Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #49

Jul 082014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


During routine maintenance, discovered severe corrosion to engine cradle. Potential is there for catastrophic failure of the engine cradle, causing a collapse. Technician at dealership recommended no longer driving vehicle, stating it was unsafe. Car is otherwise in excellent condition, having been garaged and carefully maintained throughout its lifetime. This is a potentially serious safety hazard. No notification was provided to me by Chrysler that this should be checked. My research shows that Chrysler has been aware of this issue for years but they are refusing to assist with replacement of engine cradle. A letter was drafted by Chrysler covering certain 2004-2005 Pacificas within 10 years of purchase or 150,000 miles. My vehicle falls into this category, since it is less than 9 years old, and had 100,000 miles on it at time of discovery of corrosion. Chrysler states my VIN does not fall into the range of vehicles that are covered. Chrysler also covered vehicles in "cold weather states", which is the range of states we live in.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #48

Jul 132014


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. While inspecting the vehicle, the contact discovered that the engine cradle was severely corroded and fractured. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- Lorain , OH, USA

problem #47

Jul 092014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
Returned from mechanic on a maintenance issue, I was told that I need to replace my "K frame", the front engine cradle was rusted, needs to be replaced as quickly as possible- unsafe to drive. I read multiple complaints on this website for same issue. I hold a copy of an extended warranty which only covers vehicles made in a 6 week time period for the same issue, my Pacifica was made 8/16/04 has become ineligible. I was lucky my garage told me others may not be so lucky, an inferior product that was used more than just in a 6 week time frame.

- Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, USA

problem #46

Jun 282014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 144,000 miles


My mechanic has informed me that the sub frame that holds the engine on my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica has extensive corrosion and has a hole in it the size of a person's fist. He said that the corrosion protection was obviously inadequate and could be a safety issue if I were in an accident. He said I will have to replace it and it will not be an inexpensive job. He said their should be a recall because this should not happen. Apparently there is no recall.

- Mounds View, MN, USA

problem #45

Feb 032014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
My engine sub frame is heavily rusted creating a dangerous situation for my motor to falls or loose control of my vehicle putting my wife and child in danger.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #44

Jun 062014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 141,000 miles
While getting a safety inspection of my vehicle it was discovered that there is considerable rust on both sides of the engine cradle. After doing some research I found that this is not an isolated issue and then contacted Chrysler customer assistance center and was told that my car was built outside of an extended warranty that was given to other 2004 & 2005 Pacificas for the exact same issue. After much checking I was told there was nothing they could do.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #43

May 202014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 92,341 miles


I was driving on the highway going about 55 (mph) when I went over a pothole. After that my car started making a rattling noise. My mechanic checked the car and said it was the rack and pinion but then he discovered that the whole engine cradle was rusted and corroded and told me it was very dangerous for me to drive the vehicle until I made the proper repaired which is replacing the entire engine cradle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #42

Apr 122014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica I just bought it about 7 months ago. I took it in for a routine oil change about a month ago, when the mechanic tells me that my subframe that holds up the motor is badly rusted and that my motor could fall out anytime. Going to the shop next week due to how unsafe it is!

- Knox City, MO, USA

problem #41

May 142014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 146,300 miles
Had vehicle in for brake service. Technician showed me (with pictures) the problem with the engine cradle rusting out in multiple locations. In my research of this issue, I found numerous other incidents of this problem with little or no assistance from Chrysler. This is a huge safety issue and could lose the engine at any time causing possible severe injury. Would like Chrysler to step up and get the recall out to all Pacifica owners.

- Holland, MI, USA

problem #40

Apr 242014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles
Engine cradle completely rusted out. Discovered during inspection. Mechanic says the vehicle is unsafe to drive in the current condition and the engine could possibly fall out!

- New Brighton, PA, USA

problem #39

Mar 242014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while driving at speeds over 50 mph, a vibration was present. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who discovered that the engine cradle and the sub frame had rusted. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,000. Updated 06/27/14 the tie rods and lower control arms were replaced. Updated 07/08/14

- Wethersfield, CT, USA

problem #38

Apr 072014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I noticed that something was looking weird about my car and something seemed hanging really low. I went to have it looked at right away and they told me that my cradle was rotting and it needed to be fixed or my engine was going to fall to the ground if I did not get this taken care of. I have had nothing put problems with this car. It seems like once I fix one thing something else goes wrong. I have spent over 3,000 dollars on this car so far to fix it and now this. I am beyond irritated.

