Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,045 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chrysler Pacifica transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jan 012010

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


I own a Chrysler Pacifica 2004 AWD. The vehicle has had numerous suspension problems, such as a clicking sound and an unstable vehicle. I believe it might be the front cradle of the vehicle but am not sure if this is the exact cause. Also, when I brake, the car makes a huge thud sound. I replaced the brakes and rotors as the dealer has done but the noise is still there. Please investigate this matter as many other Pacifica owners have encountered this. Thank you so much.

- New York City, NY, USA

problem #20

Jul 292010


  • 95,000 miles
After turning right at stop light and proceeding slowly with acceleration, a loud/shaking noise was heard from 2004 Chrysler Pacifica (similar to a cell phone placed on vibrate instead of ringing when a call is received). Within seconds, vehicle unintentionally accelerated and I was unable to stop it, even after pressing on brakes. I was a block away from where I had to turn to enter our subdivision, traveling down a two-lane road. Thankfully, no cars were traveling in opposite direction, or coming out of our subdivision, so I was able to turn left to enter our subdivision. To try to slow car down, I had to press down on brakes as hard as I could while turning the wheel, which caused the vehicle to swerve, almost hitting a light pole. After turning and stopping the swerve, the vehicle accelerated even further, reaching the '4' on the tachometer (before the turn, it had been at a '3'). as I approached the four-way stop in our subdivision, I again stepped on the brakes as hard as I could, but it had no effect. The tachometer read '4', but the speedometer showed 30 mph, regardless of how hard I pressed on brakes. I could not brake at all, and was losing the ability to steer as I approached the sign. The only way to stop the vehicle was to place it in 'park'(which made the tachometer go even higher) and remove the keys to turn off the car as quickly as I could. This stopped the car right in front of the stop sign. I waited about 30 seconds and attempted to restart car, but after ignition key was turned, tachometer revved up again to '4', though speedometer read '0'. husband maneuvered car the one block home by placing it in 'neutral'. this is the first incident of this nature. Chrysler to be notified in morning, as I called after business hours (7:41 pm cst). Myself, two kids, and two dogs were in the car driving down what is normally a busy two-lane road and into subdivision full of playing children, truly a miracle no one was injured.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 222010


  • 102,000 miles
My Pacifica just stopped running while I was on a busy intersection in my city. I lost all power brakes, steering, and power. I had my children in the vehicle at the time. I did manage to get the car into a parking lot, (my son and his friend pushed it from the road). The Pacifica would not respond to anything, and could not be jump started. My husband purchased a new battery to see if that would help, it did not. It was towed to an electrical service, that took two days to let me know that they could not help me. It than had to be towed to a dealer, which also took two days to diagnose. It came to the conclusion that I needed to replace the PCM. I found that the 2004 Pacifica had a recall on just that problem. I contacted Chrysler, and they are stating that my vehicle is not part of that recall. Not to mention that I have too many miles for the warranty. Also that I am the second owner, (I am actually the first owner, the car was a program vehicle that was driven by an executive of Chrysler). I asked why my car was not included, because this was the issue with my vehicle, she stated that there were more complaints with the same thing (vehicles with PCM replacement, not on the recall) within the last few months, and if anything transpired, that they would let me know by mail. This is not a maintenance issue, but a safety issue, that I had no warning or signs of before it happened. I am very concerned over this. How many owners need to experience this or even be severely injured before this problem is resolved" the case manager at Chrysler than stated that my case would be closed! I am very upset with this whole issue. I did not complain about the intermittent A/C, the power seats that rarely work, the back hatch that has a mind of it's own, or the gas gauge that does its own thing. But my children's safety was placed in jeopardy! it was stated that more complaints were coming in on this issue, are they going to wait for loss of life"

- Kawkawlin, MI, USA

problem #18

Oct 052009


  • 68,000 miles


2004 Chrysler Pacifica with 72,000 miles. About three months ago started hearing a clunking noise while car was changing gears. I started doing some research on what the problem might be.I found that a lot of other owners were having problems with their motor mounts. I put my car on a lift to inspect it and there was fluid leaking from around the motor mounts. The bushings were completely busted and broken. When I tried to get new parts, the dealership said they were not covered under warranty and were on backorder indefinitely. They say that I should just drive it until they get parts. I have found out from just about every owner of a Pacifica that they too have had to replace their motor mounts as well, at their own expense.(around $500) sometimes twice. Why hasn't Chrysler addressed this as a defect? this is a very costly and dangerous defect that needs to be addressed.

- Dublin, VA, USA

problem #17

Apr 282009


  • 87,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact heard a knocking sound whenever the transmission has to shift. The mechanic stated that the motor mounts were failing. In February or March of 2009, the vehicle had a transmission fluid leak. The dealer replaced a seal and stated that the vehicle was repaired. The contact still has the work order for that repair. The current mileage was 88,000 and failure mileage was 87,500.

