no avail. The mechanic was contacted and advised that the instrument panel needed to be repaired. The contact was then referred to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 34,000.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #22

Apr 212010

PT Cruiser

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated the headlights and the windshield wipers stopped working. The vehicle was not inspected, but the contact did research and was concerned that the failure was caused by the totally integrated power module. The contact stated the failure also caused the brakes to lock. The failure mileage was 98,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Lyndhurst, NJ, USA

problem #21

Mar 312011

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 70,975 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2006 PT CRUISER has an electrical issue that the dealer has not been able to fix. When turning on the vehicle, the headlights turn on the low beams, the blinkers do not work, the windshield wipers do not work, you can not turn off the low beam head lights, nor can you turn on the high beams. The car was recently at the dealer for repairs. They indicated that the issue was related to the clockspring mechanism in the stearing column. They replaced the clockspring mechanism. Everything worked correctly for 2 days. The problem is now back, apparently not related to the clockspring. If you do an internet search for 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER headlights blinkers windshield wipers not working you will get many hits about the same issue.

- Teaneck, NJ, USA

problem #20

Mar 222011

PT Cruiser

  • 85,560 miles
Upon purchasing a used 2006 PT CRUISER touring edition vehicle on 3/5/2011from boulevard pre-owned in durham, nc, found that the wind shield wipers did not work and the air bag light kept coming on. Dealer said vehicle was under warranty and he would fix the problems. Took it to him on several occasions, even missed a few hours of work and missed daughter's scheduled dental appointment to try to get car fixed. Thus, after much frustration, I decided to take it to an authorized chyrsler dealer for repairs, after the dealer finally agreed to pay up to $150 toward the repair of the vehicle. On 3/21/2011, I dropped the vehicle off overnight, since the wind shield wiper motor was to arrive on 3/22/2011 (it was originally thought that the wiper switch had to be replaced instead). After taking it to the dealer and doing a diagnosic test, I was told I needed a new wiper motor and a new switch for the turn signals, since it was also faulty. Now, on 3/22/2011, I get a call from the technican saying the electrical system has a short and the tipm needs to be replaced also. This along with the wind shield wiper motor will cost more than $900. And the vehicle is not covered under the factory warranty anymore. I have to purchase an extended warranty before my 30 days of purchase is over. Please help. I work three (3) jobs, am a single parent, and is head of household. My money is already stretched too tight. After having had previous car issues with another car, I really do not need this. Thank you.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #19

Mar 222011

PT Cruiser

  • 85,560 miles
Fron wind shield wipers do not work and air bag light keeps coming on. Purchased a used 2006 PT CRUISER touring edtion on 4/5/2011. Took it to dealer and found that tipm needs to be replaced. Purchased this vehicle from a local dealer and did not know the car had these problems. It was orginally thought that a switch was only needed. After taking it to the dealer, it was determined that a wind shield wiper motor and a switch for the turn signals was needed. Now, it turns out the electrical system has a short and the tipm needs to be replaced (after the diagnosic test, of course). This is going to cost at least $900. And the vehicle is not covered under the factory warranty anymore. Please help. I work three (3) jobs, am a single parent and head of household, and my money is very limited.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #18

Dec 212007

PT Cruiser

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Chrysler 2006 PT CRUISER touring edition. Horn very hard to operate, takes more effort to make this horn work from the steering wheel than most cars.

- Hampton , VA, USA

problem #17

Aug 162010

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
On August 16, 2010 we were driving back from an appointment doing about 70mph. It was around 100 degrees F outside (san antonio, tx). Ironically, our 2006 pt hit 42,000 miles and when it did, all of the warning lights flashed on and all needles (speedometer, fuel gauge, tachometer, etc.) dropped to their "engine off" positions. I did not notice any loss in power and the exterior lights remained on. This happened a couple of miles further down the road and repeated every few miles. This continued to occur even as we approached our subdivision at speeds around 30 - 40 mph. To date, this happens on occasion and we have only experienced one stall. Being that the car is a manual transmission, it started right back up when I released my foot from the clutch. I have had diagnostic tests run by the dealer, mechanics driving the car for long periods of time, etc. The problem never repeats itself with the mechanics. I have spent $700 and more with no results. We even had the spark plugs changed since they were not the recommended ones. Chrysler replaced the plugs which had been installed by Goodyear. This is very frustrating.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #16

Sep 212006

PT Cruiser

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated the electrical system in the vehicle failed. This causes the air bag to not deploy, exterior lights, interior lights, and all other electrical accessories to fail as well. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they ran a diagnostic test at a cost of $100 and informed the contact there are no recalls or warranty, and the cost of the repairs would be $600. The dealer also informed them to contact the manufacturer and ask if they would help with the repairs. The manufacturer was called, and they stated the vehicle was out of warranty and there would be no assitance with the repairs. The failure mileage was 71,000.

