Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2006 is the worst year for PT Cruiser engine complaints. Having an engine light on is annoying, but it's the complaints about the engine shutting-off while driving that really have us concerned.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,276 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

May 092014

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles


Driving vehicle, all dashboard lights blink on and off, cars stalls, brakes and steering lock up. This has happened at least 15 times over the last few months, and is very dangerous. Also, sometimes the engine fan won't shut off when car is turned off, and it drains the car battery. This has happened at least 10 times. That part is getting expensive and very irritating, but the stalling out and completely dying, is very dangerous, because you can't always get off the road.

- Newcastle, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 272013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The first time in September 2013 the vehicle was running fine. I had gone into a store and when I came out it would not start. The lights on the panel were on but some were flashing on and off. I had it towed to my mechanics shop and they determined it was the battery and replaced it. Every once in a while lights on the panel will flash on and off but not for long. Last night 7/30/2014 I was driving, everything was fine and then all of a sudden all the panel lights were on and the vehicle just died. It was a good thing that I was in a shopping center and not on the road because at first the brakes wouldn't work. This is not safe. I can't afford to get another vehicle right now. We had to push it to safety and then I noticed there was some kind of code or something (no bus/5) at the bottom of the RPM section of the panel. Couldn't find anything in the manual about it, called an auto parts store and it didn't show up in their database, so I had a friend google it. Everything points to the electrical/computer system and fuses. Several people posted this issue with Jeep and PT CRUISER.

- Universal City, TX, USA

problem #21

Jul 172014

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Going down the road and lights come on the dash and motor cuts off with no warning almost got rearended from this happening. Have taken it to many mechanics and even an electrol place and none of them can figure out the problem. If anyone figures out this problem please post before someone get hurt or killed I drive in a major city and on the interstates and it has happened to me on the interstate and I have had to pull over to the side to try to get out of the way please someone help I cant afford to go out nd buy another car if I did I will not buy another Chrysler product and all my friends and family say they wouldn't either.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #20

Jul 082014

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 31,262 miles


I have a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER limited turbo with only 31,262 miles on it that started out a couple of months ago by the seat-belt light coming on first followed almost immediately by all of the surrounding warning lights coming on and the gauges all dropping to nothing. It repeated this several times an then stopped and went back to normal. Since then this has happened once out of approximately every three times driving it, doing the same thing described above. Today all that changed, not only did the lights and gauges go crazy, the engine died repeatedly as well, all this happened in 40 mph traffic. It scared me to death, I had no control and with it happening as fast as it was I had no way of warning the cars behind or beside me. Just as I have seen by other people with the same issue over and over again and with the 2006 model the post are all the same issue, all happening in the same sequence, all taking their cars to mechanics of all types, dealership and independent and "not one mechanic has found a solution or even an idea of why this is happening". my wife and I are like most I have seen and cannot afford to keep taking it in to be told they can't find the problem and definitely aren't in a position to be able to afford to purchase another vehicle. Will beg Chrysler to help us all out. Please figure out what is causing this before someone is hurt or even killed. Very frustrated to say the least.............

- Muskogee, OK, USA

problem #19

Jun 102014

PT Cruiser

  • 15,740 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, there was a sudden loss on engine power as the electronic throttle control warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,740 and current mileage was 16,000.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #18

Jun 132014

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Vehicle at 76,000 miles rides rough and during check up was found to have bad front bushings and three cracked engine mounts. Two licensed mechanics advised that this should not be happening to a single owner, never mistreated vehicle at that mileage. This was caught prior to a potential safety incident.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #17

Jun 182014

PT Cruiser

  • 99,568 miles


2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER- the lights on my dashboard all light up along with all the warning alarms. Sometimes the car completely shuts off while driving above 30 mph - 65 mph in the city and on the highway then kicks back on within a few seconds. This problem has been on going. I have had professional mechanics look at my car with no luck or resolution to the problem. Luckily no accidents as of yet. I want to get rid of the car, but I don't want to be responsible in case an accident occurs for someone else. I can't get it fixed if no one or Chrysler hasn't made the problem known to the public. I'm not the only one experiencing these issues. After a year long search I found 47 other complaints similar if not the very same issue I'm dealing with.