- Elmira, NY, USA

problem #37

Nov 202013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I wanted to bring to your attention a safety condition with certain years on the Chrysler Pacifica. Many of the Pacificas engine cradles are severely rusted; to the point of if a break occurs the engine will fall out of the vehicle. This issue is mainly on years 2004-2005. (I own a 2005 model with severe rusted engine cradle.) the estimated cost of this repair is between $2,500 and $3,000. I have contacted Chrysler several times about this safety issue, the 1st time was Nov of 2013 with the most recent being 4/1/2014. Chrysler just says "we?re looking into it". (ref case# 24293830) I have contacted the Minnesota attorney general who sent a letter to Chrysler, but they declined coverage on my Pacifica. I have also filed a complaint with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Chrysler has acknowledged this issue by extending the warranty on certain build dates, (see letter below): Checkout an nbc news report on this issue: my vehicle has been diagnosed by two mechanics, one of which is roseville Chrysler-Jeep. And both agree that the engine cradle must be replaced. My vehicle is in perfect condition. The rusted engine cradle would never be noticed by a common person. Someone could have this issue and not know it unless a mechanic would happen to notice it. Luckily mine did! in light of the recent GM issues with ignorance of the power steering issue I would think that Chrysler would try and get ahead of this serious safety issue. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Shoreview, MN, USA

problem #36

Dec 132013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Own a 2005chrysler Pacifica limited fully loaded whichwas purchased new. The car was built in August 2004. I took it in for inspection in December 2013 and it was discovered the engine cradle supporting the engine was badly corroded and would need replaced to pass inspection and is a safety issue. Chrysler has acknowledged this defect in cars made in a 6 wk period and awarded an extended warranty to these vehicles but not mine.. this is a design flaw in the cheap material used in production and I should given the extended warranty. My wife and grandchildren were at risk while driving it and didn't know it I am a decorated veteran and will be contacting the president, mrs obama and initiating a class action lawsuit and the local newschannel.. I have no choice but to fix it but seek reimbursement for the extended warranty.Chrysler needs to own up and do the right thing before some lives are lost. Core values: Integrity first, service before self & excellence in all we do! you don't want to end up like GM do you?

- Lewisberry, PA, USA

problem #35

Dec 032013


  • 148,000 miles
My vehicle was recently found to have a rusted out engine cradle during a routine inspection. I have contacted Chrysler, and they will not take any responsibility for the repair. My mechanic has tried to find one in a junk yard to replace it, but every Pacifica in the junk yard has a rusted out engine cradle. They know this is a problem and refuse to take responsibility. My state has mandatory inspections. I shudder to think of what will happen when someone is driving down the road unaware and their engine falls out.

- Hamburg, PA, USA

problem #34

Mar 132014


  • 130,000 miles
I am seeing a lot of complaints regarding rust and corrosion issues with the engine cradle on 2004-2005 Chrysler Pacificas. Please go back to the main frame page and click on the "service bulletins" tab under the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica recalls list, then click on the "associated document" in the first service bulletin labeled : service bulletin no.: wb-D-10-34 component(s): Engine NHTSA id number: 10045080 it reads that, in an effort to demonstrate its commitment to your continued satisfaction, Chrysler group Pacifica's llc has extended the warranty for the front engine cradle to 10 years or 150,000 miles (whichever occurs first). This warranty coverage applies to Chrysler Pacificas model years 2004-2005. Please take your vehicle to your local Chrysler dealer where it can be inspected and replaced free of charge if necessary! if you have already replaced this component at your cost, then you are entitled to a refund; but must submit a photo copy of your invoice and receipt to: Chrysler customer assistance center po box 21-8007 auburn hills, mi 48321-8007 you may also call our customer service center for more information at : 1-800-247-9753 (8am - 8pm est. Monday-Friday) (9am - 5pm est. Saturday)

- Bixby, OK, USA

problem #33

Feb 212014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
I took my 2005 Pacifica in for an oil change and was informed there was a major problem...engine cradle/crossmember bar was rusted through and had holes in it. I took it in to the Chrysler dealership and was given an estimate of $2514 for parts and labor to make my car safe to drive. My vehicle was manufactured 9-04 so I missed that very small recall window. So much for a safe, family car...just hoping the manufacturer makes this right some day. Good luck to other Pacifica owners.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #32

Mar 082014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I took my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica in to get my inspection done yesterday. The mechanic put the car in the lift to check it, then he showed me where the engine cradle/subframe had corroded to the point where you could stick your fingers through the hole. I did some research and there are hundreds more like myself with this problem. Chrysler knows about the problem and does nothing about it. They recalled a minute portion of the same make and model with the same problem made in the same year. There are hundreds, if not thousands, with the same problem. May have no clue that they are driving a ticking time bomb, in which the engine could drop out at any time while they are driving. This car is supposed to be a family vehicle. I drove my two small children in this car for a long time, not knowing it could have wrecked at any time. Is it going to a serious injury, or worse, death for something to be done about these rolling death traps. I contacted Chrysler and they said there is nothing they could do because my VIN doesn't fall in the recall range. Yet, my car is the same year, make, and model. Something needs to be done before some is injured or dies. I know there are hundreds more concerned people with same problem as me and something needs to be done.

- Sayre, PA, USA

problem #31

Feb 252014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
The engine cradle or subframe is entirely rusted through, I have been told by a mechanic that they engine could likely fall through the bottom of the car. The hole in the subframe is large enough to put your hand through on one side and cracking on the other.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #30

Feb 252014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 148,652 miles
While getting routine service the mechanic noticed both sides of the engine cradle were rotted. The car should not be driven till repairs are made. Seems that there are alot of these cars with the same problem as mine. A total recall is needed before someone dies...

- Shenandoah, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?