- Beachwood, OH, USA

problem #15

Jul 302010

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 84,288 miles
I had safelite come out to replace my windshield- when I turned on my vehicle to head to sj I turned on my headlights/fog lights and they would not go on tried my blinkers and windshield wipers nothing was working all functions associated with knobs on steering column would not work. Drove vehicle down the street adjusted steering wheel a couple times lights came on....then they would not shut off. The lights will either not come on or shut off it is now at the dealership for the 3rd time to correct this issue they have replaced the instrument cluster and now the new service guy believes its the multi-switch...we'll see... I would never purchase a PT CRUISER again much less a Chrysler!!!! btw the problem did seem corrected after the 1st repair and 2nd repair however as soon as I drove it 50 miles the problem occurred again. I thank god I drive with my headlights on during the day because I could have been stuck far from home with no lights, turn signals in the dark!

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 072010

PT Cruiser

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have 2006 PT CRUISER and I am having tons of electrical problems sometimes the stereo will not work.brake light stays on and run the battery down. If you have the dome light one and put your blinker on to the right the light goes out doesn't do it on the left, the ignition switch sometimes hangs up and will not turn stuck for a little before I can get it to turn over and start, then the ac spouse had to rewire it because the compressor wasn't kicking on and off, I have always owned a Chrysler and after this experience if Chrysler is not will to help repair the vehicle I would not own another, my husband is out of work and I cant afford to repair all the issues this car has..... this could be a fire hazard waiting to happen.

- Toney, AL, USA

problem #13

Dec 012009

PT Cruiser

  • 15,084 miles
I have a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER 15084 mile the car wouldn't start I put a new battery in it. It started. The next day the car wouldn't start I jumped it and it started. I put a small 2 amp charger on it and the next morning it still wouldn't start. I jumped started it with no problem and drove it to the dealer imperial Chrysler after the first hour they the service writer told me I would have to leave it. The service tech took me out the car to showed me that there was a electrical draw of 5 amps but he couldn't find it, when he put hand on this part called the pcd box the heavy wire going into it was red hot and at the point where the wire goes into the box. He then stated the short is in this box I would have to leave it. When I call about my car the charge was going to be over $900. I told him I would be going in to see him. The dealership and the service writer were very good the vehicle was just over the warranty. There were going to charge me $453.39 they said half. I paid it. The problem I have is that the pdc box is located behind the battery and contain fuses in it. I been driving over thirty years and I never seen this. The new box is opened on the side there is nothing keeping moisture out. I had found other recalls about a water moisture getting into another part of the electrical system. I feel that its shouldn't have cost me anything and also the chance of a fire. Thank you

- Millville, MA, USA

problem #12

May 122010

PT Cruiser

  • 51,000 miles
I own a 2006 PT CRUISER. In 2006, Chrysler replaced the traditional fuse box with a unit called a totally integrated power module (tipm). The unit controls power to most areas of the car including brake lights, running lights, dashlights and headlights. As I was driving, the driver side rear running light burned out. At least that is my guess. The light bulb was the only shorted item could find. This caused the dashlights to go out and the primary brake lights to go out. The bulb shorted on the inside. The totally integrated power module (tipm) is designed with no fuse protection between the lighting module and the lights. This shorted bulb shorted out the unit and made the vehicle very unsafe to drive. I researched on the problem on the internet. I found many instances of the (tipm) failing. I found this in the chat rooms, blogs and threads I visited while looking for answers. I noticed that these units are installed in many of Chrysler's cars and based upon what I learned have been problematic. In all the instance of failure, the car is driving and there is no notification to the driver that the unit has failed other then the lights go out. The units are built as a single unit and the wiring harness is part of the unit. You cannot repair the unit. I have been verbally quoted to replace this unit the cost will be around $975. It seems to me that having a $2.50 bulb trash a major safety component of a car is a bad thing. Will you look into this problem and see it is fit for a recall? I am at work and do not have my cruiser with me today. If you need the VIN number, please let me know and I will send it you.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #11

Aug 282007

PT Cruiser

  • 365 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The check engine light was illuminated and the vehicle was taken to the dealer who tightened the gas cap. In September 2007, the check engine light illuminated again and as a result, the clock spring was repaired. The contact felt that there was an enormous amount of electrical failures that led to the vehicle stalling while she was driving approximately 60 mph. There was no power in the vehicle because of the failure. The stalling occurred twice before the most recent failure, all of the warning lights on the dashboard flashed on and off. The vehicle was taken to the dealership but the dealer could not find the cause for failure and therefore could not repair it. She called the manufacturer and was instructed to take the vehicle to the dealer to have it inspected. The vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The current mileage was approximately 34,000. The failure mileage was 365.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

Oct 162009

PT Cruiser

  • 48,160 miles
1- vehicle = 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER touring. 2- weather conditions = raining 3- vehicle failure = windshield wipers became inoperable with out warning and would not work in any selected position. Vehicle had to be driven home in the rain without the use of windshield wipers. 4- customer initially replaced the wiper switch initially with no results, wiper motor was not receiving operational current 5- vehicle had to be taken to the dealer for diagnostics (special equipment required to test), failure was found in the totally integrated power module (tipm), the controller for all vehicle networked electronics, including safety devices such as windshield wipers. Dealer replaced the tipm and the wipers regained operation. Cost of the repair $833 us.