- Anderson, IN, USA

problem #16

May 192014

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 55,400 miles
2006 PT CRUISER, approx. 55,000 miles. First the seat belt warning light flashes on, then all the warning lights on the dashboard come on. All my gauges drop except the fuel gauge. The speedometer gauge moves up and down after dropping. It feels like power is lost to the engine when it is happening. Within seconds, the warning lights go out and the gauges stabilize and things are normal. Sometimes this happens only once while driving, other days it happens 4-5 times in a row. I am told it is a common problem with the 2006 model. Why is there no recall or repair thru Chrysler?

- Mullica Hill, NJ, USA

problem #15

Dec 302013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
I got the car 6 months ago and have had nothing but problems. All the dash lights come on and the gauges go to zero. It has almost caused me to be in an accident, it died in the middle of a busy intersection, it has died while I'm stopped at a red light and happens at various speeds, I've replaced the, alternator, starter, gauge cluster and some other small things and nothing is working. I've seen a lot of people with the same problem, Chrysler should be doing something about this, I don't know what to do anymore with it, I'm not rich I can't afford a new car or to keep putting money into the car.

- Florissant , MO, USA

problem #14

Nov 162013

PT Cruiser

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that while traveling 35 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated as the vehicle lost acceleration power. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was found that there was a misfire on cylinder 3. the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 63,000.

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #13

Dec 132013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles


I bought a PT CRUISER sedan and the car lot I bought if from said it needed front shocks and it would be ready in two day. I pick up the PT CRUISER and decided to take it to my mechanic and have it check out from top to bottom. It has over 100 mechanical issues, from shocks which were never put on. There is oil in the spark plugs and leaves a smell when the heater is on which makes us very ill. It is not safe to drive. Also, the car lot I bought it from which it was sold for around $2,000 dollars and needs over $3,000 dollars worth of work. Then I got slapped with an extra 5,000 from the loan company. This is a lemon. I am not paying for anything and him and I have went around and around about this piece of junk. They can repo it and then I am getting an attorney for selling me a car that should not be on the road. Too dangerous.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #12

Aug 262013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 38,960 miles
Failed crank seal. Car went in for routine inspection at dealership. They said it needed a new motor mount. When they returned the car, they mentioned it had a leak at the crank seal. We took the car home and it was heavily leaking oil, so we took it to another local garage. They "repaired" the seal, along with things like a new timing belt, etc "while we are in there" and returned the car at a cost of $1700. Drove it for only a few days while driving the oil light came on a few miles from home. When we got the car home there was nearly no oil left in the car, the crank seal had blown/ burned out again. Towed to garage. Told by garage and also dealership that it could not be repaired, the crank bearing was worn and would "walk out" and the same thing would happen. Was told it needed a new engine. (at 39K miles"?") my brother removed the engine himself, took it to a machine shop who removed the crank and used some sort of kit to repair the engine. The cost was $600 parts, $600 labor. The car recently was put back in service but is not trusted and the engine light is lit up. The car was not driven hard in its life (driven my by 70 yr old mother) and had regular service.

- Souderton, PA, USA

problem #11

May 202013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 51,575 miles
Dashboard lit up, engine stopped, vehicle slowed allowing me to make a right turn out of traffic. Was able to restart engine. Car history prior to incident on the road. No mechanical incidents, however engine cranking problems. Battery previously replaced and starter replaced on 05/28/2013 by mcx auto service center, mcas miramar, san diego, ca., 92145, phone number (858) 536-1684. Since, first stalled incident, engine failure of the same has happened 3 more times, all in light street traffic with no injuries. Vehicle restarted after each incident. Latest incident August 01, 2013 at 4:30 pm. Internet research has provided me with information and a video of symptoms pertaining to the ignition actuator switch and pin. This video shows exact symptoms of my car and also how to replace switch. Please advise on recall information replacement or a potential safety problem being evaluated for recall. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #10

May 172013

PT Cruiser

  • 69,205 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several minutes. The contact also stated that the windshield wipers were inoperable. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing, but the cause of the failure was not determined. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The failure and current mileage was 69,205.

- Dayton , OH, USA

problem #9

May 012013

PT Cruiser

  • 54,554 miles
Crank shaft movement (approx. 0.025) hammered oil seal from block. Root cause is worn thrust bearing. Contacted Chrysler call center, employee's reaction and internet search indicates this is a common problem. Engine used in different makes and model years, mini vans Jeep....... I had the oil changed frequently and other routine maintenence performed.