- Bremerton, WA, USA

problem #16

Dec 192008


  • 103,000 miles
On Dec 19, 2008 my 2004 Pacifica started stalling when driving home from work, it did this approximately (20) times in rush hour traffic. I would put it in neutral and some times it would start up immediately and sometimes it would delay by several minutes. I drove the car to my mechanics; which was closed, and left it there, the next day it would not act up for him and he ran a diagnostic that showed him nothing. Although he did find a recall on the PCM needing reprogrammed for stalling issues. We then took it to shuman Chrysler in walled lake, mi. And dropped it off. They replaced the solenoid and confirmed that the reprogramming was done prior to this problem. Cost was $237.50. On christmas eve on a busy road the car stalled out again, and took several attempts before it kept running. Here we were sitting in a dead car, on one of the most widely known evenings with drunks on the road. We proceeded to our destination and at the end of the evening we had someone follow us home with my elderly mother in their car. We took it back to the dealership on the 26th and they replaced the ground to the transmission case from the battery. No charge this time. On the 27th the car stalled again 3 times on us, we got to our destination and disconnected the battery to reboot the computer and it worked until Dec 30th, when the dealership picked it up from the location where it would not start, right before the tow truck started loading it; it started and quit again. It has been at the dealership ever since. Today January 7, 2009 the dealership called and will be ordering a new PCM, and a power distribution module. It was explained to me that the module is responsible for not starting and the PCM is responsible for the stalling or the shorting out. The cost will be $1200. I will call them tomorrow and ask for the parts to be saved. I am not done with this. Countless reports have been tracked and the reprogramming did not fix the Chrysler problem, and neither will they.

- White Lake, MI, USA

problem #15

Jul 072008


  • 8,300 miles


2004 Chrysler Pacifica. I purchased a Pacifica on 4/23/08, on 4/25 I noticed that it was not shifting smoothly but really wasn't affecting my driving. On 7/7/08 while driving the car stuttered while trying to shift once again and then threw itself into a low gear. This caused the car to jump forward and almost hit another vehicle. The car would not shift after that. I dropped off the car at Dodge service on 7/9 and got the car back 7/14. The car did the same thing again 7/15 and was dropped off the same day, I picked up the car on 7/22 and by 7/23 midday was back in service again. I picked up the car on 7/29 and 7/30 the car was returned to service I have been told that the car will be ready by 8/4 to pick up. This has almost caused several accidents and several hours of work missed. I am afraid of driving this vehicle as I drive with my 2 kids in the car and also in school parking lots, the way it jolts forward when it decide to act up could be lethal in a school lot where kids are. Upon ordering a carfax report we found that this is a continuing issue since 2005.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #14

Nov 262007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving 65 mph, the contact heard a clunking noise coming from the engine. The vehicle cruised to a stop. The vehicle was unable to be moved. The mechanic stated that the front differential failed and damaged the transmission. As of December 12, 2007, the mechanic had not repaired the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 72,000.

- Arroyo Grande, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 182006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
1-my 2004 Pacifica will not start at times. Sometimes 2 weeks can go by without incident, then the car will not start until I hold my foot on the gas. The dealer claims that unless it happens while at their shop, they cannot do anything. 2- the drivers side mirror will change position and make a sound like gears trying to engage but cannot. Again, the dealer could not find a problem although it happens each time I use it. 3- I complained about the transmission being sluggish from a parked position until it passes first gear. They told me they could not find a problem. They told me I could pick up the car. I asked them to drive it. They now found the problem and claim the motor mount was broken. They said it happened because of a fender bender I was in. The fender bender occurred two months after purchasing the car and I have been driving it two years since that event without a problem. 4- my headliner keeps sagging where the headliner meets the moonroof. They have fixed it now three times. They said the manual tells them to use sticky velcro tape. I keeps happening.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #12

Sep 182006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
My 2004 Pacifica will not start at times. Sometimes 2 weeks can go by without incident, but then the car will not start until I hold my foot on the gas. The dealer claims that unless it happens while at their shop, they cannot do anything. Also, the drivers side memory mirror will change position and make a sound like gears trying to engage but cannot. Again, the dealer could not find a problem although it happens each time I use it. I complained about the transmission being sluggish from a parked position, they told me they could not find a problem. I asked them to drive it. They claim the motor mount was broken. They said it happened because of a fender bender I was in. The fender bender occurred two months after purchasing the car and I have been driving it two years since that event without problem. My headliner keeps sagging where the headliner meets the moonroof. They have fixed it now three times each time using sticky tape. It doesn't work.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #11