- Villa Rica, GA, USA

problem #9

Aug 172009

PT Cruiser

  • 24,250 miles
Had left side headlight go out. Bought a new bulb to replace it. Still did not work. Swapped bulbs from the right side to insure new bulb was good. It was. Bought a new pigtail and replaced it. Still no light on left side. Put a volt meter on pigtail, measured 11.9 volts, but soon as the bulb tried to light the volts went to 0. so under a load the volts drop. It wont even light a flashlight bulb. Soon as you take the load off the pigtail it returns to 12 volts.

- Menifee, CA, USA

problem #8

Apr 042008

PT Cruiser

  • 26,400 miles
Purchased 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER, touring edition Oct 2007 with 26100 miles on it. Only recall was for side glass that was changed, no accidents on carfax or reported otherwise. Car sat for first couple of months and then when we began driving it, had different electrical problems, thought to be low battery, got battery charged. Next and most crucial thing, we were out at dusk in a blinding rain storm and the headlights, windshield wipers, turn signals and a few other things went. I had 3 heads out windows to get to safety, traffic was heavy, couldn't even signal to get off the road safely - it was a hair raising event. I checked the internet and saw hundreds of similar complaints about this vehicle. Checked with Chrysler and told basically to kiss off as I had just imported the car to Canada so no warranty although it still has under 28,000 miles on it and of course there is no recall regarding the control module which is what went out. I feel so strongly about this - I could have had a head on collision when I lost my lights and wipers and could have been struck in the rear by someone who didn't know I was turning off the road. It sounds as though many many people have experienced similar things with this vehicle so I feel that it should be investigated. There is obviously a weakness in their electrical systems that needs to be corrected. These vehicles are apparently made in Mexico!!

- Blaine, WA, USA

problem #7

Nov 112006

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Starting around Nov of 2006 while driving at any speed, the instrument cluster indicator lights turn on; all the gauges go dead I.e. the speedometer, the tachometer, the gas gauge all go to zero. The warning sounds beep constantly. The 2006 PT CRUISER will lose power and/or severely hesitates, power steering will fail, the brakes will fail, I have had to use the hand brake one to many times to slow the car down. I have had several near misses with other vehicles on the roads. I curb the car twice, damaging my tires once, so as to not hit other drivers. This has been happening for over a year now. I have taking it massey-yardley where I bought the pt, to have looked at over a dozen maybe even more I have lost count, I have tried to lemon the car, Chrysler stated that there is nothing wrong with the car because the dealership has not reproduce the problem. I have taking the pt to other dealerships with the same result. Just recently I took the car in again to massey-yardley for poor gas mileage and the same power problem, this time with a check engine light active, in Nov of 2007, the dealership said it was a bad instrument cluster and a bad oxygen sensor, which they replaced. I am still having the above stated problem, the dealership stated on Nov 16 of 2007 they know something is wrong but since they cannot reproduce the error to trouble shoot it they will not fix it. The dealership also said since I'm not happy with the results I should go to another dealership to have it looked at! I'm going to do that but it's hard when you have to work! plus massey-yardley will not give me a statement to that fact of unknown defect in writing.

- Ft Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #6

Sep 212007

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,668 miles
I was driving 65 mph on freeway, all indicator lights come on, all gauges go to zero, engine begins to die. 2006 PT CRUISER powers down when driving. This is very dangerous on any road because there is no warning when this happens. This could cause a serious accident or death. On Sept. 21,2007 the car was towed to Chrysler dealer. 1st time we were told it was the main computer, that needed to be reprogrammed. Two weeks later October 24th 2007 it happened again, car towed to same dealer. Were told this time it was a main fuse coming loose while driving. The dealer installed a metal plate over the fuse to keep it from coming loose. We were assured that was the problem fixed. Three weeks later November 13,2007 it happened again. It was towed to dealer. We were told this time they couldn't find anything wrong with it and just to monitor it.

- Apache Junction, AZ, USA

problem #5

Mar 252007

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The 2006 pt crusier has had the same problems since day one!! all the lights and gauges on the dashboard went haywire and then the car shut off while driving. Took the car to a crystler service station 4 times, and they could not fix it because they could not duplicate the problem. I was almost in an accident yesterday because of the car just stopping while driving. I need help!!! I am a single mother and terrified for my son and myself.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?