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #8

Jul 072008

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 15,844 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, a loud popping noise was heard from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the contact was advised that there was oil leaking from the engine. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator belt, axle drive seal, camshaft seal, front main seal, and the serpentine belt needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The approximate failure mileage was 15,844 and the current mileage was 38,000.

- Sunfield , MI, USA

problem #7

Mar 222013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 112,500 miles
Since November 2012, my 2006 PT CRUISER's dashboard has occasionally gone crazy with all gauges (speed, gas, etc) going crazy and bouncing back and forth, all lights (engine, airbag, brake, etc) lighting up at the same time. At that time, it did not affect the engine. On March 15, 2013, the car died suddenly while pulling out into an intersection after being stopped at a red light. The gauges and lights had previously been going crazy. The car restarted without a problem. I drove the car to the Chrysler dealership where it was purchased immediately. The mechanic could not recreate the issue and did a computer update. After picking the car up from the dealership on March 22, 2013, again the gauges and lights starting going off and the car started to stall and the engine sputtered. I was in stop and go traffic. When stopped, the car would not immediately accelerate and it threatened to quit numerous times. I had to put my warning lights on to avoid being hit by the truck behind me. I immediately drove the car home and took it back to the dealership the following week. After another week, the mechanic was finally able to recreate the problem with the lights and gauges but did not experience the stalling or intermittent lack of acceleration. The car is still at the dealership and he is unable to determine the cause of the problem. He suggests replacing the dashboard cluster but is not sure if this will fix the problem. After reading other customer complaints that replacing the dashboard cluster did not remedy the same problem in other PT CRUISER, I am not confident that this is the solution to the problem. I would appreciate Chrysler responding to this issue that many 2006 PT CRUISER owners are experiencing. The problem seems too prevalent to ignore and having a car die suddenly in the middle of traffic is a dangerous thing.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #6

Jan 082013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 124,678 miles
Driving on expressway all the dashlights suddenly came on and the gauges started bouncing back and forth. All went back to normal for approx 10 mls and then started all over again, this time the engine died, after coming to a stop, turning everything off, it restarted. That was my first incident since then it has happened 3 more times in different driving situations.the mechanic can not reproduce the problem when he has it, and no codes are showing, do not feel very safe in vehicle anymore.

- Commerce , GA, USA

problem #5

Jul 162012

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that the check engine warning light was illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer several times and was told that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The contact eventually took the vehicle to a mechanic and was told that the 02 sensor needed to be replaced. In addition, the controls that adjusted the front driver's seat would fracture continuously and was replaced twice. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 78,000. Updated 01/18/13 updated 1/28/2013

- Chesepeake, VA, USA

problem #4

Jan 012012

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
My wife and I obtained a 2006 PT CRUISER from her father in 2008 with 12,980 miles on the odometer. In 4 years we've added about 12,000 miles. Starting last winter, both while being driven at city speeds (30-45 mph) and while idling, this 2006 PT CRUISER has periodically had a problem with the lights and gauges on the instrument panel. The needles all simultaneously switch back and forth rapidly, then go to the off position. The panel lights turn off at the same time, then after a few seconds to a few minutes, the panel returns to normal. Prior to last Friday, 10/12/2012, these incidents had not presented a danger or interfered with driving. However, on Friday, my wife was driving the car in heavy traffic, and this time the panel went haywire as described before, but the car suddenly lost all engine power. The car would not respond to her pressing the accelerator, and she was forced to coast to a slow roll in the 40 mph traffic! then, the engine reengaged suddenly and the car surged forward when she wasn't expecting it. She refuses to drive it again. Our local Chrysler service tech seemed to be completely unfamiliar with this problem when I described it to him, and a call to Chrysler Corp llc proved useless. A cursory investigation online turns up dozens of this exact complaint over the past 5 or 6 years, and virtually all of them indicate a number of attempted solutions, including replacing the battery, the vacuum hoses, the wiring harness, the fuses, or the instrument cluster, and none of these apparently eliminate the problem. Is this as common a complaint as it appears to be" if so, how can it be resolved"

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?