Jun 252006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


While I am driving and if my air conditioner is on there is a dramatic loss of power to the engine, if I am at a stop light and have to climb a hill from a complete stop I in most cases have to turn the power to my air off so the engine will increase its power and I can climb the hill. If I do not turn the air off the rpms race up really high and I am only going maybe 20 miles per hour and the transmission will not shift and the engine is roaring. So once to the top of the hill it finally shifts but extremely hard as though something underneath the vehicle just broke.. another thing that happens is also a problem with the transmission and how hard it hits when it shifts, it has always seemed like it was not fluid and easy as it should be. Almost as though it is difficult for it, especially coming down from about 35 miles per hour and lower down into the second to 1st gears. It worries me that a vehicle in its price range and considering what I paid for it that it should be more of a joy and comfort for me to own and drive than it is. I am afraid that one day that the transmission is going to completely stop shifting since it is such a struggle for it to do so... what are the rules for a consumer that believes they have a vehicle with defaults or a lemon" is there anything a consumer can do "

- Rossville , GA, USA

problem #10

Nov 112004

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 9,141 miles
Leased Pacifica 7-2004. By 11-2004 9000 miles started makeing loud popping sounds from front end. Dealer tryed to concel problem with pto unit that they knew was faulty, after taking car home, on a we had to order new part they let me drive this car with no repairs made at that time. 2 weeks later we contacted the service director and he reveled the problem and part was replaced. Now in May 2005 it is making loud thumps in the front end when decelrating and acelerating car is at the dealership at this time. One other problem was water on passenger side floor they had not sealed a tube properly at time of manufacture.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #9

Aug 012003

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
I was driving on freeway and slowed for other traffic when brake pressure applied and it then began shaking and stopped. Upon stopping it revved then geared down. Took to dealer, and they made some adjustments to the transmission, but said nothing was wrong. This happened again. Returned to dealer, who thought this was a computer problem, when tried to repair it they fried the computer system in car. The car still has this problem. Contact feels this car is not drivable due to this situation. Also, has a clanking sound. Has to been to dealer for this, and said it was brakes, and adjusted those brakes. Yet this car still has problems.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 202005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Transmission unit failure. Has been to the dealer 3 times that I can remember. Clicking popping noise in the transmission or axle. "fixed" 3 times 2) 3 electrical problems a) display for heating and ac went out. It was repaired B) display for message center went out. It was repaired C) the gas guage would "go empty" then "refill" all while driving. It was repaired 3) now I just found gear oil on my garage floor, the rear axle seals are leaking.I'll be calling the dealer tomorrow.

- Cochranville, PA, USA

problem #7

Feb 242005

Pacifica 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle was in a parking space when all of a sudden it lurched forward and then it popped into reverse. Manufacturer will be contacted by consumer.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #6

Oct 262004

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer received recall 04V13000 concerning transmission failure. No parts were available.

- Burlington, KY, USA

problem #5

Aug 182004

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
While traveling West on I-80, (the Ohio turnpike) my 2004 Chrysler Pacifica, lost all power from the power train. This happened suddenly, with no prior indications of a problem, in heavy truck traffic, while travelling at 75 mph. It required over four days to repair the vehicle, as the technician determined that the transmission had no pressure. This was caused by a burned-out router in the transmission pump. I was was shown the replacement part and noted the interiour was machined to a intirerly different configuration. I was also informed that the initial production runs all had this design fault. The tech. That repaired the auto, also stated tha they were informed of this at their training schools. Chyrysler knows about this defect..a very costly recall, I'm sure. The consequences of a failure of this nature is not very difficult to forsee, an inexperperienced driver passing a line of cars on a two lane road, or, in my case, two days prior to the sudden failure, we were driving in the steep montains of Tennessee, and North Carolina in fairly heavy, fast moving traffic. The auto was repaired at no cost to me, however I no longer have confidence in the car, due to the complexity of the repair, and the consequential damage that the faulity design had on the auto both prior to the failure, during the failure, but also due to the complexity of the repair

- Greensboro , GA, USA

problem #4

Jun 012004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,500 miles
On 7 separate occasions vehicle failed to start. When this occurred vehicle was towed to the dealership, who replaced the battery/transmission, and main computer. Also, did a software upgrade. The failure recurred.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #3

Feb 092004

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles
Two days after purchasing car (400 miles on the odometer), transmission sticks in first gear, and the speedometer stops working. Car has to be turned all the way off to reset. Dealer could not find problem (insinuates that I do not understand how to drive the car.) had problem again tonight (2/11/04.) back to dealer.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 232003

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Car rolled backward down drive way while car was in park. My wife was almost run over as she was standing outside the driver door while the door was open. The car rolled down the driveway (2% grade), into the street with the driver door open and pushing my wife into my neighbor's mailbox and up my neighbor's curb.

- Warrington, PA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?